Book The Woman in Black Theatre Break >>
Review score:             6/2/2020
"Amazing experience"
"What can I say but just amazing. The theatre was perfect for the play & really added to the atmosphere. We couldn`t believe just how two people(mmm129300;three)could explore so many different emotions. One minute happiness the next sadness. Then humour to FEAR128561;. Wow what a first-time experience into theatre. The staff added to the while experience being so friendly & helpful. Highly recommended, we are now planning to go to other theatre trips."
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Review score:             10/11/2019
"Thoroughly Entertaining with a sprinkling of terror"
"The show was amazing, the perfect blend of humour and horror that you expect from such a show, great cast and set, highly recommend."
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Review score:             28/9/2019
"Underwhelming"
"Found the whole thing slow and disjointed Other than a few loud noises nothing registered as `frightening` It is personnel take, but would rate it as the second worst play I have seen in the London The worst being the Mousetrap I would qualify this, I rate the best play that I have seen as Shadowlands, followed by the `Importance of being earnest`"
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Review score:             25/9/2019
"Excellent"
"Very professional actors that played their parts very well. Very entertaining"
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Review score:             11/4/2019
"Felt involved from the minute it started and really enjoyed the show. Would highly recommend"

---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Review score:             7/4/2019
"Imagination required!"
"A really good, different and innovative interpretation of the story. Do not go expecting to be spoon-fed horror cliches like in the recent film. The film was also good, but left little to the imagination; if this is what you are expecting, you may be disappointed."
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Review score:             18/2/2019
"not scary"
"great acting but not scary"
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Review score:             22/1/2019
"An entertaining evening."
"Great show, certainly not how I expected it to be. But fun."
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Review score:             23/12/2018
"Disappointed"
"Too much talking, not enough scary parts. Not enough money spent on props, staging etc. It got quite boring to watch quite quickly."
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Review score:             2/12/2018
"Amazing show!!"
"Got captured in the play would highly recommend."
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Review score:             3/8/2018
"Excellent"

---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Review score:             8/4/2018
"Absolutely brilliant"
"I was very intrigued to see this show as it`s a bit different to your usual London shows.And I can honestly say I was very impressed.Its like an old fashioned show,stripped right back,minimal props with just 2 actors and your imagination giving a very powerful performance.They build the tension very well in it and there are some genuinely good jumpy/scary parts to the show.Would definitely reccomend128077;127995;"
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Review score:             6/4/2018
"Woman in black"
"Fantastic night and a great venue. Small, intimate theatre which was perfect for the show. A must see."
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Review score:             19/2/2018
"Found it bit boring in the the beginning, and only 2 men playing the part"

---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Review score:             12/2/2018
"Thoroughly enjoyed the performance."

---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Review score:             18/1/2018
"Excellent show"
"Not what I expected but it was still gripping. Actors were brilliant."
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Review score:             2/10/2017
"very good"

---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Review score:             22/6/2017
"Amazing show"
"Amazing production, felt totally absorbed in the two man show, the invisible was also amazing!"
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Review score:             8/6/2017
"Very good show."

---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Review score:             7/5/2017
"Great show loved it all"
"Would recommend to all"
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Review score:             3/4/2017
"Excellent show, scary and gripping all the way through, highly recommended"
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Review score:             12/2/2017
"From black to gold; the show that lit up the stage"

---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Review score:             9/1/2017
"spooky !"
"Excellent play, atmospheric and dark humour, proper jump out your seats moments and great actors. A must see !"
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Review score:             4/1/2017
"Fantastic"
"Brilliant Show"
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Review score:             24/12/2016
"Super theatre experience, great show."
"We`ve seen The Woman in Black a few times in rep, but thought we`d see it in London. Even though we knew the story, it is still quite frightening, with plenty to make us jump. The adaptation was different from others we`ve seen, and made it a particularly enjoyable experience. How 2 actors (or is it 3?) can hold the attention of an audience for about 2 hours is testament to their skill, and also to the brilliance of the story. The theatre was quintessentially West End, the staff were polite and helpful and these little things went towards an excellent evening."
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Review score:             18/12/2016
"Imagination is the key to this play, just 3 actors and sound effects and I still jumped!"

