Hotel Direct invites all departing guests to rate and review their chosen hotel.

To ensure our guest evaluation is always up to date and to allow for hotel improvements, our Hotel Score is the mean of the most recent 100 guest ratings.

Hotel Score:

88%  based on 29 reviews

Guest rating:

13/3/2014

"Excellent service!"

Our first room was OK although the mattress had seen better days and should really be replaced.The first morningtof our 3 night stay the heating had failed in our part of the hotel and we were offered an electric heater. After being on for 6 hours it was still cold so we were offered an upgrade to the honeymoon suite!!!It is a very good value hotel as far as Edinburgh prices go. The staff are wonderful, just a pity that the owners do not appear to care about the draighty, heat wasting windows and poor mattresses except in the honrymoon suite!

Guest rating:

24/11/2013

"Friendly staff, rooms were clean and comfortable with modern decor as was the rest of the hotel."

My husband and I would recommend this hotel for all the reasons above, keep up the good work.

Guest rating:

30/10/2012

"Very nice rooms with plenty of space, Also very professional service."

The Restaurant is absolutely amazing and food is top rate although there are not that many items to order on the menu. The quality of the food is amazing and the homemade tomato sauce delicious. I loved the beds and the quality of the bedding was top notch, very clean room with a nice quality carpet. I will be booking here again on my next visit to the city.Thank you to all the staff who made the visit as nice as it was. I would rate this as a 3 star hotel from the quality of the room alone but the Restaurant is worth more. Please note that no travelodge or Premier inn would get more than a 2 star from me, ad even the Ritz would probably struggle to get a 5 star, the only hotel i have ever given a 5 star was sun city in South Africa so a 3 star from me is really good.

Guest rating:

22/8/2012

"Fantastic staff!"

We were unable to stay due to a internet booking site selling rooms that were not available- This was in no way their fault.We had a very stressful day getting into Edinburgh, as a similar problem happened to us that morning at another hotel, which meant we were offered a room and then after unpacking all our belongings, thrown out because the room wasn`t actually available. (the lady was very rude to us and made us feel like we were the problem)After that, we searched for a room and booked for 1 night at the Minto Hotel. When we arrived the hotel staff told us about the mix up and was very accommodating. She gave us a cup of tea, organised another hotel and also provided a taxi- all at no cost!She had also arranged a bottle of wine to be waiting for us at the new hotel.The manager of Minto Hotel really turned our day from a nightmare into a very pleasant day, and we couldn`t possible ask for any better treatment.

Guest rating:

16/8/2012

"value price o.k. - "

what made us happy: one big room sold as twin room with huge beds! Wwe only had continental breakfast and this seems to have been taken into account! Thank you! suggestions for improvement: rooms need some fittings, windows don`t open, lights cannot be switched on and off from one bed (room 24)

Guest rating:

10/8/2012

"Very friendly, clean modern rooms, staff very helpful with a great hotel manager. "

Great would definitely recommend the Minto Hotel.

Guest rating:

8/7/2012

"Excellent hotel"

Excellent hotel, very helpful staff

Guest rating:

5/1/2012

"the hotel is very clean, high standards and staying there is is like life giving. it is just heaven."

Guest rating:

28/11/2011

"Good for short stay"

Hotel rooms were a bit small for 2 people especially the ensuite in my room. OK for short stay and excellent value. Clean and quiet.

Guest rating:

13/9/2011

"Good location"

Friendly staff, reasonably priced very good accomodation, limited parking enjoyed our time here. Thanks.

Guest rating:

6/9/2011

"Clean and cosy"

Room and bathroom tidy but small and enclosed. Double bed is two singles together but comfy enough. Cant fault the breakfast, full scottish is to be recommended.

Guest rating:

25/7/2011

"I found every member of staff very polite and very helpful. "

I would recommend the Minto Hotel to anyone going to Edinburgh and next time i visit will look forward to boooking a second time.

Guest rating:

26/6/2011

"Reasonably priced, pleasant staff and good breakfasts. "

Guest rating:

8/6/2011

"Convenient location on main road into centre of town, with plenty of buses going past the door."

Guest rating:

15/5/2011

"Freindly and Helpul staff"

Guest rating:

21/4/2011

"Great location, lovely hotel, poor staff."

The hotel looks like a sports bar from the outside but inside it is a lovely, clean, boutique hotel. The location is excellent as is only a short walk/bus ride into the city. The breakfast options are varied and cooked well. However, the only issue we had with this hotel was the quality of the service provided by the staff. Although very efficient, the staff are not overly friendly and could be perceived as bordering on rude. However, do not let this put you off as we thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the beautiful city of Edinburgh!

Guest rating:

5/3/2011

"Smart, clean and convenient. Helpful staff"

Guest rating:

1/3/2011

"Good service, excellent breakfast, helpfull and friendly atmosphere"

Guest rating:

13/12/2010

"-"

Room small but very nicely done out and immaculate. Good value. Breakfast fine, service mixed.

Guest rating:

22/10/2010

"Comfortable and convenient"

Room very small but had a big double bed - booked for single occupancy. Friendly staff and decent freshly cooked breakfast. Quiet despite being on the main road. Would definitely stay there again.

Guest rating:

30/9/2010

"Lovely Comfortable bed."

As a frequent business visitor to Edinburgh and having stayed at various Hotels in the city it was a pleasure to finally stay at affordible hotel that far out classed higher priced Hotels in the City. Great location, Free parking ,very clean throughout ,the bed was devine and even the WiFi worked in the room. Full credit to you all. see you again in a few weeks.

Guest rating:

29/9/2010

"welcoming, friendly, always ready to assist"

Great staff. Lovely breakfasts. Easy reach of city centre.

Guest rating:

2/9/2010

"checking in"

Upon arrival there was nobody at the desk we rang the bell twice, after 10 minutes we asked one on the numerous staff that were around and he eventually checked us in as he couldn`t find the clerk, I filled in the information and he gave us the key. Had we not prepaid the room we would have went elsewhere. Once in our room all was good and we had an enjoyable stay,clean and comfortable.

Guest rating:

1/9/2010

"-"

Good location, clean and great service !

by Secure Internet

Or tel Reservations on: 0800 633 8000 (+44 1872 261 100)

Mon-Thu: 9am-10pm. Fri: 9am-8pm. Sat: 9am-5.30pm. Sun: 10am-9pm.

Our review system

Guest reviews and ratings are submitted to Hotel Direct by our customers immediately after check-out. They are un-edited.