The Grand at Trafalgar Square reviews

Hotel Direct invites all departing guests to rate and review their chosen hotel.

To ensure our guest evaluation is always up to date and to allow for hotel improvements, our Hotel Score is the mean of the most recent 100 guest ratings.

Hotel Score:

89%  based on 566 reviews

<<   More reviews >>

Guest rating:

7/2/2016

"-"

Great hotel and really great location, staff are very friendly and go out of there way to help. Will definitely stay there again.

Guest rating:

1/2/2016

"exceptional service, lovely room, welcoming warm clean decor amazing"

Guest rating:

20/1/2016

"-"

Great location, quiet and very clean room with all the extras you would expect. Didn`t eat there, so can`t comment on the food. Efficient friendly staff, good value for money.

Guest rating:

17/1/2016

"Great location but check room standard"

Standard room is very small and basic for a marque hotel in London. Upgrade available for 25 per night worth investing in as website photos are for top level rooms only. Staff very polite and helpful.

Guest rating:

12/1/2016

"-"

Nice hotel was disappointed when we found out the room we were given was empty for a day or two and they would not let us check in early would not have cared if the weather outside was dry but we ended up very wet and when we did one receptionist was little unsure which room to give when the other took a look an said with theatre just give a standard room which was nice but made feel like a cheap customer on a positive note was very helpful after that but it made the stay a little uncomfortable but very central and I will consider staying again.

Guest rating:

10/1/2016

"Outstanding"

Excellent hotel. Modern and clean. Staff very polite

Guest rating:

8/11/2015

"Good location excellent service well proportioned room clean and tiny helpful friendly staff"

Guest rating:

29/9/2015

"Beautiful Hotel"

Only stayed two whole days and one night but it was beautiful with lovely staff. It was clean and comfortable. The location was perfect for us and we never had to catch a tube or taxi once whilst staying there as we could walk everywhere. Very happy with our stay.

Guest rating:

17/9/2015

"Absolutely superb"

We would highly reccommend the grand hotel at trafalgar square. The room was superb with outstanding views of the city. The staff were highly accommadating and we wish we could have stayed longer! We truly had a wonderful time.

Guest rating:

18/8/2015

"fabulous location"

Would use The Grand again. Very central, nice friendly and helpful staff. Rooms comfortable and well equipped and clean. Good shower and bed.

Guest rating:

20/7/2015

"We stayed Grand hotel very nice hotel The location was very good we wood stay again "

Guest rating:

10/7/2015

"Superior Room"

Excellent Hotel, great great location. Had a superior suite with kitchenette because there was 3 of us. Wouldn`t call it superior but had all essentials. Great having ice machine and filtered water to help yourself down the hall and the essential fridge in your room, also microwave if needed. Clean.

Guest rating:

10/6/2015

"-"

Room was small and dark (the windows were high up) and the toilet hadn`t been cleaned. Unable to provide soya milk. One reception staff member was very welcoming but another didn`t have time for us. Ate in the restaurant and the food was bland. Good price for theatre deal but you can spend a fortune on a bottle of wine. Wouldn`t eat there again. Waiters were very friendly and polite but there was a lot of them and very few people eating there so it felt a bit intimidating. Didn`t get a wink of sleep due to noise of Trafalgar square and sirens.

Guest rating:

26/4/2015

"-"

Fantastic and very convenient location. Very helpful staff.

Guest rating:

12/4/2015

"Brilliant location!"

Guest rating:

10/4/2015

"The Grand"

Excellent in every way. Very friendly staff, easy check in/out, cleanness of hotel all outstanding. We didn`t eat in the hotel but the restaurant looked very inviting. If there has to be improvement comment it would be the tea/coffee machine needed a jug rather that the mugs that wouldn`t fit underneath. We will be visiting this hotel again :-)

Guest rating:

8/4/2015

"If your looking for a hotel with high standards - Look no further"

Guest rating:

6/4/2015

"Great Location"

Best place to be, staff couldn`t do enough to help. Clean, quiet. Highly recommend it. We will go back for sure!

Guest rating:

5/4/2015

"Very small room would not restay"

Guest rating:

29/3/2015

"Great location."

Very central location, could get to everywhere we needed to go within 2 minutes from the hotel at Charing Cross tube station. Ideal room for 3 adults. There was a small kitchen with fridge where we could store the drinks we had brought with us.

Guest rating:

28/3/2015

"-"

Good hotel and a fair price,in a great location will defiantly use again

Guest rating:

26/3/2015

"would like to stay again. "

Just one thing I didn`t like having to smoke out on the street a proper place for smokers should be made available.

Guest rating:

22/3/2015

"Convenient, Comfy and AMAZING service."

We arrived quite promptly after check in times provided and we were told our room wasn`t quite ready, this was then met with, please have a complimentary drink on us. The staff were great, friendly and welcoming. The room was spacious and had exactly what we needed for a brief London Theatre visit. We were surprised how close everything was and when we turned into Northumberland Avenue, it was so quiet! Bonus when all you want to do is sleep after a morning of walking around London`s sights I loved the shower in the en suite provided, could have stayed in there all morning! Would 150% come back and stay.

Guest rating:

8/3/2015

"Very central."

