Thistle Trafalgar, Leicester Square reviews

Hotel Direct invites all departing guests to rate and review their chosen hotel.

To ensure our guest evaluation is always up to date and to allow for hotel improvements, our Hotel Score is the mean of the most recent 100 guest ratings.

Hotel Score:

90%  based on 633 reviews

<<   More reviews >>

Guest rating:

1/8/2015

"Great staff great spot"

Guest rating:

22/7/2015

"-"

The staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. When we returned to the Hotel after the show there was a hand written card, wishing us a good stay and hoping we enjoyed the show and a little box of delicious chocolates, such a lovely gesture,

Guest rating:

22/7/2015

"-"

Small room but had everything we needed. Very comfortable bed. Liked the air conditioning and 12noon checkout. Great location.

Guest rating:

11/7/2015

"Brilliant !!"

We couldn`t recommend it more highly & exceeded our expectations in every way. The location was brilliant being just around the corner from Leicester Square, Trafalgar Square & Covent Garden & a short distance from the Palace Theatre. The reception staff were very welcoming & helpful, & our room was an excellent size modern room fitted to a VERY high standard, with everything you would want including King size bed, fabulous bathroom, air conditioning, free tea & coffee. Would definitely stay here again. Finally the hotel reception staff had remembered we were going to a show leaving a card & box of very nice chocolates wishing us a good time. Absolutely made our short break to London. Brilliant !!!

Guest rating:

6/7/2015

"-"

Lovely room and the hotel was very central for our stay, and thank you to the staff for the added touch of a birthday card and wine following our small inconvenience with checking in.

Guest rating:

4/7/2015

"Oasis of peace in centre of theatreland"

Can`t believe how quiet this hotel was considering it`s next door to National Gallery and right in heart of theatreland. Perfect size too, not too big and impersonal. One member of the reception staff in particular, Valentina, deserves special mention. Nothing too much trouble for her, checked us in quickly, explained everything available, left us chocolates in our rooms for when we got back from the theatre, and next day when we checked out and she heard we had a full day sightseeing planned, she arranged for our overnight bags to be retained at the hotel. All the staff were lovely but she shone as she provided excellent customer service. Will definitely be using that hotel and that chain again.

Guest rating:

22/6/2015

"Advanced double room on booking form is a standard room"

We were surprised to find our advanced double bedroom was in fact a tiny box room. When we asked reception if we had been given the correct room at check in they said their standard rooms were the same as advanced double on the booking form and we had been given the correct room. It wasn`t very comfortable at all.

Guest rating:

5/6/2015

"-"

V goodnight

Guest rating:

30/5/2015

"room and food excellent with very friendly staff. will recommend."

Guest rating:

25/5/2015

"Beautiful"

Very nice clean,comfy and stAff very pleasant

Guest rating:

2/5/2015

"Nice hotel"

Nice hotel comfy bed, clean, quiet room and very convenient for theaterland and Westend cinemas etc. Staff very polite and helpfull. Only gripe bar and breakfast charges ridiculously expensive even for London. Great place to stay but eat and drink out is my advice.

Guest rating:

26/4/2015

"really helpful and would certainly come back"

Guest rating:

19/4/2015

"modern, clean and very central"

The Thistle is very central to all the major tourist areas, the staff are friendly and the hotel and room are modern spotless with good facilities.........all you need for a weekend city break

Guest rating:

23/3/2015

"-"

Great hotel, would have given it an excellent rating but the breakfast was poor

Guest rating:

6/3/2015

"Fabulous "

Exceptional clean, comfortable and modern Hotel, lovely staff. Location wise it was perfect.

Guest rating:

19/2/2015

"-"

Hotel wonderful service and clean spacious rooms

Guest rating:

16/2/2015

"-"

Staff very helpful, and a nice touch for my wife`s birthday a bottle of champers and some chocolates on returning from the show thanks very much, shame we only stayed one night

Guest rating:

2/2/2015

"-"

Small rooms and limited facilities, but clean and quiet and in an excellent position for visiting London. All of the hotel staff were exceptional, attentive, helpful and pleasant, as someone who stays in hotels around the world throughout the year it was a refreshing change to find efficient and happy staff from breakfast, through to the night porter.

Guest rating:

28/1/2015

"Ideal location"

This hotel was ideally located for a sight seeing and theatre break.

Guest rating:

11/1/2015

"Couldn`t do enough"

This is one of the best hotels I have stayed in. I have been lucky enough to have travelled quite a bit over the years in both my personal and professional life. This hotel was quality with a personal touch. It was spotless and modern and the staff could not do enough for us...which can`t be said for many hotels these days. Well done and thank you.

Guest rating:

15/12/2014

"Good location to Queens theartre . Comfortable surroundings."

Bedroom was just big enough but very little storage room.