---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Review score:             14/10/2016
"Thoroughly enjoyed the show.Excellent.Loved The Fortunes Theatre it`s amazing.For anyone who has not seen The Woman in Black you must watch."
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Review score:             29/9/2016
"2nd time ive seen the woman in black and it was even better the second time around.i cannot recommend this show highly enough"
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Review score:             30/8/2016
"Very good"
"Very realistic - amazing for only two actors + XXXXX"
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Review score:             14/8/2016
"The performance from both actors was exceptional. They kept the audience captivated and in suspense"

---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Review score:             14/8/2016
"Cramped and uncomfortable seating ruined the performance for us."
"Cramped and uncomfortable seating ruined the performance for us."
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Review score:             20/7/2016
"Really enjoyed the show"

---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Review score:             11/7/2016
"BRILLIANT"
"The show was amazing started off slow but once you started to use your imagination and the people got into character the show was brilliant. There is only 2 people on stage also the Woman in Black herself but the way they captured your imagination and each character they introduced made you believe there were more people taking part in the play. This is a show that I and my partner would highly recommend and it will not disappoint."
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Review score:             3/7/2016
"Fantastic!"
"Enthralling, clever and very enjoyable. Just two actors (and a ghost!) don`t expect a colourful west end performance. This us an intimate small story told by two brilliant actors."
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Review score:             4/6/2016
"Atmospheric and quirky theatre, fantastic show !"

---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Review score:             3/6/2016
"Brilliantly acted."
"Just 2 actors who played parts between them during the 2 hour performance. They were brilliant! Theatre is tiny and old- thus giving added impetus to the atmosphere and ambience for a "ghostly" production. Excellent evening - not to be missed"
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Review score:             3/6/2016
"Loved the show."
"It was amazing to see how only 3 people were able to keep the audience completely absorbed in the storyline. The acting was excellent. Pace of the story perfect and enough shocks and spooky bits to give us goosebumps. We thoroughly enjoyed it."
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Review score:             22/5/2016
"Started off slow but came together mid way"
"Entertaining from just 2 main actors and four main props. Very encouraging to see such confidence in UK acting"
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Review score:             7/4/2016
"Victorian melodrama at its best!"
"First time at the Fortune theatre. Was initially a bit wary about sitting so close to the front in a small theatre, but found we felt part of the action. Two actors and a simple range of props but really well utilised and not a dull moment during the play. Really enjoyed it - would recommend to all!"
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Review score:             9/3/2016
"Excellent"
"Gripping tale well acted most enjoyable"
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Review score:             16/2/2016
"Great show.would have enjoyed make character but a nice old and original play"

---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Review score:             15/2/2016
"Absolutely excellent!"

---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Review score:             15/2/2016
"Very good show all I can say it wasn`t what we expected me and the wife enjoyed it"
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Review score:             17/1/2016
"Best show I have ever seen!!!!"
"Say no more."
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Review score:             17/1/2016
"Beginning was a bit slow but it picks up and is actually quite scary."

