Ten Hill Place Hotel reviews

Hotel Direct invites all departing guests to rate and review their chosen hotel.

To ensure our guest evaluation is always up to date and to allow for hotel improvements, our Hotel Score is the mean of the most recent 100 guest ratings.

Hotel Score:

93%  based on 339 reviews

More reviews >>

Guest rating:

20/11/2011

"buy breakfast at hotel not on line as £2 less expensive if done that way"

Guest rating:

10/11/2011

"For large hotel very personable and friendly"

I was impressed byt the manners and warmth of the staff. As I am likely to have to return fairly often in the next 4 years as my daughter is at uni I shall use you again.

Guest rating:

30/9/2011

"A wonderful peaceful stay,with superb service in every category. One tiny gripe was the pillows- ug "

The multiracial staff were a pleasure, always polite but eager to converse. A brilliant advertisement for Edinburgh. The hotel was perfectly placed to visit the many attractions. The day ticket bus service was an added perk. Buses frequent and rapid. Well done!

Guest rating:

17/8/2011

"A great place to stay in for Edinburgh"

A very good hotel where the staff were helpful and extremely polite. The breakfast was first class with plenty to eat. The evening meals were also very good and reasonably priced, though it could take a while to receive the meal once it had been ordered.I would definitley stay at this hotel again as it is within walking distance of the Royal Mile and many other interesting places. Very convenient for the Royal Military Tattoo and the Edinburgh Fringe theatres

Guest rating:

3/8/2011

"Great hotel - shame about the fire alarm"

Lovey hotel, good position, great facilities but the 1am fire alarm was disappointing - not least because the hotel staff dealing with the fire alarm didn`t once communicate with the hotel guests standing sleepily in the rain for 40 minutes. Even though they criss crossed through the group with the firemen frequently. It would have been better if they had advised the group of the progress of the alarm, and at least offered an apology / free coffee / breakfast in the morning.

Guest rating:

29/6/2011

"Lovely rooms, great facilities"

Lovely room, complimentary upgrade, poilte reception staff, good facilities. None of this self check in nonsense - good service by good staff. Only suggestions would be to have Sky Sports on the tvs in the rooms, and they could do with some signage on the main road pointing down Hill Street. One of the nicest, and well priced, hotels I have stayed in for a while, and I stay in a lot.

Guest rating:

6/3/2011

"Great room. Even had hot chocolate as in-room drink option"

Guest rating:

2/3/2011

"Very quiet- a real bonus for a city hotel. Could do with a non transparent toilet door though"

Guest rating:

9/10/2010

"Room Good,Staff very helpful,some parking,location pretty central"

Guest rating:

26/9/2010

"Fantastic affordable and comfortable Accomodation"

We booked this Hotel at the last minute and really didn`t do much research. We were very pleasantly surprised by Ten Hill Place. Check in was painless, the room was large and very comfortable. I loved the chaise longue and the bathroom was clean and simple. The Breakfast seemed a bit pricey at 10.00 pp however the amout of choice in both hot and cold buffet was enormous (i didnt eat another thing all day) and the staff were so friendly and helpfull. We would highly recommend this Hotel and have already done so on facebook .

Guest rating:

22/9/2010

"upgrade to suite"

Location is great for oldtown + for access to shopping + park + ride (the bus stops at surgeons hall). Suite upgrade most unexpected. Lovely room + fab view of Arthurs Seat.

Guest rating:

25/8/2010

"oN"

Guest rating:

24/8/2010

"Ideally placed, comfortable and welcoming"

Stayed one night at the height of the Festival. Arrangements worked perfectly. A large, comfortable room - more like a suite than a simple double - with an excellent en-suite. Helpful staff. Good breakfast and value evening meal. Would recommend to anyone. Ideal for access to station, near enough to centre.

Guest rating:

14/7/2010

"Great Edinburgh Hotel"

Really nice hotel with excellent rooms and friendly service. No restaurant but very good bar food and drinks at a reasonable price.

