Hotel Direct invites all departing guests to rate and review their chosen hotel.

To ensure our guest evaluation is always up to date and to allow for hotel improvements, our Hotel Score is the mean of the most recent 100 guest ratings.

Hotel Score:

94%  based on 59 reviews

More reviews >>

Guest rating:

2/9/2016

"Very happy with stay in Hotel. Will definately stay there next time we are in Edinburgh."

Loved the hotel & plan to stay next time we are in Edinburgh.

Guest rating:

27/8/2016

"Stylish but not decadent"

Handy for Stockbridge and buses. Breakfasts good and staff very helpful. Large comfortable bed and well furnished rooms.

Guest rating:

17/8/2016

"Very comfortable and peaceful "

Rooms were clean and comfortable breakfast good very enjoyable

Guest rating:

21/3/2016

"very comfortable"

Lovely breakfasts and very helpful staff.

Guest rating:

1/3/2016

"Fabulous comfort - home away from home!"

One awkward moment at check out when I was given the bill for the two nights - I explained that I had already paid through HotelDirect.co.uk but not before seeing that they would have charged me £18 less...

Guest rating:

25/1/2016

"Great stay, helpful staff"

Really good facilities, staff helpful and efficient.

Guest rating:

18/1/2016

"Lovely Hotel"

This is a lovely hotel with friendly staff. Really enjoyed our weekend break here. Not too far a walk from the main shopping in Princess st., recommended.

Guest rating:

17/12/2015

"Exquisite"

Guest rating:

30/11/2015

"Not as expected"

Booked the Channings after looking at their website. It was a special occasion and I wanted something nice. I was very disappointed in the room with its frayed carpet and a chest of drawers that had seen better days. From the photos I was expecting a roll top bath and nice decor but unfortunately this was not what I got. On the plus side the bed was very comfortable and we had lovely big towels. The staff are very nice and the bar and lounge areas are very cozy. We had a lunch in the bar which was also very enjoyable. Location is also pretty good, only a short walk in to the centre.

Guest rating:

28/10/2015

"Very good hotel and friendly staff."

Party of 4, stayed for 2 nights would recommend this hotel to anyone,meals were very good and very tasty,not to far from the centre ,15 -20 minutes walk or a short taxi ride,approx £6.50 to Waverley train station by taxi,hotel has a lot of caracter and the rooms are very comfortable.

Guest rating:

25/10/2015

"Ladies week end away"

Spent a very pleasant week end away with friends staying at The Channings Hotel. Excellent accommodation and the breakfast ( included in our room rates) was also very good. Staff very friendly and helpful. We didn`t have our own transport but buses readily available near by in to Princess Street. Would definitely recommend this hotel to others.

Guest rating:

23/10/2015

"If we have to go to Edimburgh a second time, we already know where to stay. "

Channings is a charming hotel, well located in a quiet residential area, but walkable to Princess Ave. Our room was comfortable. Staff were kind and helpfull for first timers in Edinburgh like me and my wife. Breakfast is good. A cozzy hotel with few apartments that made us feel at home.

Guest rating:

30/9/2015

"Charming well-run hotel. Ideal for single traveller to Edinburgh "

I had room 6 on the ground floor as I had requested. It was immaculate and well planned with an excellent bathroom which had a rubber mat and low bath which was ideal for those with mobility problems. I ate in the hotel for the three nights of my stay and found the food well cooked and appetising. My one criticism would be that the room was rather cold at times.

Guest rating:

28/9/2015

"Friendly, wonderful staff"

Rooms were very comfortable, excellent ensuite bathroom, separate shower & bath.Room 4 was lovely, although during summer months I would imagine being noisy as next to the garden.

Guest rating:

27/7/2015

"Suprised at the size of hotel would recommend to anyone"

We had a great stay at Channings Hotel unfortunately we only stayed for B&B

Guest rating:

14/7/2015

"Charming, lovely hotek"

I never leave reviews, but we had such a fantastic time at Channings that we`ll definitely be back! We had a bright, cozy room looking out over Learmounth Gardens, enjoyed dinner at Shackleton`s, had a delicious Scottish fry-up in the morning (cost included with room), and we`re only a short walk away from town and the Modern Art Gallery. Really relaxing!

Guest rating:

27/6/2015

"Excellent,Hotel"

Lovely bedrooms,very comfy bed,great breakfast,friendly staff. We would stay again. Also, loved the Shackleton theme.

Guest rating:

1/3/2015

"-"

We thoroughly enjoyed the hotel. Rooms were clean and nice. Breakfast was delicious, and beautifully presented in their full hot dishes. It is an easy walk to New Town and on to Old Town. We recommend the hotel and will stay there again.

Guest rating:

23/2/2015

"Nice hotel"

My husband and I been in Edinburg 20-22 feb 2015. The room no. 4 was fantastic, big, comfortable, clean and we loved the decoration. Nice people in the reception, but the guy serving the breakfast every day was the best of the Hotel, really nice guy, so gentle and always smiling. Breakfast was also nice, croissant, fruits, cheese, etc, etc. We definitely come back to this hotel again.

