Holiday Inn Express London City reviews

Hotel Direct invites all departing guests to rate and review their chosen hotel.

To ensure our guest evaluation is always up to date and to allow for hotel improvements, our Hotel Score is the mean of the most recent 100 guest ratings.

Hotel Score:

82%  based on 85 reviews

More reviews >>

Guest rating:

31/7/2017

"Great hotel "

Hotel friendly staff, clean nice breakfast

Guest rating:

15/1/2017

"Very good night sleep"

Breakfast wasn`t great but everything else was great. The room was clean and modern, couldn`t hear any outside noise. Good location close to shop, takeaways, easy to get to Camden and to o2 arena

Guest rating:

30/10/2016

"-"

Clean and tidy very helpful staff, but location not great for families.

Guest rating:

18/9/2016

"easy check in"

room was clean , bed was really comfortable , excellent shower , will definitely be using again

Guest rating:

9/12/2015

"Good Stay"

We stayed here for the weekend 4th-6th December. The staff were warm and welcoming, the hotel was clean and comfortable.

Guest rating:

22/8/2015

"Superb value for money. Very friendly staff."

Very clean, lovely breakfast and helpful staff.

Guest rating:

19/10/2010

"Very clean....."

Clean basic room...... fab breakfast.....very helpful staff.......... This made a very good weekend break......

Guest rating:

13/9/2010

"Being put in a smokers` room was dreadful."

Shall avoid choosing your hotel again and advise all I know to do likewise.Why don`t you ban all smoking and improve your hotel instantly?And to think that the room could be used as a family room....disgraceful!Breakfast was good, however. The smell of stale smoke is still lingering on my luggage. You ought to try staying in such a room for yourself if you are a non-smoker.

Guest rating:

22/8/2010

"Great hotel for sightseeing close to all amenities and the streets around the hotel have some hidden"

Guest rating:

22/8/2010

"overall good value for money"

The only hotel to have a family room for 4 so not many options to choose from. Basic room, basic breakfast but not expensive so overall good value for money. Only one minor detail, the directions given from the old street tube station are wrong, they tell you the wrong exit to leave the station, if they told you the right exit then the hotel would only be a 2 minuet walk.

Guest rating:

16/8/2010

"No air con noisy with windows open."

Breakfast and staff pleasant enough

Guest rating:

16/8/2010

"Handy hotel for short break"

We stayed at the Express London City for a long weekend in August. The hotel is clean and the staff quite pleasant. It is a very basic hotel but is handy to the underground and there are some great restaurants nearby (the Real Greek is absolutely wonderful!) Only real negative comments about the hotel are that there is a couple of nightclubs on the street and it is very very noisy it was a very warm weekend and we had to keep the window closed in order to sleep, however the hotel isnt airconditioned and the little fan did very little to circulate the air. I was travelling with 2 children and my mum so we had a `family` room - this is actually just a double room with the sofabed pulled out, very small for a family room.

Guest rating:

12/8/2010

"Comfortable, clean with helpful staff."

Good location-near tube.Good breakfast. Rooms hot at night (August) but fan provided.Our room overlooked the main road and was quite noisy at night. Ear plugs were provede though.

Guest rating:

11/8/2010

"-"

Very clean and well appointed room. Reception staff very helpful. A very good place to stay for 1/2 nights at a very affordable rate.

Guest rating:

4/8/2010

"Good location and clean."

Very polite staff.... room was very hot air conditioning not working..... quite noisy.

Guest rating:

12/7/2010

"very noisy but more than adequate, staff were very friendly and helpful"

Guest rating:

1/6/2010

"Good location, substantial breakfast, friendly and helpful staff. Good for families"

Guest rating:

11/4/2010

"Staff generally helpful. Room clean and adequate."

Guest rating:

11/4/2010

"Good Location"

Good Location, average room could do with more power points and more cable channels but overall good for what you pay for.

Guest rating:

11/4/2010

"comfortable room"

This hotel is in a good position for the tube station on Old Road but be warned it is a short distance from the Fire Station. We were only staying for one night, the room was comfortable, main bed was good but second bed for our son was a little uncomfortable. the hotel was a little noisy, mainly from the traffic outside but the hotel provided ear plugs!. Staff were ok, efficient and friendly. The breakfast was a little chaotic, no organised queing , just a free for all, we had to wait for coffee mugs, glasses for juice and the table claearing was slow. They would benefit from a self stack system for the trays. Overall our stay was ok and may go there again during a quieter period not the schoo; holidays

Guest rating:

6/4/2010

"-"

enjoyed stay, good standard of hotel

Guest rating:

24/3/2010

"Clean and tidy hotel. happy with the facilities"

Upon arrival, there was obviously a mix-up and no reservation had been made despite my booking being made in January. However, a room was made available within a short space of time and the remainder of my stay was perfectly fine.

