RIU Plaza The Gresham Dublin reviews

Hotel Direct invites all departing guests to rate and review their chosen hotel.

To ensure our guest evaluation is always up to date and to allow for hotel improvements, our Hotel Score is the mean of the most recent 100 guest ratings.

Hotel Score:

89%  based on 1269 reviews

<<   More reviews >>

Guest rating:

18/12/2011

"-"

helped us upgrade to a executive room and took us to look at the room and facilitated a move.very efficient and helpful staff.

Guest rating:

4/12/2011

"Lovely hotel, even let me check in earlier because the room was ready!"

Guest rating:

27/11/2011

"Lovely big room. Very friendly and helpful staff. Nice atmosphere in the lounges."

Guest rating:

14/11/2011

"Thank you for a wonderful stay."

We had the best time at this beautifully preserved hotel, the staff were fantastic and couldn`t do enough for you. Go in the bar and order the espresso cocktail their lethal!! Thanks once again.

Guest rating:

14/11/2011

"Excellent"

Had a wonderful stay at the Gresham, room was lovley. Staff really friendly and helpful

Guest rating:

8/11/2011

"-"

Excellent position. Helpful and friendly staff. Can`t really fault it - would definately stay again. Would have liked breakfast included in the price. Meals in Toddy`s bar in the hotel were delicious.

Guest rating:

7/11/2011

"Great Night in a nice hotel"

On arrival we were looked after by friendly and polite staff, which conitnued throughout our stay (although it was for only one night). We had asked for a quiet room, as it was a night away from our young baby, however the first room we were allocated happened to have a aircon unit outside the window. We returned to reception and they apologised and immediately re-allocated us a new room (which was a free upgrade), which was perfect. If I could have wrapped up and taken the bed with me I would have, it was so comfortable. Lovely hotel if you get the right room, friendly and helpful staff and right in the centre of Dublin, with everything within easy walking distance.

Guest rating:

7/11/2011

"Great location. Excellent service!"

Guest rating:

1/11/2011

"Old fashioned grandeur at its best."

Cleanliness was excellent. Room was large and comfortable. Plenty of towels and toiletries. Staff were friendly and helpful. However there was an all pervaiding smell of drains in the room that could not be avoided - seemed to come from the bathroom sink. Would recommend to anyone and would definately return.

Guest rating:

1/11/2011

"beautiful hotel"

room spacious and clean and the food and service was wonderful. thankyou

Guest rating:

29/10/2011

"Excellent"

Simply excellent. i booked a stay for my girlfriend and me, with a reasonably priced room on this site. Not only had i booked a room but when i arrived i realised i had booked a suite for the same price i thought i was getting standard room. Chuffed isnt the word and brownie points with the girlfriend. A lot!! Gorgeous hotel all round, staff couldnt be more helpful, was soo relaxing. Would reccommend to all. HOWEVER, prices in the hotel are quite expensive but at least you`ll know to expect it

Guest rating:

27/10/2011

"comfortable excellent location friendly staff"

Guest rating:

27/10/2011

"Friendly and welcoming staff. Clean. Noisy room on front of house though."

Guest rating:

19/10/2011

"Made to feel very welcome as soon as we arrived,by all the staff."

This was my second stay at this hotel and just as the first visit this was just as good,every thing was perfect,and every one there made our stay perfect,and no doubt will pay a further visit in the near future.

Guest rating:

8/10/2011

"-"

The only issue I had were the lack of sockets close to the bed, i would like to be able to plug something in like my phone to charge and keep it beside me. besides from that all good

Guest rating:

28/9/2011

"Gresham - One night business trip"

Rooms comfortable and simply furnished. A good mid range hotel with all that`s required for a short trip. Breakfast good anbd plentiful. Hotel location quite central with good local shopping and assorted fast food/other restaurants.

Guest rating:

29/8/2011

"had a good time everything was fine.hope to stay again."

had a great time very clean friendly staff will book again .just a pity it couldn`t be sooner.

Guest rating:

22/8/2011

"Fantastic hotel, best location in Dublin"

We had a fantastic 2 night stay in the Gresham, ideally placed in O`Connell Street, for a city break in Dublin. The car park under the hotel was relatively easy to find and the staff were very friendly and professional. We stayed in one of the luxurious Lavery rooms which I would highly recommend, with all of the finishing touches that one would expect from such a highly esteemed hotel. Outside the hotel were landmarks such as the GPO and the tour bus stops right outside, which allow visits to such historic places as Guinness, Kilmainham gaol etc. For a walking tour I don`t think there could be a better base in central Dublin. I believe we got excellent value for our money and cannot fault the hotel, i shall certainly be visiting Dublin in the near future and will look no further than the Gresham for our stay.

Guest rating:

8/8/2011

"Really good value"

Excellent value for a quality 4* hotel in the centre of Dublin. Walking distance to all shopping and nightlife yet far enough away that you could sleep at night!

