Thistle London Heathrow Terminal 5 reviews

Hotel Direct invites all departing guests to rate and review their chosen hotel.

To ensure our guest evaluation is always up to date and to allow for hotel improvements, our Hotel Score is the mean of the most recent 100 guest ratings.

Hotel Score:

77%  based on 297 reviews

More reviews >>

Guest rating:

29/5/2018

"Good hotel, close to Terminal 5 and runway, the T5 Pods are so easy you`re there in 5 minutes. "

I definitely recommend this hotel. Lots of parking 10 per night, showers are good, beds comfy with high quality cotton bedding. We were given a room looking towards the runway and must say the soundproofing is excellent and the air conditioning very effective. It was very pleasant sitting on the Terrace having a drink and watching the planes land. Very good choice of breakfast.

Guest rating:

30/8/2017

"Heart attack"

While staying here I suffered a heart attack. The staff were extremely helpful. They stored my luggage while I was in hospital and the manager even phoned my wife to see how I was.The room was perhaps a little tired but clean and excellent value. Will stay again for sure.

Guest rating:

17/4/2016

"Thistle Heathrow T5"

The Hotel is very comfortable, slightly dated and amazingly quiet! I stayed for two nights and slept exceptionally well. Considering how close the airport is and planes flying over - the noise is surprisingly inconsequential. The food was excellent, the staff friendly but the service was slow. Would I stay again - definitely.

Guest rating:

27/3/2016

"nice hotel easy to get to and from"

good for t5 or t3/t2 clean and nice restraint with views of airport

Guest rating:

13/3/2016

"Good location for Heathrow."

Very enjoyable meal in the restaurant.

Guest rating:

2/3/2016

"Good stop off"

My friend and I stayed at The Thistle Inn either side of a holiday and can honestly say that it was an excellent choice. Reception staff were helpful and friendly, room was more than adequate and beds very comfortable. Ample supply of towels and toiletries. Food in the restaurant for breakfast had multiple options and well presented. Dinner was very reasonable and promptly served by again very pleasant staff. Pod to T5 was fantastic and well worth the 5 charge. Would thoroughly recommend

Guest rating:

10/12/2014

"Splendid helpful staff."

Bedroom small, but well equipped, and therefore adequate for our one night stay. Basic about covers it. Staff on the other hand were helpful, friendly and first class.

Guest rating:

25/6/2014

"Disappointing "

Staff were extremely helpful. Was left disappointed when I arrived at 1pm with a friend, looking forward to an al a cart lunch to be told no restaurant was open and we could only have sandwiches. I has to leave to goto the premier inn across the street for food. On returning I went to my room and phoned reception at 430 to order wine again to be told room service did t start til 5 & I could get my breakfast to my room in the morning.Not worth 105 a night. Would have been cheaper & happier at the premier inn.

Guest rating:

17/6/2014

"Great location even better price "

Excellent price easy to get to the terminals and very friendly staff

Guest rating:

14/5/2014

"Check with hotel if they have large parties booked in on the dates you want"

I would recommend this hotel except for the fact that they had two huge bookings at the time of my stay. Because of this my room was located very far from the reception and restaurant areas. The large parties caused obtructions in the corridors and reception area and I was woken up by loud voices and slamming doors in the middle of the night. On a positive note the restaurant food was very good and the staff were helpful and friendly. This is the second time I`ve booked: I did not have any of these problems when I stayed in April.

Guest rating:

6/5/2014

"very good conveinent location "

excellent location for the treminal 5 . wonderful meal in the evening. bed comfortable and free wi fi

Guest rating:

16/3/2014

"customer service was excellent. Restaurant facilities and customer service excellent. "

I would be happy to recommend your hotel to friends and business associates.

Guest rating:

21/2/2014

"The hotel has very convenient access from Heathrow Airport by bus and ``hub``or by car if driving."

