Crowne Plaza Edinburgh Royal Terrace reviews

Hotel Direct invites all departing guests to rate and review their chosen hotel.

To ensure our guest evaluation is always up to date and to allow for hotel improvements, our Hotel Score is the mean of the most recent 100 guest ratings.

Hotel Score:

88%  based on 38 reviews

Guest rating:

2/3/2020

"A truly memorable weekend break"

Hotel was beautifully designed and so clean. We loved the finishing touches for our furry friends such as a relaxing bed for them in the hallway. The staff were really friendly, professional and helpful and a big thank you to Scott for his advice on where to go and booking our underground experience. We are all looking forwards to visiting edinburgh again and the Crowne Plaza.

Guest rating:

23/2/2020

"Excellent stay! "

We was looked after like royalty from the moment we arrived, the reception staff were so professional and accommodating. Great location, and excellent room!

Guest rating:

16/12/2019

"Window in room open will not cl. Heating noise. No staff in bar .not enough t bags and milk in room."

Not 4 star.

Guest rating:

15/12/2019

"Noisy heating system "

We were placed in basement of hotel on entering room was a nice surprise Room was clean and tidy but we noticed a noise coming from the hotels heating system Which kept us both up at night We asked to change rooms further above but first one had a problem with the toilet constantly flushing The second one heating wasn`t working at all plus noise wasn`t a great deal less than the first so they supplied us with ear plugs and we remained in original room can`t fault staff as the were great

Guest rating:

11/12/2019

"-"

Hotel good. Dining room service needs improvement.

Guest rating:

10/12/2019

"Expected better"

Delayed check in time of over one hour. No meaningful apologies given from staff, just something about a VIP group had arrived and rooms having to be reorganised. All in all would have expected better service from this hotel group. Really quite unaccepted.

Guest rating:

7/12/2019

"Comfortable warm room. Nice hotel H"

Guest rating:

24/11/2019

"Every good hotel"

Hotel was clean well staffed and food was very good . Enjoying trip to Edinburgh booked through hotel direct . Would recommend there services.

Guest rating:

20/11/2019

"Excellent stay with husband "

A few days away to see the Christmas market couldn`t fault the Crowne Plaza . Excellent stay from checking in to checking out nothing was to much bother very friendly and helpful staff the concierge was so helpful I wish I had asked him his name and saw him before we left we wanted to find a nice steak house and he recommended one and reserved a table and jotted down the directions will definitely stay here again and already recommended it to friends. Thank you for a lovely stay

Guest rating:

20/11/2019

"-"

Room was okay. There was a terrible smell in the room, however the service at the hotel made up for this. The room could do with some modernisation

Guest rating:

17/11/2019

"-"

Food quality was poor I

Guest rating:

17/11/2019

"Lovely Hotel"

We really enjoyed our weekend in Edinburgh. The hotel was just what we wanted. Lots of little extras like robes and slippers. The breakfast was excellent and staff.very friendly.

Guest rating:

15/9/2019

"Room only so no big comments"

The room was good with a great view over the Forth, though the down side was a bit of noise from cars going over the cobbles.

Guest rating:

7/9/2019

"Weekend away"

Amazing weekend and the hotel was exceptional. The concierge was more than helpful and couldn`t do enough for us. The room (102) was above and beyond what we expected and really had the wow factor . However customer service received from the young lady on reception was much to be desired. We felt she let the whole side down .

Guest rating:

16/12/2018

"An average stay but comfortable."