Guest rating:

26/2/2010

"Good value hotel, close to tube station for easy access to major tourist areas"

Guest rating:

25/2/2010

"FANTASTIC"

The hotel was immaculate and ideal for an overnight stay, even a weekend would be ideal here.The staff are polite and can`t do enought to make sure your stay is comfortable and hassle free. Continental breakfast available for everyone, and there is something everyone will enjoy, but would advise you to have breakfast early to avoid the late morning rush!!The only thing that lets the hotel down is its location as there are very few amenities near by, however the hotel itself was brilliant and I would 100% use it again for another theatre break.

Guest rating:

23/2/2010

"Very Friendly and welcoming"

Very High Standard

Guest rating:

14/2/2010

"-"

Good location. Ideal budget hotel for families or couples. The free continental breakfast was good too.

Guest rating:

8/2/2010

"-"

All the staff were extremely polite, welcoming and very helpful. The continental breakfast was very good. The twin room was fine. Main problem was the triple room which consisted of an uncomfortable double bed and a very uncomfortable bed settee. 3 single beds would have been more suitable for 3 adults.

Guest rating:

7/2/2010

"-"

Cheap and cheerful nice clean hotel close to Euston. Staff very pleasant and polite

Guest rating:

28/12/2009

"Food was awful, accommodation was good"

Guest rating:

7/12/2009

"Budget price, budget hotel, but clean enough"

Myself, my wife and two children stayed one night at this hotel. It was pretty basic but clean enough. It was noisy overnight as far as sirens and other outside noises go. The TV didn`t work properly and the sofa bed for the kids wasn`t particularly comfortable. For one night, just to sleep in, the hotel was fine. Would I have stayed longer? Maybe two nights at the most. Would I recommend it? Probably not.

Guest rating:

30/11/2009

"-"

it`s basic, but very clean and the staff was really friendly and helpfull, we will definatley be staying there again.

Guest rating:

8/11/2009

"Easy check in, good availability of triple rooms, nice and quiet at night."

Guest rating:

29/10/2009

"-"

The rooms were clean and fairly comfortable although rather cramped with the extra bed. We had to move rooms after first night as it was too noisy to sleep. Breakfasts were adequate but would have liked more choice of fruit etc. All very basic, would not use this hotel again.

Guest rating:

29/10/2009

"Staff excellent and very helpful, perfect for an overnignt stay. children loved it and were made wel"

Guest rating:

28/10/2009

"Nice Hotel, very helpful staff, clean and modern. Location not great for exploring London."

Enjoyed out stay but location not great for theatres or exploring London as nearest Tube is Old Street on the Northern Line and tube changes are necessary. Breakfast was continental style buffet, coffee very poor quality. Staff very helpful. Priced a little high for location.

Guest rating:

19/10/2009

"budget hotel ......ok"

Guest rating:

1/9/2009

"Pleasant stay. Helpful staff."

Guest rating:

31/8/2009

"Very clean, but despite being a non-smoking room, ithe bedroom had a strong smell of smoke."

A clean and pleasant hotel, just right for a weekend break. The staff were helpful and polite. Breakfast was plentiful and of good quality, the staff working really hard to keep up with the demand for clean crockery!

Guest rating:

31/8/2009

"-"

Although the staff were very friendly and helpful the room was incredibly hot and quite small. The hotel did have a fan in the room, which as we suspected proved to be a worrying sign! We had to sleep with it on all night, which, was very noisy and not particularly comfortable. Breakfast was very chaotic with not enough tables for everyone staying at the hotel. People were overspilling into the bar area. Wouldn`t stay again.

Guest rating:

24/8/2009

"Very noisy"

by Secure Internet

Or tel Reservations on: 0800 633 8000 (+44 1872 261 100)

Mon-Sat: 9am-8pm. Sat: 9am-5.30pm. Sun: 10am-6:30pm.

Our review system

Guest reviews and ratings are submitted to Hotel Direct by our customers immediately after check-out. They are un-edited.

With Hotel Direct you can make your break for LESS money. It's cheaper because when you book a break, we pass on special discounts for packages from hotels and train companies as well as making the total price lower. And you'll make a break in LESS time because in one place you can book your hotel, your train plus 1000s of shows, events and attractions.