St Giles London - A St Giles Hotel reviews

Hotel Direct invites all departing guests to rate and review their chosen hotel.

To ensure our guest evaluation is always up to date and to allow for hotel improvements, our Hotel Score is the mean of the most recent 100 guest ratings.

Hotel Score:

82%  based on 8330 reviews

More reviews >>

Guest rating:

20/10/2017

"-"

Staff were excellent. Very helpful, polite and friendly. Twin room spacious, clean and lots of storage. Beds comfortable and warm.

Guest rating:

17/10/2017

"Hotel very clean & we enjoyed the breakfast."

Guest rating:

13/10/2017

"Great position and helpful staff"

Our small room had been VERY recently painted and the bathroom door and the window were sticking(open and shut respectively) however this did not bother us and the room had everything we needed and was comfortable. We ate at the V+Q cafe in the evening and the food,staff and wine were all great and prices reasonable. Breakfast was good with a wide variety of hot and cold choices,though vegetarian options were limited.

Guest rating:

12/10/2017

"Great location for theatre-land."

Great location for theatre-land and good value. However, the lifts cannot cope with the large number of guests and the rooms are very small.

Guest rating:

9/10/2017

"tired rooms but clean and comfortable"

Staff at this hotel are so helpful. Check in was 2 pm but gave us our room on arrival at 11. Room was big enough for a stay of a few nights and clean and comfortable although not old fashioned. Towels could be larger but had everything we needed and breakfast was great too. Staff couldn`t be more helpful and friendly. Close to attractions.

Guest rating:

8/10/2017

"Great value for money."

Super friendly staff, clean well equipped room and we enjoyed a lovely breakfast.

Guest rating:

8/10/2017

"-"

Great location, clean and comfortable and would have rated as excellent apart from a problem with fire alarm meant we were woken at 6am!

Guest rating:

7/10/2017

"Lovely hotel great paintings in reception"

Good service, pleasant staff, double bed a little on the small side..fab artwork in reception would have loved to be able to buy copies

Guest rating:

6/10/2017

"-"

The hotel is excellently located, the staff are pleasant and professional, but the rooms would benefit from updating. The lobbie is smart and modern, but the rooms are tired and old fashioned.

Guest rating:

6/10/2017

"Practical and Friendly"

Found check in and getting the room no problem. Small but comfortable room with everything you need for a short stay. The staff were very helpful and although busy the buffet breakfast was good.

Guest rating:

6/10/2017

"Excellent location, in walking distance of theatre. Staff all very helpful and friendly"

Guest rating:

1/10/2017

"-"

Very enjoyable stay, excellent all round experience, very comfortable, friendly and helpful staff and the hotel well positioned for all the west end and theatre attractions.Would definitely stay again and recommend the St Giles hotel!

Guest rating:

1/10/2017

"Nice hotel, superb location, clean and really great ironing rooms"

I did get an early morning wakeup call on my first morning which was a Sunday at 5.45AM, that was NOT requested,and was unable to get back to sleep, I was very cross. On reporting this to reception they were v.apologetic and I asked for our breakfasts to refunded as a gesture which totalled approximately 18 and I couldn`t believe how much of a problem this was. 1 week later I am still waiting for my refund, which I have been assured would happen. Not sure how long I am expected to wait. Very disappointing customer service.

Guest rating:

30/9/2017

"Lovely staff, very clean room and very nice breakfast. Enjoyed the hotel very much very central."

Guest rating:

29/9/2017

"excellent location"

Main criticism was the room was very small. In all other respects the hotel was ideal, excellent location, round the corner from Oxford St., close to buses and tube, taxi rank outside. the staff were pleasant and helpful, breakfast was adequate and served for several hours in the breakfast room, catering for early risers and sleepyheads! there was a good Bar, serving tasty meals and real ale. The Concierge was very helpful and knowledgable

Guest rating:

29/9/2017

"Location great , rooms very small , knock on door at 8.30 am by staff not appreciated "

Guest rating:

25/9/2017

"Central Locataion"

Nice hotel in a central location, just off Oxford Street. Only a 5 minutes walk to Leicester Square and less than a minute from the Tube. Nice clean rooms, very basic but just what was needed for a base. Nice on site Restaurant and Bar and lovey hot buffet breakfast in the morning.

Guest rating:

25/9/2017

"Hotel St Giles"

After reading others reviews about the hotel we were a little concerned before we arrived. But on arrival and once in our room those concerns were gone. We had a twin room on the 2nd floor. The size of the bedroom was fine for us, the bathroom was on the small side but it was well decorated and very clean. We only experienced slight noise and that was from other guests returning in the early hours of the morning. The staff we encountered at St Giles were very friendly and helpful - we will stay at this hotel again.

Guest rating:

25/9/2017

"-"

Nice clean, comfy bed food good excellent service.

