Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre reviews

Hotel Direct invites all departing guests to rate and review their chosen hotel.

To ensure our guest evaluation is always up to date and to allow for hotel improvements, our Hotel Score is the mean of the most recent 100 guest ratings.

Hotel Score:

93%  based on 63 reviews

More reviews >>

Guest rating:

17/2/2020

"Management and staff very helpful and professional"

Requested a special valentines package for my fiancée as it was valentines day, spoke with Christian (Manager) to organise, very helpful and professional at all times, made it a very special evening. much appreciated

Guest rating:

24/1/2020

"-"

Hotel very clean and comfortable. Excellent location. Service excellent and right across the road from the playhouse theatre.

Guest rating:

21/1/2020

"Perfect position"

Opposite Playhouse, next door to Italian and Spanish restaurants, the latter serving a superb seafood paella and Sangria and very near Station

Guest rating:

21/12/2019

"Great location"

I can recommend this well placed hotel just 10 mins from station, opposite theatre, cinemas, John Lewis , with trams and buses if needed. Quiet rooms, staff most helpful , breakfast more than expected .

Guest rating:

12/12/2019

"Central, clean, great breakfast "

Guest rating:

5/12/2019

"-"

Very happy with all aspects of the hotel. Pleasant and helpful staff, quiet and comfortable rooms, and good breakfast service and food. Hotel very conveniently situated for city centre sights etc.Overall good value for money. Will recommend to others and will definately stay again.

Guest rating:

4/12/2019

"-"

Was clean and beds were comfortable. Breakfast was good, would use this hotel again.

Guest rating:

25/11/2019

"Edinburgh Xmas festival stay "

Just had a very comfortable and happy stay breakfast very good room spotless very attentive staff and welcoming best stay at holiday inn express central Edinburgh def great location 5 mins walk to Waverley train station and princess street . cosy pub across the road at the theatre pub great food and Sunday lunch .

Guest rating:

19/11/2019

"Less than 10 minutes from the station"

on foot the hotel is down a hill. we arrived around 22.30 (train Late) checked in quickly hotel clean service from staff was very good decor is light and airy would definitely stay there again, very central after check out Sunday we.were able to leave our luggage safely stored in a secure room until later in the day.

Guest rating:

10/11/2019

"Comfortable stay in a small room."

My wife and I stayed for five nights. There was inadequate storage space for a stay of this length. so we lived largely out of four suitcases. The room, however, was modern and clean although the carpets were rather grubby. The bed was very comfortable and the room was quiet, making for good sleeping conditions. The bathroom was well equipped with a good shower. Breakfast provided a good choice and the staff did well to keep the food containers stocked and the tables clean. The hotel location was excellent for exploring Edinburgh`s main sights. We would be happy to return.

Guest rating:

10/11/2019

"Good location and value for money"

Guest rating:

9/11/2019

"Very comfortable beds and lovely food at breakfast would come back again "

Guest rating:

8/11/2019

"Warm and efficient"

I have stayed at this hotel before - I chose it because of my previous experiences. A warm and efficient welcome, a comfortable room with an excellent power shower, a monster breakfast buffet - and all just yards from the public transport system to get you around Scotlands capital - what more could you want?

Guest rating:

6/11/2019

"I found the hotel very accomodating with a small issue of the key-card not working,very well done."

the room was clean and the breakfast was extremely generous in size and also choice.

Guest rating:

2/11/2019

"-"

Only gave a good rating because I personally found the bed to small and well used compared for instance to a premier inn beds but other than this the hotel was spot on

Guest rating:

1/11/2019

"Great hotel Close to station and all city sites."

Hotel room and all areas spotless. Beds very comfortable. Staff pleasant and helpful. Breakfast plentiful and good choice of food. Dining room always busy but staff very efficient in clearing and cleaning tables. Would definitely stay here again.

Guest rating:

1/11/2019

"Excellent hotel - very clean, great location, very friendly"

Guest rating:

29/10/2019

"Affordable comfortable stay "

Very good location. Rooms are big clean and comfortable. Staff are helpful and friendly. Breakfast was good!

