Maitrise Maida Vale reviews

Hotel Direct invites all departing guests to rate and review their chosen hotel.

To ensure our guest evaluation is always up to date and to allow for hotel improvements, our Hotel Score is the mean of the most recent 100 guest ratings.

Hotel Score:

78%  based on 146 reviews

More reviews >>

Guest rating:

22/5/2019

"Good location and close to underground and bus routes into central London."

Had to stand on a chair to reach the closet hanging rail - room 004 - and was surprised that there was no hand rail to aid getting in and out of the bath tub. Otherwise thought continental breakfast was more than adequate and staff were very friendly and helpful.

Guest rating:

22/4/2019

"-"

.

Guest rating:

3/3/2019

"Unfortunately not great "

Couldn`t open windows , stuffy small room and air con did work, no toilet rolls. Will not return.

Guest rating:

8/12/2018

"Nice little getaway hotel"

Lovely hotel for a mini break in London. Staff were great, friendly and very helpful. Really handy for the tube line and overground trains. Only downside was that the room was a tad small and had no window, so no natural light or air circulation. Other than that the room and hotel generally was spotless and the cooked breakfast was fab all cooked fresh to order.

Guest rating:

7/12/2018

"Small. "

Guest rating:

1/3/2018

"Billed as 4 star but more like 2 - initial impression was deceiving - ruined the weekend away"

Guest rating:

7/1/2018

"Hotel is ok"

We had an executive room and it was reasonably small- but we are in London. A few issues with understanding when trying to order a drink and asking for a spoon. But staff happy and helpful (once they understood the request) Quite. Distance from the theatre so make sure you allow enough time to arrive for the show. Hotel was ok

Guest rating:

13/11/2017

"Clean comfy room and friendly helpful staff"

Enjoyed our 2 night stay at the Maitrise Maida Vale. Had read some negative reviews but was happy with the room allocated and the staff were approachable and helpful. Didn`t eat at the hotel so can`t comment on the standard of meals. Good location for the tube/buses.

Guest rating:

1/10/2017

"Clean, comfortable and friendly "

Hotel was clean and comfortable. Staff were friendly and somewhere we would go back to. Yes rooms aren`t as large as other hotels but for location and somewhere to sleep and eat it ticks all boxes. Would take cleanliness over a big room all day!

Guest rating:

24/9/2017

"No hot water"

No hot water in the morning of our departure. Room clean but very small.

Guest rating:

10/11/2016

"Dirty disgusting hotel, "

I cannot express enough how disappointed and disgusted we were with this hotel, the first two rooms we were given had dirty carpets, stained sheets discarded tissues in the bed, the toiletrys were covered in dust and the shower cubicles stained, I have taken photos of this which I will share online, we reluctantly accepted the third room as we were running late the alarm went off twice on the second night at 1am and 1.20 am, no explanation. I asked to speak with the manager to discuss the above but was told he was busy, I would avoid this hotel even as a last resort, disgusting.

Guest rating:

6/11/2016

"Beautifully decorated and equipped. HAD no sleep from banging all night from above"

Needs some proper soundproofing we were on floor -1 but everything was of a high standard-very very nice but don`t expect to sleep

Guest rating:

25/10/2016

"It`s just alright"

Clean, easy to get in and out of zone 1. Disturbed all night with various alarms and other people trying to enter the room.

Guest rating:

9/10/2016

"would never stay here again "

Had to be moved into another room as the first one smelled, second room was small and pokey, very unhappy not worth the money it cost, I would rather have been in a travel inn then here!

