St Giles London - A St Giles Hotel reviews

Hotel Direct invites all departing guests to rate and review their chosen hotel.

To ensure our guest evaluation is always up to date and to allow for hotel improvements, our Hotel Score is the mean of the most recent 100 guest ratings.

Hotel Score:

82%  based on 8571 reviews

More reviews >>

Guest rating:

17/5/2018

"-"

The room was clean and comfortable. The staff friendly, helpful and quickly responded to most requests. Small complaint is that like other hotels I have stayed in in London they do not offer de-caffeinated tea or coffee in the rooms or restaurant.

Guest rating:

17/5/2018

"St.giles"

Hotel was clean but rooms very small also room I was in had a generator out back so not much sleep

Guest rating:

16/5/2018

"Excellent service and facilities"

Guest rating:

16/5/2018

"-"

Good service excellent room very clean

Guest rating:

15/5/2018

"Couldn`t fault it"

Stayed overnight as we were going to watch a show and didn`t want to rush back to get the last train home,Comfortable beds,lovely shower,tea making facilities,location great.breakfast wonderful and all the staff very polite and helpful,will stay again

Guest rating:

13/5/2018

"Noise ! "

Noise an issue if sleep at front and if shut the window air con very noisy !

Guest rating:

12/5/2018

"Very tired, cheap plastic bunting on arrival, lifts just didn`t come, stairs dirty and in kept."

You get what you pay for, but things could be improved very easily which would give the hotel a more classy feel, the curtains in the bar area are half hanging down and really don`t need yo be there at all, the staff are pleasant and helpful but again look slightly scruffy and unkept.

Guest rating:

11/5/2018

"Excellent breakfast"

Friendly helpful staff, very clean if small and dated rooms. Minor dowside, limited working TV remote.

Guest rating:

7/5/2018

"-"

Room a bit small for us, hairdryer next to useless,as were the towels, no goid for a shower ridiculously small. However, your staff were amazing, with special mention to the restaurant staff, especially the breakfast shift who worked their socks off, and your concierge staff, who were all very obliging and helpful. Excellent service.

Guest rating:

6/5/2018

"Very friendly and helpful staff. Very clean and comfortable rooms. All the amenities you could want."

Guest rating:

5/5/2018

"Excellent hotel,excellent position!"

Very busy hotel but staff very friendly and accommodating.Service in restaurant slow but food excellent.

Guest rating:

4/5/2018

"Don`t stay on the first floor where they are working on a room"

Breakfast was nice but not very hot. Room looks pokey because of the dark wood but it was very clean and the shower works great - staff were first class.

Guest rating:

3/5/2018

"-"

Everything was very good. Clean, nice food, very helpful staff. Room was a bit small but we were only there for 1 night. We were back there fairly late and away early in the Morning so it was fine. Just critism, no poached or fried eggs offered for breakfast, otherwise really good and good choice. Hoping to stay again in July.

Guest rating:

3/5/2018

"Ticks the boxes"

Rooms good size, bathroom facilities good. Although breakfast times were busy there was good choice and all the hot dishes were fresh and continually replenished. Good location for theatres and close to tube station. Ideal for short break

Guest rating:

2/5/2018

"-"

Excellently placedar for a theatre experience, hotel clean and comfortable and food very good, staff very polite and helpful would definitely use again

Guest rating:

2/5/2018

"Disappointed!"

The hotel was quite impressive on arrival. The entrance lobby suggested a high quality hotel and the booking in staff were very accommodating. Whilst it served its purpose, the room was disappointing both in its size and temperature. It was draughty and waking up a few times during the night, it remained cold and draughty. The room size was inadequate had we needed to remain there for any time but due to our heavy schedule, it was adequate.We were not advised of the time for breakfast neither was there any information in the room. After a late night, we came down for breakfast at 10.30am only to find the dining room closed.If I am to sum up our experience, I would say that it was a disappointing stay and would seek alternative accommodation the next time we visit London, which is quite an often occurrence.

Guest rating:

1/5/2018

"Just the right location "

Booked 2 twin bed rooms for our party.The location is ideal, not just for theatre visits.We knew the rooms were just basic, but that was all that was required.Breakfast was plentiful and varied, nothing to grumble about.My one bugbear, but that is personal, the bedcovers were far, far too heavy for my liking.We only stayed for one night, therefore bearable for me.The hotel employees were very pleasant to deal with.I would use it again for a short term stay.

