Old Ship Hotel reviews

Hotel Direct invites all departing guests to rate and review their chosen hotel.

To ensure our guest evaluation is always up to date and to allow for hotel improvements, our Hotel Score is the mean of the most recent 100 guest ratings.

Hotel Score:

86%  based on 56 reviews

More reviews >>

Guest rating:

1/4/2019

"Character hotel"

Lovely hotel in a great location. Clean and tidy with great restaurant and facilities. Customer service was excellent from all staff members. I would highly recommend this hotel and will stay here again.

Guest rating:

27/9/2018

"Lovely Stay"

We had a lovely stay at the Old Ship Hotel Brighton. From the time we checked in until the time we left we were made to feel welcome and we were well looked after by all the staff. We had read that the hotel was a bit "tired" but we think it added to the charm of a very old building. Loved our sea facing room. 1 small negative, maybe a bit more vegan choice. Cannot wait to return. Thank you so much

Guest rating:

11/7/2017

"Good location, good value"

A great old hotel. Good bed but noisey exterior- bring ear plugs!

Guest rating:

15/2/2016

"Great sea views-Adjoining rooms means no privacy."

The hotel is right on the sea front which was lovely to get up to this morning.The room that myself and my teenage daughter occupied had an adjoining door to the room next door which was occupied by a passionate couple very obviously celebrating valentines night/morning. The doors provide no sound proofing. We could hear every word/sound they made.Breakfast could`ve done with being just a bit warmer. All in all, I will return to Brighton as it`s a lovely place but not to this hotel. Sorry!

Guest rating:

7/9/2015

"Enjoyed our stay"

We booked one night only as we were in Brighton to see King Crimson at the Dome (truly excellent concert). I`d read some of the hotel reviews before booking and, as they were mixed, decided to take a chance; the reality is that Brighton hotels do get heavily booked on the weekends. Was not disappointed!On arriving at reception we were greeted by Christina, a Spanish lady with excellent English and a very welcoming and friendly manner. We asked if our room had a see view and were told it was an "inside" room, but we could upgrade to a front of house room overlooking the sea for an extra 30. David (very courteous and "old school") showed us the rooms and after viewing we decided to upgrade.The breakfast was excellent in the large dining room where we were greeted by the chirpy Gill who showed us to our table. We would definately stay again.

Guest rating:

13/8/2015

"Lovely staff, very helpful"

Lovely view, though the room was superior but wasn`t. Would love to stay again but in a better room

Guest rating:

9/6/2015

"Great central location"

Hotel location is right in the heart of things. A very pleasant well furbished bright and airy room. Nice staff and good breakfast. Parking is a bit pricey and street noise can be a nuisance on Saturday night, but thats the price for being right next to the pubs and restaurants.

Guest rating:

22/5/2015

"-"

Staff on reception were very efficient and helpful.They were able to put me in a seaview room I had occupied previously after a short wait while it was being cleaned. The hotel is very convenient for visiting all parts of Brighton. The outdoor seating is very nice to sit with a nice glass of something and watch the world go by. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to my friends.

Guest rating:

7/4/2015

"Pleasant staff but the hotel is dated and our was dirty (with hairs around the bath)."

Guest rating:

30/3/2015

"Great hotel - good service, excellent location"

Would stay again at this hotel. Right on the seafront. Excellent service, spacious rooms - we were lucky to have a sea view. Breakfast was great and service excellent.

Guest rating:

18/2/2015

"Great"

Just what I expected - sea view, traditional Brighton experience, etc. Only problem was noise at night which can`t be helped I guess.

Guest rating:

9/2/2015

"Very enjoyable stay"

The Old Ship was a very pleasant Hotel, right in the heart of Brighton overlooking the seafront. Being the oldest hotel in Brighton as you can imagine it is very hard to keep up to a very high standard. The room was very nice and the reception areas in the hotel are kept to a very high standard.

Guest rating:

10/11/2014

"A very enjoyable stay"

The hotel is in a enviable position right on the sea front. We had an elderly relative with us and as it was a special occasion, she was given a free upgrade to a sea view room. The staff were superb and couldn`t do enough for us, particularly at the reception desk. The only slight problem was the breakfast, where the hot food kept running out. We have family in Brighton, so will definately return.

Guest rating:

29/10/2014

"Breakfast and Dining Room dissappointing."

Guest rating:

10/8/2014

"Great place to stay"

Friendly. clean, convient and value for money

Guest rating:

5/8/2014

"Rooms not cleaned till late afternoon (To late for us)"

Hotel needs more cleaning staff

Guest rating:

19/5/2014

"Staff 100% hotel needs an up date "

Guest rating:

2/3/2014

"-"

Very pleased with my stay. Welcoming staff on reception and the room was lovely. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a pleasant hotel on the seafront..

Guest rating:

12/1/2014

"Stunning - first stay but will not be the last"

Excellent value hotel, friendly staff, first rate breakfast, and perfect location.

Guest rating:

15/12/2013

"Great hotel with lovely sea views"

Great hotel, very conveniently located. Very close to many local amenities. The staff we`re very helpful. Some of the hotel could do with a makeover, i.e. plaster falling from walls. Overall, the room was very comfortable and good night sleep. We would recommend family &friends to choose this hotel.

