The Kensington reviews

Hotel Direct invites all departing guests to rate and review their chosen hotel.

To ensure our guest evaluation is always up to date and to allow for hotel improvements, our Hotel Score is the mean of the most recent 100 guest ratings.

Hotel Score:

93%  based on 98 reviews

More reviews >>

Guest rating:

19/1/2019

"Beautiful hotel, beautiful room. Brilliant staff."

The Kensington, an outstanding hotel.From the moment you are welcomed in the front doors to the time you leave, your every need is catered for.With beautiful rooms and lounging areas this hotel is certainly a home from home.Felt very welcomed during our stay.We would highly recommend and will certainly stay again.

Guest rating:

18/9/2016

"Absolutely superb"

Guest rating:

24/3/2015

"breakfast was excellent"

Guest rating:

17/3/2013

"Excellent"

Staff were very nice and polite, room was fantastic and spotless would deffinatly recommended to anyone! Wry impressed and would deffinatly stay again!!

Guest rating:

17/7/2012

"The rooms are well furnished: ask the comparative size of rooms"

A criticism: be sure if you need drawers to ask for a room with same. one we first got only had 4 baskets fitted in the wardrobe two of them initially containing white bathroom or pool gowns

Guest rating:

15/1/2012

"Beautiful and cosy hotel in South Kensington"

I really enjoyed staying at this hotel.. it has been recently refurbished and the rooms are stylish yet very comfy and cosy. The bathrooms are lovely with a great shower and the staff couldn`t be more helpful. I will stay here again!

Guest rating:

22/8/2011

"Very good eventually"

Disappointing room allocation but complaint dealt with swiftly and satisfactorily.Amenities good but no `fridge.Very convenient location and quite, pleasant area.

Guest rating:

2/3/2011

"Great location, super hotel"

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Kensington. The hotel is close to South Kensington tube station and has many good restaurants nearby. The rooms are modern, very clean and well equipped, even a heated floor in the en-suite bathroom! Staff are excellent and very attentive. Definately recommended. We will be back...

Guest rating:

13/1/2011

"Staff very friendly "

Guest rating:

3/1/2011

"-"

excellent hotel, great service, would be glad to return when in london.

Guest rating:

26/11/2010

"Staff attentive. Small but well appointed room. Good breakfast. Full marks!"

Well presented hotel with very attentive staff. However, being told to `enjoy the rest of our day 10 times made it clear the gesture lacked sincerity. Our room was a tad on the small side, but adequate and very well presented. Modern, clean shower room. Bed turned down whilst we were out, nice touch. Excellent continental breakfast, tastiest ham I`ve enjoyed in a long time. We`d be very happy to use the hotel again.

Guest rating:

29/9/2010

"Perfect Location in lovely surroundings"

We enjoyed our stay here very much. An excellent location, a lovely room, great service, and a gorgeous breakfast! We would certainly stay here again.

Guest rating:

1/9/2010

"Superb Staff and luxuriously appointed rooms made this the perfect choice."

The point of this visit to London was to attend two Proms concerts at the Royal Albert Hall and as this hotel was just a 20 minute walk, it was a good location. Quiet, up market area.The Staff were welcoming and very friendly during the whole of our stay.Although the room was rather small (supposedly superior) for a double, it was perfectly fitted out as was the bathroom. We opted for continental breakfast which have to say was the best I have ever had! Everyhthing was just perfect with wonderful choice and superb quality. Stayed for dinner on one evening and again this was faultless, though the cheapest wine was 20 a bottle! All in all a super hotel and we wouldn`t hesitate to choose it again provided we could have a slightly larger room!

Guest rating:

18/8/2010

"very comfortable and stylish hotel, nice location and excellent breakfast"

Guest rating:

18/8/2010

"Highly recommended"

Highly recommended - excellent staff, good quality throughout and a superb breakfast

Guest rating:

2/8/2010

"FANTASTIC HOTEL AND STAFF WITH A LOVELY CELTIC FEEL"

Guest rating:

2/8/2010

"FANTASTIC"

GREAT HOTEL, BREAKFAST FANTASTIC, LOCATION OUTSTANDING, LOVED EVERY MINUTE OF IT. WOULD DEFINATELY RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL, ENSUITE A LITTLE SMALL, BUT YOU DON`T SPEND MUCH TIME IN IT, OVERALL SUPERB.

Guest rating:

2/8/2010

"Well located hotel with excellent and professional staff"

Great location. Excellent staff. Room was clean and comfortable even though it was a little on the small side. Minor gripe would be the side of the hotel the room was located looked over the air-conditioning complex so couldn`t have the window open because of the noise.

Guest rating:

2/8/2010

"excellent Hotel"

we were very impressed with the hotel, the staff were very helpful and friendly and the room was lovely.

Guest rating:

29/7/2010

"Excellent service, very clean and great location"

Would recommend. Very clean 4* hotel. Service very good. Location is great, next to the big museums and all the shops, theatres etc are within Zone 1 tube or a short cab ride. The only critism was that the room was rather small, but for the price and location this was quite tolerable, and made up for by the service of the friendly staff. The 5 add on for a full breakfast was also very good value. I will use again.

Guest rating:

11/7/2010

"-"

Good location, lovely relaxing lounges, comfortable bedrooms with everything you need-but most of all excellent service by really delightful staff who do all they can to please-even a cool bottle of water to take on your journey as you leave

Guest rating:

8/7/2010

"Very friendly service, nice interior, nice rooms (I had a superior, king size),but small."