The room had everything we needed and was nice and warm. We found the staff to be helpfull and pleasant, nothing too much trouble. Its the second time we have stayed there and will not be the last. A very nice hotel.

Guest rating:

4/3/2015

"PERFECT LOCATION "

PERFECT LOCATION FOR EVERYTHING IN LONDON FROM THEATRES TO ALL MAIN TOURIST ATTRACTIONS EVERYTHING FOR YOU EVEN AN UMBRELLA IN THE ROOM RECEPTION STAFF COULD NOT BE MORE HELPFUL WALKING DISTANCE FOR ALL TOP TEN SITES WITHIN MINUTES OF HOTEL STAYED HERE TWICE AND IS ALWAYS MY FIRST CHOICE FOR THE THEATRE AS ALL WITHIN MINUTES WALK SO NO BUSY TUBES AND RESTUARANTS GALORE FOR BEFORE OR AFTER IF YOU NEED A CENTRAL HOTEL AND DO NOT WANT TO SPEND TIME ON TUBES THIS IS THE HOTEL FOR YOU

Guest rating:

23/2/2015

"-"

Clean hotel, warm welcome and got in our room early. Staff were helpful. Very disappointed with tea/coffee facilities in the room. Tea was not good so that is probably why you only get two teabags.

Guest rating:

20/2/2015

"-"

Shame there were no bathrobes and slippers,but room was clean tidy and comfy,staff ok

Guest rating:

20/2/2015

"Excellent location"

lovely hotel, rooms a bit too warm but solved by opening the window. Would go there again.

Guest rating:

19/2/2015

"Fantastic Hotel..."

A very good stay. Excellent location in easy walking distance to main London attractions (London Eye, Houses of Parliament etc.) with a quick walk to the middle of Trafalgar Square. Very friendly and helpful staff too. Would highly recommend!

Guest rating:

16/2/2015

"The grand at trafgar"

Superb hotel with excellent comfortable rooms. A very grand hotel. Friendly staff. Well worth a stay here and close to the sights for sight seeing.

Guest rating:

15/2/2015

"-"

Great spot, nice art deco entrance room was a good size oddly arranged, don`t get the one pillow thing so very difficult to get a good nights sleep if you are used to two, the Boyds restaurant was excellent, and all the staff were very polite

Guest rating:

10/2/2015

"-"

This was the first time that our daughters had stayed in a hotel and they loved everything about it. The staff were all very friendly and evening cocktails and breakfast were great. We would definitely stay at The Grand next time we are in London and would recommend the hotel to both friends and family.

Guest rating:

9/2/2015

"Very impressive looking hotel, right in the middle of everything."

Excellent position for theatres, Covent Garden, Buckingham Palace, the river, etc., etc. Very clean and staff were very friendly and helpful.

Guest rating:

8/2/2015

"everything you need, very helpful and friendly staff"

Very comfortable beds, lovely towels and bed clothes. Clean rooms. I liked the guest closet and the purified water supplied free with its own bottles. Free WiFi which worked everywhere. Very very good.

Guest rating:

8/2/2015

"Comfortable one night`s stay"

A little unfair to judge a hotel on one night`s stay, however we had an enjoyable stay with no issues. Comfortable room with everything we needed. Staff were all pleasant and helpful. Location superb for theatre and other local tourist sites.

Guest rating:

4/2/2015

"Grand at Trafalgar"

First class hotel. 3 in a room and still spacious. Location was superb. Will definitely go back.

Guest rating:

1/2/2015

"Great hotel, great location"

Guest rating:

31/1/2015

"Great location and extremely helpful staff."

This hotel is perfect for visiting all tourist locations right in the centre of London. Convenient for tube and easy to find.Leaving luggage meant we could make the most of two full days. Lots of eating places nearby as well as in the hotel. Very useful to have both fridge and a microwave in the room. This would be great for a short family mini break when eating out for every meal becomes expensive-Tesco metro just on the corner would be an added bonus. Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting London but especially families.

Guest rating:

26/1/2015

"Good Hotel, could be improved."

A Lovely hotel in a great location. The room was a good size though the en-suite appeared to be a metal box added in as an afterthought. The water stations were a nice touch but they didn`t actually provide any ice buckets till the morning so that part was literally useless. Same issue with the guest request locker, great idea but needs to be checked and restocked more regularly, by the time I found it all the extra pillows had been taken and it wasn`t restocked till morning. Also a part of the en-suite mirror stand had been broken previously and wedged back in. Not worth the money overall.

Guest rating:

25/1/2015

"Great location; totally acceptable"

A very comfortable and clean room; particularly impressive bathroom. Slightly cramped and temperamental lifts; reception tiny. But a brilliant location - right in the heart of the West End.

by Secure Internet

Or tel Reservations on: 0800 633 8000 (+44 1872 261 100)

Mon-Sat: 9am-8pm. Sat: 9am-5.30pm. Sun: 10am-6:30pm.

Our review system

Guest reviews and ratings are submitted to Hotel Direct by our customers immediately after check-out. They are un-edited.

With Hotel Direct you can make your break for LESS money. It's cheaper because when you book a break, we pass on special discounts for packages from hotels and train companies as well as making the total price lower. And you'll make a break in LESS time because in one place you can book your hotel, your train plus 1000s of shows, events and attractions.