Holiday Inn London Kensington reviews

Hotel Direct invites all departing guests to rate and review their chosen hotel.

To ensure our guest evaluation is always up to date and to allow for hotel improvements, our Hotel Score is the mean of the most recent 100 guest ratings.

Hotel Score:

83%  based on 1448 reviews

More reviews >>

Guest rating:

19/1/2020

"-"

Would have been excellent but tv didn`t work

Guest rating:

2/11/2019

"Good value for money"

It was a lovely hotel in a quiet area. Lovely coffee shop. downside was 5 charge for swimming not advertised.

Guest rating:

13/7/2019

"-"

All was good apart from a fake fire alarm at 2am where all guests ended up outside!

Guest rating:

7/7/2019

"-"

Clean hotel with helpful and accommodating staff. Fantastic location, easily accessible to all London attractions.Great bar staff (Anthony & Denver) nothing was too much trouble.Would highly recommend and definitely stay here again.

Guest rating:

11/4/2019

"Good location, good hotel but check your bill. "

Good size room for London and comfortable. Location good but there must be closer Hotels to Theatre land that are as good. Watch the add on`s to your bill if you stay here a 12% service charge was added to my extras and was not pointed out that I did not have to pay..... Sharp practice Holiday Inn.

Guest rating:

7/4/2019

"Nice hotel and even nicer staff!"

Guest rating:

4/4/2019

"Small"

I have stayed in lots of Hotels all around the world including China and Japan, this is the smallest room I ever been given, there was only 8 inches between the bottom of the bed and the bathroom door!

Guest rating:

1/4/2019

"Great staff and location"

great staff and location

Guest rating:

27/3/2019

"Excellent staff, very attentive. Nice facilities.Bar orders were very expensive even by London stand"

As above - also a convenient location for my needs

Guest rating:

1/3/2019

"GOOD VALUE - BUT YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR"

Good location - central, but far away enough from Kensington High St to be quiet. Very helpful and pleasant staff. Nice overall space and energy. Downsides - the room was too small - you had to squeeze by the end of the bed to get to the wardrobe - only to find that the wardrobe door wouldn`t open more than 20 degrees as it hit the end of the bed. Decided to have an evening meal on one night as they have a `deal` - two courses plus a glass of wine, for 19.95 each, which for a central London hotel is good value. Or I thought it was - the main course of simple fish and chips was terrible. The haddock was a decent size but was tasteless. Not sweet as haddock should be. The chips were also completely tasteless - like eating cardboard. All frozen, presumably. The mushy peas were passable. We left most of it and went down the road to Wagamama as still hungry - great value and delicious. Holiday Inn should take a leaf out of their book!

Guest rating:

2/12/2018

"-"

Excellent staff on front desk some disruption at check-in but with minutes queue cleared by quick acting front desk staff breakfast excellent. Excellent hotel will use again

Guest rating:

25/11/2018

"Small room , no hanging space,faulty sink."

Guest rating:

21/11/2018

"-"

We were made very welcome from the moment we entered the entrance door, all the staff were very polite and professional. The room was nice and clean, we would definately return.

Guest rating:

11/11/2018

"Good location, friendly staff"

Our room was small and the bathroom door didn`t shut properly. We were only there 1 night so didn`t complain. Alcohol drinks very expensive

Guest rating:

30/9/2018

"Great location. Excellent service."

Very nice hotel. Standard rooms are small. But overall, a very positive experience.

Guest rating:

24/9/2018

"Great hotel, great location."

Hotel was very clean, with very helpful, friendly staff, in a great position just off Kensington High Street so great for the shops, food, etc & very close to the tube station & easy access to the rest of London. Great value for money. Would definitely stay again.

Guest rating:

10/9/2018

"Vary dissatisfied "

This was meant to be a treat for my husband and myself .Firstly the room was tiny next the bath had a big rusty chip in it .we were on the forth floor and only one lift worked ,if you could get in it as this was also tiny and always full up . I picked this hotel as it had a swimming pool but they wanted to charge you to use it plus it was full of children .On the plus side the staff were friendly and breakfast was alright

Guest rating:

16/7/2018

"Great service, great location, will return!!"

Guest rating:

8/7/2018

"Poor service"

We were left a notice in our room to say that the air conditioning was having maintenance, we were left a fan which really did not keep the room cool. Were suppose to have been left bottles of water as a gesture Which we had not recived, when we contacted customer service, we were told we were only allowed one small bottle of water, which in the heat that we are having at the moment was very poor, I had also found out that other guest on our level had air conditioning. We then tried to use the pool at 7.30 and was told we were a minute to late as was refused entry all for the sake of a minute which was the time it took to get for the manager to explain that she has cashed up. Also we were charged a service charge for getting a drink from the bar . Very disappointed

Guest rating:

4/6/2018

"Excellent location, friendly staff, great deal."

Guest rating:

12/5/2018

"Disappointig"

No way we could fit into room allocated - it was tiny. One lift of 2 in lobby area out of service all time we were there.Requested 2 folding luggage holders to get off floor. Got one after calls 45 mins. Second one about 2 hrs.Asked for porter with cart to check out. Over 30 mins wait. Lousy service.