The staff are very helpful, rooms are clean and have all requirements fitted. The dinner was great and the illuminated airport was a delight as background viewing. The veranda outside would be brilliant in summer weather. Breakfast was excellent and Wi-Fi free. We will be coming back soon for another great stay !

Guest rating:

3/2/2014

"Over night stop"

A very good hotel for a night before you fly i flow from Heathrow terminal 3 it was excellent postion as it was 5 minutes away the only fault I had was that the rooms were small but we only slept in it .we had a drink and a snack in the bar and you see all the plans landing at terminal 5 as this hotel is right at the end .

Guest rating:

21/12/2013

"had to change room becaues of mold on wall/ ceiling. second rooms overall, was fair but not good"

we were on the first floor-it was noisy at night. Taking the pod from hotel to the terminal was excellent suggestion by the receptionist.

Guest rating:

17/9/2013

"Bed linen soiled by Blood "

We stayed in the Thistle Heathrow overnight ( Weds 11th checked out on Thursday 12th Seotember ) in order to catch an early flight from Heathrow to Chicago early morning of Thursday 12th September.My daughter shared a twin room and on checking the bed linen before going to bed , she discovered the duvet over blanket had dried blood stains . She informed the reception at the hotel and they replaced the cover . This was an unfortunate experience . The booking was in name of Paul Mullaly for 4 people ( twin room and double) .regards Paul Mullaly

Guest rating:

25/8/2013

"Cheap & cheerful, excellent value for money"

Hasnt been face-lifted for a few years, but clean, comfortable, free wifi, and incredibly quiet considering you could walk to the end of the runway in about 60 seconds - the rooms are quadruple glazed! A friendly bar & modestly priced and varied restaurant complete a near perfect bargain hunter`s hotel.

Guest rating:

30/5/2013

"Looking tired, restaurant has moved down market."

Disappointed with the general appearance of the hotel. Dinner menu limited. Staff very helpful and courteous but we will look else where next time/

Guest rating:

29/5/2013

"Helpful staff and convenient location"

Staff were very helpful. Rooms are comfortable and location convenient to airport.

Guest rating:

21/5/2013

"Very elegant"

Our stay here was great...wish we would have booked our stay longer. Great prices. Wonderful staff. Room a little cramped. Great view of the airport from the deck of the lounge. Great Wifi and best of all the bus that goes to the Terminals at Heathrow picks you up right in front.

Guest rating:

18/5/2013

"-"

A very convenient hotel, and their charges are very competitive. Staff are helpful and I have always had an excellent stay. Will continue to use this hotel for easy access to Heathrow.

Guest rating:

5/3/2013

"Staff, food, location extremely good"

We thought for a mid range hotel the service was very good. The staff were extremely helpful and pleasant and the food was a very good standard. The location to Terminal 5 was also very good, we could see the runway from the lounge and bar area. The room was functional, comfortable and clean. My only very slight criticism was that it smelt very strongly of bleach, which whilst encouraging that it had been cleaned well, was a little irritating to the eyes, so that would be my only comment, but otherwise a very good hotel and would recommend it. It made our journey to the airport the following morning stress free.

Guest rating:

1/3/2013

"Would definitely use this hotel next time we fly from Gatwick, pleasant helpful staff "

Guest rating:

24/12/2012

"-"

I found my stay very good staff were very helpful and I would stay again if travelling from Heathrow.

Guest rating:

7/11/2012

"Hotel was shabby. Rooms were small and need updating. "

Guest rating:

28/10/2012

"An excellent hotel for people living a long way from Heathrow who are catching an early flight"

We were very agreeably surprised by the restaurant. We only had a simple meal but we felt that the chef really knew his stuff. It was all beautifully cooked and presented.

Guest rating:

23/10/2012

"Room - poor. Wallpaper trying to peel off, no valance hiding base of bed"

No tea/coffee making facilities. Room service ok but expensive and when wanted to pay on credit card had to go down to reception to pay.