---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Review score:             10/1/2016
"Unexpected"
"Makes me regret watching the film !!"
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Review score:             13/12/2015
"The women in black was great my partner and i enjoyed it very much"
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Review score:             3/12/2015
"The show was well acted and produced a chilling atmosphere! Excellent."
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Review score:             28/11/2015
"Overrated!"
"It`s dull was hoping for more after all the excellent reviews but it is just out and out dull 2/10"
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Review score:             29/10/2015
"Scary"
"Amazing show kept me on the edge of the seat through out."
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Review score:             4/10/2015
"Victorian scares!"
"A great two handed play. Told in a very clever and authentic way with wonderful performances from both its actors. The Fortune Theatre is the perfect setting for this classic ghost story."
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Review score:             30/7/2015
"Truly excellent"
"After seeing this show in Newcastle I jumped at the chance to see it again in London. The small, intimate surroundings of the beautiful Fortune Theatre is the perfect setting for this show. If you like suspense then you can`t go wrong, this show builds slowly, at first giving the impression of a comedy however don`t be fooled. Even knowing what to expect didn`t prepare me for the jumping out of my seat moments, made all the more exhilarating in this wonderful theatre. Outstanding."
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Review score:             16/7/2015
"Wonderful theatre. Great play"
"Such a gorgeous theatre very small. Actors were brilliant"
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Review score:             10/7/2015
"Upper Circle Seats"
"The show I thought was very very good. Loved the film so wanted to see the play. The actors were excellent and how they brought the story to the stage very good indeed. Really enjoyed it. Only disadvantage of the evening were the seats in the Upper Circle so cramped my son of over 6 ft found it really uncomfortable! plus loads of school teenagers sitting behind moving squeaky seats! But stage production/ actors etc excellent."
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Review score:             26/5/2015
"Great"
"Loved the show, much better than the film!"
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Review score:             24/5/2015
"Edge of your seat excitement! What a terrific show and atmosphere."

---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Review score:             26/4/2015
"Very atmospheric."
"Great theatre. Great ushers. Great acting! Would visit again and recommend!"
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Review score:             6/4/2015
"Good play in a bijou theatre"
"We really enjoyed the show, the seats (row A stalls) were excellent albeit very cramped. The play had a rather slow start and I had my doubts for the first 15mns but then the story gathered momentum. The two actors did a really good job of portraying the different characters. Probably a good idea to read the book before watching the play."
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Review score:             5/4/2015
"A master class in acting!!!"
"From the first line you are drawn into a mesmerising world, the two actors astonished me with their acting ability and I will be looking for them in future productions, they literally hypnotised me with their masterful acting."
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Review score:             29/3/2015
"woman in black"
"very good & highly recommended"
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Review score:             20/3/2015
"Very entertaining thriller with outstanding actors"

---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Review score:             3/3/2015
"Very gripping and entertaining."

---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Review score:             1/3/2015
"show was very well produced but not as scary as is led to believe."

---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Review score:             22/2/2015
"Really good and atmospheric! Other people in the audience jumped and screamed!!"

---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Review score:             20/1/2015
"Very intimate, well acted"

---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Review score:             22/12/2014
"Very different from what I thought it would be, but we really enjoyed it. Simple but very good:-)"
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Review score:             20/10/2014
"Spellbinding show. Only moan a shortage of leg room, however only to be expected I suppose in such an old Theatre. Does not detract from the performance. A show not to miss."
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Review score:             28/8/2014
"Woman In Black"
"Excellant show, would definantly go and see it again!"
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Review score:             23/6/2014
"Good show, first half slightly drawn but second half much better, having seen film, knew what was coming, but did make you jump in parts."
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Review score:             14/6/2014
"Very well performed. Amazing talent"
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Review score:             7/6/2014
"Amazing adaptation for the stage"
"I was not aware of the story of Woman in Black and was not disappointed, the story is excellent, but I wont spoil it for future audiences, go and see it. We were very lucky that by chance we had booked to go on the 25th anniversary and at the end of the show the Director and Producer came onto stage and there were some former members of the cast in the audience, the whole audience were given a glass of bubbly while we heard about the origin of the stage adaptation"
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Review score:             2/3/2014
"Enjoyed the show very much and the actors were brilliant. I would recommend This show."
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Review score:             28/2/2014
"women in black was intense"

