The Grand at Trafalgar Square reviews

Hotel Direct invites all departing guests to rate and review their chosen hotel.

To ensure our guest evaluation is always up to date and to allow for hotel improvements, our Hotel Score is the mean of the most recent 100 guest ratings.

Hotel Score:

89%  based on 566 reviews

More reviews >>

Guest rating:

5/8/2019

"no foo on a Sunday. breakfast too expensive Monday Morning"

Guest rating:

26/8/2018

"Friendly helpful staff. Room just right with excellent facilities "

Guest rating:

10/5/2018

"-"

By far the best Hotel my wife and I have ever stayed in , will highly recommend to all our friends.Thank you all.Mr Mrs McKay.

Guest rating:

12/2/2018

"-"

Top hotel, lovely room, comfortable and again stress free. Thankyou Hotel direct

Guest rating:

13/11/2017

"Great location"

Great location, friendly staff. Rooms a reasonable size if a little tired. Very good value for money though.

Guest rating:

3/7/2017

"-"

A good central hotel that was clean. The staff were very helpful and I would stay there again.

Guest rating:

7/5/2017

"The Grand - Superb Friendly and Professional "

Lovely clean hotel, friendly staff, great bar, lovely rooms!

Guest rating:

11/4/2017

"very conveniently situated hotel which met our needs on a central London short break very well. "

Clean and comfortable. Standard room was a decent size with a king sized bed. Bar downstairs was expensive but the Italian which is also part of thx hotel did very good , more reasonably priced cocktails. Unfortunately a short power cut upset our internet access for about 24 hours and on our first night there was a erynoisy family in a nearby room.How ever neither of these issues were the hotels fault.

Guest rating:

2/10/2016

"Room 230"

The room was very clostraphobic and disappointed that we didn`t have a room we could see out of the window also disappointed that there wasn`t a bath. We didn`t complain as there was probably not another room for three of us.

Guest rating:

8/9/2016

"Outstanding service "

Guest rating:

4/9/2016

"5 stars all the way "

Fabulous staff and fantastic room

Guest rating:

9/8/2016

"Excellent location"

Small but comfortable room, great location. Informed hotel when I checked in that it was my daughters 21st,a little disappointed that she wasn`t given a token gesture.

Guest rating:

31/7/2016

"-"

Lovely hotel, great room and staff were very helpful. Location is fantastic

Guest rating:

16/7/2016

"Very pristine "

Very good everything up to standards expected

Guest rating:

16/5/2016

"Excellent hotel and in a very central location"

Guest rating:

9/5/2016

"Very good "

Very good hotel the staff were fantastic made you feel at home nice rooms & facilities perfect in every way

Guest rating:

30/4/2016

"The grand trvalgaer square "

Lovely hotel friendly staff lovely room close to theatres bars under ground perfect for looking around London very central would recommend this hotel for anyone wishing to get to the theatres its with in walking distance lovely bars and restaurants also close by brilliant

Guest rating:

24/4/2016

"excellent let us in early as room was ready."

Lovely hotel in perfect location fantastics service.

Guest rating:

24/4/2016

"Clean and comfortable. Well attended to by the staff. Great stay."

Guest rating:

10/4/2016

"STAFF VERY FRIENDLY AND HELPFULL"

Guest rating:

5/4/2016

"lovely hotel but...."

Obviously a great hotel however my only interaction with staff left me feeling disappointed. Went for a drink before bed and although ordered the drink with the bar staff I had to wait 15 min`s before having to go to the bar again and reminding her about my drink as she was to busy speaking to other more lucrative customers. Paid 14 for the honour of drinking 2 baileys and waiting ages for them to arrive.

Guest rating:

5/4/2016

"Grande! hmmm. "

we stayed at the Grande Hotel, yes the staff are very helpful and lovely but the room was awful, we stayed in room 207 (2nd Floor), the road traffic is crazy and you can even hear and feel the trains underneath you. the bed was so uncomfertble and being woken up by the cleaners just after 7am was not good. but as i say the staff where lovely. P.S the restrant is very expensive and i think paying an extra 40 for breakfast is daylight robbery. the Cafe Concerto 2 doors up is lovely and alot cheaper.

Guest rating:

25/3/2016

"What a superbly situated hotel, and so comfortable and welcoming."

