Bayswater Inn reviews

Hotel Direct invites all departing guests to rate and review their chosen hotel.

To ensure our guest evaluation is always up to date and to allow for hotel improvements, our Hotel Score is the mean of the most recent 100 guest ratings.

Hotel Score:

73%  based on 427 reviews

More reviews >>

Guest rating:

28/11/2019

"Compact, clean and quiet."

The Bayswater Inn is suitable for a short stay with easy access to the city centre and the hot/cold breakfast was an added bonus. Within walking distance of 2 tube stations and buses. On the negative side, the dcor of public areas and rooms is in need of a make over. The room directory states that Wi-Fi is available in rooms but when we couldn`t get a signal, the receptionist advised that we use the lobby it wasn`t always possible to get it in the bedrooms which was a problem when dealing with business issues. Overall the Bayswater Inn is a good choice as a base for visitors spending days exploring the city.

Guest rating:

27/11/2019

"-"

We had to pay for tea and coffee once the few in bedroom had been used.we had a machine.if we had had a kettle the bags were free.What a con.room was modern but had a double bed in a single room.wouldnt stay here again.alsoa generator was going most of the night.

Guest rating:

23/9/2019

"-"

The hotel was tired but was good value for its excellent location

Guest rating:

31/8/2019

"Excellent value London Hotel"

Will definitely stay again.

Guest rating:

9/8/2019

"Good Value Accommodation"

Having read several negative reports, I arrived with friends for a two night stay with a feeling of apprehension. We arrived prior to check in time, to a friendly welcome, with no problem storing luggage. There is evidence, that there is still some refurbishment work going on, however, our room was comfortable, clean, with a new bathroom. Our room was cleaned daily, with clean towels and tea/ coffee replenished daily. Breakfast, had a choice of continental and hot choices, items were replaced on a regular basis, tables cleaned frequently. Good location, close to tube and frequent bus services on Bayswater Road, just a few minutes walk away. There are a couple of pubs and restaurants close by. We would have no hesitation in returning to this good value budget hotel.

Guest rating:

15/7/2019

"Fab hotel stayed here before lovely staff ,"

Amazing hotel Bayswater inn fab location we have stayed here before lovely staff lovely breakfast we will be back soon xxx

Guest rating:

27/6/2019

"-"

Very good staff very pleasant and professional

Guest rating:

12/4/2019

"Quiet and comfortable bed"

Guest rating:

5/12/2018

"Great centrally located hotel."

Clean quiet and friendly hotel. This is our second visit and will definitely stay here again :)

Guest rating:

3/11/2018

"Bayswater inn"

I changed my mind about staying at this hotel after reading the feedback and although there was no refund I arranged to stay at another hotel which was excellent.

Guest rating:

27/8/2018

"Tired but adequate"

Guest rating:

26/7/2018

"Everything we required"

Guest rating:

22/7/2018

"Please take this hotel off your list. It is unfair to have this hotel on your list."

Thankfully I got a full refund but had to spend an extra 30 travelling to another hotel. The hotel reception had a bad smell. Sink had no stopper just a big thing sticking out, bedroom did not lock on inside and was ridiculously small. Brown handprint on the wall. Getting into bed we discovered hairs in the bed including curly black short one!! Matted ones on the pillows under the top pillow. I complained at 11.25 at night and was handed sheets to make up bed ourselves The following morning we were awoken by two fire alarms over a few minutes.final straw was the well fed bed bug we found on the pillow beside my daughters ear. There was blood on our pillows/sheets....our blood. I have photos and did a review on trip advisor. Manager was very apologetic and I had no problems getting a refund. Lynne in Hotels Direct was very helpful and she sourced another hotel for me.

Guest rating:

15/7/2018

"Avoid"

Poor quality. Broken toilet seat in room. Hostel style beds. Dirty walls. Grubby shower curtain. Breakfast very poor. Not restocking food once used.

