Elmbank Hotel reviews

Hotel Direct invites all departing guests to rate and review their chosen hotel.

To ensure our guest evaluation is always up to date and to allow for hotel improvements, our Hotel Score is the mean of the most recent 100 guest ratings.

Hotel Score:

79%  based on 29 reviews

Guest rating:

31/8/2017

"Not enough car parking space."

Good reception ladies. Very helpful. Food okay.

Guest rating:

19/3/2017

"PLEASE SEE SURVEY COMPLETED ON BEHALF OF SUSAN HUGHES"

Guest rating:

19/3/2017

"Very good service from staff & very friendly too. Hotel situated conveniently very near city centre."

As I have no sight, I have asked my friend, Valerie Evans, accompanying me on my stay in your hotel to give these comments to you. The hotel is in great need of money being spent on it - e.g. fresh paint on bedroom doors, more electric sockets in rooms (making hot drinks etc.,) a lift and new carpets in many of the communal areas. However, my friend tells me that there is a great deal of dcor in the hotel of art historical interest . She`s described this to me and I am sure such features would not be found in an average hotel! The Elmbank Hotel is quite a treasure therefore. Both Valerie and I hope that money can be found in time to refurbish the hotel and to maintain its art nouveau features. We were extremely pleased with the service we received at all times. This survey will also act as that for Valerie Evans too.Thank you from both of us for making our stay in York extremely enjoyable!

Guest rating:

18/2/2016

"You have wonderful staff who bend over backwards to help and support guests "

Suffered with flooding from the ceiling when the guests upstairs didn`t fully close shower during operation. Your staff could not have been more helpful. Bedding was changed and my family reassured. I don`t know what you pay them, but double it and add a zero. What a credit to you.

Guest rating:

5/11/2015

"Excellant value for money"

Guest rating:

22/10/2015

"Reception areas fine. Bedrooms very average. Clean. "

Guest rating:

7/6/2015

"Good location, comfortable bed but thin walls and loud doors."

The hotel itself is nice in an attractive 19th century brick building. It is in a good location - 10-15 minute walk from the station. The room was reasonable and the bed comfortable. The shower was clean and had plenty of hot water. Basic toiletries, tea/coffee making facilities, hairdryer and towels are provided. The receptionist who dealt with us was not particularly friendly and did not bother to say goodbye when we checked out - other staff were friendly and chatty though. The problem was that on both nights we stayed people in our corridor went in and out of their rooms constantly and talked loudly, called to each other loudly, let the doors slam etc and when the doors slam they are really loud and reverberate. While this is not the hotel`s fault it does mean we would not stay there again as on both nights we were unable to get a good night`s sleep. If you stay there then take earplugs.

Guest rating:

2/3/2015

"Some good some bad, the bathrooms were not the smartest and breakfast left us all muttering"

A good welcome when we arrived 4 hours before check-in and parked thereEnjoyed the fire in the lounge A number of little things irritated:One light that didn`t work and a bedside lamp missing in the double room.Decor/cleaning quite tatty in the bathroomShower head not high enough for a man 5`11" tall...!Cleaners came into one of our bedrooms while my daughter was at breakfast and the bedroom door still locked. They cleaned the room although her case was still there along with other clothes, then left the door unlocked when they left.The breakfast was fairly chaotic - not enough bread at first (either rolls or for toast) - it appeared just before we were finished.The coffee at breakfast was really awful. It arrived in a silver coffee pot but turned out to be over-strong Nescafe, not proper coffee...!Just `Average` - many would have put it worse

Guest rating:

15/11/2014

"A really nice old hotel full of atmosphere"

The staff were really nice and helpful. The building is really oldwith loads of character. Food was great the room was fairly large but tired. That said the price reflects the star rating. We thought it was reallygood value for money.

Guest rating:

1/8/2014

"-"

A smashing Hotel which is really convenient for York. But the car parking was limited for such a large hotel and my mother (who is profoundly deaf) complained about the noise. Also there is no lift for the elderly or infirm.

Guest rating:

15/5/2014

"a very 3* hotel- room was poor- furniture poor- en-suite poor- decorative condition poor- creaky "

I had no idea what/where hotels in York were like or where- I chose this hotel as it was within reasonable walking distance of town centre & had parking- it was not a good choice

Guest rating:

30/12/2013

"-"

Directions in the hotel was poor the quality of beding was poor with cheap pillows and quiltsFood very ltd one member of reception staff was abrupt when talking to customers

Guest rating:

22/12/2013

"-"

Overall the hotel was clean and comfortable. We didn`t appreciate the 730 wake up call from the fire alarm though

Guest rating:

25/10/2013

"1st Night was noisy (bedroom facing noisy main road) 2nd Night Great, moved rooms."

Guest rating:

24/10/2013

"A GOOD STAY"

STAFF VERY HELPFUL - HOTEL= HOMELY , GOOD OPTIONAL TV. FOOD REALLY NICE AND PLENTIFUL.

Guest rating:

23/6/2013

"-"

My partner and I stayed for one night at the Elmbank - the downstairs sitting area and staircase is lovely with lots of wood and interesting features. The room was comfortable and clean. The hotel is not too far from the centre of York and is easily within walking distance. Some parts of the hotel are a bit tired looking and could do with some refurbishment but this did not spoil our stay,

Guest rating:

29/6/2012

"All staff very good and helpful, restaurant staf brilliant"

Good food, good staff: and for the price paid very good value. If you want more one should consider paying extra money as a starting point.

Guest rating:

27/4/2012

"Refund required, please"

The hotel (and the area) had a total power outage when I arrived which had been going on for some time and was on the local news. They offered me a refund if I did not wish to book in, which I did not. Please let me have a refund of the booking. Many thanks.

Guest rating:

28/12/2011

"A good traditional hotel"

Guest rating:

1/12/2010

"-"

The hotel was clean and comfortable and quiet and located within easy walking distance of the town centre. My only real grievance is that I was disappointed with the breakfast - or should I say the coffee which was quite nasty and so I only had breakfast in the hotel 1 out of the 3 days.

Guest rating:

12/11/2010

"couldn`t tell the colour of the carpet for dirt!!!"

dirty and dull entrance. in major need of refurbishement.couldn`t tell the colour of the carprt through years of ground in dirt. looking at the state of the place we chose to eat out. stayed one night and will never go again.

by Secure Internet

Or tel Reservations on: 0800 633 8000 (+44 1872 261 100)

Mon-Fri: 9am-8pm. Sat: 9am-5.30pm. Sun: 10am-6:30pm.

Our review system

Guest reviews and ratings are submitted to Hotel Direct by our customers immediately after check-out. They are un-edited.

With Hotel Direct you can make your break for LESS money. It's cheaper because when you book a break, we pass on special discounts for packages from hotels and train companies as well as making the total price lower. And you'll make a break in LESS time because in one place you can book your hotel, your train plus 1000s of shows, events and attractions.