The Met reviews

Hotel Direct invites all departing guests to rate and review their chosen hotel.

To ensure our guest evaluation is always up to date and to allow for hotel improvements, our Hotel Score is the mean of the most recent 100 guest ratings.

Hotel Score:

80%  based on 171 reviews

More reviews >>

Guest rating:

18/9/2015

"Single Room "

I stayed at the met in a single room which was basic small, tired and rather stuffy it would have been unbearable had it not been for the fan in the room. The staff were very nice. I thought the food in the restaurant was rather expensive for what it was and the wine was quite expensive. The location is good for the stations and town centre.

Guest rating:

7/4/2015

"Excellent Hotel at very reasonable price"

Less than 5 mins walk from train station, friendly and helpful staff, beautiful decor and great breakfast to boot. Would definitely return.

Guest rating:

6/3/2015

"-"

Excellent friendly and helpful staff. Service good. Restaurant menu somewhat limited but food good. Astronomical price for a glass of wine. Bedroom adequate but nothing more.

Guest rating:

24/7/2014

"Pleasant stay"

Staff very friendly and efficient rooms clean but could probably do with a some TCL as the decor looking a bit tired and dated. However, I would recommend the hotel as it was good value for money and in a great location.

Guest rating:

10/11/2013

"Weekend break with friends"

On arrival reception very pleasant room clean and bed comfortable all you want for a return after a good night out only one personal negative hotel bedroom too hot for sleeping for me

Guest rating:

13/10/2013

"late booking became great stay"

the met hotel was an ideal place to stay for everything we needed in the city of leeds.The only problem I had was a parking fee. It would not stop me from using this hotel again

Guest rating:

6/10/2013

"Great value for money"

Guest rating:

26/9/2013

"-"

Unlikely to stay there Gain. The rooms were very tired and too hot.

Guest rating:

16/9/2013

"Lovely hotel"

Enjoyed our stay here with excellent service

Guest rating:

14/9/2013

"Reception and bar were sole less. We were shown to a twin room which had a very scruffy bathroom. "

No where near the 4star it had been award by the AA!!!

Guest rating:

8/9/2013

"all i hoped for and more"

Looked great from the outside and inside, clean modern room, staff seemed friendly and helpful. Booked through Hotel Direct and got a great deal, but even at full price it would have been worth it. Deffo will be staying again.

Guest rating:

8/9/2013

"-"

Nice enough hotel. Our room was very small & could benefit from some updating.

Guest rating:

25/8/2013

"Room quality varies compared to photographs in web site details "

Arrived to be first offed a very small double room of poor standard interior finishings dated and in need of refurbishment for 4 star hotel . Requested room change and the lady on reception did off a slightly better room . Only comment was the room was hot so we took the duvet out to use the sheet only to find the duvet was heavily stained !

Guest rating:

7/8/2013

"Wouldn`t stay again"

Room was just on the verge of being tatty but scraped in, bathroom had been refitted but they`d retained the bath and it showed. Black mould on the filler is a definite no! Window was in poor condition and unpainted for a long time and filthy outside and an extract fan (from the hotel) outside ran all night and kept me awake. Wont be staying again.

Guest rating:

30/7/2013

"We have been satisfied in particular and basically have no further comments; superb."

The room service was more than accepatble, the desk office people always friendly and listening to all requests patiently.The break fast provided was o.k.; the personal very friendly and special compliment to the cook (with the black white hut) who managed even the Saturday/Sunday ``storm`` with big routine, always looking for everybodies food related satisfaction.

Guest rating:

11/7/2013

"Room was awful"

Basic room with no light and really old and tired. Noisy throughout the night.

Guest rating:

10/6/2013

"Lovely and clean, very pleasant."

Me and my partner booked a double room for a night away. I called the hotel on the day to ask if they could do anything to make our stay at the hotel that extra special. Straight away the lady advised that she would upgrade our room to an executive room and have some robes and slippers left for us. The room (328) was just lovely, large and clean. We paid for breakfast but we got up far too late to enjoy this, the only regret I have as I imagine it was just as nice as the stay. If we ever get chance for another night away we would definitely stay at the met again.

Guest rating:

29/5/2013

"Room fine, staff helpful."

Guest rating:

29/5/2013

"Good location for the centre of Leeds"

Friendly and helpful staff.

Guest rating:

27/5/2013

"-"

Bathroom could do with revamp, coating on sink peeling off, grouting of tiles stained, left poor impression. Otherwise ok, staff very pleasant, very busy.

Guest rating:

10/5/2013

"-"

hotel reception area and breakfast room nice but our room was a bit shabby and tired looking although nice and clean. It felt as if the room had been squeezed into an alcove as it was a strange layout. Breakfast was lovely and staff helpful. I would stay again but would want one of the more up-to-date rooms that are shown on the information site.

Guest rating:

30/4/2013

"Welcoming clean and official"

Guest rating:

29/4/2013

"Small single room but got booked in early, staff very helpful"

No hot water for shaving in morning although shower was ok

Guest rating:

28/4/2013

"The Met is lovely, Bewleys is not an acceptable substitute."