Guest rating:

30/5/2010

"Very pleased with hotel. Good service and location. Would book again,"

The hotel is in a good location. Down a quiet side street ensuring two good nights sleep on my stay. The first night was important as I was running the Edinburgh Marathon the next day!. The location is central to all that is happening including the Royal Mile. Room service was reasonably priced and service was excellent. The full Scottish breakfast was spot on, excellent quality. All round I cannot fault this hotel. The price is a bit steep but that seems par for the course to be fair. Would definitely stay here again, if I can summon up courage to do the marathon again!!!

Guest rating:

22/5/2010

"Super room"

Looked as though room had been recently refurbed, very clean, quiet, would definitely stay there again. Excellent value for money.

Guest rating:

10/5/2010

"-"

Beautiful room, staff were excellent and very helpful, prime central location. Overall was very impressed and would definitely recommend to others.

Guest rating:

8/3/2010

"Good modern hotel"

Worth the walk over North Bridge. A bit lacking in facilties (limited bar and eating facilties, more Cafe like than anything else. But rooms are modern, spacious and in excellent condition.

Guest rating:

1/3/2010

"Great stay."

Lovely room. Small but clean. Good view of Arthurs Seat. Amazing shower. Not sure about the glass door into bathroom!

Guest rating:

22/2/2010

"-"

Room was nice and clean. not so keen on there being a open busy street right outside of the window. nice atmosphere. friendly staff on arival, but when checked out i wasn`t sure what to do and the staff just look at me oddly which i felt was rude. bar was nice, bar staff very nice.

Guest rating:

27/1/2010

"Great Hotel, modern design, great value, good location."

Basically the main reason i booked a room was because of the great reviews the hotel had recieved. I have to say i would agree with majority and say that ten hill place was great value for money. very smart and tidy contemporary hotel, only a few minutes walk from the royal mile and a few minutes more to princes street. rooms were not massive, but were finished to a very high standard and had everything you would require. The glass bathroom door was a bit unusual, but gave us something to talk about. would happily stay there again.

Guest rating:

27/12/2009

"-"

as ever a great stay with helpful, friendly staff and great central location for both the old and new towns. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Guest rating:

16/11/2009

"A very comfortable and quiet hotel with excellent facilities."

Guest rating:

1/11/2009

"excellent value for money"

clean and spacious, helpful friendly staff, good location, modern and tastfully furnished

Guest rating:

28/10/2009

"Excellent quality room and features. Weird glass bathroom door."

Excellent and friendly staff and facilities. Very good for this price and excellent location. Glass door to bathroom is a bit weird as you can see into bathroom when sitting on the bed!! Fine if you`re on your own, but would be very traumatic to wake up to see you other half sitting on the toilet!!!

Guest rating:

28/10/2009

"Good for special offer price of 72.50 per room per night (exc breakfast)"

Good: Clean and stylish. Very quiet and excellent location.Not so good: Discoloured water which we did not feel comfortable about drinking. Supply of one small bottle of water per double room was insufficient to compensate. Toiletries not replenished after first night. Only three tissues in tissue box in bathroom - 2 people, 2 nights, inadequate. TV text not working. We didn`t have breakfast as 10 per person is quite pricey when there are many superb eateries close-by offering excellent fayre for much less.

Guest rating:

5/10/2009

"excellent place to stay"

good location, rooms were very nice , modern and very clean, staff were very polite and helpful, will be looking to book this hotel again in near future

Guest rating:

15/9/2009

"Over booked"

We found the hotel to be very comfortable, clean and professional with very high standards throughout. It was easy to find and very easy to walk to all the main area`s with in Edingburgh. However we were very disappointed that on checking in to the hotel they had over booked and had sorted us transfers and a night in another supposed 4 star hotel, which sadly not only did they not have the booking, so we felt embrassed, but it was sadly not of the same standard of Ten Hill Place so our first night and morning were not as enjoyable and in as nicer surroundings as we had wanted.Apart from this Ten Hill Place is a very nice hotel and would definately consider it if going to Edinburgh again and would recommend it to friends.