Guest rating:

30/4/2018

"near all the london attractions"

Guest rating:

26/4/2018

"Friendly "

The hotel St Giles was in a good location for many of the shows, shops and restaurants, the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful, the room was basic but clean and had everything you needed for a short stay, breakfast was also very good

Guest rating:

23/4/2018

"Not good"

The room was small and looking rather tired. The first morning we found that turning the shower on meant we were standing in water about to overflow into the bathroom. after reporting the problem it was somewhat fixed. it had been totally blocked. But it still filled with water but not enough to overflow and we were very mind full of that fact. Our cups were left dirty, not very good for an International Hotel I dread to think what overseas visitors think. Not impressed and would not stay here again or recommend.

Guest rating:

21/4/2018

"Good hotel"

Would say its a excellent hotel but room was very small for such a lovely pleasant hotel. Staff all pleasant and helpful.

Guest rating:

21/4/2018

"-"

Hotel staff were good , room was ok. Dinning room in need of a refurbishment.Overall 3 star.

Guest rating:

20/4/2018

"-"

Bathroom could be cleaner! Coffee cups were dirty:(

Guest rating:

19/4/2018

"Very busy hotel in good location. Room small."

Guest rating:

18/4/2018

"central"

breakfast very good, room was a bit tired and could do with a coat of paint.

Guest rating:

17/4/2018

"Large but not impersonal"

Reception and concierge staff most helpful ; asked for a change of room due to noisy buskers at TCR tube station still going at 1.00am - this was no trouble . Superb location for access to West End theatres , shops and restaurants , Pool and gym looked inviting - maybe next visit !

Guest rating:

16/4/2018

"VERY SMALL ROOM"

I had booked this hotel some time ago and when we arrived the reception did not have any room booked.. she then said Oh I can put you in room 635 ! It was very small, the electric points around the dresser were loose, the light fittings over the bed were loose. We had to search for towels, which were in the cupboard (very strange not in the bathroom). The cups and saucers did not match, no spoons just plastic sticks! The bathroom you could not swing a cat in, and no ventilation. I do appreciate that the hotel was busy and you had a lot of guests. However, I will say that the staff overall were very helpful.

Guest rating:

15/4/2018

"-"

Very clean hotel. 2 things to moan at, the elevators are very slow for a hotel of 12 floors & 4 elevators. Also we were only given 1 large towel & 3 hand towels. Everything else was pretty good though.

Guest rating:

13/4/2018

"Good central location "

Nice hotel.friendly staff .clean room but could do with some updating . Great central location

Guest rating:

13/4/2018

"-"

Tiny room. Felt like I was in a caravan. Very claustrophobic. Very budget hotel. Waitress staff at breakfast not helpful and some didn`t speak English. Wouldn`t book here again

Guest rating:

12/4/2018

"-"

Lovely hotel near theatres basic room clean and with all we needed downside room next to lift so noisy

Guest rating:

12/4/2018

"-"

Close to West End. Cost approx 10 from train station to hotel and 10 to theatre. Good clean and friendly. Sage and Chilli restaurant`s food was excellent. Good service in V&Q.

Guest rating:

11/4/2018

"Great location"

Good hotel in great location. Nice comfortable bed & substantial breakfast. Friendly staff.

Guest rating:

10/4/2018

"Great location for theatre."

The breakfast let it down . You wouldn`t starve , just poor quality.

Guest rating:

9/4/2018

"noisy room"

hotel and breakfast were good except for the room we were in was right by the fans which were noisy giving us an interupted sleep, also meaning we could not open the window through the night. the room no was 126

Guest rating:

8/4/2018

"Good hotel, brilliant breakfast but rooms were far too hot!!!"

Guest rating:

8/4/2018

"-"

Very shabby and old hotel. Mattresses need updating and compared to other hotels it`s very sub-standard. The only positive thing I can say is that it is very well located for soho and threatre land.

Guest rating:

6/4/2018

"-"

Broken lampshades, fan in bathroom not working. Towels far too small. Carpets all needed cleaned or replaced. Sausages at breakfast were rubbish quality as were scrambled eggs. No fried eggs.

Guest rating:

6/4/2018

"Perfect situated for all the tourists attractions "

A pleasant clean hotel with excellent venues for bars and restaurants

Guest rating:

6/4/2018

"-"

room was a bit small shower in room was very tiny you had to be quit slim to get into it, staff were very good breakfast could have been better

by Secure Internet

Or tel Reservations on: 0800 633 8000 (+44 1872 261 100)

Mon-Fri: 9am-8pm. Sat: 9am-5.30pm. Sun: 10am-6:30pm.

Our review system

Guest reviews and ratings are submitted to Hotel Direct by our customers immediately after check-out. They are un-edited.

With Hotel Direct you can make your break for LESS money. It's cheaper because when you book a break, we pass on special discounts for packages from hotels and train companies as well as making the total price lower. And you'll make a break in LESS time because in one place you can book your hotel, your train plus 1000s of shows, events and attractions.