Hotel Direct invites all departing guests to rate and review their chosen hotel.

To ensure our guest evaluation is always up to date and to allow for hotel improvements, our Hotel Score is the mean of the most recent 100 guest ratings.

Hotel Score:

94%  based on 41 reviews

Guest rating:

9/11/2014

"Home from Home"

Will definitely be going back here,the studio was very clean a kitchen with everything you need,dishwasher,oven,microwave etc.... Front room tv and dvd with comfy couch,main bedroom Had on sweet bathroom very big and clean,there is also a separate bathroom and twin room,Breakfast basket on arrival had bread,cereal,tea coffee,jams,yogurt,biscuits,orange juice really nice,the destination is perfect I couldn`t recommend this place enough,we were really impressed with all the staff day and nights everything was just a real pleasure thanks

Guest rating:

28/2/2014

"Fantastic location & well equipped"

Really pleased to have opted for this hotel. Very well priced & the welcome pack was a real bonus. Only negatives are a slightly uncomfortable bed & some noise from other guests; neither would stop me booking in the future.

Guest rating:

22/2/2014

"Will stay again"

Everything was perfect apart from loud extractors and ott fire doors. Where I understand the need for fire doors, a few doorstops could have been provided, especially with a child who is used to sleeping with door open a little. Other than that, brilliant place to stay, great location and attention to detail. Well done!!

Guest rating:

25/11/2013

"Excellent overall -but problems with very noisy plumbing!"

Hello OVERALL, the Holyrood apartments are an excellent option for central Edinburgh representing very good value, spotlessly clean, spacious, well presented. Secure parking at nominal fee. We had an issue with an extremely noisy pumping system under the bath (as loud as a food processor) which meant we had to shout over it, use TV sub titles or avoid using the taps! Twice, the job had not been logged by reception, so nothing was done. A shame as otherwise, this would have been an exemplary experience. Would stay again - but bring a plumber!

Guest rating:

16/9/2013

"Great place to stay, staff very helpfull and friendly and rooms cleaned exceptionally well. "

loved staying at Holyrood Apartments, walking distance to everything, only thing I did not like was the pillows on the bed, really hard and could not sleep, but this was the second time I have stayed at Holyrood Apartments and I hope to be back a third time.

Guest rating:

3/6/2013

"Would definitely use this hotel again"

The hotel had all we could ask for and we had an enjoyable and comfortable stay. The location is excellent and the old town is within easy walking distance. The staff could not have been more helpful and are a credit to their employers. We will return to Edinburgh in the near future and we will be booking this hotel again and will recommend it to family and friends.

Guest rating:

26/12/2012

"Happy to return"

Though I found it a bit tricky to find, this is a gem of a hotel: clean, roomy, and helpful staff. We will be back again on our next visit to Edinburgh!

Guest rating:

19/11/2012

"1st Class"

Ideal base for exploring Edinburgh, very clean and the Breakfast box was a nice touch.Would definately use again.

Guest rating:

24/9/2012

"Good location, parking"

This was definitely worth the $ we paid for it. Conveniently located, and it was nice having a kitchen as well as laundry facilities.

Guest rating:

2/4/2012

"Great central location"

The studio apartment worked well for us. A well equipped kitchenette and comfortable bed. It had everything we needed for a three night stay although we did mange to set the smoke alarm off every time we tried to make toast!

Guest rating:

24/3/2012

"Solved our Family of 5 dilemma perfectly!! "

As a family with 3 children, it is almost impossible to find a family room in a nice hotel that accomodates us, booking the 2 bed apartment here was perfect! :) Plenty of space, apartment was spotless and the skylight dining area was fantastic!! Highly recommend, and we will definately be back :)

Guest rating:

21/3/2012

"A little Gem"

Great location very convenient for the train station, clean, value for money and as all you need for a short stay. Would recommend to anyone .... thank you

Guest rating:

18/2/2012

"-"

I stayed in the 2 bedroon apt with my 2 children the accommodation was clean and spacious and the staff on the reception were very helpful at all times. The beds were so comfortable that we all slept soundly after a hard days shopping and walking to ensure we saw as many sites as possible. Due to the location it was very quiet and peaceful and we will definately return and use this accomodation again, it was very good value for many especially compared to the prices of similar accommodation.

Guest rating:

9/1/2012

"Good location"

Well equiped and clean studio fine for two people, noisy neighbours keeping us awake into the early hours took a bit of the shine off. Comfy bed awful pillows.

Guest rating:

26/10/2011

"Ideal location, all the facilities you need to enjoy Edinburgh. Would definately stay again."