Guest rating:

14/9/2009

"Good location and lovely decor."

Only downside was we were in the room closest to reception. Each time someone entered the hotel lobby our door rattled so we had to push a chair against the door to stop this happening. Bathroom was lovely and clean as was the room. The only slight problem was that one of the levers on the shower was upside down which meant it hit against the bottom lever. Made coordinating the shower pressure and temperature a little tricky. Would return to the hotel but request a different room

Guest rating:

2/9/2009

"One night stay"

Very impressed with the overall performance of the hotel, The staff were very friendly and efficient, the food in the restaurant was enjoyable and reasonably priced. I have stayed in 4 star hotels which did not match the quality of the accomodation.

Guest rating:

1/9/2009

"-"

Decor of the rooms lovely and very comfortable. Easy access in to Edinburgh town centre and to the sights like the castle. friendly staff. Breakfast had a nice variety. will definately book there again.

Guest rating:

31/8/2009

"Central , clean ,friendly and good service ."

Guest rating:

29/8/2009

"Enjoyed stay & staff very accommodating particularly over disabled parking. Some housekeeping issues"

Empty durex packet in bedside cabinet; spotlight out in bedroom; could not make shower go cooler(controls loose). These yhings would put many guests off.

Guest rating:

28/8/2009

"Gem of a city centre hotel"

Wonderful experience staying at Ten Hill Place, location first class especially for the fringe events. Room excellent, food first class and not to expensive. All staff polite and very helpful. A really special place. Highly recommended.

Guest rating:

28/8/2009

"Lovely Hotel, perfect location for central Edinburgh"

We had a beautiful weekend, the hotel was lovely, staff polite and friendly...... we had no towels on day two, but reception soon bought us some when we called...... all in all, perfect location for the royal mile, the castle etc only a 5 minute walk away..... next time we`re in Edinburgh, we would definitely use this hotel again.....

Guest rating:

25/8/2009

"Lovely setting, quiet location, lovely bedrooms"

The only thing that marred our stay was having to wait 15 minutes to be seated for breakfast, however we warned about this well in advance. Overall a very enjoyable stay.

Guest rating:

24/8/2009

"Please send your contact address I wish to write in"

I never stayed at Ten Hill ,we were moved to another poorer standard hotel due to Ten Hill over booking, completely unacceptable given that we booked last Christmas

Guest rating:

24/8/2009

"-"

Rooms excellent and staff most attentive. Perhaps a more varied evening meal main course menu could be considered. I would certainly stay in this hotel when in Edinburgh.

Guest rating:

23/8/2009

"nice rooms comfortable beds"

The hotel is situated about twenty minutes walk from Edinburgh Castle ,the hotel is very clean and bright ,the beds are so comfortable and the rooms are lovely .we had to wait for a table at breakfast as there are not enough tables for that size of hotel.the toaster did not work and when pointed out to the waiter we were told that it did not toast on one side and he apologised.overall the staff were very nice and we enjoyed our stay i think it was quite expensive for one night .and the breakfast could be much better.I would not stay there again simply because of the price but overall it was good

Guest rating:

18/8/2009

"Very nice rooms, very friendly staff, excellent location for Fringe Festival"

by Secure Internet

Or tel Reservations on: 0800 633 8000 (+44 1872 261 100)

Mon-Fri: 9am-8pm. Sat: 9am-5.30pm. Sun: 10am-6:30pm.

Our review system

Guest reviews and ratings are submitted to Hotel Direct by our customers immediately after check-out. They are un-edited.

With Hotel Direct you can make your break for LESS money. It's cheaper because when you book a break, we pass on special discounts for packages from hotels and train companies as well as making the total price lower. And you'll make a break in LESS time because in one place you can book your hotel, your train plus 1000s of shows, events and attractions.