Le General reviews

Hotel Direct invites all departing guests to rate and review their chosen hotel.

To ensure our guest evaluation is always up to date and to allow for hotel improvements, our Hotel Score is the mean of the most recent 100 guest ratings.

Hotel Score:

93%  based on 108 reviews

More reviews >>

Guest rating:

26/7/2015

"Good value"

Although the taxi driver couldn`t find it, the hotel was worth the effort. Funky set up with attentive staff.

Guest rating:

6/7/2014

"Lovely room and excellent location "

My mum and I recently stated at Le general for her surprise 60th birthday trip. The hotel is perfectly located in a lively area and close to all transport links. It`s also really handy for gare du nord so luggage on the metro is less of a problem. We booked a classic room which as big enough. Wouldn`t have wanted it any smaller but it was well decorated. Breakfast is nice. Just eggs and breads but adequate. You could also have vitamins which seemed odd! The only downside of the hotel was the service. Staff did their jobs but no more. There was no additional customer service which is representational of most of the tourist places in Paris. It didn`t matter for us as we didn`t spend much time in the hotel but it`s a shame as it could have been excellent with just slightly more effort. However I would still recommend this hotel as it`s a really good location.

Guest rating:

11/6/2014

"Friendly boutique hotel"

Guest rating:

29/9/2013

"room small and tooclose to corridor-could hear other rooms"

staff really helpful and pleasant, good to have a work out room, breakfast excellent, liked the decor and would come agin but the room is really too small and not even two chairs made it difficult to imagine a stay longer than a couplke of days

Guest rating:

24/9/2013

"By far best value and service found in Paris going there for over 10 years"

I travel to Paris on business twice a year. to find good hotel is a challenge there unless you are ready to shell out big bucks. this is first time i tried LeGeneral and not going anywhere else after that. best staff, clean, curteous, speak English, will do any extra you ask for - rooms are very small like every hotel in Paris under 300 bucks/night, but SUPER CLEAN AND AMAZING STAFF,,, THANKS. Sept 2013 visitior from New York

Guest rating:

4/11/2012

"Disappointed at the closure of fitness suite"

I was very disappointed to discover that the fitness suite was closed for refurbishment during my stay, as this was one of the very reasons that I booked it in the first place. It reopened the night before I checked out, but was not informed of this. I did not see any signs notifying any customers that it was closed or that it had reopened.

Guest rating:

13/10/2012

"We will be back! Le plus t`t possible!"

A well run hotel. Bed wonderfully comfortable. Staff helpful and pleasant. Breakfast excellent. Location ideal for metros, shops and restaurants. Music, screaming voices, not always appreciated! Otherwise, a most delightful experience.

Guest rating:

2/7/2012

"Great 3 star hotel. Well located. Quiet. Modern room and bathroom. Excellent sized comfortable bed."

Guest rating:

1/7/2012

"Loved Le General"

My daughter and I thoroughly enjoyed our time at Le General. It was extremely comfortable and had a terrific breakfast each morning - something for everyone. From our welcome we knew we would be happy with our choice of hotel. Very central and easy to get around the city, with a large variety of restaurants in the area. It was quiet, despite having a street frontage.

Guest rating:

30/6/2012

"Good location, very nice decor, good breakfast, very helpfull and obliging staff."

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Le General, we will definately stay here again.

Guest rating:

2/6/2012

"Welcoming,clean,nice location and good value"

Enjoyed our stay at this small hotel. Nearby restaurants and good metro links. Nice staff and enjoyable breakfast.

Guest rating:

29/5/2012

"Good Hotel near the Metro"

We stayed here in May and would recommend this Paris hotel near the Republc Square . The staff are friendly and helpful ,.the breakfast varied, and we had an upgrade on arrival so our room was spacious We were too busy in Paris to use the fitness room ans sauna!!.2 Metro stations are close bye and many bistros and cafes just round the corner.

Guest rating:

23/5/2012

"Good location + facilities, comfortable + modern rooms, great breakfast buffet, best staff ever"

Guest rating:

12/4/2012

"Good hotel. Well located. Excellent breakfast."

Guest rating:

5/4/2012

"Very comfortable clean and modern hotel. "

Well situated near Republique metro, but too far to walk to most places of interest. Area has plenty of restaurants too.

Guest rating:

24/3/2012

"Very good small friendly hotel"

Just a couple of minutes walk from Republique Metro station and about 30 mins walk to Notre Dame. Nice base for visit to Paris. Buffet breakfast has all you could want to set you up for a day`s sightseeing. Room clean and tidy and big enough if all you want is a comfortable room and bed. Staff helpful and friendly. Will definitely stay next time we visit Paris.

Guest rating:

4/1/2012

"absolutely perfect best we have stayed in 6 Paris trips"

Guest rating:

3/1/2012

"Good, well located, modern hotel"

Hotel is well located at Republic Metro and just within walking to the seine.Had two diners locally at the Pramil, very good E30 three courses, no booze included.Booked Classic room, a tad small but very well appointed, one side of double bed against the wall made life a challenge!

Guest rating:

2/1/2012

"-"

Fantastic breakfast. Good location rooms were a little samll but more than adequate. Bathroom up to date and well appointed. Friendly and helpful staff. Would certainly recommed this hotel.

Guest rating:

26/6/2011

"Very cosy hotel with excellent staff"

Le General is conveniently situated close to the Place De La Republique Metro for easy travel throughout the city. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The Hotel has a very modern atmosphere which is only marginally let down by a worn settee in the lounge/reception area. Our room was small but adequate for our stay. Excellent shower and modern bathroom. Very comfortable beds offered excellent sleep. I would stay there again.