Guest rating:

9/10/2012

"Poor service & food in restaurant; room was not very clean nor was the bathroom"

Guest rating:

9/8/2012

"-"

Found overall it was a good experience, and would like to especially compliment the wait staff.

Guest rating:

30/6/2012

"friendly good value"

Guest rating:

25/6/2012

"Had an excellent stay, would return again. Thanks. B.J."

Guest rating:

8/6/2012

"Ok for an overnight stay near Heathrow"

Guest rating:

8/6/2012

"-"

Nothing bad to say about our stay at this hotel. The staff were very polite and helpful, the hotel was clean and pleasant and the bed was very comfortable.

Guest rating:

6/6/2012

"Very poor overall"

For the money you pay it is pretty dire. The lobby and reception are very pleasant and thats where the pleasantries end. Rooms are tiny and outdated. You would struggle to get 2 adults with 2 suitcases in the room and would leave you with nowehere to turn.They have an impressive room service menu but want to charge £5 to bring it over and in some cases asking my wife to pick it up herself from the bar/cafe.Information in the booklet doesnt always tie to what staff tell you. I asked the simple question of what time does breakfast finish and got 3 different answers from staff. The hotel itself is conveniently located next to T5 but is not sign posted so unless you are using a navigation system which has the hotel in its database you are likely to miss the turn.

Guest rating:

4/6/2012

"the hotel- nice & elegant & clean ( can`t bear scruffy hotels) food good .shall return."

Guest rating:

4/6/2012

"corridors and room doors very close to another creating a prison cell like atmosphere "

for the price and convenience is a good value ; close to airport though we had to wait over 20 minutes for bus to take us back to Heathrow terminal 5

Guest rating:

23/5/2012

"excellent location. Free bus (#423) service to terminal 5. excellent restaurant and prices"

Go to Terminal 5 for free, frequent, bus service to hotel. Rooms quite small but comfortable. Restaurant excellent and very friendly staff. Fine way to end your visit to the UK. we will stay there again next time.

Guest rating:

8/5/2012

"-"

Bar staff terrible, amazingly unprofessional and rude.

Guest rating:

3/5/2012

"Feedback for Hotel and Restaurant"

Overall excellent service throughout. £20 for an upgrade for only a bigger room with ironing board, no dressing gowns and slippers or minibar. However dressing gowns were available if required but you need to pay £10 which was refundable. Great restaurant at affordable prices. Convenient for all terminals using Nos: H buses although a 7 mins. journey to T5 at £4.50 is a bit steep. Suggest use local transport Bus 81 or 423 at half the price. Downside no lifts but porter service is available and £3.00 for a cup of coffee to sit in the lounge area. Will definitely stay there again.

Guest rating:

3/5/2012

"Hotel & Restaurant "

Overall excellent service throughout. £20 for an upgrade for only a bigger room with ironing board, no dressing gowns and slippers or minibar. However dressing gowns were available if required but you need to pay £10 which was refundable. Great restaurant at affordable prices. Convenient for all terminals using Nos: H buses although a 7 mins. journey to T5 at £4.50 is a bit steep. Suggest use local transport Bus 81 or 423 at half the price. Downside no lifts but porter service is available and £3.00 for a cup of coffee to sit in the lounge area. Will definitely stay there again.

by Secure Internet

Or tel Reservations on: 0800 633 8000 (+44 1872 261 100)

Mon-Fri: 9am-8pm. Sat: 9am-5.30pm. Sun: 10am-6:30pm.

Our review system

Guest reviews and ratings are submitted to Hotel Direct by our customers immediately after check-out. They are un-edited.

With Hotel Direct you can make your break for LESS money. It's cheaper because when you book a break, we pass on special discounts for packages from hotels and train companies as well as making the total price lower. And you'll make a break in LESS time because in one place you can book your hotel, your train plus 1000s of shows, events and attractions.