Our visit was most enjoyable, situated as it is near Trafalgar Square and Theatreland. Our room was very comfortable, and the bar/restaurant area and foyer most attractive.

Guest rating:

21/3/2016

"Hotel & staff great would stay again"

Guest rating:

11/3/2016

"Very disappointed that, despite the high cost, no mini fridge. And the room was small."

Guest rating:

7/3/2016

"Bit something and nothing"

Room ok, clean but souless. Room facilities lacking a bit, no bottled water, and tea and coffee facilities a bit poor.On a plus side, very freindly and helpful staff and a great location.

Guest rating:

6/3/2016

"-"

Entrance foyer is very impressive and the hotel staff are helpful and polite. The room we stayed in was small I felt and could of done with a tidy up in places. We were also given a voucher for money off our car parking fee yet when we tried to scan it several times on the payment machine at Q park it just read unrecognised voucher which was frustrating.

Guest rating:

5/3/2016

"Great hotel, Great location, Fantastic staff. Will definitely be staying again."

Guest rating:

4/3/2016

"not value for the price"

breakfast disappointing , all self service,no pots of tea,just cereal and toast,not egg and beacon,not help at all at the price of 34 pounds for two (breakfast)

Guest rating:

28/2/2016

"The Grand was very Grand"

Superbly situated,right on Trafalgar Square, across the road from Charing cross underground, pub over road from hotel, tesco on the corner,the staff were very helpful, polite and informative. Every floor had a water filter with bottles, ice machine and cupboard with irons, extra tea coffee etc. Lovely toiletries in room. Left bags on last day to be collected later.We will return.

Guest rating:

28/2/2016

"Comfy bed"

The hotel was lovely with lovely staff.. The bed was comfortable and the curtains we black out curtains so the rooms stayed nice and dark. Only downside was no bath but a wet room style shower was nice.. All in all 4 out of 5! Also location was fantastic. Would definitely recommend!

Guest rating:

28/2/2016

"Comfortable and friendly - well equipped and outstanding location"

Guest rating:

28/2/2016

"Excellent central locations "

This hotel is in a fantastic location within walking distance of all the central attractions. The room was exactly as described and the staff were extremely helpful.

Guest rating:

24/2/2016

"Very nice hotel"

On arrival we thought wow this is a bit out of our league were we in the right place. Staff very polite and helpful. Room was very nice and clean and just what we needed,a good nights sleep with no noise so all in all a very nice stay.

Guest rating:

23/2/2016

"Not a 4 star hotel"

Overall very disappointed (apart from location). Emailed the hotel as it was our anniversary just in the hope we might have got a half decent room. I thought our reservation was for a standard room but we were given a small room overlooking the rear of the hotel with pipes and noise from heating/vent machines. It seemed to be a hotel aimed at a business person. No dressing gowns, slippers etc (which I`ve had provided before in similarly priced hotels). I`ve had better customer service and rooms in a premier inn!! No sadly wouldn`t stay here again if you paid me

Guest rating:

21/2/2016

"The hotel has an excellent location. "

We had a room at the back of the hotel which was very quiet from traffic. Clean and modern, however the hotel had plastic stirrer in hot tea etc it melted and was small for a mug .

Guest rating:

19/2/2016

"-"

Very convenient for theatre and underground. Arrived early and was able to straight to the room. Very quick and easy check in by Matthew on reception . Room was very comfortable clean and quiet. We had room 818. Would definitely use This booking again.

Guest rating:

16/2/2016

"A very nice hotel in an excellent location"

My only negative comment is that there was no safe in the room. The room was a good size and very clan

Guest rating:

15/2/2016

"Very nice."

Lovely room, clean can`t fault anything.

Guest rating:

14/2/2016

"Perfect location, smart accommodation"

The hotel is in the perfect location and is clean and smart with efficient staff.

by Secure Internet

Or tel Reservations on: 0800 633 8000 (+44 1872 261 100)

Mon-Sat: 9am-8pm. Sat: 9am-5.30pm. Sun: 10am-6:30pm.

Our review system

Guest reviews and ratings are submitted to Hotel Direct by our customers immediately after check-out. They are un-edited.

With Hotel Direct you can make your break for LESS money. It's cheaper because when you book a break, we pass on special discounts for packages from hotels and train companies as well as making the total price lower. And you'll make a break in LESS time because in one place you can book your hotel, your train plus 1000s of shows, events and attractions.