Hotel Direct invites all departing guests to rate and review their chosen hotel.

To ensure our guest evaluation is always up to date and to allow for hotel improvements, our Hotel Score is the mean of the most recent 100 guest ratings.

Hotel Score:

92%  based on 31 reviews

Guest rating:

12/9/2014

"-"

Channings hotel is set unobtrusively in a quiet street away from the bustling city centre. It has an old fashioned charm but lots of modern conveniences. Our room included a small sitting room and a huge comfortable bed. The staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfasts werewere delicious. We would be happy to recommend this hotel.

Guest rating:

8/8/2014

"Lovely Hotel..."

Great staff, nice room, superb breakfast, breakfast staff sooo helpful..will be back next year..

Guest rating:

22/5/2014

"Staff very helpful and friendly. Food excellent. Very clean rooms etc."

Guest rating:

22/4/2014

"-"

Very friendly staff. Room was clean but in bathroom a number of broken tiles. Breakfast was average.

Guest rating:

26/11/2013

"Lovely Hotel"

We really enjoyed our stay

Guest rating:

25/11/2013

"Friendly staff and fantastic accomodation"

Hotel accomodation is excellent with fantastic rooms and excellent service.

Guest rating:

22/10/2013

"Very Enjoyable Stay."

The hotel was very welcomeing and the staff were also very helpful.Room had all we needed with nice large bay window.The food that I had was lovely and could not fault it as with the warm service.I think that not many guests will be let down by this nice hotel.

Guest rating:

18/10/2013

"-"

really enjoyed the hotel very relaxing lovely surroundings good food nice friendly staff

Guest rating:

5/8/2013

"lovely comfortable hotel in a quiet. and pretty location"

Guest rating:

22/7/2013

"clean and friendly but a room a little tired"

Nice hotel, good sized room with a view but needing a little attention. The sink tap in the bathroom was very loose and there was wall paper peeling off in places. We had a meal in the restaurant one night which was of a good standard. Was slightly disappointed that on checking out we asked to leave our case and a bag and were told that they would be put somewhere safe for our return. On returning they were still in the same place in reception. Over all we have had a pleasant stay.

Guest rating:

18/6/2013

"-"

The Channings is a lovely hotel with helpful staff in a nice quiet street, I was there to celebrate my 60th birthday and enjoyed my stay. The hotel was about a 20 minute walk to the city centre but that was not a problem. Overall I would stay at The Channings again in the future.

Guest rating:

27/4/2013

"Lovely quiet hotel with a lot of character."

Excellent hotel, excellent friendly service. Just a tiny bit too far out of the city centre to walk in and out with my 77 year old mother. If on my own would not have been a problem.. But the comfy beds more than made up for the extra expense of taxis. Will definately be back!!

Guest rating:

27/4/2013

"very good hotel"

The hotel was very comfortable & the staff helpful, friendly & plesant. The room was claean & well equipped. Would return again

Guest rating:

22/4/2013

"Homely & friendly atmosphere. Staff were most helpful. Acc. comfortable & food tasty. "

A more detailed map when booking would be helpful re: hotel location,as computer map inadequate .

Guest rating:

6/4/2013

"Lovely cosy hotel with very friendly staff"

Stayed for three nights - lovely room and helpful staff made the stay very pleasant. Easy 15 minute walk into the centre of things or a £7 taxi to Waverley bridge. Breakfast was great too!

Guest rating:

26/11/2012

"Would highly recommend the Channings Hotel! "

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Channings Hotel. The area was quiet and peaceful and only a short walking distance from the centre of town. Edinburgh is very split up so you are never going to be right in the centre of everything. The staff were so friendly and even gave us directions to free parking along the street. Nothing seemed to much hassle for them. The hotel was also very clean and the building was beautiful. I`d highly recommend this hotel and would definately return.

Guest rating:

2/7/2012

"car parking "

the only problem i had was that there is no car parking at the hotel and we needed to move the car after 4 hours during the hours of 8-30 and 6-

Guest rating:

30/1/2012

"Comfortable and well managed"

Excellent staff and great accommodation.

Guest rating:

26/12/2011

"A very efficient and helpful welcome; good facilities which were all very clean and in good order."

A real gem with very good facilities and generally welcoming staff. A warm atmosphere and good value for money!

Guest rating:

26/9/2011

"Great place to stay"

Dinner was wonderful, Scott was very helpful and friendly. Room was quiet, clean and nice.Cons:- room was 2 singles pushed together, with 2 separate quilts- would of expected better. Also breakfast did not live up to standard. Staff good but food lukewarm and re heated. Let down..

Guest rating:

3/9/2011

"-"

Lovely rooms, good breakfast, really helpful staff and general overall presentation of hotel very good .

Guest rating:

15/6/2011

"-"

Absolutely fantastic hotel

Guest rating:

9/6/2011

"lovely boutique hotel"

This is a lovely boutique hotel in a quiet part of Edinburgh. It is only a short walk to the centre of the city. The food for breakfast and dinner was excellent. There is parking available on the street.

Guest rating:

19/5/2011

"Lovely hotel in quiet area."

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Channings Hotel. The room was beautiful, 4 poster bed and stunning bathroom. The staff were all polite and extremely helpful; especially the maintenance man who broke into my case after i lost my keys! The area is about 10-15 minutes from the west end of Princes Street and ideal for those who do not want to be woken by roadworks / revellers in the centre of town (this was my experience at the Glasshouse two years ago). The hotel is very close to the excellent Museum of Modern Art and the Dean gallery, I didn`t eat in the restaurant but the menus looked very good and changed daily. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Guest rating:

20/10/2010

"Top service from a charming team"

An excellent hotel, in a great location. Very good restaurant too. We had a lovely stay.

by Secure Internet

Or tel Reservations on: 0800 633 8000 (+44 1872 261 100)

Mon-Thu: 9am-10pm. Fri: 9am-8pm. Sat: 9am-5.30pm. Sun: 10am-9pm.

Our review system

Guest reviews and ratings are submitted to Hotel Direct by our customers immediately after check-out. They are un-edited.