Guest rating:

5/8/2011

"Very grand hotel"

Hotel in a great position and feels very expensive but it isn`t Would recommend it to any one rooms clean staff polite food good guiness good. What more do you need

Guest rating:

3/8/2011

"Excellent help from the team on reception and the rooms were always spotless"

It was a great help that we were able to check in early after travelling overnight. The staff were always very helpful and the cleaners also did an excellent job. Well done

Guest rating:

2/8/2011

"Old World Hospitality in the Heart of Dublin"

Reasonable price for a good standard of Hotel. Staff very friendly, mannerly and approachable. Rooms adequately sized with a good size of bathroom. Would recommend this Hotel and will certainly return

Guest rating:

2/8/2011

"clean & friendly staff"

The hotel was very good , it was exceptionally clean ,the staff were very friendly and welcoming. Aenjoyable experiance staying there, will go there again when i come back to Dublin.

Guest rating:

1/8/2011

"Perfect location"

Perfect location. Lovely communal areas. Our bedroom could be doing with a new carpet and a lick of paint but the bed was extemely comfortable. Room spotlessly clean.View was disappointing. Staff were very attentive, friendly and so helpful, especially Charlie the concierge, who was so knowledgeable about Dublin. Hotel prices were a little hefty but plenty of alternatives by.

Guest rating:

1/8/2011

"perfect location"

very friendly staff. room was excellent and hotel was within walking distance of shops and entertainment. hop on off bus parked right outside hotel.

Guest rating:

1/8/2011

"-"

Clean and comfortable. Helpful attentive staff.

Guest rating:

22/7/2011

"The hotel was very comfortable and the staff were ver friendly. I would definitely recommend the Gre"

Guest rating:

19/7/2011

"EXCELLENT HOTEL IN AN IDEAL LOCATION"

We had a great stay at the Gresham in Dublin. It is perfectly located on O`Connell Street and it is very comfortable and modern. The room was of a nice size and the bathroom felt very luxurious! The staff were polite and helpful and I would definitely come back to this hotel in the future. The secure capark at the back cost us 30 euros for 30 hours, which is not dearconsiderering it is in the centre of a capital city!

Guest rating:

16/7/2011

"-"

we are never disapointed with our stay in the gresham hotel especially when we get a room facing onto o connell street. food and service good. hotel although busy is very relaxing as well as being very central to all attractions in this magnificent city.

Guest rating:

15/7/2011

"A great situation on O Connell Street and all the staff were very friendly and helpful, this is the "

Guest rating:

14/7/2011

"Very happy with the service,the rooms were of a high quality and the overall hotel was excellent. "

Guest rating:

12/7/2011

"excellent location very clean and drink and food no more expensive than city restaurants."

Guest rating:

11/7/2011

"Very nice rooms and they were very spacious."

Guest rating:

5/7/2011

"-"

The reception staff were very helpfull, the lounge and bar area relaxing which led to an enjoyable stay

Guest rating:

3/7/2011

"Friendly Service, Beautiful Hotel, Great Central Location"

Hotel Beautiful, Good Rooms, Friendly Helpful Service, Great Central Location

Guest rating:

3/7/2011

"pleasant, helpful and welcoming staff!!!"

very clean and roomy bedrooms, the bed was to die for!!! great security. Good location. Service with a smile, staff eager to help. Will definitely come back when in Dublin and will recommend! Thanks for a great stay!

Guest rating:

30/6/2011

"-"

As a former hospitality industry employee in management,craft trainer & assessor capacity with Forte Hotels, Holiday Inn & Belfast Europa Hotel, I was very impressed with the standard of service & attention to detail provided by The Gresham. The two concierges who were on duty during our stay and the housekeeping lady deserve a special mention for their prompt response to our requests & their genuinely pleasant willigness to be of assistance. I look forward to staying in The Gresham in future & recommending it to others.

Guest rating:

30/6/2011

"Clean and tidy and good location"

Nice hotel and great location for seeing Dublin. Just a couple of small points - there was no seal on the plug in our bath, so water kept leaving rather fast!! Also, had a hideous `view` of a concrete wall, and we were woken up both mornings by the sound of loads of beer barrels being loaded/unloaded below!! But in a different room, am sure it would be lovely!

Guest rating:

29/6/2011

"Fabulous 2 night stay"

Everything about the hotel was fab. When we checked in we were upgraded to superior rooms which were wonderful. The Reception staff were very welcoming and polite. The meals were superb and very good value for such a hotel. Couldn`t fault it at all.

Guest rating:

27/6/2011

"A lovely olde world Dublin Hotel with friendly and very accomodating staff. "

A lovely olde world Dublin Hotel with friendly and very accomodating staff. The bar has a laid back, comfortable atmosphere. I have stayed in both the older part of the hotel and the refurbished part and have found the accomodation to be good in both. The late weekend breakfast was especially welcome. The hotel`s location is central without being too busy or noisy.

by Secure Internet

Or tel Reservations on: 0800 633 8000 (+44 1872 261 100)

Mon-Fri: 9am-8pm. Sat: 9am-5.30pm. Sun: 10am-6:30pm.

Our review system

Guest reviews and ratings are submitted to Hotel Direct by our customers immediately after check-out. They are un-edited.

With Hotel Direct you can make your break for LESS money. It's cheaper because when you book a break, we pass on special discounts for packages from hotels and train companies as well as making the total price lower. And you'll make a break in LESS time because in one place you can book your hotel, your train plus 1000s of shows, events and attractions.