Carlton Hotel Blanchardstown reviews

Hotel Direct invites all departing guests to rate and review their chosen hotel.

To ensure our guest evaluation is always up to date and to allow for hotel improvements, our Hotel Score is the mean of the most recent 100 guest ratings.

Hotel Score:

93%  based on 51 reviews

Guest rating:

19/6/2017

"Lovely hotel but in the middle of nowhere."

Bus in to Dublin City from right outside the door but it does take a good 45 minutes however parking in the city was a nightmare so we used it. Pretty handy spot for the airport but little else. We had an average room on our first 2 nights and when we returned for another night at the end of our week our room was absolutely superb. What a pity we didn`t have the same quality room on both occasions. The difference between rooms 516 and 506 on the same floor was astonishing! We enjoyed our bar food very much, also the fresh fruit at breakfast but the hot food was terrible. Luke warm and dried up. Must have been cooked during the night and kept warm for too many hours.

Guest rating:

26/7/2015

"Really nice hotel very helpful staff"

Very clean hotel, helpful staff

Guest rating:

24/3/2015

"Great hotel. Lovely welcome at reception."

Hotel room was great. It had a full size bath and a large separate shower which was a nice bonus.We ate in the bar and the food was good. Service was alright but I wasn`t very impressed when after our main course we weren`t even offered a desert menu or coffee!!Not a major complaint but something I think the hotel should address...

Guest rating:

23/4/2014

"Black mail"

We not allowed buy a drink at the bar unless we bought food awful awful

Guest rating:

5/8/2013

"Lack of staff was obvious"

Arrived for bar food about ten minutes before ten to be told they were finished. Had to organise a take away into the hotel. Tables were not cleaned off until later on in the night simply because the staff that were on were under pressure.

Guest rating:

26/5/2013

"great hotel"

We stayed for one night and had a communion meal for my son. The meal was lovely and hotel provided the kids with pick & mix sweets outside. We were fortunate with the weather and sat in the lovely garden by the restaurant for the evening The staff were very efficient at reception and in the restaurant. We were very satisfied with the room and what fantastic bathroom, not many hotels offer a bath and shower nowadays. The place was spotless. The only problem we encountered was one of the lifts was out of order which caused a bit of a delay every time we needed to go to our room...and that was the only issue we had! Highly recommend it :)

Guest rating:

21/3/2013

"good stay"

really pleasent hotel and friendly within 30min bus journey to dublin centre

Guest rating:

26/6/2012

"Staff are very friendly and helpful"

Room was lovely, had everything we needed. Only thing that let it down was the stains on the carpet.Bathroom was immaculate and bed was very comfy. Staff were always willing to help and were very friendly. Would definitely go back and would recommend.

Guest rating:

25/6/2012

"Friendly modern hotel near Dublin Airport"

This is a hotel suitable for business, events and short stays. It is new and modern. Super roomy bedrooms with excelent bathrooms and spacious showers. I enjoyed good 2 breakfasts and one evening meal. Pleasant service and good food. It is about 20 mins drive to the airport, mostly along motorways, and far enough away to avoid aircraft noise.

Guest rating:

24/6/2012

"Nice but a few improvements required "

Public toilets need to be cleaned, it was a nice hotel, bit out of the way from the town (45 min bus journey) but that is Westlife`s fault. The staff were nice and helpful, just a few niggles with room, the bed was broken, air conditioning broken and the plug by the mirror was hanging off. AMAZING shower though. Would stay again though

Guest rating:

17/4/2012

"The Hotel is a beautiful place to stay if you are visiting Dublin or anywhere else in the area."

We stayed at the Carlton Hotel for 3 nights and the staff and the food was first class. We had a truly wonderful time in Dublin for St. Patricks Day and our room in the hotel was really lovely. The hotel was faultless. The rooms are kept absolutely spotless and are very tastefully decorated. When we return to Dublin again in the future, we shall be staying at The Carlton Hotel, Blanchardstown without any shadow of a doubt. Magnificient hotel and i would recommend this hotel to anyone. Thank you all for a truly memorable stay and look forward to seeing you all again sometime in the future. Kind Regards Keith Hever & Patricia Stott.