Guest rating:

24/9/2017

"-"

Tiny bathroom, Very small bedroom, no fridge, Very good breakfast

Guest rating:

23/9/2017

"Friendly welcoming hotel "

Enjoyed our stay at your hotel, friendly staff, Room was nice and clean and also enjoyed the buffet breakfast.

Guest rating:

21/9/2017

"Good room, comfortable beds. All very clean and fresh. "

Guest rating:

17/9/2017

"st giles"

hotel staff very helpful but room a bit noisy due to ventilation unit below room otherwise ok

Guest rating:

15/9/2017

"Friendly welcome, comfortable rooms, ideal for a theatre break. Thanks to all the staff involved."

Guest rating:

13/9/2017

"Pleasant stay"

Good location, no frills comfortable stay, helpful staff, luggage store and early check in if your room is ready are a bonus. Avoid the VQ restaurant at breakfast, very unorganised, terrible service

Guest rating:

13/9/2017

"Room 132"

Not a good room, noisy next to lifts. Outside the room on a flat roofed area pigeons were roosting and there was a filthy mess which prevented us opening the window. We didn`t complain because we were only there for one night.We return to this Hotel on 19th September, booked with a Hotel Direct, hopefully we will have an improved experience. Please bring these comments to the hotel management and any feedback to me would be appreciated.

Guest rating:

12/9/2017

"Hotel typical 3 star."

Room small,bathroom very small, beds narrow but comfortable. Bath towels very small, breakfast poor, over cooked bacon, very poor quality sausages, only scrambled egg available. Won`t be rushing back.

Guest rating:

10/9/2017

"Tired and cramped"

the hotel is very conveniently situated for access to the West End. the rooms were tiny and the bathrooms cramped. Found it to be very hot because of heating pipes running through the room under the dressing table and only a portable fan to keep cool as the fan(couldn`t really call it air con) sounded like a bus. on the positive side, the reception staff were very friendly and most welcoming and helpful when we encountered a problem in the room.

Guest rating:

9/9/2017

"-"

Didnt get much sleep due to the noise of lorrys and so on threw the nite, may have been better if we were higher up than the second floor we were on, but hotel itself was ok

Guest rating:

4/9/2017

"Great hotel in a great location."

Reasonably cheap hotel in a great location. Always clean and rooms serviced well. Rooms are not huge but adequate. Breakfast is very good and staff are polite and helpful.

Guest rating:

4/9/2017

"Excellent hotel - very helpful staff, nothing was too much trouble. Will be back."

Guest rating:

3/9/2017

"-"

Only real problem is the lifts are a bit hit and miss when busy are not up to the job. Would stay again as great location don`t need transport for Covent Garden or west end.

Guest rating:

2/9/2017

"Great Location"

Best location for getting around London. At the end of Oxford st so perfect for shopping, within walking distance of Soho and the west end etc. Hotel is good value, rooms are small but comfortable and cleaned daily with fresh towels etc. Breakfast is OK. plenty of it but when we went was very busy and hard to find a table.My only ask is that for our next visit you have lactose free butter and milk but deffo stay again

Guest rating:

2/9/2017

"Fairly good location"

Fairly good location for theatre 15 min walk, 2 min walk to oxford street. Standard rooms are very standard very small and cramped but acceptable for a one night stay. Staff are excellent,,,

Guest rating:

1/9/2017

"Location excellent"

Excellent location. Friendly, helpful staff and although rooms are a bit on the small side they are comfortable.

Guest rating:

31/8/2017

"Ideal location for centre of london"

Good budget hotel,smallish room but ok for visits to London...good breakfast...lifts a bit slow

Guest rating:

30/8/2017

"-"

Really impressed with everyone and everything. We would definitely consider returning for a longer stay.

Guest rating:

30/8/2017

"-"

we had a standard room, which was fit for purpose, being one of the hottest nights that we stayed there, had to have window open has no air conditioning and being the west end very noisy, however, on the plus side, close to where we wanted to be, theatre, shops and train station, breakfast included which was a bonus, would I stay there again, yes.

Guest rating:

26/8/2017

"-"

Excellent hotel with with lovely food available

Guest rating:

24/8/2017

"Small room but adequate for short stay, great location."

Great location for theatres and shops. Small room but fine for us. We appreciated having tea and coffee sachets in our room but would suggest providing decaffinated coffee sachets too. We did ask at the reception ,who said they would bring some to our room, but they never came, but overall we were pleased with the staff. We felt it was good value ,especially as breakfast was included.

by Secure Internet

Or tel Reservations on: 0800 633 8000 (+44 1872 261 100)

Mon-Fri: 9am-8pm. Sat: 9am-5.30pm. Sun: 10am-6:30pm.

Our review system

Guest reviews and ratings are submitted to Hotel Direct by our customers immediately after check-out. They are un-edited.

With Hotel Direct you can make your break for LESS money. It's cheaper because when you book a break, we pass on special discounts for packages from hotels and train companies as well as making the total price lower. And you'll make a break in LESS time because in one place you can book your hotel, your train plus 1000s of shows, events and attractions.