RIU Plaza The Gresham Dublin reviews

Hotel Direct invites all departing guests to rate and review their chosen hotel.

To ensure our guest evaluation is always up to date and to allow for hotel improvements, our Hotel Score is the mean of the most recent 100 guest ratings.

Hotel Score:

89%  based on 1269 reviews

More reviews >>

Guest rating:

14/12/2012

"Ideally situated with excellent service"

Very good great location and excellent staff

Guest rating:

21/11/2012

"-"

The service at the front desk is slow. I feel that more staff are required.

Guest rating:

8/11/2012

"as per usual I had an enjoyable stay at the Gresham"

I think that my recent stay at this outstanding hotel was my 4th in as many years and as per usual all went well no problems what so ever,and the staff cannot do enough for you.So will I be staying there in the future? You bet I will.

Guest rating:

7/11/2012

"Great fab rested thanks so much"

Would stay again no problem would recommend it anytime staff were good and kind thank you so much

Guest rating:

27/8/2012

"-"

Very central. Friendly staff. Seagulls squawking on terrace at 5:30 am a killer,

Guest rating:

17/8/2012

"Lovely staff, very efficient and friendly. Food Lovely. Great Hotel"

The Gresham hotel is a beautiful hotel, staff are really friendly and helpful. The only room for improvement are the facilities in the bathroom. There are no shelves to put a toiletry bag and products on e.g. hairspray. Also, the door wouldn`t close in the bathroom. Only minor things that didn`t distract from the comfort and experience we had. Many thanks to all of the wonderful staff who made the stay so great.

Guest rating:

17/8/2012

"Hotel exvellent as usual"

Guest rating:

14/8/2012

"Weekend break"

Lovely hotel, excellent service and surroundings, I would highly recommend.

Guest rating:

11/8/2012

"Thouroughly enjoyed our stay at the Gresham Hotel and will be going back again."

The staff were very pleasant and helpful and since I had requested a room near to the lift was very pleased to find that it was just a minute from it, which because I am disabled made such a difference.

Guest rating:

11/8/2012

"-"

Air conditioning didn`t work mean room was extremely warm, lots of ticking and banging noises during the night . The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel is in a great location. Very clean.

Guest rating:

10/8/2012

"A very enjoyable stay."

My husband and I had an enjoyable 2 day stay in this charming hotel.The central location is ideal for sightseeing cultural visits and shopping.All of the staff we met during our stay were very friendly and helpful.We had a very enjoyable dinner in Tody`s restaurant where both the manager and our waitress were very attentive and friendly.My husband particularily enjoyed reminiscening with the concierge, Thomas, about his last stay in the hotel in 1969!We hope to be back for another visit soon as there is so much more we would like to see and do in this beautifiul city.

Guest rating:

20/7/2012

"Accommodation, food & staff excellent."

My wife & I stayed one night on a bed & breakfast basis. In addition we had a meal in their "Toddy" Bistro restaurant which was very good with a good choice of menu at a reasonable price. Our room was very comfortable & spacious with all the amenities one would want. The buffet breakfast choices were extensive, including freshly-squeezed orange juice. Any staff we encountered were pleasant & helpful & we would have no hesitation in staying there again when in Dublin.

Guest rating:

8/6/2012

"perfect one night stay"

we enjoyed our one night at the Gresham before setting out on our holiday in Ireland. Location is ideal, as the bus from the airport stops right outside & it`s an easy walk to most of the sights, shops & bars/restaurants. Our room was rather small, which possibly wouldn`t have been good for more than one night, but as it was at the back of the hotel it was pretty quiet & we had a good night`s sleep. No view, but again not a problem for one night. We didn`t eat in the hotel, so can`t comment on food provision - but all the staff were very friendly & helpful, & we enjoyed drinking tea in The Writers Lounge & watching the world go by outside the windows. The whole reception / bar area is very plush (if in a slightly "faded Granduer" sort of way) but there is a faint odd smell when you 1st walk in. Would definietly use this hotel again & have no hesitation in recommending to others.

Guest rating:

21/5/2012

"Great Hotel and staff"

Had a great time in Dublin and the hotel was the iceing on the cake!

Guest rating:

18/5/2012

"-"

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Gresham - room met all my needs and breakfast was excellent - would not hesitate recommending it.The only fault I could find would be the time taken to clean the room - this did no happen until mid afternoon - otherwise everything was good.Mrs Pat Pye

Guest rating:

17/5/2012

"-"

four star prices unfortunately not four star rating

Guest rating:

15/5/2012

"An excellent hotel, which excels in comfort, in food and in service. "

We have been to the Gresham Hotel on several occasions, and have always enjoyed our stay immensely. Could I make a couple of suggestions? We are now `golden oldies`, and this time we were allocated rooms with baths (rooms 510, 522 and 536) - two of the group were unable to climb into them! Walk-in showers would be perfect. Also from 6.00am sleep was difficult because of the noise - was it central heating? I`m not sure if there`s a solution to this problem. However, apart from these two issues, it was a beautiful experience, and many thanks to all Please God, we`ll be back!

Guest rating:

13/5/2012

"-"

Central location, helpful staff, room clean if a little small. Parking close and reasonably priced. Would have been helpful to have had information in room about hotel facilities. Would stay there again.

Guest rating:

13/5/2012

"Friendly, location and hotel"

The hotel had very friendly staff and was very clean, perfect location in centre of Dublin

Guest rating:

6/5/2012

"Outstanding Hotel"

My wife and I honymooned in the Gresham 50 years ago and we have been returning ever since. It still has all its charm and comfort and you still manage to retain top quality staff

Guest rating:

30/4/2012

"Warm Dublin welcome. Great location."

Guest rating:

30/4/2012

"avoid room 213 it is noisy smelly and grim.."

i requested a quite room because my niece who is suffering from cancer was coming to stay with me, all we could see from the window was huge fans and a concrete wall, in the morning we could smell the food coming from the kitchens, i didnt complain as my niece was rushed to hospital, i must say the generl staff were very nice and helpful, especally when my niece was taken ill, thank you for that,

Guest rating:

25/4/2012

"Enjoyable stay"

My family and friends had a very enjoyable stay at the Gresham. The hotel is ideally situated in the heart of Dublin just far enough away from Temple Bar to be able to enjoy but not hear late at night. The staff at the hotel were very helpful and offered genuine Irish hospitality. All the buses including tour buses and airport buses stop just by the hotel making getting around very easy for all ages.

Guest rating:

24/4/2012

"Good size room"

Guest rating:

23/4/2012

"Well positioned, but in need of upgrading"

Arrived late first evening and were given runt of litter room which was overheated and drab. After complaint moved to a much pleasanter front of street room , but found inadequate hot water and the smallest bath towels we have ever been given. Overall the hotel was adequate but certainly no bargain for the quality of the place.

Guest rating:

22/4/2012

"-"

Well placed to explore city. Very central yet not noisy. Pleasant, helpful staff. Room clean and comfortable.

Guest rating:

17/4/2012

"Location spot on!"

Great hotel. Helpful staff. Large comfortable room. Breakfast good but pricey at 19.50 euro.

Guest rating:

1/4/2012

"-"

I love the Gresham for its grandeur and ambience but the room which I booked on line was very basic with a horrible view. Plus I was very disappointed to have to pay ?15 for overnight parking at the hotel.

Guest rating:

29/3/2012

"-"

Had a short stay but everything went very well, welcoming and service excellent.Would recommend a stay here.

Guest rating:

27/3/2012

"-"

Overall an excellent stay, albeit only one night on this occassion. Staff at reception were very courteous and helpful. The room was clean & tidy and very presentable, indicative of the cleaning staff`s diligence. Unfortunately a lovely Saturday & Sunday was somewhat spoiled by my misfortune in scraping and denting the passenger side of my car on an obscure support pillar in the Hotel car park. This greatly added to my overall expense and stress on what should have been a relaxing weekend. Perhaps the Hotel could review highlighting the colour scheme of these pillars to make them more noticeable for drivers.

Guest rating:

1/3/2012

"-"

The bed and shower are amazing

Guest rating:

27/2/2012

"I just love this hotel!"

Service first class, friendly staff. Prices good and the meal in their Toddy`s restaurant was fantastic. The alcohol is a lot cheaper in the Gresham than in Temple Bar! Added bonus of breakfast served until 12 at the weekends. Why don`t all hotels do this? A very high class, quality hotel in a superb location.

Guest rating:

27/2/2012

"-"

Lovely hotel and great service. Beds were a bit uncomfortable.

Guest rating:

25/2/2012

"Exactly what I needed. "

Centrally located, nicely priced with a friendly and helpful staff. Quality of care excellent.

Guest rating:

7/1/2012

"Short Stay"

We stayed only one night, but found the staff very friendly and very helpful. The room was clean, quite a good size and warm (it was January!!). The only complaint was the rather confusing exit form the car park! A very roundabout way to Reception!! The hotel situation is excellent,close to the centre of things. We will definitely stay here again.

Guest rating:

3/1/2012

"Bed was uncomfortable"

Overall good stay, but the bed needs replacing we BOTH had bad backs.

Guest rating:

3/1/2012

"Good Location"

Clean Large Rooms, Friendly Staff

Guest rating:

2/1/2012

"very friendly staff, and most helpfull, would have no hesitation on recommending it to family ."

Guest rating:

1/1/2012

"really enjoyed our stay over the new year would definately do it again"

Guest rating:

19/12/2011

"excellent!!!"

location, quality of hotel, service...everything excellent!!would recommend and will stay again..!!

by Secure Internet

Or tel Reservations on: 0800 633 8000 (+44 1872 261 100)

Mon-Fri: 9am-8pm. Sat: 9am-5.30pm. Sun: 10am-6:30pm.

Our review system

Guest reviews and ratings are submitted to Hotel Direct by our customers immediately after check-out. They are un-edited.

With Hotel Direct you can make your break for LESS money. It's cheaper because when you book a break, we pass on special discounts for packages from hotels and train companies as well as making the total price lower. And you'll make a break in LESS time because in one place you can book your hotel, your train plus 1000s of shows, events and attractions.