Guest rating:

13/12/2014

"standard rooms too small, upgrade to superior"

Reception staff EXCELLENT, rooms clean, basic, comfortable but my room had shower problems

Guest rating:

11/12/2014

"-"

I recommend this hotel - everything was perfectly acceptable. One strange thing though is one of the bath towels was damp hanging on the door hook as though staff had helped themselves to a quick shower...not a great problem.

Guest rating:

5/12/2014

"Toilet was blocked causing flood in room below. Had to change rooms. "

Guest rating:

1/12/2014

"Great Hotel,Very Welcoming Staff and Very well located."

On arrival we were met with bad news, The room was`nt ready and none were available. However with a few taps of the computer keyboard from very welcoming staff a free upgrade was quickly sorted and we were in the lift on the way to our suite. We found the hotel room to be very tidy with a lovely roof top view overlooking trafalgar square obviously helped by being on the 4th floor. Would not expect the same kind of view from a lower floor. This got our stay in London to a very good start and thats how it continued for the duration.

Guest rating:

25/11/2014

"great, especially the prosecco in the bar, may I ask what it was?"

Guest rating:

23/11/2014

"Great location"

Great location, friendly staff would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting London on business or pleasure

Guest rating:

23/11/2014

"This "Thistle Hotel" is in a well appointment position for all London attractions."

Well decorated and comfortable with excellent staff.

Guest rating:

20/11/2014

"Fantastic location. Quiet but so easy for theatre land, restaurants, pubs etc"

Overall a very good hotel. We were upgraded to an executive room which was nice but as ever, London hotels underwhelm me for the price! Bathroom had mould on the ceiling around the shower and the pedal bin stank of stale cigarettes each time it was opened. Double glazing was also full of mildew and mould but otherwise the room was clean, the bed HUGE and very comfortable and the shower was good too. Fabulous location for our purposes. Didn`t have to get in a tube/bus/taxi as it`s so central to Trafalgar Square, Covent Garden, theatre land etc and as it`s set down a side street, it was incredibly quiet for a central London location. Staff were friendly. I would stay there again.

Guest rating:

19/10/2014

"-"

Great location for the whole of the West end.Lovely service but wish we had had more time to use the facilities. Will definatley use this hotel as first option next visit.

Guest rating:

7/10/2014

"-"

Hotel was perfect from check in, we were offered a free room upgrade as it was a special occassion, room was ready earlier than expected and all staff really helpful. this hotel was in a great location and i would definately recommend it .

Guest rating:

6/10/2014

"Service charge automatcally included in all prices but also space on credit card bill for service"

Guest rating:

10/9/2014

"Very good location, quiet, clean, efficient"

Guest rating:

9/9/2014

"Friendly, helpful staff."

The location is fantastic, about 200 yards from Queens Theatre, and very central, walking distance for lots of places, including Regents Street, Trafalgar Square and Covent Garden. Round the corner from Leicester Square. Room was immaculately clean, but the best thing about this hotel was the staff. Polite, friendly, courteous, interested, and couldn`t do enough for you. The lady who checked us in was great, the Spanish barman was very helpful. Overall the staff were faultless. My sister, who was with me, works for the NHS, and said this is how she wants her staff to be, rather than rude and disinterested. The staff could give lessons to public facing staff in lots of environments. So overall, fantastic location, clean, and great staff. I would definitely go again.

Guest rating:

8/9/2014

"Smart modern hotel in central position off Trafalgar Square"

Very efficient and pleasant reception service, excellent room - smart clean and spacious, breakfast service average with only average quality hot breakfast via buffet

Guest rating:

7/9/2014

"Great location "

Great location walking distance too both shows we went to and the embankment, right on Trafalger Square. Room smaller than we are used too but very clean and well looked after, except for safe which broke down! Staff excellent could not be more helpful. We were also impressed with the excellent breakfast.

Guest rating:

26/8/2014

"Convenient and comfortable"

Guest rating:

27/7/2014

"Hotel was fantastic . In the heart of every where . Very clean .lovely staff"

Guest rating:

27/7/2014

"Nice hotel, location questionable"

Although the hotel was great, nice room and friendly staff, the side street location was questionable. A bit of a tramps hang out. Also, don`t bother with the breakfast. 12 each and just not value for money whatsoever. Pretty terrible to be honest. I couldn`t even cut my sausage due to it being over cooked!

Guest rating:

11/7/2014

"Thistke Trafalgar Hotel"

Excellent food and service. The hotel`s location could not be better, right in the middle of Theatreland and major attractions

by Secure Internet

Or tel Reservations on: 0800 633 8000 (+44 1872 261 100)

Mon-Sat: 9am-8pm. Sat: 9am-5.30pm. Sun: 10am-6:30pm.

Our review system

Guest reviews and ratings are submitted to Hotel Direct by our customers immediately after check-out. They are un-edited.

With Hotel Direct you can make your break for LESS money. It's cheaper because when you book a break, we pass on special discounts for packages from hotels and train companies as well as making the total price lower. And you'll make a break in LESS time because in one place you can book your hotel, your train plus 1000s of shows, events and attractions.