President Hotel reviews

Hotel Direct invites all departing guests to rate and review their chosen hotel.

To ensure our guest evaluation is always up to date and to allow for hotel improvements, our Hotel Score is the mean of the most recent 100 guest ratings.

Hotel Score:

87%  based on 391 reviews

More reviews >>

Guest rating:

17/3/2020

"Fab location "

Great location, excellent facilities. Lovely breakfasts.

Guest rating:

17/3/2020

"Great hotel very clean,staff were friendly and helpful. Very close to the city and theatre land. "

Guest rating:

16/3/2020

"Pleasant Stay"

Went to London for a five day break and found the hotel to be good in a well situated busy area of Russell Square.Convenient for local shops, restaurants, bars, the tube and a ten minute walk from Euston Station.Good food, service and pleasant staff in the hotel, the hotel and room were very clean and tidy, also got a room with a view of the local park.Would recommend to anyone wanting a good hotel.

Guest rating:

16/3/2020

"-"

Disappointed this time. Have stayed at either President or Imperial on several occasions. Our stay was Friday to Sunday inclusive. I can accept no change of towels however we had no room service so beds not made and tea/coffee/milk not replenished. No bread rolls at breakfast, only croissants. Fruit choice not as good as it has been in the past.

Guest rating:

15/3/2020

"Hotel was ok, but a few issues to mention."

Rooms were freezing, especially when returning from the theatre late at night. I slept in my coat due the cold! When mentioned at check out, we were informed that we could have turned the radiators up - they were freezing in both rooms. Maybe a note by the telephone could have informed us of this? I was going to ring reception but didn`t know the number and at 12:30 at night it wasn`t appropriate to go back down to reception. The tea at breakfast time had been sitting for far too long. It was extremely strong and adding additional milk to it made the tea cold.

Guest rating:

15/3/2020

"Filthy, tatty, unkempt. "

Filthy corridors with dirty carpets and chipped paintwork leading to bedrooms made me feel like turning round and getting out of this hotel. On entering the room, large amounts of dust were noted around wall floor junctions and on skirting boards. A takeaway container was found under the bed! Filtyh windows No safe, no fridge and the bathroom was difficult to enter and leave as being so small. Loo roll holder falling off wall. Breakfast staff were unhelpful and just stood around chatting whilst every table was covered in dirty crockery.The only positives were helpful porters and concierge. Handy for tube station but would not recommend or return here.

Guest rating:

15/3/2020

"Perfectly ok"

Great hotel, just a few improvements needed. Milk supplied for in room coffee was standard semi skimmed, make it UHT it copes with it being warm. Ask breakfast staff to smile and not answer "oh not our end if the room"

Guest rating:

15/3/2020

"Excellent"

Lovely hotel near to all facilities , whether walking or taking the tube. Excellent breakfast and bar area. Reasonably priced drinks. Room very clean and comfortable.

Guest rating:

15/3/2020

"Good convenient hotel "

Why does the bar close so early?

Guest rating:

13/3/2020

"Good food"

Hotel very clean , staff efficient and very friendly, concierge very knowledgeable and very helpful.

Guest rating:

13/3/2020

"-"

everything we needed for a comfortable stay, lovely breakfast, although the staff need to put a smile on their faces

Guest rating:

13/3/2020

"Very good place to to stay "

Joel in a perfect position, seconds from the tube. On the whole staff were very helpful, checking in & our was straightforward. The room was more than acceptable & better equipped than most with spare blanket & pillow. Shower door didn`t quite close (no big deal) & bed sheet was stained (blue stain so wasn`t concerned). Slept very well, windows completely blocked out sound. My only small complaint was breakfast- not the food, that was great. There was more than adequate amounts of staff yet I felt like an inconvenience to them, carrying around pots of coffee but not doing a lot with them, clearing tables but not cleaning tables. One person would shuffle the dirty crockery around the table, then someone would come along & take them away, then another would relay the table (without wiping) leaving crumbs etc.. I watched this a few times.... baffling!

Guest rating:

13/3/2020

"-"

The hotel was very good; the bed was very comfortable and the amenities fine. we were disappointed that the bar closed at 11pm even for residents. re the restaurant this is not a criticism but is a point to remember. We were situated near the area where the toast is made and observed one woman handling the brad and putting slices back for others to use. She did this several times during the time we had breakfast and clearly is not ideal under any circumstances, let alone the current situation. Also the Sanigel was not in a prominent position; we only saw it when we left the restaurant and signed the chitty, which was a bit late. Perhaps staff could be advised to be a bit more proactive in reminding people to use it on the way in and also monitor the people making toast

Guest rating:

13/3/2020

"Ok for one night"

Staff helpful. Bed too hard - did not sleep well. Bath small. Room a bit dated and smelt damp.

Guest rating:

12/3/2020

"PRESIDENT HOTEL"

VERY GOOD HOTEL NICE AND CENTRAL FOR THEATRTERS AND ATRACTIONS

Guest rating:

12/3/2020

"-"

Hotel room clean and warm. English breakfast very good. All staff very friendly polite and eager to help in any way possible. Will definitely be back again for another theatre break. Breakfast was very good.

Guest rating:

12/3/2020

"-"

good hotel , good value for money , staff very helpful, They upgraded us and they sent a bottle of wine to our room , as it was my sisters 60th birthday (we went to see Tina Turner show )

Guest rating:

12/3/2020

"Great stay"

Had a lovely time staying here staff are all so friendly and so polite would recommend this hotel will be back later this year.

Guest rating:

12/3/2020

"Definitely worth a stay!"

