Academy Plaza Hotel reviews

Hotel Direct invites all departing guests to rate and review their chosen hotel.

To ensure our guest evaluation is always up to date and to allow for hotel improvements, our Hotel Score is the mean of the most recent 100 guest ratings.

Hotel Score:

92%  based on 372 reviews

<<   More reviews >>

Guest rating:

13/9/2012

"GOOD LOCATION"

STAFF FRIENDLY. HOTEL CLEAN AND BEDS COMFORTABLE. WOULD STAY THERE AGAIN

Guest rating:

13/9/2012

"Comfortable, clean and very friendly staff"

Took my mum away for a night shopping in Dublin recently and was apprehensive about our hotel stay as the last time we went overnight to Dublin the hotel we stayed in was a disaster and it cost alot of money. I had no need to worry. The Academy Plaza was in a great location and was very clean, modern and comfortable. The staff were very friendly and the food was excellent. I would recommend it to anyone and will definately return.

Guest rating:

31/8/2012

"-"

We have just returned from a 2 night short break at this hotel,we arrived early around 11am,the hotel let us check into our room which was very nice,good size room and very clean.All the hotel staff were very friendly.The hotel was in a central position,only few minutes walk to main street and bus,s stop right outside the hotel if you want to go sight seeing. Would recommend this hotel we had a lovely time

Guest rating:

19/8/2012

"Room very small"

When we got to our room it was very small but we went down to the front desk and were charged 19euro for a bigger room.Ithink it would be better for your website to explain the room that you book before you go. But over all i cannot fault the hotel. The staff and food were excellent and a fantastic location. I would fully 100% recommend this hotel and would deffinetly stay there again!!

Guest rating:

15/8/2012

"I`ll definitely be back"

Beautiful hotel best staff I`ve seen in a hotel for a while very patient with guests particularly with elderly gentleman that was visiting while we were there,spotless room, nice food, very central for city.highly recommend.

Guest rating:

6/8/2012

"Well appointed hotel, cheerful and helpful staff."

Guest rating:

21/7/2012

"great location for shopping in city or events"

great hotel, lovely clean and very friendly staff. it`s my 9th staying here and will be back.

Guest rating:

14/7/2012

"too small room."

Guest rating:

7/6/2012

"Hotel was great staff very helpful rooms very clean "

We had food in the bistro very good, breakfast overpriced so we didn`t pay for breakfast we went across the road to toddys Had breakfast for five euros great, caught the air coach across the road back to the airport took 15minutes, my only moan is with hotel direct when I was looking for a hotel I wanted one in Stephens green on their website it has it in Stephens green it clearly is not as the hotel is in upper o Connell street,

Guest rating:

6/5/2012

"good location, helpful staff, very clean and modern"

would stay again

Guest rating:

16/4/2012

"Pleasant but a little noisy"

This is a good hotel, with reasonable and abundant breakfasts, comfortable rooms and very pleasant staff and all at a reasonable price. The only gripes I had were that it is noisy (with the window open) at the from of the hotel t night, but it is just of O`Connell Street so this isn`t surprising. However if you can sleep in a room with closed windows it was very quiet with the window closed, so not a major issue there really. Also the shower was pretty weak, it was hot but lacked the oomph that makes for a really good shower.

Guest rating:

1/4/2012

"great hotel"

Fantasic location, rooms very clean and comfortable, staff are friendly and the food was excellent. Great hotel for a short trip in the city

Guest rating:

25/3/2012

"Return visit and not disappointed"

Excellent in every way!

Guest rating:

19/3/2012

"staff were really helpfull and nothing was a problem "

one of the best hotels we have stayed at. there was 8 of us and we all enjoyed or stay. hope to be back

Guest rating:

13/3/2012

"very good hotel staff very friendly "

Guest rating:

11/3/2012

"Dublin Trip for Rugby Weekend"

We all enjoyed our stay at the Academy Plaza, we were on a room only basis and found the rooms lovely, The Hotel in all was very good.. We found the Hotel in an excellent position in Dublin as just off O`Connell street which is the main street in Dublin. Only a 3-4 minute walk off the airport bus to the Hotel and the same to get the bus back to airport, perfect. Staff friendly. We didn`t eat in the Hotel so can``t comment on that. Plenty of places in city to eat and drink. We had a wonderful weekend and I would go back the Academy Plaza if we were ever to go back.

Guest rating:

7/2/2012

"Extremely helpfull, friendly and welcoming in all aspects.I would definitely recommend this hotel."

Guest rating:

23/1/2012

"Nice Experience"

I`ve stayed in hotels throughout the country and this hotel was clean, friendly and modern. Just 2 small issues - 1) my double room was quiet small compared to what I`ve experienced elsewhere. 2) There was no car park. I did get a discount off a carpark which was less than 1 minute away but it cost ?11.40 for one night.

Guest rating:

23/1/2012

"Staff very helpful rooms comfortable food very tasty I would recommand it to my friends."

Guest rating:

6/1/2012

"Great Location"

Staff very friendly, great location, clean hotel, breakfasts good despite what reviews say on other websites, room size adequate.

