The Z Hotel Soho reviews

Hotel Direct invites all departing guests to rate and review their chosen hotel.

To ensure our guest evaluation is always up to date and to allow for hotel improvements, our Hotel Score is the mean of the most recent 100 guest ratings.

Hotel Score:

88%  based on 91 reviews

More reviews >>

Guest rating:

28/12/2019

"Not smooth this time"

Look, I said the place is excellent: location, price, service .. the room great .... I recommend the hotel to friends. This time some hiccups.On arrival: `Identification!`"Sorry, without identification I can`t register you!!!` It would have been better if there had been some empathy and asked for a UK name and address.Okay. (not what I`m use to. I`m used to: "What is your name?" ... Oh, ... Welcome back."There was a problem with the shower. Fixed within a couple of hours. Great.Then I tried to apply my member discount, It went horribly wrong. Staff don`t know about this and don`t know how to process it. The manager tried to apply the wrong discount then argued about food and drink discount. And then staff changed without communicating so that I was charged 40% too much, not 20% less.Like I said, well intentioned membership went horribly wrong.Whatever.I`ll be back.Cleraly an iNternal disconnect.

Guest rating:

28/10/2019

"Compact but perfect and clean. Great location but quiet"

I can`t fault the hotel. Whilst small room yes, no more room than is essential, but your in London, why do you need more. Even has tea and coffee making large tv and very comfy bed. Reception really friendly and helpful. Kitchen even heated some food for me as I have food allergies. I can`t find anything to fault. I will be staying again.

Guest rating:

20/10/2019

"-"

Small but well organised and provided everything needed. The reception staff were polite and helpful. A very good location. I would recommend.

Guest rating:

28/4/2019

"-"

Perfect location for theatres, restaurant and pubs.Room very small and compact, but with all the things you need.Toilet, shower and sink are behind a screen would be better as a separate room.For one night just to sleep it was good enough. Would not recommend to stay there for a longer period. Most staff friendly and helpful. Be aware some rooms have no windows, we were glad we had one. There was only one bar of soap for washing hands and using for the shower and one sachet of shampoo.Every night they have complimentary cheese and wine between 5-8 which was nice and we enjoyed. Overall we had a short comfortable stay.

Guest rating:

4/4/2019

"Too small "

Room was so small both struggled to stand up at the same time.Shower connection was broken had to hold the shower head to get wet.Wouldn`t recommend this hotel,and had to pay extra for an average breakfast.

Guest rating:

12/1/2019

"-"

Well looked after thank you !

Guest rating:

27/9/2018

"Shame they allow smoking in the atrium outside room 108"

Guest rating:

8/8/2018

"-"

Stayed here 6-7 August room 207 first night wine and cheese fabulous second night the seventh asked the waitress to put some fresh cheese out has I observed fly`s on the open cheese table I was given a very cold stare and felt very unwelcomed so went out for wine and dinner

Guest rating:

14/2/2018

"-"

Very modern, clean and excellent location for our stay. The room was extremely small, ideal for someone away on business, not great for two people on a weekend break, but manageable for one night.

Guest rating:

28/1/2018

"-"

Z hotels are Z hotels.If you have been befor then you cannot complain about being cramped.Just like the TV if it works mine did not but then I was hardly in my room to watch it.This is why I come back to Z hotels because it suits my style of a few nights in London

Guest rating:

24/10/2017

"Perfect, everything you need in a small space"

Guest rating:

21/10/2017

"Excellent value for money, great position, charming staff- love the cheese & wine "

Guest rating:

5/8/2017

"Tiny room"

The room was so small that I had to clamber over my partner to get out of bed. I am an average sized guy but i had to turn sideways to get into the bathroom and the gap to get into the shower was even smaller. Absolutely ridiculous.

Guest rating:

20/2/2017

"Nice hotel, friendly staff but god the room was small."

Guest rating:

22/11/2016

"z hotel great location quirky"

Fantastic location very modern, friendly hotel. Staff great, room very compact (but modern and quirky) in house restaurant and bar quiet and just right for theatre land.

Guest rating:

21/9/2016

"Inside room far too small "

Room was not ready at 3.00 went back an hour later still not ready..Staff were friendly and helpful and the cheese and wine was a nice touch.

Guest rating:

9/8/2016

"-"

Staff great location brilliant, bed hard as hell my back was is in bits the next day, rooms were so small two people could just about move round eachother, but the stile and lay out to the hotel was really cool, and the wine and cheese free evening taster was a nice touch

Guest rating:

6/8/2016

"ease and location friendly staff"

my third visit and there will be many more

Guest rating:

29/5/2016

"z hotel soho"

what an amazing hotel rooms are small but really clean and modern. Free iced tea in the afternoon free flowing wine and cheese in the evening we really did hit it good

Guest rating:

21/5/2016

"Nice little hotel"

The hotel is in a very good location for the show and getting around London. The rooms were very small, but not a problem as you are only in there to sleep and get ready. But was very clean, comfortable beds,complimentary toiletries, and a nice little touch free wine and cheese in the evening for a few hrs.

Guest rating:

27/3/2016

"Small but funky"

Lovely hotel. Free cheese and wine between 5 and 8. Free soft drinks when we returned in te evening. Only thing lacking was a plug socket aand a mirror so u could do my hair. Had to try Abd stretch to the bathroom mirror but had no success

Guest rating:

13/3/2016

"Room very small, but perfectly formed. OK for one night`s sleeping."