Guest rating:

1/1/2011

"Very satisfactory"

Comfortable and clean, with good service.

Guest rating:

22/10/2010

"good little hotel but more suitable to tourists than business men."

good little hotel but more suitable to tourists than business men.

Guest rating:

14/10/2010

"Great place. Great breakfast. Great location"

Wow. What a pleasent suprise to find such a great place. Lots of small touches that made this hotel such a delight to stay at. Will be back!!!!!!

Guest rating:

29/9/2010

"Good hotel for Paris based trip"

Good location, comfortable clean room with excellent customer service and good quality breakfast

Guest rating:

23/9/2010

"Great boutique experience"

Friendly, helpful staff. Clean, well-decorated rooms. Coffee machine to die for. Great, quirky breakfast. Fabulous location. Highly recommended.

Guest rating:

20/9/2010

"good location and comfortable"

The hotel is located in a quiet street just off Republique which has many places to eat. Rooms are small but comfortable with a good shower in the bathroom. Enjoyed out stay

Guest rating:

16/1/2010

"Good hotel in great location"

Stayed at the hotel 3 nights, very modern tidy rooms. In the bastille area close to subway, 10 minute train jouney into main area, Eiffal tower notre dame ETC. would stay again.

Guest rating:

9/11/2009

"Very good hotel, 3rd time staying there and always enjoy it."

Service at breakfast is very bad and could do with a manager around. It all will need a re-paint and new fabrics on furniture soon as it stars to look a bit scuffed.

Guest rating:

6/10/2009

"Didn`t have a room for us on arrival!!"

Apparently there had been a `problem` and there were no rooms left at 6pm, despite having paid up front through this website. Very nonchalant about it and could offer only a room in their sister hotel out at Bercy. Did pay for 4 cabs to and from Bercy as we had pre booked a restaurant very near to the General.Made up for it the next day by giving us one of their suites (rack rate 300 euros plus).Finally a room in Paris with room to swing a cat.

Guest rating:

21/8/2009

"Funky chic hotel "

A great place to stay to explore Paris. Great places to eat and shop close by. Every city should have a hotel like this!

Guest rating:

8/4/2009

"Beautiful decor, clean and friendly. Excellent breakfast. "

Some less positive aspects included the fact that the walls are rather thin and there was a lot of noise and disturbance from the adjacent room. I was booked onto a smoking floor which I did not request and found very unpleasant.

Guest rating:

5/1/2009

"-"

The hotel is generally very good in terms of service, location and food. My only negative comment would be that the rooms although clean and tidy are tiny.

Guest rating:

12/12/2008

"Compact rooms but excellent facilities for a short stay."

Major plus points included the lovely breakfast (particularly the vitamin bar and marshmallows!), sauna, helpful staff, location, beautiful bathrooms, green tea is absolutely to die for.The only drawbacks are that the rooms are quite small and if you were staying for a while it would be quite annoying as there is not much storage space for your clothes (just a single wardrobe). Still if you are only there for a weekend this is perfect.

Guest rating:

14/10/2008

"Room disapointing"

The room was disapointing , there was no storage apart from the wardrobe, lived out of a suitcase for 3 days, the coffee cups were thin plastic.Decor in hotel good, breakfast fab but room very basic and need of a lick of paint. The bed was a very small double and air conditioning unit not working properly, luckily this was just a base

Guest rating:

7/10/2008

"would stay again for price"

quiet, nice breakfasts , clean room , ok location , civilised though empty bar . colleague not as impressed with his room .,the old problem of a smoker been in ...

Guest rating:

21/9/2008

"Lovely stay again at the hotel , Very friendly staff . Brakfast service could be better though."

Breakfast ,always very litle cooked food left and went around 10am both mornings .Slow to clear other tables who had finished breakfast . However did not detract from things

Guest rating:

15/9/2008

"One for those who enjoy contemporary style (deffinatly not traditional)"

Wonderfully stylish and attention to detail is fantastic. friendly staff, good breakfast. If you like a contemporary hotel this is a good choice as it is modern but also cosy. Good value for money! Good location for resturants and metro. The only negative would be that the rooms are quite small but that won`t be putting me off another visit !

Guest rating:

15/9/2008

"very smart well located funky hotel"

Guest rating:

7/9/2008

"-"

Barman very goodevening staff on desk ok but english could be better, strange manner. Cleaner did not hoover room properly, and not leave any clean soap or moisturiser.Always stay with you as taste level very good.

Guest rating:

28/8/2008

"Lovely boutique hotel well located for metro and gare du nord"

Beuatifully decorated although our rom was compact! Best breakfast I`ve had in France - plenty of choice and v fresh. Location if you re arriving on Eurostart couldn`t be better and easy walking distance to all shops bas and restaurants.

by Secure Internet

Or tel Reservations on: 0800 633 8000 (+44 1872 261 100)

Mon-Fri: 9am-8pm. Sat: 9am-5.30pm. Sun: 10am-6:30pm.

Our review system

Guest reviews and ratings are submitted to Hotel Direct by our customers immediately after check-out. They are un-edited.

With Hotel Direct you can make your break for LESS money. It's cheaper because when you book a break, we pass on special discounts for packages from hotels and train companies as well as making the total price lower. And you'll make a break in LESS time because in one place you can book your hotel, your train plus 1000s of shows, events and attractions.