Angel Hotel reviews

Hotel Direct invites all departing guests to rate and review their chosen hotel.

To ensure our guest evaluation is always up to date and to allow for hotel improvements, our Hotel Score is the mean of the most recent 100 guest ratings.

Hotel Score:

81%  based on 32 reviews

Guest rating:

17/2/2017

"Our stay was excellent.close to the heart of the city"

Guest rating:

20/3/2016

"Lovely hotel, superb staff"

The staff at this hotel are excellent. Nothing is to much trouble and they go out of their way to chat and help. The breakfast is something to look forward to as well. Huge choice of cooked, continental and cereals. This is our second visit in six months and we can`t wait to come back again. Thank you.

Guest rating:

18/10/2015

"We loved it!"

So ok, the furniture was a bit dated in our room ( I like Art Deco ) and the wallpaper had seen better days, but we had a fab weekend here! It`s centrally located and a `proper` hotel. It`s grand scale and opulent stairway are beautiful. The carpets are so thick you sink into them. The whole hotel is spotless and the staff are both efficient and professional. Breakfast is amazing - great choice and great quality. We had such a lovely time and can`t wait to go back in March.

Guest rating:

27/8/2015

"Wonderful place to stay."

Staff were very welcoming and friendly. Lovely clean room. Great value for money. Will definitely stay again.

Guest rating:

11/6/2015

"nice stay"

had a lovely stay , staff very nice and helpful, rooms need a little updating and definatly need double glazing as the noise from the road did keep me awake but as we only stayed one night it wasn`t a big problem.would stay again if on a night out in Cardiff.

Guest rating:

18/11/2014

"room very basic, no double glazing , kept awake by the constant traffic noise."

smallest room we have ever stayed in , this is supposed to be one of the better hotels in Cardiff. we had a double bed pressed up against a wall with just enough room to walk around the bed on the other side, wallpaper peeling off. The bathroom floor was all cracked tiles and black around the grout in the wall tiles.

Guest rating:

14/7/2014

"OK for one night but no more - good position in town especially for Millenium Stadium"

This hotel is fine for one night but I wouldn`t stay for a long weekend. We were attending the speedway at the Stadium so was very convenient. However, our standard double room was below par - in need of redecoration, pokey, grey curtains, broken shower curtain etc. Food was really basic - so expensive for what it was. This weekend was busy in town for the speedway and the hotel was also hosting an event in the ballroom - not sure if they were stretched by this - but service was certainly poor. Alternatively, maybe it is always like this...

Guest rating:

13/7/2014

"-"

bit tired and dated in room bathroom tiles all cracked

Guest rating:

10/3/2014

"Great location, friendly staff, good amenities"

Our room had a fantastic view over the castle. Although the lack of double glazing meant there was some late night noise it was no more than to be expected in the heart of a city. The location was superb, shopping, historical interests and the Millennium stadium were right on the doorstep. The hotel offered some car parking spaces on s first come, first served basis which cost us 10 for the weekend, however, should you not be able to park there are plenty of multistory car parks in easy walking distance. Friendly staff and a good breakfast. Would definitely book again when we next visit Cardiff.

Guest rating:

19/11/2013

"My girlfriend and I very much enjoyed our stay here and will 100% be booking again, FANTASTIC!"

Guest rating:

30/8/2013

"Welcoming receptionist,clean rooms,good parking,super breakfast and tasty bread!!"

Guest rating:

24/5/2013

"Good quality hotel in the heart of Cardiff city"

We stayed at this hotel about a year ago when it was part of the Barchello group. It is now owned by Puma and things haven`t noticable changed. I enjoyed the service and comfort location then and now

Guest rating:

14/5/2013

"A warm and accommodating welcome was very much appreciated."

This hotel has a nice feel about it. It`s quite big but we were well looked after.

Guest rating:

2/12/2012

"Room dreadful,bathroom unacceptable probably last decorated in 1970!!! "

Room no 125. The closest room to busy road junction, with traffic all night,consequently no sleep for either myself or my wife. Broken tiles and missing grout in very dated bathroom,need to be contortionist to get round room. I suspect this room is allocated to booking agents like yourselves as Hotel can`t charge their normal rates! My wife complained to reception and was told remarks would be passed on. To whom we do not know.

Guest rating:

4/11/2012

"The rooms are are a little tired and need some refurbishment"

Guest rating:

16/10/2012

"Poor response to telephone calls made to hotel"

Having vacated the hotel I realised that I had left my glasses in my room. I therefore contacted the hotel to ask if they had been found and they said that someone would call me to let me know. I have now made 3 calls and still waiting for someone to call me.

Guest rating:

28/9/2012

"What a lovely staff - they couldn`t have been more friendly or helpful. "

We really enjoyed our stay. I had my Wedding Reception at the Angel many years ago so it was lovely to return and see the beautiful foyer once again. We will probably be returning in the future as we have family living locally and enjoyed our stay so much we would like to repeat the experience. We visited the restaurant on several occasions and enjoyed wonderful food served by lovely people. Thank you all.

Guest rating:

27/7/2012

"Nice place and the staff is pleasant "

Requested a hair dryer and iron for room 127 when we arrived. It is now the next morning and we still do not have either. The head of the bed is down hill and the air con does not work very well

Guest rating:

10/6/2012

"injoyed stay, staff friendly,good breakfast, thankyou"

Guest rating:

27/5/2012

"good location and well priced"

hotel is in a great location for town centre, carpark over priced at £10 vs other local carparks.

Guest rating:

7/5/2012

"Very Friendly staff, Comfortable Room"

Very pleased with the hotel and the friendly welcome. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The breakfast was good but not outstanding and was the only real let down to what was a great overnight stay

Guest rating:

9/4/2012

"would stay again"

only problem we had was our kettle was not working, enjoyed our stay an breakfast was very nice too

Guest rating:

25/7/2011

"Great hotel in the heart of Cardiff"

Enjoyed my stay in the Angel, it`s location really is ideal if your in Cardiff for an evening out or for the great shopping. The public areas of the hotel were great, the staff friendly and helpful and the bedroom was cleam,comfortable, nicely decorated and wqith plenty of room. I didn`t eat there in the evening but the breakfast wa sexcellent although fried eggs and a buffet service never seem to work well. My only gripe, and this is a very minor gripe, was the shower head neaded descaling as some of the holes were blocked.MInd you it would have been cheaper to go through their own website!

Guest rating:

12/4/2011

"-"

Good value for money and well positioned, although a little tired. No remote control in the room and didn`t appreciate being woken up at 8.30 by a lady with a clipboard!

Guest rating:

18/3/2011

"Desperately needs updating"

This hotel is on a busy road junction & part of the double glazing in our room was missing which made it very noisy-the hotel staff were indifferent when we told them about this!

Guest rating:

12/11/2009

"Good value, comfortable room, friendly staff. Excellent location."

Downside was that a lack of double glazing resulted in a lot of traffick noise from 4.00AM onwards.

by Secure Internet

Or tel Reservations on: 0800 633 8000 (+44 1872 261 100)

Mon-Sat: 9am-8pm. Sat: 9am-5.30pm. Sun: 10am-6:30pm.

Our review system

Guest reviews and ratings are submitted to Hotel Direct by our customers immediately after check-out. They are un-edited.

With Hotel Direct you can make your break for LESS money. It's cheaper because when you book a break, we pass on special discounts for packages from hotels and train companies as well as making the total price lower. And you'll make a break in LESS time because in one place you can book your hotel, your train plus 1000s of shows, events and attractions.