Double room ok for one person. Staff excellent and ideal location for central London.

Guest rating:

24/2/2016

"Good value for money"

Very clean, very comfortable but the space is small. The staff are very friendly and Helpful. Right in the heart of Soho - walk over the road for Covent Garden. Walk to the theatres and Oxford Street.

Guest rating:

22/2/2016

"Great Location"

Stayed for one night 20/02/16. We have used Z hotels before so we are aware of the room sizes. Great location for the show we saw . The room was spotless and the bed was very comfortable. Enjoyed the complimentary cheese and wine. We will use this hotel again.

Guest rating:

31/1/2016

"Very compact and very noisy outside from street."

The Z Hotel on Moor Street would have worked really well for us. The location is great. Everything you need in the room. Just not much space at all. But the worst thing was the street noise. Room 333 on a Saturday night - avoid!!

Guest rating:

31/12/2015

"Very small queen room but clean with nice friendly staff and fantastic location"

Guest rating:

23/12/2015

"Small but beautifully put together"

Ideal location and amazingly quiet. Clean, comfortable room. Breakfast was slightly disappointing, but the staff were really helpful. Would definitely stay again.

Guest rating:

19/12/2015

"Small but Excellent Location!"

For a night out in Soho Central London, this hotel is in the heart of all the action and Theatres! A small but modern hotel. Staff were friendly. Hotel and room is very clean. The room has no window and small, so can feel a little claustrophobic for some. However, for price and location...being less than 5 mins from Leicester Square Tube. This is the perfect hotel for a night out. I will definately stay again.

Guest rating:

4/12/2015

"-"

Excellent staff and service

Guest rating:

29/11/2015

"Tiny room as expected but very clean and superb location in centre of London"

very happy wit the hotel.

Guest rating:

12/9/2015

"If you`re over 5`10" you may have difficulty in bed..."

Nice hotel, but rooms tiny. Bed surrounded on 3 sides by walls so for me at 5`11" unable to stretch out full length. Toilet seat cover fell off the toilet, which is again tiny and very close to the bed so potential for some unpleasant noises/smells as no extraction. Shower is right next to bed! A powerful hairdryer is supplied but the only power socket is nowhere near the mirror so fairly useless. On the plus side it is very clean, the staff are helpful, the beds are very comfortable with a firm mattress and good pillows,it`s location is great for Chinatown and Soho and there is a funky indoor/outdoor coffee/smoking area. Unless you are on your own or know your partner very well there are better places to stay, albeit possibly more expensive.

Guest rating:

7/9/2015

"-"

Rooms compact but well kept and as much as we needed, location absolutely perfect for theatre break, staff very friendly, very helpful and made you feel really welcome, cheese and wine great touch, definitely recommend

Guest rating:

7/9/2015

"friendly staff ,clean room and en suite. Brilliant experience, would not hesitate to return. "

Guest rating:

7/9/2015

"The hotelOur room was very small with no window.Also air conditioning noisy. Very clean though and s"

Guest rating:

10/7/2015

"Problem solvers!!!"

This is very different from most of the reviews, my wife was seriously and unexpectedly unwell shortly following booking in, All the hotel staff, both staff on reception and the manager made efforts beyond any expectations to find a solution to our problem. The empathy shown was quite exceptional gauged against all other experience in our considerable time spent in hotels over many years and was very much appreciated.

Guest rating:

24/6/2015

"Another lovely stay"

Very smart modern rooms in an unbeatable central location in Soho just off Charing Cross Road. Love it!

Guest rating:

10/6/2015

"Just the job"

Booked three rooms for self and friends and apart from a couple of minor glitches with one of the rooms this stay was practically faultless, from the helpfulness and friendliness of the staff, to the location which was excellent for Covent Garden, China Town etc. Rooms are small but well thought out. Clean and tidy with well stocked with tea an coffee making facilities. Best bit of stay? The free cheese and wine between 5.00pm an 8.00 pm. Looking forward to booking again.

Guest rating:

26/5/2015

"only criticism being the size of the room (121) "

Guest rating:

22/5/2015

"Fabulous location; modern boutique hotel"

You couldn`t beat the location just off Cambridge Circus above Shaftesbury Avenue in Soho and with Covent Garden a few minutes walk. Very modern conversion of London townhouses ... I loved the stainless steel external walkways that run around the exterior walls to roof level. Good place to stay if you want to be in centre of things. Feels like 4 star boutique hotel.

Guest rating:

6/5/2015

"fantastic hotel staff are the best that i`ve ever met,"

we found the room really cosy,the hotel is situated in a buzzing part of London,just what we wanted.the room had all the facilities that we needed,we particularly loved the towels,we have stayed in 5 star hotels that couldn`t match them.we can`t thank the staff enough for making our stay so pleasant,thank you very much and we will staying in the future.

by Secure Internet

Or tel Reservations on: 0800 633 8000 (+44 1872 261 100)

Mon-Sat: 9am-8pm. Sat: 9am-5.30pm. Sun: 10am-6:30pm.

Our review system

Guest reviews and ratings are submitted to Hotel Direct by our customers immediately after check-out. They are un-edited.

With Hotel Direct you can make your break for LESS money. It's cheaper because when you book a break, we pass on special discounts for packages from hotels and train companies as well as making the total price lower. And you'll make a break in LESS time because in one place you can book your hotel, your train plus 1000s of shows, events and attractions.