Lamb and Lion Inn reviews

Hotel Direct invites all departing guests to rate and review their chosen hotel.

To ensure our guest evaluation is always up to date and to allow for hotel improvements, our Hotel Score is the mean of the most recent 100 guest ratings.

Hotel Score:

85%  based on 10 reviews

Guest rating:

15/2/2020

"Staff friendly and helpful rooms clean and warm."

Visit Lamb and Lion in February was warmly welcomed and shown to room, cosy and warm , enjoyed a evening meal for the 3 nights I stayed soup delicious, chips very good but suggest caesar salad could be improved. All in all a very excellent hotel.

Guest rating:

31/12/2019

"Just what we wanted. Central, historic, friendly, real ale and well prepared food."

We asked for a quiet room and that is what we got so very pleased. It was in the attic on the second floor so no pub noise or heat from below but access was a challenge with steep and awkward stairs. The room was spacious, the bathroom adequate but small. Decor was historic in tune with the building and clean but could be much improved with a timely uplift to bathroom and roof windows.

Guest rating:

12/12/2019

"Breakfast great, room noisy"

Guest rating:

28/11/2019

"Excellent "

We really enjoyed our stay .Great location .Very friendly helpful staff .Beautiful historic inn .Only problem would be the stairs to some of the rooms we had six flights to our lovely room .Check if you have mobility problems .Would differently return

Guest rating:

18/11/2019

"Rooms below standard ."

Guest rating:

27/10/2019

"Excellently positioned for a base in york, lovely staff, good food and comfortable rooms."

Guest rating:

11/4/2019

"Perfect location "

Quirky hotel staff excellent. Lovely outside garden.Single room has issues with noise due to kitchen extractor.

Guest rating:

9/2/2018

"Noisy road"

Room very clean and comfortable however single glazed so extremely noisy, traffic, pedestrians, loading etc. Downside as bed/pillows very comfortable and room was warm. Staff were very helpful and nothing was too much trouble.

Guest rating:

10/1/2018

"Great experience"

Nice, helpful staff...rooms were a bit noisy at the front due to passing drunks but we moved to the back of the hotel. Double glazing the front would help if permitted.

by Secure Internet

Or tel Reservations on: 0800 633 8000 (+44 1872 261 100)

Mon-Sat: 9am-8pm. Sat: 9am-5.30pm. Sun: 10am-6:30pm.

Our review system

Guest reviews and ratings are submitted to Hotel Direct by our customers immediately after check-out. They are un-edited.

With Hotel Direct you can make your break for LESS money. It's cheaper because when you book a break, we pass on special discounts for packages from hotels and train companies as well as making the total price lower. And you'll make a break in LESS time because in one place you can book your hotel, your train plus 1000s of shows, events and attractions.