Guest rating:

24/6/2018

"Bay water hotel prines road "

Guest in the hotel do not think of other guest and where making a noise from 12.00 am till 2.30am banging door and shouting

Guest rating:

20/6/2018

"DO NOT STAY HERE "

Guest rating:

17/6/2018

"-"

For what we paid really good hotel if you want 5 star hotel you have to pay 5 star money no issues will stop here again

Guest rating:

11/6/2018

"Better than expected."

Lovely area, great position for general access to tube station and local pubs and restaurants.Clean hotel excellent hot breakfast. Will definitely stay here again. Excellent value for money.

Guest rating:

6/6/2018

"DO NOT STAY HERE!!!"

Absolutely appalled with the state of this hotel looks nothing like the pictures at all very old fashioned and run down. Our room had stains all over the carpet one being a burnt iron mark, the wardrobe door was broken and so was the bed side table. The decor/wallpaper was all discoloured and was peeling and was also missing in various places. The bathroom was mouldy. Cobwebs on ceiling and also massive gap between carpet and skirting board. overall a very run down hotel wouldnt recommend to anyone.

Guest rating:

31/5/2018

"Extremely disappointed with the hotel expected more."

Guest rating:

28/5/2018

"Fantastic!"

At first I couldn`t get hold of the hotel when I wanted to put in a special request which got me a little worried but once I finally got hold of them the customer service was very good. I asked if they were able to put a balloon or something in our room for arrival as it was my mums 70th birthday. They said they would see what they could do. When we arrived we were greeting by a friendly receptionist, the rooms were lovely (make sure you book superior ones as these are refurbished ones) and we had cake, balloons and a personalised card for my Mum. It was lovely, and made my mum very happy. The location was lovely, really quiet and tranquil so a good nights sleep was had and breakfast in the morning was great. Help yourself to cooked breakfast, pastries, cereals, roasts, meats, yoghurts, and hot and cold drinks. Would definitely stay here again.

Guest rating:

25/5/2018

"-"

Damp and mouldy bedrooms. Heating on full blast overpowering in summer. Awful dirty seatee in reception. Breakfast uneatabable but for toast. Terrible mattresses.

Guest rating:

25/5/2018

"Avoid this Hotel"

Terrible hotel. The lift was the first clue that this Hotel was not going to be a good one! The corridor to the room was the second clue - the carpets are disgusting! The actual room was very small and this was supposed to be ?a superior room? which made us dread to think what the standard of a non superior room is like. Breakfast is a total farce -having specifically asked what time breakfast started due to an early start we were told 7am. At 7am the next morning the staff were still setting up and it was 7.15 before they were ready!! It wasn`t worth the waiting so much so that on the second morning we didn`t bother with the breakfast preferring to eat elsewhere even though we had paid for it! Goodness only knows what the foreign visitors think of this terrible place!!! Avoid!!!!

Guest rating:

18/5/2018

"Rooms very basic but clean and comfortable"

All staff brilliant and helpful.Breakfast had good choice and nice.Rooms basic but clean and do the job.

Guest rating:

7/5/2018

"Clean but basic"

Did a the job but appearances definetly can`t be deciving. Lovely appearance from the front and reception area but the room was quite different.

Guest rating:

22/4/2018

"The reception is nice......."

Well what can I say 8 of us came to stay at the Bayswater as part of our theatre break, we were welcomed nicely by the staff & the reception area was nice. Then came the rooms! I`ve never seen anything like it! We had 1 twin room & 2 triple rooms. They were terrible! My room (the twin) looked ok but the boarded up window really set the scene! The carpet was stained, the floor of was on a slope so none of the draws stayed shut & the toilet cistern constantly ran. The triples were awful the beds were the worst quality, massive dips in the beds, they moved around like a shopping trolly & looked out to a filthy courtyard that was full of stagnant water! I think the best bit was the skirting-boards..they were filthy & covered in dust & muck! Again stained carpet & hairs in the bed. The corridors from reception to the rooms were horrendous, patches cut out of the walls & just screwed back In & left. I think it`s safe to say none of us will ever return to this hotel.