Room was very comfy and clean, breakfast was brill

Guest rating:

11/3/2020

"Air conditioning machine going all night"

couldn`t sleep - told Receptionist, who said she would log the complaint

Guest rating:

10/3/2020

"President Hotel in great location"

Close enough to Kings cross and minutes from Russell Square Tube station, this hotel is clean, friendly and great for a theatre weekend in London.

Guest rating:

9/3/2020

"-"

Needs some spending on modernisation.

Guest rating:

9/3/2020

"Excellent Hotel, central to theatres and restaurants, great service."

Guest rating:

8/3/2020

"-"

Very good hotel.Polite staff.Nice room.Good breakfast

Guest rating:

8/3/2020

"Sadly disappointed. "

TV did not work at all. Wasn`t overly bothered before our day out but then discovered Liverpoo got a shafting by Watford which I wanted to watch. The bed was like sleeping on coiled springs.The missus could not flush the toilet cos she had long nails.Breakfast was lovely.

Guest rating:

8/3/2020

"Good Hotel"

TV very dated small 19" flat screen and only analogue programmes poor quality picture. Noisy night with constant drone from equipment (no double glazing) bedroom on rear of hotel.

Guest rating:

7/3/2020

"Wonderful stay"

The staff at this hotel are so lovely and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. The room was lovely and clean, decorated beautifully and had towels and toiletries. We only had tea and toast for breakfast as we had booked somewhere else for lunch so cant comment on the full English but I loved that they had a jam/marmalade stand on each table and tea is brought round to you. Would definitely stay again

Guest rating:

7/3/2020

"Great value and so central and handy for kings cross and underground "

Lovely stay rooms basic but clean and comfy and breakfast was really really good with freshly cooked items -we were impressed. Staff also very friendly

Guest rating:

7/3/2020

"Good value in an ideal spot"

Hotel is easy to get to by public transport.Staff are friendly and helpful. Rooms are clean and comfortable.Towels are plentiful and good quality.Easy access to shows and public buildings.

Guest rating:

7/3/2020

"Amazing stay 20mins taxi drive from theatre land "

Tidy reasonably priced stay plus late night drinks food services in nxt door hotel (almost in the same building) pretty quiet nice looking area fabulous breakfast buffet included clean and tidy and very tasty 128523; and staff were very good to

Guest rating:

6/3/2020

"Not really value for money"

Room 506 Bed hard and could feel spring. Room small and very basic. Bath did not drain properly. Clean and tidy though. Staff friendly

Guest rating:

5/3/2020

"Good position, "

We were pleased as we could access our room at midday, an unexpected bonus. A short bus ride from Euston, short distance from Russell Square tube station and easy access to West End. Good breakfast, quiet room, pleasant staff.

Guest rating:

5/3/2020

"Clean and tidy"

Guest rating:

4/3/2020

"-"

Bed very uncomfortable and toenail clippings on the bedroom floor

Guest rating:

3/3/2020

"Decent enough hotel for a weekend "

Rooms clean and comfortable. Shower very powerful but fixed which would reach the end of the bath so had trouble washing. In the room we had Kettle with mugs, powerful hairdryer, shampoo, soap and shower gel. Breakfast, waiting staff lent over my plate of food to pour a cup of tea which then dripped on my food once poured, no apology and then a different member of staff did exactly the same again. Reception and coughier staff really friendly and helpful with good knowledge of the area and places to go.

Guest rating:

3/3/2020

"Very comfy, would recommend"

Our room was lovely, staff were friendly and polite. The shower was amazing! We used the underground parking which had loads of free spaces when we arrived at 4pm on a Saturday. Due to the cold we used Uber to travel around, it just took 12minutes to get to the theatre and we went to Covent Garden the next day. Breakfast on a Sunday is served until 10.30am, we went down about 10.05am and although shown to our table immediately we were then left without knowing where to get hot drinks etc. We then checked out the hot food buffet which was well displayed and despite the time lots of food was there steaming hot so we didn`t have to worry about being hungry! We appreciate the staff were busy and the end of breakfast was looming but feel staff could have offered hot drinks without us asking. Despite this, overall our stay was lovely and we would return to this hotel without any qualms.

Guest rating:

3/3/2020

"Great hotel."

I`ve stayed before and would stay many times more. Perfect location with friendly staff and clean, comfortable rooms. Lovely breakfast.

Guest rating:

2/3/2020

"It served its purpose."

The room was good, the bathroom has draining issues, in the shower water started rising up to the rim and also the sink took a while to go down. Early hours through the night had random people going round banging on doors and startled my partner, not a good experience. Went to check the issue and no spy hole on the door. Complained to the front desk and all I got was an apology. Standard!! Breakfast time the staff did not speak a word of English and got shuffled with hand gestures on where to stand then when to seat. Asked for vegetarian option and got a look of disgust from the chef. Terrible experience and will not be using that chain in future.

Guest rating:

2/3/2020

"Hotel"

Staff were great rooms a bit tired but clean and comfortable. Breakfast not as good as I was expecting but hey ho

Guest rating:

1/3/2020

"Nice place to stay."

Room fresh and clean. Thicker topper on mattress would improve comfort. Staff really helpful. Bathroom w/c squished by door more choice for breakfast i.e. fresh fruit. Small changes would improve Hotel into good or excellent choice as it has a great location.

by Secure Internet

Or tel Reservations on: 0800 633 8000 (+44 1872 261 100)

Mon-Sat: 9am-8pm. Sat: 9am-5.30pm. Sun: 10am-6:30pm.

Our review system

Guest reviews and ratings are submitted to Hotel Direct by our customers immediately after check-out. They are un-edited.

With Hotel Direct you can make your break for LESS money. It's cheaper because when you book a break, we pass on special discounts for packages from hotels and train companies as well as making the total price lower. And you'll make a break in LESS time because in one place you can book your hotel, your train plus 1000s of shows, events and attractions.