Guest rating:

28/3/2011

"-"

fantastic apartments in a brilliant location at a brilliant price. This is the fourth time we have stayed there and the apartments are our first choice for accomodation in Edinburgh

Guest rating:

25/5/2010

"Great location, immaculate, comfortable bed, great kitchen"

Would stay again definitely and recommend it. Only 2 tiny things - neither of the 2 nozzles for the hairdryer fitted the dryer and the breakfast hamper had no butter/marg (room 408). But that would not stop me staying again

Guest rating:

25/3/2010

"Immaculate"

Probably one of the best, if not THE BEST Apartment(s) in which we have stayed. The fact that it was a flat/suite lacking nothing in fixtures and fittings, and in pristine condition, made for a memorable stay.Almost impossible to fault, and fortunately with a magnificent view (must book Room 601 the next time!) , and our only comments would be (1) a choice of butter or low fat spread would be appreciated, and (2) a tea cosy for the "tea Jennies" to spoil us even further!! Bill and Jen Fairweather.

Guest rating:

22/3/2010

"Should be 5 star!!!"

I have to say this has been the best apartments i have stayed in and i travel a lot! There was all we needed for our 4 day break and more. Staff was fantastic! Location was spot on! Best city break i have ever been on!!

Guest rating:

9/3/2010

"Our second visit -excellent -will certainly return for another visit ."

atheir 3 nights -pay for 2 is we believe good value.

Guest rating:

30/10/2009

"Excellent modern facilities for our family long weekend break"

Guest rating:

4/11/2008

"Both staff and location were excellent"

We found the staff to be extremely helpful and friendly - nothing was a problem and checking in, out and being shown to our room and given a small tour was extremely professional. The location is ideal, not immediately in the City Centre but only 10 mins walk from there.

Guest rating:

13/8/2008

"Great location, modern and clean, good value for money"

Great location appartment offering much more versatility than standard hotel room. Cleaned daily (which is often not the case with appartments). Helpful front desk team. Downside: 1 of the bathrooms is very small and wardrobe space is limited and sometimes difficult to access. Pipes and extractor fans can be noisy when bathrooms are in use.

Guest rating:

16/7/2008

"Very dusty - superficially clean only"

Guest rating:

16/6/2008

"This is an excellent hotel which is clean, comfortable and in a good location."

We will definitely use the hotel again. There was a minor problem with the booking (not the hotel`s fault) and they dealt with it very well. The kitchen is very well equipped and the rooms were comfortable, overall the apartment was very clean and well serviced. Friends who saw the apartment when they came to pick us were also very impressed with the facilities and have said tey would use the hotel in the future.

Guest rating:

6/5/2008

"Good facilities within easy reach of the centre"

Guest rating:

11/4/2008

"Excellent location. Quiet. Spacious apartment. Very helpful staff. First class accommodation."

Excellent location at lower end of Royal Mile. Tourist and local bus stop 50 yards away. Within walking distance of most tourist attractions. First class accommodation. spacious, clean, very quiet.

Guest rating:

17/3/2008

"This accommodation was fabulous."

It had absolutely everything you needed, was in perfect condition throughout and was just superb in every way. The staff were really friendly and helpful at all times and the food hamper was stocked with all we needed. It made our holiday in Edinburgh really great and the location of the apartments is perfect and we were able to walk to all the places we wanted to see. It couldnt have been any better and we woukd CERTAINLY stay here again when we next visit. Regards, M Roberts, Shropshire.

Guest rating:

8/3/2008

"Comfortable, warm, conveniently located - excellent"

Very friendly staff welcomed us and on our last morning showed us other apartments ini the complex (for possible future stays) in particular the Penthouse. The apartment we stayed in was very well equipped - floorboards a bit noisy would be my only minor complaint - and was warm, very quiet and very suited to our needs. Our pre-arrival request for two double beds had been dealt with. I would not hesitate to use the Holyrood Aparthotel again and would recommend it to others.

Guest rating:

18/2/2008

"Highly Recommended"

Brilliant location and ideal for the family visitor. The partment was very clean and tidy - the staff friendly and very helpful. Thank you.

Guest rating:

25/11/2007

"Excellent accomodation - a home from home. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful."

The apartments were clean and modern and equipped with everything we required. The two bathrooms meant that there was no queue in the mornings. We gave up making toast due to the sensitivity of the smoke alarm but it also reassured us that should there be a guinine fire every resident would be alerted. I would definitely return and recommend it to friends.

by Secure Internet

Or tel Reservations on: 0800 633 8000 (+44 1872 261 100)

Mon-Thu: 9am-10pm. Fri: 9am-8pm. Sat: 9am-5.30pm. Sun: 10am-9pm.

Our review system

Guest reviews and ratings are submitted to Hotel Direct by our customers immediately after check-out. They are un-edited.