Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre reviews

Hotel Direct invites all departing guests to rate and review their chosen hotel.

To ensure our guest evaluation is always up to date and to allow for hotel improvements, our Hotel Score is the mean of the most recent 100 guest ratings.

Hotel Score:

91%  based on 96 reviews

More reviews >>

Guest rating:

18/5/2022

"Horrible "

Im never staying here again it was my sister birthday first time to Edinburgh it was a special time we were on the ground floor the car park was our view from window it wasn`t very clean and freezing it was like been in a broom cupboard.

Guest rating:

4/5/2022

"Could do with mattresses being upgraded"

This is our 2nd time here my only negative comment is the beds are rather uncomfortable, otherwise the hotel is convenient to train station and attractions. Breakfast is very good. Staff extremely polite and hotel is nice and clean.

Guest rating:

30/12/2021

"Pleasantly surprised, would definitely go back"

Guest rating:

19/12/2021

"-"

Central, clean, warm, good breakfast, room we stayed in very quiet

Guest rating:

10/12/2021

"Servicing our room was problematic "

We arrived 6/12/2021 for a 4 night stay during the Edinburgh Christmas markets. On the Tuesday our room was not serviced at all. Reception apologised and gave us clean towels. On the Wednesday we got back to our room at 4.30pm. It had not been serviced. I complained at reception and they apologised and sent someone to refresh our room. The same thing happened on the Thursday. At that point I asked to speak to the manager. He apologised (again) and sent someone to clean the room at about 5pm

Guest rating:

3/12/2021

"Conveniently located"

Guest rating:

27/11/2021

"Only average for cost of hotel"

Guest rating:

21/10/2021

"We enjoyed are stay the staff were very good and very helpful The breakfast was excellent "

The bed room as excellent

Guest rating:

21/10/2021

"-"

This hotel is in an excellent location. A very high standard of cleanliness. The breakfast perfect.

Guest rating:

13/10/2021

"-"

Excellent location. Room was lovely and clean. Very helpful staff. Breakfast was good but dining area felt like it was to small for the size of the hotel.

Guest rating:

12/10/2021

"-"

Hotel very central to all attractions ,nice clean room ,good breakfast.would recommend this hotel.

Guest rating:

6/10/2021

"-"

First class would highly recommend this hotel should have been on 6th floor but when i checked in asked if anyower floors were available as my wife uses a crutch got me one on ground floor very helpful staff and a very good breakfast

Guest rating:

5/10/2021

"Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh"

We arrived on the Monday for a 4 night stay. Our room hadn`t been cleaned. The manager was less than sympathetic. After half an hour we were allocated another room. This room was tastefully decorated for a one night stay, but anything more you would have to live out of a suitcase. There were no drawers and the open plan wardrobe was small. Pets are not allowed according to the brochure. We saw one guest parading round the dining room at breakfast time with a dog! No-one was checked in at breakfast so anyone could walk in off the street and have a feast! The breakfast itself was satisfactory I have to say although seats were limited. It would be pandemonium in the summer months when the hotel was full! We saw many people enter the dining area and walk out with bags full of cereal packets, fresh fruit and lots more, so were they actually guests or visitors? The hotel itself was clean, presentable and only a ten minute walk from the main Princes Street area.

Guest rating:

4/10/2021

"Shortage of drinks in room"

Hotel was just right. Great location. Had a good breakfast. Only thing was tea, coffee and milk wasn`t replenished.

Guest rating:

23/9/2021

"All as expected of the Holiday Inn Express. Clean, comfortable, efficient check in and out. "

Excellent breakfast which included hot bacon, sausage, eggs and baked beans.

Guest rating:

22/9/2021

"Well Planned"

Everything expected in a Hotel was there.Pleasant, efficient young staff and excellent position being near to Railway and Bus Stations.

Guest rating:

18/9/2021

"Excellent location."

Only a 10 minute walk from the station. Friendly staff. Very clean room. Breakfast included in the price - plenty of choice too - this was one of the factors that made us choose this hotel. Would definitely recommend and would stay here again.

Guest rating:

12/9/2021

"-"

Friendly staff, easy check in, comfy beds, clean rooms, breakfast was ok buffet style. Great location

Guest rating:

10/9/2021

"VALUE FOR MONEY"

GOOD LOCATION. BREAKFAST VERY WELL WORTH THE MONEY. STAFF VERY FRIENDLY/HELPFUL. ROOM WAS CLEAN.

Guest rating:

20/3/2020

"Had a great stay. "

We had a great stay at the Holiday Inn, Edinburgh, where the rooms were very clean and had everything you needed. The staff were excellent, so friendly, welcoming and polite and nothing was too much for them. Continental breakfast was plentiful, with cereal, bread, toast, croissants, muffins, porridge, bacon, eggs, sausage, fruit juice, yogurts and fruit compote. We were upgraded to a better room on arrival, as the hotel had spare rooms.

Guest rating:

16/3/2020

"nice and central with plenty to do around you, well looked after and nice and clean"

would hope to return later in the year

Guest rating:

12/3/2020

"Not child friendly"

The hotel was in a great location for the playhouse and suitable for couples but was no child friendly at all. We phoned ahead as we were travelling fromThe north to get checked in early, when we arrived the reception lady was rude and we couldn`t get in until 2pm I explained that we had the show at 2.30pm and was there anything They could do as my daughter was only 4 and needed a rest due to the travelling fromEarly. They ended us puttingUs into a tiny room. All the couples that were coming in before checkin got into theirRooms Early. Several staff were very rude. At breakfast there was no one available to advise what the set up was we eventuallySaw someone and they couldn`t speak just grunted and walked away. Very disapponting as my mum had booked for my daughters birthday. Would certainlyNot stay again with a child.

Guest rating:

5/3/2020

"Very convenient, pleasant staff, good breakfast."

Other than virtually no wi fi on the 4 th floor our stay was perfect

Guest rating:

24/2/2020

"Amazing hotel in an amazing location"

I could not have asked for more from a hotel. On arrival we were given a choice of floors and whether we wanted a room at the front or back of the hotel. The buffet breakfast was lovely, the staff polite and helpful, close to a variety of restaurants and a large entertainment complex. Would definitely stay there again

Guest rating:

17/2/2020

"Management and staff very helpful and professional"

Requested a special valentines package for my fiancée as it was valentines day, spoke with Christian (Manager) to organise, very helpful and professional at all times, made it a very special evening. much appreciated

Guest rating:

24/1/2020

"-"

Hotel very clean and comfortable. Excellent location. Service excellent and right across the road from the playhouse theatre.

Guest rating:

21/1/2020

"Perfect position"

Opposite Playhouse, next door to Italian and Spanish restaurants, the latter serving a superb seafood paella and Sangria and very near Station

Guest rating:

21/12/2019

"Great location"

I can recommend this well placed hotel just 10 mins from station, opposite theatre, cinemas, John Lewis , with trams and buses if needed. Quiet rooms, staff most helpful , breakfast more than expected .

Guest rating:

12/12/2019

"Central, clean, great breakfast "

Guest rating:

5/12/2019

"-"

Very happy with all aspects of the hotel. Pleasant and helpful staff, quiet and comfortable rooms, and good breakfast service and food. Hotel very conveniently situated for city centre sights etc.Overall good value for money. Will recommend to others and will definately stay again.

Guest rating:

4/12/2019

"-"

Was clean and beds were comfortable. Breakfast was good, would use this hotel again.

Guest rating:

25/11/2019

"Edinburgh Xmas festival stay "

Just had a very comfortable and happy stay breakfast very good room spotless very attentive staff and welcoming best stay at holiday inn express central Edinburgh def great location 5 mins walk to Waverley train station and princess street . cosy pub across the road at the theatre pub great food and Sunday lunch .

Guest rating:

19/11/2019

"Less than 10 minutes from the station"

on foot the hotel is down a hill. we arrived around 22.30 (train Late) checked in quickly hotel clean service from staff was very good decor is light and airy would definitely stay there again, very central after check out Sunday we.were able to leave our luggage safely stored in a secure room until later in the day.

Guest rating:

10/11/2019

"Comfortable stay in a small room."

My wife and I stayed for five nights. There was inadequate storage space for a stay of this length. so we lived largely out of four suitcases. The room, however, was modern and clean although the carpets were rather grubby. The bed was very comfortable and the room was quiet, making for good sleeping conditions. The bathroom was well equipped with a good shower. Breakfast provided a good choice and the staff did well to keep the food containers stocked and the tables clean. The hotel location was excellent for exploring Edinburgh`s main sights. We would be happy to return.

Guest rating:

10/11/2019

"Good location and value for money"

Guest rating:

9/11/2019

"Very comfortable beds and lovely food at breakfast would come back again "

Guest rating:

8/11/2019

"Warm and efficient"

I have stayed at this hotel before - I chose it because of my previous experiences. A warm and efficient welcome, a comfortable room with an excellent power shower, a monster breakfast buffet - and all just yards from the public transport system to get you around Scotlands capital - what more could you want?

Guest rating:

6/11/2019

"I found the hotel very accomodating with a small issue of the key-card not working,very well done."

the room was clean and the breakfast was extremely generous in size and also choice.

Guest rating:

2/11/2019

"-"

Only gave a good rating because I personally found the bed to small and well used compared for instance to a premier inn beds but other than this the hotel was spot on

Guest rating:

1/11/2019

"Great hotel Close to station and all city sites."

Hotel room and all areas spotless. Beds very comfortable. Staff pleasant and helpful. Breakfast plentiful and good choice of food. Dining room always busy but staff very efficient in clearing and cleaning tables. Would definitely stay here again.

by Secure Internet

Or tel Reservations on: 0800 633 8000 (+44 1872 261 100)

Mon-Sat: 9am-8pm. Sat: 9am-5.30pm. Sun: 10am-6:30pm.

Our review system

Guest reviews and ratings are submitted to Hotel Direct by our customers immediately after check-out. They are un-edited.

With Hotel Direct you can make your break for LESS money. It's cheaper because when you book a break, we pass on special discounts for packages from hotels and train companies as well as making the total price lower. And you'll make a break in LESS time because in one place you can book your hotel, your train plus 1000s of shows, events and attractions.