Greeted well .. helpful concierge..Room was fine but had a strange smell on entry.Toiletries not replenished as expected. Good location

Guest rating:

6/7/2018

"Found the bed very frim. So not a comfortable night sleep "

Guest rating:

30/3/2018

"Bathroom"

Booked a room with a bath, we were very disappointed as after first bath there were black particles floating in the water, so got showered making sure we had none of it on us. The grab handles underneath were dirty,.also the bath mat whilst clean on top was dirty underneath, and they are so cheap to buy, otherwise the hotel and breakfast was fine. This break we booked because it was our Diamond Anniversary. Thank you

Guest rating:

10/1/2018

"-"

Thank you our stay was excellent when I get chance we I will do it again

Guest rating:

18/9/2016

"Nice hotel but a few issues"

Overnight stay for myself and partner as my partner had been ill now recovering - due to wrong information by lady on reception on the Saturday morning we were told no car parking at hotel but Q parking 10 minutes away migjt be busy and not get space the on street parking right outside hotel not mentioned had amarathon trek to and from hotel almost 50 pound in train fares not good for someone who was meant to be on a stress free weekend room up 2 flights of stairs and no lift available a big disappointed considering what we we paid for room television not working tea/milk sparse for a hotel of this star rating we did point out to reception but television remained the same and tea/milk were restocked although the room itself was comfortable breakfast good plenty of choice feel a bit let down as have stayed in much better hotels for a considerable amount less with excellent service best comment was the helpful concierge upon checking out knowledgeable and apologetic about service

Guest rating:

17/7/2016

"Poor value for money"

I booked this room due to needing to accommodate 2 adults & 2 children, at over 530 and only one small bottle of water between the 4 of us was a bit cheap, mini bar locked, when we got it unlocked all it contained was dust and a corkscrew, again I know I may be expecting a little to much, but at the same cost as a week in Spain, you would hope for a some nibbles and some beverages, (which would be to pay for) just getting room service with small children trying to sleep is a chew, I booked this for the amenities, won`t be doing so again with out stocking up at the corner shop first, other than that, clean and ok location, bland and uninspiring. Concierge were helpful though,

Guest rating:

12/6/2016

"Quite a tired hotel, but a good location"

To charge over 500 for a hotel room only basis (no dining) for 3 nights here, is quite extortionate. The room (224) was extremely tired. Very old furniture, with scratches, chips, corner broken off bathroom mirror and stuck with sellotape. Carpets worn. Problem with the fridge from start, which took an age to sort. Hotel team were mediocre, didn`t seem overly interested in guests. A drinks menu which states on the front `give in to temptation` has not been thought about - you may have people from all walks of social life visiting your hotel. Cleanliness not great - cobwebs on lamp shades, not hoovered properly on daily basis. Provisions not re-stocked (sugar). Two spotlights out in bathroom. However, we were using the hotel as a base only, so all of this did not bother us too much, but we would not return or recommend.

Guest rating:

5/6/2016

"Amazing place to stay "

Really enjoy the stay was made feel welcome from check in to check out

Guest rating:

11/4/2016

"-"

Really enjoyed our stay in Edunburgh. Staff at the hotel were very helpful and cheerful. Would definitely stay again. Thank you

Guest rating:

19/2/2016

"-"

Lovely touches such as Sleep Works calming spray and chocolates. Room comfortable and staff very friendly. However, there was a noise in my room all night like running water, even when I turned off the air conditioning.

Guest rating:

21/12/2015

"lovely hotel "

stayed one night for christmas birthday treat for my sister and neice ,from the receptionist freindly welcome to resturant staff who gave us extra time despite us being late down the customer service was second to none ,the hotel its self was clean,large double room comfortable beds ( slept in ) everything provided and a nice touch on the turned down bed ,a tunnocks teacake

Guest rating:

27/7/2015

"Exceptional service"

we couldn`t of asked for a more helpful attentive hotel , went above and beyond to help us plan our daytime programme booking us the best spa we couldn`t of asked for more will be back to visit in the near future and recommend to all our friends and family thank you for our delightful stay

by Secure Internet

Or tel Reservations on: 0800 633 8000 (+44 1872 261 100)

Mon-Sat: 9am-8pm. Sat: 9am-5.30pm. Sun: 10am-6:30pm.

Our review system

Guest reviews and ratings are submitted to Hotel Direct by our customers immediately after check-out. They are un-edited.

With Hotel Direct you can make your break for LESS money. It's cheaper because when you book a break, we pass on special discounts for packages from hotels and train companies as well as making the total price lower. And you'll make a break in LESS time because in one place you can book your hotel, your train plus 1000s of shows, events and attractions.