Guest rating:

18/9/2016

"Below average for price Not impressed "

First arrived gave us standard room when had booked executive room that was sorted out the new room had no windows at all so very dark constant smell of sewage waste in room when sat down to breakfast wasn`t given the choice of full English even though it was on menu had to suffer continental breakfast I would of gladly paid for full English given choice when booked out was very impolite as if didn`t want you there any longer not impressed at all for the price we paid

Guest rating:

14/9/2016

"Very enjoyable stay"

Lovely hotel. The only surprise that we got was at check-in when we were asked for photo ID and 50 per room deposit, even my 94 year old mother !! We are all pensioners. I can`t ever remember being asked for photo ID or deposit at any hotel I have ever stayed at. Fortunately we had our bus passes but what would have happened if we hadn`t? Very pleasant and helpful staff, except at breakfast had to keep getting up from table to find someone to take food orders (i.e. no table service if you want cooked breakfast.)

Guest rating:

7/9/2016

"-"

Room and hotel was clean but small. There was no hot water for the majority of the time.

Guest rating:

6/7/2016

"Good hotel for a short break."

Great little hotel perfect for a short break and somewhere to stay whilst you explore the city. Very helpful and friendly staff from start to finish. Overground and Underground stations are literally 2 minutes away which makes it easy to get anywhere in London from the hotel.

Guest rating:

6/3/2016

"Great hotel shame about location"

We arrived on the tube, was a little wary as seemed a rough area. The hotel was great, you couldn`t ask for more. I didn`t hear anything all night. The beds were comfy and it was clean and presentable. It`s only a 2 minute was from Kilburn Park underground which is fab. The downside is it`s a little far out.

Guest rating:

6/3/2016

"So disappointed "

After ringing to confirm a twin room with window we got a freezing small room king size bed no windowsWas moved to cold room with double bed for 1 night then finally moved to twin room no heating . Had to wear socks and extra clothes on in bed to keep warm. Only good thing about this hotel was close to tube station. Very very disappointed .Could list other faults but need more than a 1000 characters.

Guest rating:

23/2/2016

"kilburn rd "

good hotel but not to keen on the breakfast

Guest rating:

12/2/2016

"clean, nice staff"

Room nice and clean, some traffic noise but not to bad . continental breakfast good the only problem we had was the slot in the room were you put the key card had a very bright light which made sleeping difficult

Guest rating:

22/1/2016

"Very small room"

The bed was excellent but the room was so small it was virtually impossible to move around the bed. On leaving we were told we should have mentioned this and would have been offered another room. However, why were we given it in the first place! The manager was very friendly and polite.

Guest rating:

20/1/2016

"sore head. needs earlier check in for matinee performances. "

Hotel in good location. And was absolutely thrilled when they allowed us to check in early. We booked a matinee performance which starts at 2.30 and check in wasn`t until 2 so being able to get a quick shower before the show was brilliant. We firstly got a very small twin bed room where you had to climb over 1 bed to get to the other. When I went to get a shower a pane off glass fell and hit me on the head. My partner phoned reception and they arranged for someone to come and have a look. They knocked on the door give us another key card and went. I was a little disappointed they didn`t even check I was OK? ! Anyway the new keycard we got was for a much bigger room with a kingsize bed. I was still a little disappointed as it was very dangerous luckily for me the glass didn`t shatter but I was left with a sore head but I wasn`t going to let it ruin my weekend.

Guest rating:

31/8/2015

"-"

Hotel room was clean and comfortable bed but a bit cramped as bed in side of wall couldn`t be walk around it.room too small.

Guest rating:

11/7/2015

"Bathroom smelled of sewage, not enough pillows , hairdryer broken"

Not a bad stay , ok nights sleep, friendly staff although a few problems when ordering food on the evening when unfortunately one of our mains was forgotten, clean and tidy and well situated although more choice on menu would have been nice . Staff were helpful despite some language barriers and only real issues were lack of pillows, broken hairdryer and sewage smell in bathroom with pain peeling off the ceiling!Good stay in quaint hotel

Guest rating:

2/7/2015

"Be Safe"

Guest rating:

26/6/2015

"For the price and location good value"

Friendly staff, nice bar/restauant next door, good shower and nice towels, room ok, no window, something wrong with sound on tv but considering it was under a 100 in central London cant complain really.