---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Review score:             12/1/2014
"The Woman in Black"
"Superb show. Performances from both actors were outstanding and it would have been nice to have told them so. The play was full of suspense, riveting and produced much thought provoking afterwards. Clever props added to the professionalism of the whole show. A must see."
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Review score:             23/11/2013
"The Woman in Black and Billy Elliot."
"bOTH SHOWS EXCELLENT."
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Review score:             13/9/2013
"The Woman in Black"
"Thoroughly recommend this play. I was a bit apprehensive as I don`t normally `do` scary but, it was fantastic. It is a two handed play and both actors were excellent managing convey the suspense with very few props. Excellent. 10 out of 10"
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Review score:             18/8/2013
"Great show, shame about the seats"
"Excellent show. I watched the first half, and swapped seats with the wife so she could see the second half. We were stuck behind a man with an enormous hear of hair and could not see the stage. It sounded good though. Seats need to stagger!"
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Review score:             15/8/2013
"excellant show really worth watching acting was top rate"

---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Review score:             31/7/2013
"great play"
"only negative comment would be the lack of leg room in upper circle seats, we were at the front, so if you are tall like my husband 6ft 3 there is no room, the show was great really draws you in, only two actors but were brill!!!"
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Review score:             22/7/2013
"Lovely small intimate theatre though quite a few empty seats. Marvellous actors who really built the tension and atmosphere well."
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Review score:             2/6/2013
"Excellent show. lived up to all expectations"

---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Review score:             6/5/2013
"atmospheric and entertaining"
"a nice little theatre with atmosphere, the show itself started off quite slow, I found my mind wondering, but after it got good, entertaining, a bit scary, good sound effects, but the end was a bit rushed and the ghost in black wasn`t very good at acting scary, a bit amateur. but over all a good play."
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Review score:             28/4/2013
"very enjoyable"
"went to see the matinee of the woman in black on saturday ,it was the first play i have been to see,others being musicals, and i was pleasantly surprised.The two actors held my attention through-out and i didn`t look at my watch once to check when it finished .Well recommended."
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Review score:             1/4/2013
"Very small theatre. Seats had very little leg room and not comfortable."

---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Review score:             18/2/2013
"Fantastic show!"
"Absolutely loved the show even though a complete wimp with horror stories!"
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Review score:             16/2/2013
"Second half much better then the first."
"First half dragged with no real story or action, picked up in the secondhalf"
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Review score:             17/12/2012
"Actually very scary, very well done"
"Really enjoyed the whole play, the effects and surround sound was amazing!!"
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Review score:             9/12/2012
"Cosy little theatre."
"Wife liked it as did I, though I found it difficult to follow. Not the show`s problem, mine! 8 for two tiny ice creams! Country bumpkins as we are that is a bit much!!"
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Review score:             18/11/2012
"Very well acted. Scarey. Lots of young people watching show (ages 12-16ish). They really enjoyed it."
"Outstanding. One big problem with seating. It would appear that an extra row had been added. These seats are very suitable for young people but not adults. My party of 4 are of average height. Ages 65 to 69. Our leg pains were so bad after about 15 minutes, because we could not move our legs that I, as party leader, had a quiet word with the manager who found 2 seat down stairs together for my wife a her friend. I was then able to sit sideways and place my legs in the foot-well vacated by my wife and my friend, who was in end of row seat, was then able to stretch his legs in the gangway. The show was so good that we soon forgot our previous discomfort. The age group of your customers should be a consideration when booking seats upstairs."
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Review score:             22/10/2012
"Woman in Black a hooooooot"
"Loved Woman in Black, the 2 actors on stage throughout the play, excellent acting, building up suspence, a good yarn, would recommend to anyone. (Fortune Theatre a bit cramped though, no leg room, OK if you don`t mind getting cozy with a stranger!!)"
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Review score:             30/9/2012
"This show is performed by two actors plus an occasional appearance of the Woman in Black. I thought both actors were very good and kept the audience`s attention and the show got better as the story progressed. There were some very jumpy moments in the second half."
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Review score:             25/9/2012
"A little disapointed that all parts were played by only two actors and the limited props used."
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Review score:             16/9/2012
"An excellent play. What wonderful actors, thoroughly enjoyed the performance."
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Review score:             11/9/2012
"Enjoyed the show but it was not as scary as I was expecting. Theatre was very small"

---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Review score:             6/8/2012
"Scary!"