Guest rating:

19/3/2012

"Dublin City Break"

Had a very enjoyable stay at the Carlton, could not fault the service or the food. Our only issue was it was just a bit too far away from the city centre. We did have a car, however unless you know the area it was a little stressful to drive. I would certainly stay there again but would do a scenic tour rather than a city break.

Guest rating:

17/3/2012

"Made Very Welcome"

Very friendly staff nothing too much trouble. Good clean rooms. Please note if you decide to use the bus outside the hotel to get in and out of Dublin you require the correct change and they do not take notes...The fare was 2 euros 65 cents for an adult.

Guest rating:

21/2/2012

"Attentive staff in all areas"

Very pleased with all aspects of our stay from initial checking in, to departure, we were thourougly looked after. The facilities were excellent and we will definetly be using this hotel again and have already began to reccomend it to family and friends

Guest rating:

21/12/2011

"Such a lovely hotel and staff are so friendly"

The look of the hotel matches whats inside, just a really nice moden looking hotel, staff are just amazing. thank you for such a lovely stay in ireland i will be coming back :)

Guest rating:

15/12/2011

"Great hotel Great price!!!! "

Guest rating:

25/11/2011

"Impressive"

Good deal for a one nights stay, cannot fault, room, food or staff. Will use again.

Guest rating:

2/11/2011

"Everything from reception to room was exceptionally clean. Staff polite,food was excellent plus serv"

This hotel is in a lovely location.Fabulous hotel except fot the fact that there is no entertainment. Hotel smaller than expected but very very clean and polite staff. Look forward to any offers available over the coming months.

Guest rating:

12/9/2011

"FANTASTIC HOTEL"

Cant fault this hotel everything was first class,from the friendliness of the staff to the quality and cleanliness of the rooms and grounds,food was good quality,if i,m in dublin again i would want to stay here,although it is a half hour bus ride to temple bar.

Guest rating:

5/7/2011

"First class hotel and very attentive staff."

Guest rating:

21/6/2011

"Highly recommended"

Excellent hotel overall. The only criticism I have is that this Hotel changed it`s name to Carlton but failed to tell it`s customers. We found it by accident - I sent my husband into the only hotel we could find in Tyrrelstown to ask if they knew where the park Plaza was and they told him he was in it!! Not funny when you`re in a taxi with the meter running luckily the lovely taxi driver stopped the meter at 30 euros. Other than this it was perfect and would use this hotel again.

Guest rating:

20/6/2011

"Very helpful staff, great value, excellent room, pleasurable stay and would return"

Having arrived inthe early hours I found the receptionist was bright and helpful with a warm welcOvome. The room itself was superb with a real wow factor. The bar staff, I found, were very friendly and accommodating and the manager was extremely kind and efficient as we were both on our first visit to your shores. Overall the experience was five star and I would have no hesitation in visiting again and would highly recommend this hotel. Well done to everyone.

Guest rating:

13/6/2011

"-"

It was just a lovely and very warm welcoming place, they made my stay in dublin for the first time very special and i would like to thank them for this. i will deffo be going back :)

Guest rating:

25/4/2011

"Enjoyable Stay"

We stayed at the Park Plaza Tyrrelstown (now known as Carlton, Blanchardstown) for 3 nights over the Easter weekend. The bedrooms are modern, roomy and tasteful with comfortable beds and large bathroom with separate bath and shower, kept spotlessly clean by the excellent staff. All staff are friendly and efficient. Restaurant and bar facilities were excellent with reasonable prices (at least for Dublin). Downsides? The hotel is out of the way with very few facilities in the surrounding area, although the local pub, 5 minutes away, was lively with good Guinness and food. There is a bus service to Dublin centre which takes 45 minutes. The other problem was the hotel is under the flight path to Dublin airport which is more busy than expected. just don`t expect a lie in!. Overall an excellent hotel but perhaps too far out of Dublin for tourists wanting to be close to the action.

Guest rating:

29/3/2011

"-"

Great value for money - Comfortable rooms - excellent service - Fantastic menu choice in the Bar and Restaurant - Excellent food. Would definately stay here again.

Guest rating:

22/9/2010

"a pleasure "

park plaza was great, yes it was quite a distance from dublin city but with the bus going from directly outside the hotel.. i couldnt have asked for more. My boyfriend and i had a great stay and the mojitos were to die for!!!! thanks so much, delightful weekend in dublin!!

Guest rating:

14/9/2010

"-"

Had a fantastic stay. Staff couldn`t have been more helpful.

Guest rating:

13/8/2010

"-"

Reception was excellent, Bar staff were excellent, I had food in the bar but the fries were cold although te rest of the meal was good, which left me to believe that they were pre cooked and not kept warm.

Guest rating:

11/8/2010

"Really nice and helpful staff."

Staff were really helpful and nice, food was great, in particular the 5euro specials menu - the location for us was too far out the way of Dublin City, however the bus right outside was quite handy. The town itself was a bit of a disappointment thought as there didnt seem to be much going on at all, if it wasnt for the functions in the Hotel (birthday, wedding and christening!!) then we would think there would not be a lot to do at all there. Lovely decor in rooms, and bathroom was really nice but internet didnt seem to work and there was nothing in the minibar (which was probably a good thing!) - overall nice stay but wouldnt stay again purely due to location was too far out.

Guest rating:

7/8/2010

"we where so impressed by all the staff and their helpfulness also the hotel was beautiful. thank you"

Guest rating:

2/8/2010

"FANTASTIC VALUE"

A modern hotel with excellent standards. A bit out of the way if you are looking to go out in Dublin City Cntre, but with a lovely restaurant and a nice bar in the hotel we were happy to stay in. It is close to a few shops, off-licence, etc. We got a great rate on Hotel Direct - couldn`t believe it!!

Guest rating:

25/7/2010

"-"

Hotel great- daughter was swimming in gala at nearby National Aquatic Centre - staff very friendly, hotel very comforable.

Guest rating:

14/7/2010

"Upmarket hotel at reasonable rates"

Guest rating:

4/7/2010

"very helpful"

was made to feel welcome as soon as we arrived all the staff was very helpful and couldnt do enough to please made it a very enjoyable stay would definetly come again

Guest rating:

20/6/2010

"Excellent"

Amazing weekend. The hotel exceeded expectations and the staff were very friendly. Great good, good entertainment and the surrounding were spot on !! Highly reccommended

Guest rating:

9/6/2010

"nice&clean, very good service please try the restaurant menu. offers good quality food+ great value"

Guest rating:

24/2/2010

"High Standard at Right Price"

Excellent hotel with attentive staff, good facilities and ok food

Guest rating:

16/2/2010

"the best valentine weekend ever :)"

on arrival at the hotel we wer upgraded for free! to the executive room, just gorgeous! amazing breakfast brought to our room! really nice staff, fab hotel! Although further out of Dublin than expected nearly one hour bus journey- which is massive in comparison to the 20mins suggested on the site! Other than that me and my partner had best valentines weekend ever.

by Secure Internet

Or tel Reservations on: 0800 633 8000 (+44 1872 261 100)

Mon-Sat: 9am-8pm. Sat: 9am-5.30pm. Sun: 10am-6:30pm.

Our review system

Guest reviews and ratings are submitted to Hotel Direct by our customers immediately after check-out. They are un-edited.

With Hotel Direct you can make your break for LESS money. It's cheaper because when you book a break, we pass on special discounts for packages from hotels and train companies as well as making the total price lower. And you'll make a break in LESS time because in one place you can book your hotel, your train plus 1000s of shows, events and attractions.