Guest rating:

5/6/2010

"Good location, friendly staff, excellent breakfast."

The room (#126) was slightly small but clean with a comfortable bed and very good bathroom. We paid a small supplement (5 per head) for a cooked breakfast which was excellent. The staff were exceptionally friendly. It`s the perfect location for the Albert Hall, V&A, Natural History Museum etc and within easy walking distance of South Ken tube. Slightly more pricey than the Regency Hotel opposite (where we stayed last year) but well worth the extra.

Guest rating:

15/4/2010

"Tired room decor, great spa in the basement"

As the room is the selling point, one would expect a hotel to go that extra inch to make a good impression. Dirty grouting, mismatched bathroom tiles, tired and old fashioned decor, paltry tea and coffee facilities in the room. Wouldn`t choose to stay here again.

Guest rating:

28/3/2010

"Fire ALARM 3am"

Hi, there was a FIRE ALARM problem at 3 am that woke up the hotel, and left us thinking if it was a real fire or not. I heard people running scared, other wondering what was going on, etc.. I choose this hotel because I wante to be able to rest on Sunday here in London but it was not the case.

Guest rating:

26/3/2010

"lovely hotel but noisy doors banging shut"

Lovely decor, fantastic staff and very comfortable. Theres only continental breakfast available. The rooms are lovely decorated, but dim lighting so make up was an issue for us females. it was also a little small but plenty for the one night. main issue was that when anybody left their room, the doors banged so loud and hard that our door shaked and the noise was horrendous, it woke us up at 07.20am and after a late night, we werent too happy. lovely and clean tho, we would stay again if we had to get up early but if we were having a late one, we wouldnt.

Guest rating:

24/3/2010

"Perfect and I am fussy!"

Had a lovely stay. Staff very friendly and couldn`t be more helpful. Quiet area to stay, yet easy access to the underground.

Guest rating:

20/3/2010

"We thoroughly enjoyed our stay"

From the check-in service to the assistance with the luggage and the smiling and courteous staff at breakfast, the Kensington hotel ticked all the boxes for quality, service and appeal. It was our first stay at the Kensington but it will not be our last! Many thanks.

Guest rating:

18/3/2010

"Fantastic Hotel"

We really enjoyed our stay at the South Kensington, great location, really bordering on a five star hotel, staff lovely and helpful, breakfast great and will definately be using this hotel anytime we go to London again.

Guest rating:

12/3/2010

"-"

Very impressed with hotel & all staff members. Very clean & well presented. Would use again

Guest rating:

20/2/2010

"Great room and the best continental room service breakfast we have ever had!!! "

Guest rating:

8/2/2010

"The Kensington is an excellent hotel and I would recommend it without hesitation."

Guest rating:

30/1/2010

"Great Hotel in the perfect location"

Booked the hotel to stay at during a visit to the Albert hall. Great Hotel, excellent service, lovely rooms. couldnt fault anything

Guest rating:

21/12/2009

"Well appointed hotel with very helpful staff. "

Standard rooms of high quality but rather small which is ok for a couple of nights but if staying longer I would look for a larger room. Ideally located for Royal Albert Hall and Museums.

Guest rating:

14/12/2009

"Beautifully presented hotel, good location near S Kensington tube."

We often go to London for a weekend, and we like to stay in South Kensington area due to ease of access to rest of London and local amenities. It was the first time we had stayed at the Kensington, which is part of the Doyle group, and we were very impressed by the presentation of all the public areas, and the quality and finish of the bedrooms. Our room was on the small side- but perfectly formed for a weekend. I would upgrade to a slightly bigger room for a longer length of stay. The bar felt spacious- with an extensive cocktail list- a good place for a pre-dinner aperitif. The staff were all incredibly attentive without being intrusive. We didnt eat in restaurant- but would consider next time- as breakfast was excellent and the Aubrey is a really welcoming and relaxing space. Great hotel- will definately stay here again!

Guest rating:

13/10/2009

"A very stylish, elegant and friendly hotel, we enjoyed our stay and would come again."

Guest rating:

8/9/2009

"The Kensington Hotel is a extremely plesent hotel to stay in"

The decor of the hotel is excellent but what made our stay most enjoyable was the friendliness of the staff. They were very friendly and helpful which made our stay very enjoyable

Guest rating:

3/9/2009

"The hotel delivered the standards expected of a four star hotel"

Staff pleasant, service first class, room very acceptable, food good quality, location good

Guest rating:

2/9/2009

"We will definately come back again, the staff were very professional ,helpful and smiling."

Guest rating:

26/8/2009

"Friendly Staff, Clean Rooms, Relaxed Atmosphere"

We only had an overnight stay, but we were impressed with this classy hotel and the attentiveness of the staff. We would certainly stay there again.

by Secure Internet

Or tel Reservations on: 0800 633 8000 (+44 1872 261 100)

Mon-Fri: 9am-8pm. Sat: 9am-5.30pm. Sun: 10am-6:30pm.

Our review system

Guest reviews and ratings are submitted to Hotel Direct by our customers immediately after check-out. They are un-edited.

With Hotel Direct you can make your break for LESS money. It's cheaper because when you book a break, we pass on special discounts for packages from hotels and train companies as well as making the total price lower. And you'll make a break in LESS time because in one place you can book your hotel, your train plus 1000s of shows, events and attractions.