I booked a room at the Met hotel which I was told could not be honored due to a mix-up. A room at another hotel was booked for me however and upon arriving at the second hotel I already began to feel short-changed. The Met is a beautiful, old, quiet 4-star hotel in the city centre. Bewleys is a new, ugly, loud (full of hen parties and drunken idiots), and a couple of miles outside the city centre, that stank of cigarettes. Although the Met did give me two dockets for taxi journeys I still found myself out of pocket due to my business meeting taking place in the centre and my having to book further taxis to facilitate this, which would obviously not have been the case if I were able to stay at the Met. I can`t quite fathom why Bewleys was deemed an acceptable substitute. If I`d have known beforehand what the hotel was like and where it was, I would have just asked for a refund and gone to the Queens or the Hilton instead.

Guest rating:

27/2/2013

"over booked"

Not impressed, turn up to find they overbooked, no prior warning and was sent to hotel round the corner. This was perfectly nice but advanced warning should have been and they should not over book in the first place!

Guest rating:

30/1/2013

"Fresh good sized rooms, beautiful bathroom and lovely spacious public areas"

Guest rating:

17/12/2012

"Perfectly adequate and good value for money "

The double room that we were allocated was clean and a good size, only maybe let down by some tired décor that needed attention, but in terms of value for money I would have no hesitation in recommending the Met for anyone who fancies a weekend away in Leeds central.

Guest rating:

17/12/2012

"All very good. "

Arriving late there were no parking spaces available. We were advised to park at the Station Car Park which was some distance away by vehicle. It would be useful for future guests to have a printed map giving directions to car park by car and also by foot - a much quicker route.

Guest rating:

15/12/2012

"Another great stay"

I enjoyed my stay again. The Metropole is welcoming with friendly, helpful staff and clean rooms ideal for relaxing after a lovely night out.. The only change I would make is two pillows on the bed.

Guest rating:

11/12/2012

"Nice clean hotel with great reception staff"

The room was quite small for a four star hotel although all the facilities were available. Would have thought that perhaps a couple of packs of biscuits would have been on the tea tray. The restaurant was already booked for a wedding party and it would have been nice to have been informed when booking or at least when checking in. the reception staff did however point us towards some other restaurants.

Guest rating:

29/11/2012

"This hotel was 1st class. clean confortable and welcoming. The full english breakfast is very good."

Guest rating:

27/11/2012

"-"

me and my partner had a wonderfull stay and will definatly be returning!

Guest rating:

24/11/2012

"Lovely hotel, good location"

Rooms clean, beds comfy. Tv`s need updating. Bathroom ok, could do with some TLC. I`d definitely stay there again, and would recommend.

Guest rating:

12/11/2012

"Good value for money!"

Attended a conference at Leeds this weekend.The room was small but clean an refurbished. Unfortunately the whole hotel was very hot and unable to have bedroom window open due to constant humming ?? sounded like a fan..The food was good quality, good choices and tasty. The conference facilities were OK, I ended up spending a whole day in a room without a window, so no natural light or glimpse of the outside world.The hotel ran out of Decaffeinated coffee which I didn`t think was an unusual drink in the 21st century??? The staff were unapologetic and unhelpful in finding any from anywhere!! I did provide my own...but there is a small supermarket only couple of hundred yds away that if they wanted to really please their guests they could have sent out to??!!Not a bad hotel, but I think there are better in a city the size of leeds.

Guest rating:

8/11/2012

"my second visit, comfortable, great breakfast, and very helpful staff, room clean and tidy.,"

Guest rating:

6/11/2012

"-"

Unfortunately we were not informed of a wedding party that was in the function suite until 1 a.m.Being on the 3rd floor we couldn`t sleep. Very helpful nightshift manager that tried to accommodate us on a higher floor.Nice exterior and lower floor, however the room was quite small.Nice breakfast and helpful staff.

Guest rating:

3/9/2012

"-"

great hotel,excellent location and value. Strange old tvs in the rooms is only negative comment. otherwise all very good

Guest rating:

3/9/2012

"Good location and very fiendly staff"

The hotel staff made our stay at the Met a great experience - everyone was extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel is in a fine terracotta building and handy for the railway station, Greek Street and not for from the other attractions of the city centre. Some of the internal decor is looking a bit worn, but the room was comfortable and the windows could be opened. The breakfast was very good as well.

Guest rating:

24/8/2012

"very good staff in all depts friendly and helpfull good breakfast and rooms clean "

Guest rating:

12/8/2012

" we thought the Hotel was fabulous and had the WOW factor!"

I would like to thank the reception for there welcomiing manor. The staff who arranged afternoon tea the sandwiches were,delicous and the presenation was grand, and the staff who presented my birthday cake there was 11 of us (women) so you can imagine to laughing and fun goin on,My birthday celebrations will certainly be remembered by us all.Thank you to the staff at the Metro. The comfyist bed we have slept in THANY YOU ONCE AGAIN. x

by Secure Internet

Or tel Reservations on: 0800 633 8000 (+44 1872 261 100)

Mon-Fri: 9am-8pm. Sat: 9am-5.30pm. Sun: 10am-6:30pm.

Our review system

Guest reviews and ratings are submitted to Hotel Direct by our customers immediately after check-out. They are un-edited.

With Hotel Direct you can make your break for LESS money. It's cheaper because when you book a break, we pass on special discounts for packages from hotels and train companies as well as making the total price lower. And you'll make a break in LESS time because in one place you can book your hotel, your train plus 1000s of shows, events and attractions.