Hotel Direct invites all departing guests to rate and review their chosen hotel.

To ensure our guest evaluation is always up to date and to allow for hotel improvements, our Hotel Score is the mean of the most recent 100 guest ratings.

Hotel Score:

80%  based on 21 reviews

Guest rating:

13/10/2010

"Clean and in an excellent location"

Comfortable enough with everything you need. Breakfast was excellent. Would benefit from some window renovation and a pair of curtains! Otherwise not bad

Guest rating:

2/4/2010

"-"

Stayed at the hotel for one night only but we were made very welcome by the staff.The bedrooms are clean ,comfortable and themed after famous Scottish men.We found the rooms very different to the usual and was one of the reasons I chose this hotel.The breakfast was delicious.The central location was ideal for exploring and we found we could walk to most places.The bar in the evening was very lively infact it was busy most of the day,We would return and certainly reccommend.

Guest rating:

9/11/2009

"Bank Hotel Comments"

A Hotel with great characther and different rooms to the norm as each rooms celebrates a famous scottish person.Would reccomend to friends as 10 min walk to Castle and bars and restaurants easily accesibile

Guest rating:

9/10/2009

"Quirky, fun, good breakfast, helpful staff. There is a problem with noise in this hotel"

Sorry to have a negative as I loved the way the rooms are done out, the breakfast was good and the staff helpful, but there is a major problem with noise at this hotel. On my first night not helped by the fact there was a live band on in the bar below on a weekday which went on til 12.30. I wanted an early night, turned in at 10.30 and lay awake for two hours. The traffic outside and the plumbing inside is also noisy.

Guest rating:

8/10/2009

"-"

COULDNT HAVE DONE ENOUGH TO MAKE MY STAY IN EDINBURGH A DELIGHT THE STAFF WERE HELPFUL AND FRIENDLY THE ROOM I STAYED IN WAS A UNEXPECTED SUPRISE UNTIL YOU GO THERE AND EXPERIENCE IT I WILL DEFIENTLY RECOMMEND STAYING IN THE BANK TO ALL MY FRIENDS IF THEY ARE LOOKING FOR SOME WHERE TO RELAX AND TAKE IN THE ATMOSPHERE OF THE CITY I LOOK FORWARD TO STAYING THERE AGAIN

Guest rating:

28/4/2009

"Great location. Excellent breakfast."

Guest rating:

3/3/2009

"Personal service"

The small, nine bedroom hotel provides a personal service feel, wirh staff friendly and attentive. Some people may not like the `bar` reception, but we felt it added character to the hotel. The central location of the hotel is just superb, with all the main tourist attarctions and shops within easy walking distance.The ultimate accolade: we`ll be back...

Guest rating:

29/9/2008

"This was a bar that happened to have rooms."

The location was great as it was in the centre of the city, however, the noise of the city does keep you awake at night. The room was comfortable but tired (like me by the end of the weekend). The rest of the `hotel` was very dark , light bulbs missing on staircase and in extreme need re-decoration. The breakfast service was terrible, the food was warm on Saturday but cold on Sunday and was bland. The staff did not seem to know what to do or how to take orders for food. There was no personal service generally. The bar area was ok but the toilets can only be described as Dickensian, which perhaps could be described as `characterful` if they were clean and not broken.I would not recommend this `hotel` to any one other than those who are perhaps on hen or stag weekends.

Guest rating:

8/9/2008

"Extremely happy . Very clean. Friendly service."

Since you are asking though we would point out a couple of things. Mainly it is very noisy at night in the street - not just the shouting but the glass bottles being emptied.Also the bathroon extract fan does not work.BUT Hey we had a great stay. Your staff were very helpful and friendly, good food, clean and good location. Many thanks

Guest rating:

28/7/2008

"Overpriced"

Was a quirky place, themed room was RLS, ok bathroom a little small, overpriced for what it was. Breakfast tasted good but no sugar on tables or teaspoons with cups..these are basics

Guest rating:

14/6/2008

"Excellent accomodation right on the Royal Mile"

Prepare for some noise (because of its central location) but room excellent.Friendly staff but so so breakfast service.

Guest rating:

12/5/2008

"rooms nice and clean staff very freindly food excellent what more could you want.."

Guest rating:

30/3/2008

"Dated, neglected and cold showers."

We stayed one night at the Bank hotel to attend a wedding reception. When we arrived it was to find that the toilet had not been cleaned,in fact, not even flushed!.We decided to have showers at 7pm to attend the reception at eight and discovered no hot water. There are only nine bedrooms in the hotel so it did seem ridiculous that they couldn`t provide hot water. After two cold showers we were adviced to have our showers early on Sunday morning!The staff were very pleasant but did seem to lack managerial experience.It was a shame as the hotel is in a prime site on the Royal Mile.

Guest rating:

17/12/2007

"Arrived here Saturday 8 May to find that there was a problem with our room. "

The Bank Hotel had relocated us to the Hudson Hotel in the West End of Edinburgh and they provided a Taxi to take us there and return us to the Old Town on Sunday. This was very unfortunate as the other members of our family were located in the old town hence the reason for booking the Bank Hotel. As we were unable ot find another hotel with a vacnacy in the Old Town we had to accept the room at the Hudson Hotel which was very nice.

Guest rating:

27/11/2007

"central to everything"

apart from all the stairs! staff were helpful and friendly and room comfortable.

Guest rating:

26/11/2007

"very helpful staff"

Guest rating:

4/11/2007

"The hotel is in a very good location on the royal mile. "

The room was very small and there was no mention on the web site that not all rooms were en suite. We had to cross a small landing to get to our bathroom.

Guest rating:

23/10/2007

"-"

Excellent situation for Royal Mile and within easy walking distance of most sights. Loved the old atmospheric feeling of hotel. Would not recommend though if you are looking for a modern hotel.

Guest rating:

10/10/2007

"room clean, bed comfy, excellent location, unfortunalty i did not realise there was no `on suite` ."

Guest rating:

29/5/2007

"Bank converted to a pub and 9 bedroomed hotel"

We had room 7 on the top floor (80 stairs and NO lift.) Window at shoulder level, no view.No hand soap or shower cap. Very slow service at breakfast (not busy) Lovely large comfy bed. Pleasant staff and well situated.

Guest rating:

10/4/2007

"Nice friendly atmosphere, nice quaint room. Poor service."

Hotel failed to serve one of the breakfasts, it was `forgotten`. Parking fee should have been half price, we were left having to pay full price.

by Secure Internet

Or tel Reservations on: 0800 633 8000 (+44 1872 261 100)

Mon-Thu: 9am-10pm. Fri: 9am-8pm. Sat: 9am-5.30pm. Sun: 10am-9pm.

Our review system

Guest reviews and ratings are submitted to Hotel Direct by our customers immediately after check-out. They are un-edited.