Guest rating:

2/1/2012

"very clean"

Cannot fault the hotel the staff were brilliant bedrooms spotless would stay there again lovely time was had

Guest rating:

8/12/2011

"noise from main road."

bedroom was disappointing this time, quite small. In furture would request a higher level floor due to the noise during the night from the main road. (party animals) lasted quite a while on both nights. apart from that, an excellent hotel and a great location. Have recommended to my friends

Guest rating:

28/11/2011

"Good food"

Nice clean hotel. Some rooms have joining doors .Great Breakfast. Good price and location beside car park.

Guest rating:

7/11/2011

"Friendly, clean and in a great location"

Thoroughly enjoyed my first time in Dublin and this hotel was a big part of that. Rooms were spacious and clean, bed was amazingly comfortable shower was powerful. TV choices were good. The location was about a 10 min walk to the river, a few bars and restaurants nearby amd everywhere in the city was less than a 30 min walk. Highly recommend this hotel to all, and I will be coming back to Dublin soon!!!

Guest rating:

31/10/2011

"We always stay at the Academy when in Dublin excellent hotel all round"

Guest rating:

12/8/2011

"friendly and helpful"

Guest rating:

26/6/2011

"great accommodation"

very nice hotel, well located, friendly staff

Guest rating:

22/6/2011

"We would certainly stay at this hotel again if visiting Dublin in the future."

The hotel was very comfortable and clean although the bathroon was rather small. The staff were very attentive especially the ones in the Dining Room who were working with large numbers of guests at breakfast time. We were delighted to find that the hotel was so convenient for the city and sightseeing. The airport bus stops almost opposite as does the "Hop on Hop off " bus.

Guest rating:

11/6/2011

"Hotel well positioned, great value for money"

The Hotel & room were great but very noisy at night due to external air con fans (?) in the small outside courtyard that the room overlooked. Staff excellent and breakfast couldn`t be faulted. We really enjoyed our stay and would recommend the Hotel.

Guest rating:

10/6/2011

"Very polite and helpful staff"

Guest rating:

4/6/2011

"-"

our stay at the Academy Plaza was excellent, pleasant rooms very comfy beds and very pleasant and helpful staff ,food also was very very good in all the venues. we would definitely go there again and recommend it to all my friends. having stayed at Best Western Hotels in other places I would not stay anywhere else, as we have so far never been dissapointed. Anne Parker

Guest rating:

10/5/2011

"Good hotel in a brilliant location!"

Brilliant 4*! Very friendly staff; quiet and comfortable rooms; nice breakfast and a brilliant location!

Guest rating:

5/5/2011

"Centrally located but quiet. Relaxed atmosphere. Friendly staff. Clean. Good food. Room rather small"

Guest rating:

3/5/2011

"Friendly Staff , shame about the room!"

Just spent a weekend at The Academy Plaza Dublin, which has a lot going for it. The staff are excellent & I would have given a `good` rating if it were not for the size of our roon. I swear it defied health & safety laws it was so small. You had just 2 inches to skirt around the bed which was made all the more perilious by the TV being on the wall there so you were in grave danger of knocking your head during the assault course!

Guest rating:

2/5/2011

"excellent"

had a great stay, staff fantastic,room spotless, will stay again when in dublin

Guest rating:

27/4/2011

"-"

overall satisfied. We occupied room 730 for 5 nights and most things were excellent, apart from the bathroom which only had 2 lights and none over the shower cubicle which was quite high to step in and out of and due to the lack of light I tripped on exiting. Restaurant breakfast buffet was very mediocre and only luke warm.

Guest rating:

9/4/2011

"Cramp room, smelly extractor from kitchens coming into the room"

The room was small, clean, avd has a good tv. Coffee and tea were not good - tried one then the other. No prizes for either. The worst thing was the smell and noise of the kitchen extractor fan when I opened the window. Little daylight came in - the light had to be on at all times of day. All in all, I cannot recommend this hotel from this experience.

Guest rating:

9/4/2011

"Good. Clean, tidy & Convenient."

Good hotel, clean rooms, tidy and convenient to shops.

Guest rating:

1/4/2011

"room size"

room size was on the small side but very nice very nice beds and pillows very clean overall a very nice place

Guest rating:

22/3/2011

"Stayed in what I can only describe as staff quarters, wasn`t even a window!!!"

Hotel in general was ok but the room was awful. It was down in the basement, had no windows and a knackered tv. The bathroom was like a death trap as there was no shower curtain so the floor was like an ice rink. On the back of the bathroom door there was a staff only sign and door didn`t even shut properly. Oh and it was impossible to get phone signal!! All in all a poor nights sleep, due to the above and a fan that was buzzing all night and we werent able to turn it off either!! I shall not be returning unless some sort of reimbursement is made.

by Secure Internet

Or tel Reservations on: 0800 633 8000 (+44 1872 261 100)

Mon-Sat: 9am-8pm. Sat: 9am-5.30pm. Sun: 10am-6:30pm.

Our review system

Guest reviews and ratings are submitted to Hotel Direct by our customers immediately after check-out. They are un-edited.

With Hotel Direct you can make your break for LESS money. It's cheaper because when you book a break, we pass on special discounts for packages from hotels and train companies as well as making the total price lower. And you'll make a break in LESS time because in one place you can book your hotel, your train plus 1000s of shows, events and attractions.