Guest rating:

7/5/2018

"Holiday Inn Kensington"

Room was not big enough for 3 adults and after paying over 900 for the theatre break, I was not expecting to sleep on a camp bed. This was not explained when I booked the room.The room was not prepared for 3 people on arrival with only 2cups, 2 teas and coffees etc and I had to ask for extra. I expected another bed for our party and a bigger room as the camp bed blocked access to the bathroom

Guest rating:

13/4/2018

"-"

Excellent welcome - v adequate accommodation,good value for money. Good visible Senior Management with guests.

Guest rating:

10/3/2018

"Good stay"

Easy location for underground very comfortable room very warm

Guest rating:

1/3/2018

"-"

Staff on hand at front of house to help with cases, very pleasant stay wish it could of been longer to enjoy the spa facilities, breakfast very good standard, staff again very helpful, would stay again, no complaints.

Guest rating:

28/2/2018

"Our favourite hotel"

We have stayed here nany times , friendly service and great pisirion to see London. Highly recommended

Guest rating:

9/2/2018

"-"

Room small and no desk or space to workVery clean bed great bathroom goodRestaurant excellent and staff very helpful and friendly

Guest rating:

14/1/2018

"Fantastic Hotel"

Guest rating:

13/11/2017

"-"

No problems but very small room.

Guest rating:

13/11/2017

"Good location"

Great location for Hyde Park, Royal Albert Hall plus High Street Kensington with a tube station just around the corner making everywhere accessible. Large, clean, modern hotel with overpriced bar. Disappointing that they charge guests for use of the pool and, although the bed is over large and comfortable it leaves no space for anything else so it`s difficult for 2 people to mone around at the same time. I, personally would have liked some hair conditioner supplied, not just shampoo.

Guest rating:

28/9/2017

"Good Value. Professional & Conscientious Staff. "

I have been a guest at this Hotel in the past. It was the Kensington Close. I found the rooms tiny....but the location and other amenities were good. I was SO completely surprised and SO pleased with visiting again. Although called the Holiday Inn (which is not a hi-end brand in the USA...It was a beautiful appointed venue. My room was modern, spacious and comfortable. The Conciege staff were exceptionally nice, patient, helpful and gracious. The Front Desk person was SO friendly and welcoming and called me by name. The Breakfast staff was so lovely. The Doormen were also SO friendly and helpful with each guest. I had a wonderful experience and cannot say enough positive words. Looking forward to another visit very soon.THANK YOU for an enjoyable and pleasant experience.

Guest rating:

8/9/2017

"All facilities, room quality very good. No space to work in the room pool great"

Guest rating:

23/6/2017

"We had a great time "

Staff were so nice and accommodating, real great service

Guest rating:

13/6/2017

"-"

bathroom very small, no space to place toiletries

Guest rating:

17/4/2017

"-"

Only stayed one night and did not spend much time at the hotel or use any bars, etc. The room was small but clean, tidy and perfectly adequate for an overnight stay. Will happily use this hotel again.

Guest rating:

14/4/2017

"Could be better "

Guest rating:

20/10/2016

"-"

Absolutely fab hotel and brilliant service

Guest rating:

26/8/2016

"Small rooms, cramped bathroom, excessive price"

Although the public rooms, the staff, and the location of the hotel are fine, the bedrooms are way below the standard of 4 star. Tiny, no attempt to provide comfort or pampering, and no way worth the 500 I paid for a 2 night proms visit. Also do not include wifi if you do not book direct, and set this at 10 per day. Disappointed and cheated

Guest rating:

5/8/2016

"Horrendous"

After queuing 40 mins to check in,we were given a standard double room when I had booked a superior twin online.We contacted reception to point this out and were told to expect a call back.15 minutes of waiting and no call!Back to reception to queue again (for another 20 minutes). One particular reception staff was very unhelpful. We got a room eventually after having to wait in corridor for 15 minutes whilst they dressed the room. There was a half-eaten salad in the fridge!No mention online of parking fees and swimming charges. Apparently a `sign` indicates there are parking fees. However, we failed to see this due to a dump truck and mattresses blocking the path making it even more difficult to negotiate a narrow entrance into the underground car park. Another disgruntled guest was complaining about the charges and how the sign was not obvious. I sincerely hope he got the fee waived. Also, the hotel was not close to the theatre,it was a lot further away than previously googled.

Guest rating:

23/7/2016

"-"

Firstly I would like to say staff friendly, breakfast good choices, downstairs area very nice but now comes the bad bits bedroom too small putting three adults in double room with a fold up bed which is only fit for an infant and the room would be too small even for double, bathroom tiny we had to step out of each others way to get around too cramped would not use this hotel again.

by Secure Internet

Or tel Reservations on: 0800 633 8000 (+44 1872 261 100)

Mon-Sat: 9am-8pm. Sat: 9am-5.30pm. Sun: 10am-6:30pm.

Our review system

Guest reviews and ratings are submitted to Hotel Direct by our customers immediately after check-out. They are un-edited.

With Hotel Direct you can make your break for LESS money. It's cheaper because when you book a break, we pass on special discounts for packages from hotels and train companies as well as making the total price lower. And you'll make a break in LESS time because in one place you can book your hotel, your train plus 1000s of shows, events and attractions.