Guest rating:

12/12/2014

"Overall excellent service. Staff very friendly & informative around area. "

Room lovely but due to weather even when heating turned up room very cold. I was under the impression that as a guest you would be able to control room temprature to suit the individual. We returned to hotel around 01:00hrs to find a very cold room radiator off so unsure if heating on timer. Daughter was cold had to get up and to put on a jumper and socks to sleep cosy even with the the lovely feather duvet.

Guest rating:

11/12/2014

"pre Christmas short break"

Enjoyed our stay here, helpful staff, quiet location, loved the traditional style of the hotel. Bar and restaurant were nice with good choices.

Guest rating:

17/11/2014

"-"

fantastic weekend lovely room clean and great views from our window quiet and friendly staff only a 15 minutes walk to city centre will definitely be back

Guest rating:

12/9/2014

"-"

Channings hotel is set unobtrusively in a quiet street away from the bustling city centre. It has an old fashioned charm but lots of modern conveniences. Our room included a small sitting room and a huge comfortable bed. The staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfasts werewere delicious. We would be happy to recommend this hotel.

Guest rating:

8/8/2014

"Lovely Hotel..."

Great staff, nice room, superb breakfast, breakfast staff sooo helpful..will be back next year..

Guest rating:

22/5/2014

"Staff very helpful and friendly. Food excellent. Very clean rooms etc."

Guest rating:

22/4/2014

"-"

Very friendly staff. Room was clean but in bathroom a number of broken tiles. Breakfast was average.

Guest rating:

26/11/2013

"Lovely Hotel"

We really enjoyed our stay

Guest rating:

25/11/2013

"Friendly staff and fantastic accomodation"

Hotel accomodation is excellent with fantastic rooms and excellent service.

Guest rating:

22/10/2013

"Very Enjoyable Stay."

The hotel was very welcomeing and the staff were also very helpful.Room had all we needed with nice large bay window.The food that I had was lovely and could not fault it as with the warm service.I think that not many guests will be let down by this nice hotel.

Guest rating:

18/10/2013

"-"

really enjoyed the hotel very relaxing lovely surroundings good food nice friendly staff

Guest rating:

5/8/2013

"lovely comfortable hotel in a quiet. and pretty location"

Guest rating:

22/7/2013

"clean and friendly but a room a little tired"

Nice hotel, good sized room with a view but needing a little attention. The sink tap in the bathroom was very loose and there was wall paper peeling off in places. We had a meal in the restaurant one night which was of a good standard. Was slightly disappointed that on checking out we asked to leave our case and a bag and were told that they would be put somewhere safe for our return. On returning they were still in the same place in reception. Over all we have had a pleasant stay.

Guest rating:

18/6/2013

"-"

The Channings is a lovely hotel with helpful staff in a nice quiet street, I was there to celebrate my 60th birthday and enjoyed my stay. The hotel was about a 20 minute walk to the city centre but that was not a problem. Overall I would stay at The Channings again in the future.

Guest rating:

27/4/2013

"Lovely quiet hotel with a lot of character."

Excellent hotel, excellent friendly service. Just a tiny bit too far out of the city centre to walk in and out with my 77 year old mother. If on my own would not have been a problem.. But the comfy beds more than made up for the extra expense of taxis. Will definately be back!!

Guest rating:

27/4/2013

"very good hotel"

The hotel was very comfortable & the staff helpful, friendly & plesant. The room was claean & well equipped. Would return again

Guest rating:

22/4/2013

"Homely & friendly atmosphere. Staff were most helpful. Acc. comfortable & food tasty. "

A more detailed map when booking would be helpful re: hotel location,as computer map inadequate .

Guest rating:

6/4/2013

"Lovely cosy hotel with very friendly staff"

Stayed for three nights - lovely room and helpful staff made the stay very pleasant. Easy 15 minute walk into the centre of things or a £7 taxi to Waverley bridge. Breakfast was great too!

Guest rating:

26/11/2012

"Would highly recommend the Channings Hotel! "

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Channings Hotel. The area was quiet and peaceful and only a short walking distance from the centre of town. Edinburgh is very split up so you are never going to be right in the centre of everything. The staff were so friendly and even gave us directions to free parking along the street. Nothing seemed to much hassle for them. The hotel was also very clean and the building was beautiful. I`d highly recommend this hotel and would definately return.

Guest rating:

2/7/2012

"car parking "

the only problem i had was that there is no car parking at the hotel and we needed to move the car after 4 hours during the hours of 8-30 and 6-

Guest rating:

30/1/2012

"Comfortable and well managed"

Excellent staff and great accommodation.

by Secure Internet

Or tel Reservations on: 0800 633 8000 (+44 1872 261 100)

Mon-Fri: 9am-8pm. Sat: 9am-5.30pm. Sun: 10am-6:30pm.

Our review system

Guest reviews and ratings are submitted to Hotel Direct by our customers immediately after check-out. They are un-edited.