Guest rating:

10/4/2018

"-"

Very nice hotel and friendly staff

Guest rating:

7/4/2018

"Bayswater inn "

Avoid at all costsWe stayed on the fourth floor, we were positioned right next to the lift therefore could hear the noise from it all night. The shower was herrendous, not only did the water trickle out but also wouldn`t go down the plughole, as for the food, the second morning we didn`t even eat there as the first morning was bad enough. Everything was empty and had to ask to replenish, and what was there was discusting. We absolutely will not book here again, just awful

Guest rating:

7/4/2018

"breakfast"

breakfast was limited and guests frequently having to ask staff to replenish hot food and juice. cups for tea/coffee were limited and glasses for juice were also at a premium, rooms were small but comfortable , bed was comfy and towels etc changed each day.

Guest rating:

3/4/2018

"didnt get to stay there"

arrived at bayswater inn only to be told that they were overbooked and we were being sent to another hotel.Every morning we had to ask for a taxi to go back to the bayswater inn for breakfast.Not what we asked for or wanted,we confirmed our booking again just before weo went and nothing was said to us about it then or we would of booked somewhere else not happy.

Guest rating:

2/4/2018

"Hotel Double Booked"

On arriveing at hotel we were told they had double booked, so had put us into there sister hotel, which were just rooms. We was not happy having to go back every morning to the original hotel for breakfast which was bedlam with the amount of people there with all the double bookings, as we wasn`t the only ones. We had to queue for a table & wait for plates, cups etc. Previous to going we rang yourselfs to change our room from a double room to a twin room . which we were told this would be done, but it wasn`t which we found disappointing.

Guest rating:

26/3/2018

"-"

hotel very basic no facilities room far too small felt very claustrophobic very difficult to move around with two people should be a single room breakfast very poor however the hotel was in a great area close to the tube and we did enjoy the show

Guest rating:

25/3/2018

"Over booked"

On arrival at the hotel we were told it was over subscribed and we were to be sent to the sister hotel, Hyde Park Appartments at Inverness Terrace, however the promised taxi never arrived even with two prompts to the receptionist. We eventually sorted our own cab.On arrival at the sister hotel, excellent service from the receptionist. Things were looking up!First impression of the room was very good, spacious light and bright, but cleaning standards were poor. It only takes some scrubbing with bleach to clean a toilet. One of the bath towels had purple nail varnish on it.Other clients did not respect that we were trying to sleep at 4am, may be the night shift manager could have had a word with the group of tap dancing noisy female guests - who were having a very good night out and trying to let everyone know about it!

Guest rating:

15/3/2018

"-"

All staff very friendly and professional. Rooms good size and very clean.

Guest rating:

14/3/2018

"Really out dated rooms. ..not what was advertised "

So disappointed. ...was a birthday surprisee. ..room were very poor,dinning room a mess. ....bathroom very old...shower was useless

Guest rating:

14/3/2018

"-"

Walls are far too thin, making sleep impossible. We could hear next door snoring!

Guest rating:

12/3/2018

"Excellent "

Rooms very clean,pleasant staff and really good breakfast.Would definitely stay again.

Guest rating:

8/3/2018

"Wonderfully positioned hotel in a quiet square 5 minutes walk from Kensington Gdns & Bayswater.Tube"

Guest rating:

3/3/2018

"Small rooms but good.."

Why no bacon in breakfast buffet??...We are in England after all

Guest rating:

2/3/2018

"Very Good Hotel"

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this very nice hotel, the staff were helpful, the room was clean with tea/coffee facilities, tv and towels. Hotel also in a good location as was close to Bayswater and Queensway tube stations and several restaurants. Would definitely recommend.

by Secure Internet

Or tel Reservations on: 0800 633 8000 (+44 1872 261 100)

Mon-Sat: 9am-8pm. Sat: 9am-5.30pm. Sun: 10am-6:30pm.

Our review system

Guest reviews and ratings are submitted to Hotel Direct by our customers immediately after check-out. They are un-edited.

With Hotel Direct you can make your break for LESS money. It's cheaper because when you book a break, we pass on special discounts for packages from hotels and train companies as well as making the total price lower. And you'll make a break in LESS time because in one place you can book your hotel, your train plus 1000s of shows, events and attractions.