---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Review score:             7/6/2012
"Scary"
"Not what I expected wont ruin the surprises but great show well worth seeing"
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Review score:             19/5/2012
"A must see!!!!"

---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Review score:             12/3/2012
"Excellent"
"Wasn`t quite sure what to expect, we saw the War Horse last year and it would take some beating. The Woman in Black however hit the mark, although the play started off slowly, it was, after a while apparent why. It was to allow the atmosphere, tension, to build up and this it most certainly did, in abundance. Considering there were only two actors and little in the way of props, I have to say it was brilliantly performed. Thoroughly enjoyed the evening, and would recommend it without hesitation. The theatre itself is very small, so that from the majority of seats you are very close to the action, so to speak, however if you are tall`ish, you would probably be better suited to sitting in the stalls, as there is not a lot of leg room."
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Review score:             24/2/2012
"Outstanding"
"I have seen this show 5 times now and it keeps getting better, the characters just immerse you and it is so well produced its truly a theatre great."
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Review score:             12/2/2012
"Very clever show!"

---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Review score:             29/11/2011
"Not a very good story line only 2 characters and few props"

---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Review score:             26/9/2011
"Awesome!"

---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Review score:             11/8/2011
"Actors good but not scary at all and was really disappointed."
"I could quite happily have walked out. Rubbish show but the actors did their best. Why not put the other characters in the show?"
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Review score:             28/7/2011
"Very gripping, entertaining and scary, well worth a watch"

---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Review score:             10/6/2011
"We have seen another adaptation of the Woman in Black but this was most enjoyable"

---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Review score:             31/5/2011
"Excellent production. Seats provided and excellent view but not a lot of comfort."

---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Review score:             1/4/2011
"Excellent show, something a bit different but gripping."

---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Review score:             20/12/2010
"Obviously made for people like me, I jumped at all he right bits. That two actors could hold the audience spell bound with minimal props was really something"
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Review score:             26/10/2010
"very gripping and clever way to tell a story..very entertaining"

---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Review score:             13/10/2010
"Wonderful acting!"

---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Review score:             20/9/2010
"a bit slow to start with but persevere because it was well worth it. Very scary!!"

---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Review score:             9/9/2010
"Amazing"
"I didn`t know anything about this play, but would 100% reccommend it. We had an amazing night and the theatre upgraded our tickets on arrival. Unbelievable performance."
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Review score:             28/8/2010
"A really excellent play - well acted and very scary!"
"Only two actors (three if you count the woman in black) and superbly acted. The play is gripping and the unexpected twist leaves you shivering!"
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Review score:             23/3/2010
"excellent entertainment. very scary."

---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Review score:             16/11/2009
"An extremely well put together play, not what we expected, thoroughly enjoyable"

---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Review score:             24/8/2009
"Show was good, the audience was bad"
"The show was very good, scary and as I remembered it from seeing it as a child, what let it down for me were a few members of the audience who whispered and laughed at the most suspenseful or tragic moments. It reminded me of going to the cinema with a school trip in attendance! Not what I had expected from London Theatre goers."
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Review score:             14/7/2009
"Really impressed with the show it was fab and made me jump a few times !"
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Review score:             28/5/2009
"Ok - glad the ticket was cheap with Hotel Direct!"
"I found the show a bit slow. Didn`t get into the story really until the second half. Not as eerie or `spine tingling` as I`d hoped. A bit of an obvious horror film storyline. Quite enjoyable if you`ve nothing else to do on a rainy evening - but I wouldn`t say rush there!"
---------------------------------------------------------------------------