Guest rating:

21/10/2019

"-"

Centrally located and very convenient for theatre, eateries and shopping

Guest rating:

14/10/2019

"Good place to stay"

Good location, clean rooms and very helpful staff.

Guest rating:

10/10/2019

"Excellent stay at city centre hotel."

Had an excellent stay at this very well situated hotel. Staff were friendly and efficient. Breakfast was very good with ample choices. Will return!

Guest rating:

28/8/2019

"Very pleasant stay. "

Hotel ideally located. Staff were friendly and helpful. Would stay here again

Guest rating:

23/2/2019

"-"

Excellent breakfast everything hot, plenty availabilty. Rear 6th floor room lovey view.

Guest rating:

27/12/2018

"Recommend"

I recommend this hotel. It is located very close to all the attractions of beautiful Edinburgh. Very clean, with an excellent breakfast and a very sweet and friendly staff. Thank you very much for hospitality129303;129303;129303;

Guest rating:

23/11/2018

"Outstanding "

We had a brilliant stay , exceptional value for money, very clean and comfortable, beds and pillows very clean and comfy . Breakfast was lovely with a very good choice. Would recommend a stay , I will be booking again.

Guest rating:

12/11/2018

"Our stay"

Great stay friendly staff and helpfull and a lovely breakfast .hope to return in future 128512;

Guest rating:

21/10/2018

"A good location for staying in Edinburgh"

The only real issues for us was the fact that the breakfast restaurant ran out of cutlery on Saturday morning! Apart from that the hotel was clean and refreshing and we enjoyed the stay.

Guest rating:

12/12/2017

"Would of given excellent, but the young girl on reception was very very rude"

Guest rating:

7/12/2017

"Even though there was refurbished going on it did not interfere with my stay . The staff were very "

Guest rating:

19/11/2017

"Excellent break"

Lovely staff and great location. Nice, good sized bedroom and lovely breakfast area.

Guest rating:

11/11/2017

"-"

Comfortable hotel and discount makes Omni parking affordable

Guest rating:

7/9/2017

"exellent hotel"

Perfect location for exploring. Hotel clean and comfortable and the breakfast is unbelievable for choice, taste and unlimited. Highly rwcommend

Guest rating:

16/8/2016

"Quality service all round."

Efficient welcome at the reception desk. Excellent room - very clean and comfortable. Super breakfast.

Guest rating:

30/5/2016

"just returned from a holiday inn express edinburgh"

this holiday express Edinburgh excellent location for Edinburgh marathon and near lovely food hallthe hotel aslo laid on extra water and bananas for the runners which is over and above the standard required all staff were excellent and even sorced some playing cards for our group to use fantastic definitely use again highly recommeded

Guest rating:

11/8/2015

"-"

Excellent service! Thank you to the desk clerk for printing out our castle tickets for us. The room was extremely clean and comfortable. We will definitely recommend this hotel.

Guest rating:

17/12/2012

"Good city centre accomodation, clean and comfortable. "

Breakfast - although there was adequate choice and it was all nice enough, it was a bit chaotic,very busy, long queues, tables not cleared, toast machines very slow, bread had to be put through twice.

Guest rating:

13/12/2012

"-"

very clean, very friendly staff, great location.

Guest rating:

11/12/2012

"Great central hotel"

Guest rating:

3/12/2012

"Convenient for theatre"

Lovely modern room. Very comfy beds. More than adequate breakfast if a bit chaotic as the hotel was very busy. Excellant situation for theatre and shopping.

Guest rating:

2/12/2012

"-"

Clean hotel, great location, would stay there again

by Secure Internet

Or tel Reservations on: 0800 633 8000 (+44 1872 261 100)

Mon-Sat: 9am-8pm. Sat: 9am-5.30pm. Sun: 10am-6:30pm.

Our review system

Guest reviews and ratings are submitted to Hotel Direct by our customers immediately after check-out. They are un-edited.

With Hotel Direct you can make your break for LESS money. It's cheaper because when you book a break, we pass on special discounts for packages from hotels and train companies as well as making the total price lower. And you'll make a break in LESS time because in one place you can book your hotel, your train plus 1000s of shows, events and attractions.