Amba Hotel Charing Cross reviews

Hotel Direct invites all departing guests to rate and review their chosen hotel.

To ensure our guest evaluation is always up to date and to allow for hotel improvements, our Hotel Score is the mean of the most recent 100 guest ratings.

Hotel Score:

91%  based on 3299 reviews

More reviews >>

Guest rating:

4/3/2020

"-"

Room very comfortable and clean. Large bathroom. Only down side was the breakfast. Limited fruit choice. Bread/ croissants were a bit dry. Tables very close together.

Guest rating:

22/2/2020

" "

Guest rating:

9/2/2020

"Some road noise at night"

Lovely hotel and breakfast

Guest rating:

12/1/2020

"Very Good"

The menu in the restaurant was limited at 5pm, There also needs to be a wind breaker to stop the noise out side the window, this noise is quite loud and keep you awake throughout the night, this happens when the wind blows across an opening and can be easily resolved. The staff where extremely helpful and friendly they always make you feel very welcome.

Guest rating:

10/12/2019

"-"

Clean, comfortable and beautiful hotel in fabulously central spot. This was an excellent base for sightseeing. The hotel is very comfortable and the staff are pleasant and efficient. Our room looked out at St Martins in the Field and towards Trafalgar square. Very pleased we stayed and would definitely stay again.

Guest rating:

9/11/2019

"Outstanding "

Outstanding and very friendly

Guest rating:

15/10/2019

"Great hotel, perfect location "

Great hotelPerfect location close to Trafalgar Square, Leicester Square and convent garden. Friendly staff. Great hotel for that special occasion.

Guest rating:

6/10/2019

"Nice but lacks something "

Very clean, good location, staff friendly but it`s just missing something possibly lacks a bit of character etc

Guest rating:

26/9/2019

"Amba Hotel"

Beautiful,very smart friendly helpful staff. Room delightful,bed very comfortable. Very close to theatre and underground station.

Guest rating:

10/8/2019

"Great hotel"

Hotel is ideally located to get wherever you need by foot lovely room and all staff except one was lovely and friendly

Guest rating:

3/7/2019

"Great Hotel in an excellent location."

Good value for money. Very comfortable stay. Would be very happy to stay again on our next visit to London. Booking though Hotel Direct was quick and easy.

Guest rating:

11/1/2019

"Excellent Accommodation - Worth Every Penny!"

The hotel provides excellent facilities. The staff go beyond what is required of them to ensure that we have the necessary comforts. Great location; in the theatre district and with plenty of dinning options. Right next door to Charing Cross Railway Station and Metro. I would definitely stay at this hotel again!

Guest rating:

5/5/2018

"All staff very friendly and"

All staff very friendly and obliging. We were upgraded to an executive room which was very nice. Excellent breakfasts. Very tasty bar snacks. Very central location. Would recommend and stay again

Guest rating:

28/2/2018

"-"

Perfect location, for ncredibly helpful staff

Guest rating:

20/2/2018

"Nice place"

Would book again as it was the perfect location for seeing a show in Dury Lane. This is only a personal preference but having a harder pillow option would have been nice as I sleep with a memory foam one at home so found the pillows far too soft for me. Also it would have been nice to have more milk and coffee sachets in the room rather than having to request more (which wasnt a problem at all). The staff were lovely, helpful, polite and smartly dressed. The hotel itself was beautiful and clean.

Guest rating:

20/12/2017

"-"

Fantastic location, fantastic hotel, fantastic staff (actually exceptional staff), fantastic room, fantastic breakfast - overall i`d rate it fantastic!

Guest rating:

18/11/2017

"Just fantastic"

Guest rating:

23/10/2017

"Great Hotel in Central Location"

Staff warm and friendly, great breakfast, rooms very clean with everything that is required.

Guest rating:

1/7/2017

"Couldn`t have been better"

We were upgraded due to the fact that I am pregnant and it was our last break away before the baby. The comfiest bed I`ve ever stayed in, room was huge and room service was yummy! Loved the nespresso machine and snacks in the mini bar. Best hotel Ive stayed in in London.

Guest rating:

25/6/2017

"Ambassadors Hotel"

This is a lovely hotel centrally situated for everything. Spotless and has everything you need for a comfortable stay. Staff all very professional and friendly!

Guest rating:

20/4/2017

"Perfectly situated close to many amenities. