Belgrave Hotel Oval reviews

Hotel Direct invites all departing guests to rate and review their chosen hotel.

To ensure our guest evaluation is always up to date and to allow for hotel improvements, our Hotel Score is the mean of the most recent 100 guest ratings.

Hotel Score:

71%  based on 33 reviews

Guest rating:

18/9/2019

"Dump"

Service was good , guy on reception very pleasant , but hotel is a dump

Guest rating:

18/8/2019

"Ok location, loud traffic noise in room facing street"

Hotel is in need of updating. Ask for a room at the back if traffic noise bothers you. There is a very good restaurant over the road (24 the Oval). Adequate continental breakfast.

Guest rating:

27/6/2019

"-"

Room tiny, bathroom dirty moody shower, curtains not even on track, mattress awful generally untidy

Guest rating:

25/6/2019

"Dirty"

Run down, not clean

Guest rating:

24/5/2019

"-"

Room on main road so very noisy , bedside light didnt work, hard to get into the shower as its a massive step and walls splashed with tea and stains. Get what you pay for!

Guest rating:

14/4/2019

"Good service "

Clean, helpful staff but hotel could do with tidy up, fence at front broken, back of property old mattresses just left. Could be made into a lovely outdoor area. Breakfast OK.

Guest rating:

12/4/2019

"Easily accessible from the centre of London."

Very clean and comfortable. Friendly staff. Special mention for the breakfast waitress. Would stay there again.

Guest rating:

2/4/2019

"-"

My room was tired and in need of refurbishing, the toilet seat was broken, the shower head leaked, and the handles on the shower door were broken off. The room could also have done with redecorating

Guest rating:

13/3/2019

"Ideally situated"

Guest rating:

10/3/2019

"Disappointing from arrival onwards"

Room too hot, fan didn`t have a fuse, bath didn`t have a plug, thick dust around corners of floor and in and behind radiator, bathroom bin lid broken. Breakfast pastries stale and orange drink not very pleasant. Sat in the breakfast room next to a window with old mattresses piled high only 8 inches away .

Guest rating:

26/11/2018

"It`s a budget hotel"

We knew it was budget hotel. So if you just want a bed and a shower like we did it`s ok. Just a little bit noisy outside with the tube train noise and plenty of sirens. Water pipes make a lot of noise. You get what you pay for. I didn`t expect anything fancy and it wasn`t so all ok for us

Guest rating:

10/10/2018

"Awful, Terrible, Dirty"

This is the WORST hotel we have ever stayed in. The bathroom was absolutely filthy, the shower doors were broken, half the lights in the bathroom and room didn`t work. Only 1 pillow was provided and half a toilet roll, meaning we had to keep asking for things at reception, the man at the desk made us feel like it was a massive inconvenience to him to provide us extra toilet roll! The room was tiny and the bed linen had marks on. We didn`t even venture down to the included breakfast as I just could not face eating there as there cleanliness standards were so low. I would never stay here again and would urge anyone else to avoid!

Guest rating:

8/6/2018

"3 day stay"

The hotel location was excellent and the staff very attentive, we requested extra bedding and they were quick and happy to provide. The room was basic but fine for what we required, although so very hot! We were in a ground floor room and so would not have felt safe to keep the windows open over night and so it was very stuffy making it difficult to get a full nights sleep! A fan was provided in the room but there is no doubt that the rooms, or at least the ground floor rooms need air conditioning. We also had a broken bed/mattress, although bearable needs fixing. Breakfast was fine standard continental, although breakfast room compact and the orange juice was terrible !

Guest rating:

1/3/2018

"-"

shower didn`t work

Guest rating:

18/1/2018

"very friendly and helpfull staff. "

Guest rating:

6/1/2018

"OK hotel"

Pipework a bit noisy - sounded like an ever running tap. Very helpful staff and nice breakfast to start the day.

Guest rating:

7/11/2017

"Adequate"

Clean and tidy, pleasant staff, good continental breakfast, unfortunately next to a very busy and noisy road!

Guest rating:

5/5/2017

"Room was fine apart from access to bath/shower. Location just out of Oval tube station."

The step into the bath/shower was almost disastrous. Had my legs being shorter I would have been singing falsetto tenor !!Ventilation was poor , window needed to be open to allow air to circulate and the radiators were on when we arrived and when we returned to the room, having been turned down by me.Lack of pillows also an issue.

Guest rating:

19/3/2017

"Dirty"

Guest rating:

12/2/2017

"Good"

Hotel was nice and clean, certain parts need modernising and breakfast area needs to be bigger but was very good and ticked most of the boxes. Only major let down was the Tv`s. Advertised as satellite but couldn`t even get BBC1 or ITV on it.

Guest rating:

8/2/2017

"Great hotel very clean and tidy a great place to stay"

Guest rating:

2/2/2017

"Staff were excellent ,went beyond the call of duty"

The Hotel is suitable for an overnight stay and I would be happy to stay again. What made it special was the flexibility and support from the staff. The breakfast was also better than expected. The location is perfect being just outside the congestion zone and with the Oval underground station close by.

Guest rating:

8/11/2016

"Friendly helpful staff and good accommodation"

Hotel is well situated close to the Oval tube station which provides a direct service to central London. Friendly helpful staff, homely accommodation and good breakfasts. Highly recommended.

Guest rating:

11/9/2016

"Good location near Oval tube station."

Great hotel. Good value for money. Staff very pleasant and helpful. Very clean throughout. Beds really comfortable. Tea and coffee in room. Excellent continental breakfast. One negative was the rolls could have been fresher, but otherwise fantastic.

by Secure Internet

Or tel Reservations on: 0800 633 8000 (+44 1872 261 100)

Mon-Fri: 9am-8pm. Sat: 9am-5.30pm. Sun: 10am-6:30pm.

Our review system

Guest reviews and ratings are submitted to Hotel Direct by our customers immediately after check-out. They are un-edited.

With Hotel Direct you can make your break for LESS money. It's cheaper because when you book a break, we pass on special discounts for packages from hotels and train companies as well as making the total price lower. And you'll make a break in LESS time because in one place you can book your hotel, your train plus 1000s of shows, events and attractions.