Guest rating:

17/10/2013

"Delighted"

Service excellent Staff extremely helpful and friendly, room very comfortable, excellent location. Cannot fault.

Guest rating:

23/9/2013

"Noise and heat"

Hi we had a nice stay at the Old ship in Brighton apart from two things. Firstly the noise from the street during the night due to revellers on their way home and secondly the heat in the room made sleep fitful. The trouble was you couldn`t open the window due to the noise! Overall the stay was good and it is a beautiful hotel.

Guest rating:

17/2/2013

"Very nice hotel but...."

Lovely hotel but extremely noisey at night. Both street noise & other guest kept us awake.

Guest rating:

11/2/2013

"-"

The room was good, but the bathroom was freezing with mold on the window and blind and after having a bath I could not get the plug out because it had no chain. (Sorry to the house keeper...)

Guest rating:

25/11/2012

"Very good hotel but needs double glazing in the bedrooms."

We stayed in room 151, which was a good room although the shower head doesn`t point in the right direction, so has to be hand held. Main problem was the noise from late night revellers outside. Ok if you don`t go to bed until after 2pm. Double glazing required urgently. Would definately stay again but would want to stay in a room higher up. Bar food is great.

Guest rating:

25/6/2012

"Great service from the moment we arrived - excellent breakfast!"

Guest rating:

24/6/2012

"-"

It is in front of the sea, just behind busy restaurant avenues. Obviously old hotel, but rooms are clean and very well looked after. The service is good, comes with towels, shampoos, etc. Wifi is available. Brighton is busy at weekend, stag, and hen parties, obviously lively evening outside. It is very comfortable.

Guest rating:

18/6/2012

"Fantastic value & location"

The location couldn`t be better as right on the seafront. The rooms were all great - very comfy beds & great showers. All of the staff at the hotel were so friendly & helpful.The breakfast was great too - lots of choice and even cava! Overall the hotel was fantastic - and offered really great value. I have stayed at the Old Ship twice now and hopefully will be back again soon.

Guest rating:

11/6/2012

"-"

Pleasant stay.Hotel looks a little tired but room was spotlessly clean and comfortable.Good value for the price we paid.Car park was very handy and fairly priced for location.I would stay at the Old Ship again.

Guest rating:

1/6/2012

"excellent hotel conveniently located near the centre of Brighton"

Guest rating:

27/5/2012

"One fault window in room would not open and no air con"

Guest rating:

27/5/2012

"Just lovely !"

The staff were warm and helpful, the room beautifully appointed, breakfast was all you could possibly need , we were pleased we booked this hotel as it was very central in a lovely area . parking at the hotels own car park was £23 , but you can park in the Lanes undergound carpark overnight next to the hotel for just £10 !

Guest rating:

21/4/2012

"Outstanding !!"

What a lovely hotel ! the staff where VERY kind & helpful, the hotel was very clean, the rooms where very clean & comfortable !! Very well based - on the sea front near the pier & shops. Will definately stay there again - i can`t fault it !!! The friendliest hotel i`ve ever stayed in. Also the food was amazing - we enjoyed every meal we had, especially the mega breakfast !!

Guest rating:

16/4/2012

"-"

Lovely staff

Guest rating:

25/3/2012

"Really enjoyed my stay"

Guest rating:

23/5/2011

"Lost our booking!"

Booked the hotel for 2 rooms...checked in at reception in the morning and when i returned later to go to room at 2pm they had `lost` our booking! The check in queue was awful had to wait for an hour to check in! When they eventually found it they said our rooms were together and they werent! Will not go back as staff incompetent.

Guest rating:

10/8/2010

"a bit on the pricey side but good service and very clean "

Guest rating:

12/7/2010

"-"

not a bad hotel, best thing about it is the location, minutes from the pier. bedrooms fairly comfortable though terrible lighting, most of the lights in my room didnt work. shower was cold, very warm weekend so i didnt mind too much! i`m sure if i had complained staff would have sorted it out, reception were very friendly as were the bar staff, if a little slow!

Guest rating:

30/11/2009

"Nice public areas and friendly staff - shame about the bedroom!"

Well situated on Brighton Seafront, nice lounges, bar and restaurant (although only had breakfast which was fine) and very friendly staff but the room was a disappointment. Very shabby and dated with peeling wallpaper and paint, damp patches and cracked tiles in the bathroom. This is not a four star hotel and I would not choose to stay there again.

Guest rating:

30/11/2009

"Would not stay there again"

Although clean a lack of staff was a service problem, no parking available at time of stay, allowing drunk non residents to use bar, then not removing when out of order.Over all disappointing and poor management of premisses.

by Secure Internet

Or tel Reservations on: 0800 633 8000 (+44 1872 261 100)

Mon-Sat: 9am-8pm. Sat: 9am-5.30pm. Sun: 10am-6:30pm.

Our review system

Guest reviews and ratings are submitted to Hotel Direct by our customers immediately after check-out. They are un-edited.

With Hotel Direct you can make your break for LESS money. It's cheaper because when you book a break, we pass on special discounts for packages from hotels and train companies as well as making the total price lower. And you'll make a break in LESS time because in one place you can book your hotel, your train plus 1000s of shows, events and attractions.