Castle Hotel reviews

Hotel Direct invites all departing guests to rate and review their chosen hotel.

To ensure our guest evaluation is always up to date and to allow for hotel improvements, our Hotel Score is the mean of the most recent 100 guest ratings.

Hotel Score:

89%  based on 164 reviews

More reviews >>

Guest rating:

26/5/2018

"Lovely traditional Hotel. Stalf, very friendly, and very helpful,"

Guest rating:

18/11/2017

"The staff are five star and wonderful"

Very good hotel. Ideal situation in Dublin 1.Clean rooms, good service; with a fine breakfast.Room a bit hot, and sometimes you can hear your neighbours in the other rooms.

Guest rating:

2/9/2016

"Really Good Value"

Safe, close to everything (minimal walking), very clean, old charm, free breakfast in connecting restaurant, pub with entertainment downstairs. What more could you want?

Guest rating:

18/8/2016

"-"

The staff were extremely friendly and couldn`t do enough for you. Double room was a goods size. The food was excellent and the evening music was a nice touch. Good value for money.

Guest rating:

11/8/2016

"Lovely hotel"

Friendly staff Good choice for breakfast Lovely clean rooms Excellent bathroom Good location Would return

Guest rating:

4/7/2016

"Brilliant staff"

This is a lovely little hotel with brilliant, friendly , helpful staff. The food is good also. Only let down was the terrible towels (thin, hard & very small) in the bathroom & the shower is hopeless. The water pressure is intermittent & it seems as if someone turns a tap on that reduces the hot water flow as soon as you step into it. The rooms are lovel & it is in a very accessible location .

Guest rating:

23/5/2016

"Lovely Georgian building"

Hotel very comfortableSpacious roomsAttentive staff...just 15 mins walk from city centre

Guest rating:

25/4/2016

"Comfortable room, lovely food, brilliant entertainment."

Will definitely come again - just two things - could you sort out the squeaky stairs and employ more staff for the restaurant at the weekend. Took ages to get our meal and felt sorry for them as they were rushed off their feet!

Guest rating:

7/4/2016

"comfortable clean and friendly"

A handy Hotel for the centre of Dublin. Nice comfortable rooms and clean. The live music in the vaults bar was a nice touch the food was good. Breakfast ample and fresh. Friendly waiting and reception staff. Met Finn the owner what a nice fella. would definitely use this hotel again.

Guest rating:

23/3/2016

"very noisy hotel hearing traffic outside and very loud squeaky floorboards and doors. "

our stay at the hotel was good overall. Kettle was dirty with brown water in it when we arrived - just didnt use it after that. Bathroom was clean but some wobbly floor tiles and shower curtain was not wide enough to draw fully around to block outside window which looked out onto the main street. Breakfast was chaos but staff friendly

Guest rating:

10/3/2016

"-"

Very friendly and helpful staff

Guest rating:

8/3/2016

"Excellent location and rooms - friendly and helpful staff"

Well located for the centre of Dublin and also within easy walking distance of Croke Park. Evening entertainment in the bar was great. Rooms and public areas of hotel were great - throughly recommend hotel.

Guest rating:

23/11/2015

"Good Location."

Good location, pleasant and helpful staff. Menu quite limited, had the smallest fish and chips I ever saw. Changed to a deluxe double room for which I paid an extra twenty pounds a night at reception, wonder what the non deluxe was like as the deluxe was nothing special, deluxe just a bit larger I assume. Ceiling lighting didn`t work, no safe in room, heating on timed so can get cold in November and shower-toilet small and Wi Fi erratic.

Guest rating:

21/11/2015

"Comfortable hotel near city centre"

Stayed for three nights on sightseeing visit to Dublin. Double room was well equipped and warm. Great breakfasts. Ate in Vaults bar one evening and listened to great singer another - didn`t really need to go out at nights on such a short visit. Only criticism - could do with double glazing to keep traffic noise and draughts out. Would definitely stay here again.

Guest rating:

4/11/2015

"Friendly and professional"

A good hotel, in an excellent location. The staff were friendly and professional. A minor problem with water pressure in the shower one day but I think that was being sorted the weekend we were there.

Guest rating:

2/11/2015

"Service"

From the ladies and security man (Pat) on reception to the staff on the bar, you could not fault the hotel service. A fantastic weekend in Dublin, all 10 of us enjoyed it very much!

Guest rating:

6/10/2015

"A great base for a weekend break to this great city. Very interesting visit after 45 years"

Guest rating:

4/10/2015

"-"

Everyone was very friendly, the hotel was clean and tidy and breakfast good. No problems except next time I would ask not to have a room facing Oconell street as the traffic was noisey and I must sleep with the windows open

Guest rating:

28/9/2015

"Lovely, clean and relaxing hotel really enjoyed the stay "

Already recommended it to family and friends

Guest rating:

23/9/2015

"A comfortable, excellently located hotel just off vibrant O`Connell Street."

Dublin is a vibrant, wonderfully friendly city and Castle Hotel a great base for our stay. A slightly rambling old building with an interesting history and everything you need for a comfortable stay. Our 3rd floor room was small but cosy, with windows that opened, and well appointed fixtures and fittings. Be aware that the toilet was located in a very narrow space, go for a deluxe room if you want to be guaranteed more space. Our bedroom faced the main street with a constant flow of traffic and city sounds; we rather liked the atmosphere. Ear plugs might be a good idea for some. In the main staff were very welcoming, friendly and helpful; the exception being some of the Reception Team who were somewhat detached. Although helpful when questions were asked a little more interaction would have made for a more welcoming atmosphere. Breakfast was good and other food on offer was of a high standard at reasonable prices. All in all a very enjoyable place to stay.