Guest rating:

23/2/2015

"Fantastic accommodating staff"

Guest rating:

14/12/2014

"Not too shabby"

Great location as 3 minute walk from Kilburn park tube. Small but compact room, clean if not a little tatty in places but great value for money. Continental breakfast wasn`t too bad and you could buy a cooked breakfast for a small price.

Guest rating:

5/12/2014

"Mice in room"

reasonable price but disappointed as online booking promised Bannotyne`s Gym pass which was not available when I checked in and was one of the reasons for booking your hotel. The second night whilst eating a very basic room service meal, a small mouse darted across the carpet, much to my shock! The receptionist immediately moved me from room 206 to 207. The next evening after returning late from work, I was equally surprised not to receive an apology letter from the manager or any offer of reduction given the mouse visitor. Again the receptionist kindly offered a free room service meal. Its a shame as I would have re-booked your hotel but will not be staying again due to lack of customer care on the manager`s part and promises of gym pass that was not fulfilled. Fairly disappointed! Claire Kemp

Guest rating:

1/12/2014

"Spotlessly clean. Very helpful polite staff and a lovely breakfast.Thank you."

Guest rating:

23/11/2014

"-"

Bed a bit hard - excellent shower - breakfast really nice

Guest rating:

21/11/2014

"Please install a clear sign to indicate where the hotel is!"

Guest rating:

11/11/2014

"Good Value"

Good Value for money with 2 issues, buffet breakfast quality was poor and the heating was set far too high, it was like a sauna.

Guest rating:

1/11/2014

"Quiet and clean"

Close to the tube, good breakfast and polite staff.

Guest rating:

27/10/2014

"Disappointing breakfast"

A very nice hotel, clean and welcoming and in a good position for getting to the centre of london or Wembley which was what we needed. Breakfast was very disappointing as both days everything had run out and took a long time to be replenished. There was no orange juice, no fresh fruit and no pastries. When busy, two waitress`s are not enough to keep things running smoothly.

Guest rating:

21/10/2014

"Overbooked so bad start"

Awful would not recommend. Restaurant meal atrocious. No white wine, no mayo,no vinegar, only one chicken salad available, fish and chip meal was appalling - fish grey, undercooked and certainly not Cod as advertised. Sent back and changed to soup - no bread with it but only croutons. Poor nights sleep due to a banging door and loud tv. Would not recommend at all.

Guest rating:

29/9/2014

"Pleasantly surprised"

We could have easily walked right past the hotel - it doesn`t even look like a hotel but once in, we were pleasantly surprised. The double room for my husband and I, and the twin room for our son and daughter were boutique=style but plenty big enough. Breakfast was adequate and, all-in-all, an enjoyable two day stay. Approximately 10 t0 15 minutes on the tube into central London - just a quick tip, nearest tube station is Kilburn Park, not Maida Vale as we thought - 2 minutes rather than 15 minutes.

Guest rating:

18/9/2014

"disappointed!! "

We recent visit your hotel , we booked it online and looked stunning , so we excited to get there , on arrival we walked in looked stunning, on check in the receptionist wasn`t very helpful didn`t tell us about breakfast or checking out, when got to room we found problems , no hot water, bath plug broken, tv and mirror seems to be wrong place , no mirror and socket to straighten your hair

by Secure Internet

Or tel Reservations on: 0800 633 8000 (+44 1872 261 100)

Mon-Fri: 9am-8pm. Sat: 9am-5.30pm. Sun: 10am-6:30pm.

Our review system

Guest reviews and ratings are submitted to Hotel Direct by our customers immediately after check-out. They are un-edited.

With Hotel Direct you can make your break for LESS money. It's cheaper because when you book a break, we pass on special discounts for packages from hotels and train companies as well as making the total price lower. And you'll make a break in LESS time because in one place you can book your hotel, your train plus 1000s of shows, events and attractions.