Hotel Direct invites all departing guests to rate and review their chosen hotel.

To ensure our guest evaluation is always up to date and to allow for hotel improvements, our Hotel Score is the mean of the most recent 100 guest ratings.

Hotel Score:

90%  based on 282 reviews

More reviews >>

Guest rating:

6/8/2014

"first class service"

Guest rating:

6/4/2014

"-"

We enjoyed our stay but the room was too small and quite claustrophobic and stuffy. The bathroom was clean but again far too tiny.

Guest rating:

23/3/2014

"Great hotel and staff"

Very central to all visitor sites

Guest rating:

22/3/2014

"Other hotels provide better value for money."

Guest rating:

15/3/2014

"Excellent Hotel"

Hotel staff very helpful and friendly. Room very comfortable and great choice of menu for breakfast

Guest rating:

2/3/2014

"Warm and welcoming, an established hotel that knows how to look after it`s guests."

Guest rating:

28/2/2014

"room 366 shower head does not angle into bath making showering a little difficult"

all staff extremely friendly

Guest rating:

16/2/2014

"-"

Excellent staff, excellent room ideally located for the centre of Edinburgh & good breakfast

Guest rating:

2/2/2014

"-"

Really lovely hotel, spacious room (delux) with sea views, fantastic location. Very helpful staff, amazing breakfast & a lively bar!! Would definitely recommend & would stay here again without hesitation.

Guest rating:

31/1/2014

"bathroom cold and shower insufficient water pressure"

the bathroom was cold and noisy due to the fan strength and no time delay ie when you enter the bathroom the fan is on constantly--water pressure and ease of use for the shower poor--TV reception on the screen very poor

Guest rating:

8/1/2014

"Friendly and helpful staff"

Beautiful hotel, in the centre of Edinburgh, well situated for museums, theatre, cafes and restaurants. Room was large and very comfortable. Breakfast was delicious.

Guest rating:

6/1/2014

"All staff very helpful, friendly and professional. Second visit & will certainly book again."

Guest rating:

30/12/2013

"our first stay at the George Hotel"

We enjoyed our stay . Staff were efficient and friendly. Breakfast choice was good and staff very nice and helpful.We were happy with our room on the first floor . We would return to the hotel. Nice location.

Guest rating:

29/12/2013

"We always enjoy our stay at the George very friendly and very helpful staff "

Guest rating:

27/12/2013

"Great Hotel but not all staff are great."

Guest rating:

18/12/2013

"Clean/Polite Staff/Restaurant Poor/Breakfast Poor"

Reported poor room service breakfast (items short/poor coffee/stale croissants) to reception at checkout. No Response

Guest rating:

15/12/2013

"Residents are unable to book a table for evening meal unless advance booked"

Guest rating:

14/12/2013

"PLEASANT HOTEL,GOOD CENTRAL LOCATION"

The public areas and the dinning room were very good.Our room which was 310 was clean and well decorated.My only concern with this particular room was the lack of storage,ie no chest of drawers.As we were only staying 2 nights this was not a major problem.If our stay was any longer,with more clothing then it would have been.On previous stays in other rooms the storage was much better.

Guest rating:

9/12/2013

"Great hotel. I will stay there again and have no hesitation in recommending to other people"

From initially walking into reception the staff were very welcoming and helpful at all times during our stay.Bedrooms were very clean well set out and were very quickly made up when we left them for breakfast. That brings me onto the question of food. This was of a high standard, well prepared and plentiful. A lot of it appeared to be local produce which was good

Guest rating:

5/12/2013

"REFER TO MY WRITTEN CARD COMMENTS LEFT AT RECEPTION"

Guest rating:

5/12/2013

"Lovely hotel - special present for my wife`s 60`ith birthday"

Only one small point - we felt there should be bottled watre in the room but a small issue. Everythign else was spot on. Lovely breakfast and polite, efficient staff.

Guest rating:

1/12/2013

"-"

The only problem I had with the hotel was breakfast, it was very busy but you was made to feel rushed, like they just wanted you in and out as quick as possible!

Guest rating:

24/11/2013

"comfortable, friendly staff, convenient position"

Guest rating:

18/11/2013

"-"

Spent a great weekend at the George Hotel. Clean and spacious room. Staff very friendly, helpful and eager to please. Would certainly stay at this hotel again.