Guest rating:

19/9/2015

"very enjoyable stay no problems staff friendly & pleased to help in any way required."

interesting building very comfortable no cause to be critical of anything,would stay again.

Guest rating:

8/9/2015

"Lovely old hotel in a really good area for sightseeing."

Beautiful interesting old hotel with very friendly helpful staff. Fantastic breakfasts to set you up for a day`s sightseeing. Would recommend.

Guest rating:

7/9/2015

"Exceptional from start to finish"

Great location, very comfortable, friendly staff, secure off street parking and excellent evening entertainment,wouldn`t hesitate booking again

Guest rating:

4/9/2015

"-"

quirky old hotel, great location, clean would definitely stay here again.

Guest rating:

1/9/2015

"Good service - friendly staff - excellent breakfast - inviting bar with entertainment"

Would recommend the hotel to friends and return again in the future

Guest rating:

29/8/2015

"very impressed"

Helpful, good food, accommodation. 10/10 from us scots x

Guest rating:

16/8/2015

"-"

Good central location for city attractions. Reception staff excellent. Breakfast was good. Room a little dated and small, but very clean. Would return and recommend.

Guest rating:

5/8/2015

"A pleasant stay"

We stayed at the Castle Hotel for a long weekend. We had booked a double room and were surprised to be allocated a twin room, a long way from the reception, and one with a dreary view overlooking the back of the hotel. The staff responded quickly and we were re-allocated a double room, this time much closer to the centre of the hotel, with a view overlooking the car park which was okay. The room was comfortable, airy and with an excellent bathroom. We ate at the hotel on one evening with family - food was good, service attentive. The hotel is large and they could not cope with the numbers all arriving for breakfast at the same time. On the first morning we were sent to an `overflow` breakfast room downstairs - the second morning we had to wait for 10 minutes for a table (anywhere) to become free. The third morning we got wise and went down much later, when we reckoned the main rush would have gone. Overall a successful stay, aided by the very friendly and helpful staff.

Guest rating:

20/6/2015

"Most pleasant and easy stay"

Staying here has been one of the most pleasant hotel experiences I,ve had. Everything is straightforward, the staff are relaxed and polite, and there is a good element of space. It is a comfortable place to stay. It,s not too far to walk from the city centre and bus tour stops.

Guest rating:

18/6/2015

"staff very helpful and friendly nothing was too much trouble"

hotel was a bit dated but that was the charm of the place only had breakfast there and that was excellent would recommend this hotel

Guest rating:

16/6/2015

"Perfect location"

Great location, friendly staff, clean comfortable rooms, safe place to leave luggage, tasty food and lovely singer in the bar -Paddy was his first name. No complaints at all. Thanks for a great a stay!

Guest rating:

8/6/2015

"-"

Fantastic friendly and helpful staff ! Great location !! Rooms have everything you need and the food was great !!! Couldn`t ask for more !!

Guest rating:

22/5/2015

"A gem in the heart of Dublin."

This hotel is several converted Georgian houses. This makes it very unique. You cannot mistake the warmth that the staff show in their welcome approach to the many nationalities that stay there. The location is just off O`Connell Street and within walking distance to many important sites. Hop on/off buses are a stones throw from the front door. The airport a very short journey. The food both at breakfast and the evening restaraunt is exceptionally good. Live music is available most nights with great singers, singing traditional songs. This hotel should be first on your list when looking to stay in Dublin.

Guest rating:

14/5/2015

"Good middleclass hotel"

+ Nice and clean rooms, good restaurant and cafe, nice bar, good location e.g. fairly close to Temple bar, often helpful service in reception? Difficult to find your way in the hotel - stairs up and down all over the place - from lobby little help of signs to find room

Guest rating:

10/5/2015

"staff very friendly \and helpful it was especially nice to see the owner chatting to the guests "

enjoyed our stay we will definitely have the castle hotel at the top of our list the next time we return to dublin

Guest rating:

28/4/2015

"Very pleasant and friendly staff. Enjoyed the food and the music."

Guest rating:

22/3/2015

"Excellent customer service and food"

The staff here are very helpful, nothing too much trouble. the food is excellent and beds comfortable and clean. wi fi good. not too far from buses and town. Only problem is the sound proofing of rooms, if you are unlucky enough as we were to have noisy young people in next room its impossible to sleep. despite reception asking them to keep quiet they started up again soon after.

Guest rating:

4/3/2015

"Clean but a little tired"

Guest rating:

3/3/2015

"Comfortable and friendly"

Three middle-aged mates in town for a rugby match and a drink or two. The hotel suited our needs just fine. Near enough to walk into the centre of the city. Good breakfast. Twin rooms available. Comfy beds, good shower. Checkout time not until 1200. I would stay there again.

Guest rating:

15/2/2015

"Not what we expected"

Room & bathroom quite small. Shower cubicle a good size but shower just a trickle with absolutely no power at all. Not as near to Temple Bar area as implied. Food & staff excellent. Irish entertainment on 2 nights of the weekend really enjoyable. Not bad for the price & am sure there are better rooms & showers!

by Secure Internet

Or tel Reservations on: 0800 633 8000 (+44 1872 261 100)

Mon-Sat: 9am-8pm. Sat: 9am-5.30pm. Sun: 10am-6:30pm.

Our review system

Guest reviews and ratings are submitted to Hotel Direct by our customers immediately after check-out. They are un-edited.

With Hotel Direct you can make your break for LESS money. It's cheaper because when you book a break, we pass on special discounts for packages from hotels and train companies as well as making the total price lower. And you'll make a break in LESS time because in one place you can book your hotel, your train plus 1000s of shows, events and attractions.