Guest rating:

11/11/2013

"Over priced for just a normal room without a view"

Guest rating:

6/11/2013

"Great location. "

Great location, nice hotel, room spacious, clean and comfy. Would stay there again

Guest rating:

1/11/2013

"Our room was in close proximity to a very noisy generator which prevented a good sleep pattern. "

Fantastically helpful staff, superb breakfast, spotlessly clean.

Guest rating:

22/10/2013

"-"

Staff at The George were friendly and helpful, breakfast service was slick and food plentiful. This was my second visit there and just as good as the first.

Guest rating:

21/10/2013

"Great Hotel"

Great service,staff very helpfull and room was 1st class.Easy review, everything about the stay was 1st class

Guest rating:

17/10/2013

"A warm welcome upon arrival, reception efficient and made to feel welcome "

Guest rating:

15/10/2013

"Breakfast"

My wife!s breakfast of bacon and scrambled eggs was a bit of a disappointment. By the time she got back to our table it was cold.

Guest rating:

8/10/2013

"Terrible sound proofing, great location "

Great location but very noisy on 3rd floor at front of hotel. Original single glazed window did not cut down street noise. Reception staff disagreed and claimed it was double glazed (some are but rooms 314&318 are not!), tvs in all 3 rooms of our party went on at full volume at 7.30 on Sunday morning. Reception said couldn`t explain this. So awake til 3.30 with street noise, awake at 7.30 with tv. Receptionist said nothing she could do as we paid in full prior to arrival yet other member of party offered dys punt voucher. I suggested ear plugs might help - she said great idea , she would suggest to management!!! Poor handling of complaint. I have emailed hotel to discuss with manager but not received a response. No air conditioning as claimed on website. Overall we got a good rate but would not return on basis of room noise, uncaring staff.

Guest rating:

7/10/2013

"Welcoming visit"

My husband and I have stayed at The George twice before and have always really enjoyed our stay. The staff are very friendly, the cleanliness of the hotel and rooms are immaculate and the breakfasts are well worth the money. We will definitely stay again and we have recommended the hotel to friends and family. :)

Guest rating:

17/9/2013

"Brilliant location. However room was awkwardly situated (lift and stairs required) and very noisy. "

Would stay again but would require a different room where heating was less noisy.

Guest rating:

10/9/2013

"Excellent overnight stay"

Stayed for one night for my girlfriends birthday and had a fantastic night. Room was large and bed was very comfortable. Went out for a meal then after visited the bar in the hotel which was very good with a great atmosphere, great drinks and good prices as well. Had breakfast the next day and really enjoyed it and left full and satisfied. Overall a fantastic stay and made my girlfriends birthday

Guest rating:

9/9/2013

"Lovely warm greeting on checking in at The George"

We had a fabulous stay, our room wasn`t quite ready on arrival and we were given complimentary glass of champagne. The room was a good size and pleasantly decorated with a nice comfy bed. The only negative I would give is the corridors to the rooms are in need of some TLC, they do not represent the quality of the rest of the hotel. Breakfast was lovely, I particularly liked the fresh cooked pancakes.

Guest rating:

6/9/2013

"-"

The hotel was lovely but we had dinner in the tempus bar which was slightly disappointing as the first bottle of wine wasn`t chilled well so we had to ask for ice cubes to cool it down and we ordered 1 starter and then 5 main courses to follow but everything came at once so 2 main courses were taken away till we had eaten the starter and the 2 prawn garlic And chilli salads were very basic with not a lot of prawns in content .

Guest rating:

10/8/2013

"Staff prompt & efficient, friendly service was of the highest quality."

Guest rating:

3/8/2013

"Friendly, helpful staff."

Room very comfortable, clean, well decorated, soft comfortable beds, (duvets a little too high tog for this summer)! Would like shower caps included with bathroom toiletries. Only problem we had was the door to the stairs, (next to our room) which banged loudly - the slow closer needs attention. Coffee in the bar was somewhat spoiled by the extremely loud music which meant we could not carry on a conversation with our friends from Australia whom we had not seen for four years.

Guest rating:

13/7/2013

"Great hotel"

Good location, nice rooms and helpful friendly staff.Would definitely stay at the George again

by Secure Internet

Or tel Reservations on: 0800 633 8000 (+44 1872 261 100)

Mon-Thu: 9am-10pm. Fri: 9am-8pm. Sat: 9am-5.30pm. Sun: 10am-9pm.

Our review system

Guest reviews and ratings are submitted to Hotel Direct by our customers immediately after check-out. They are un-edited.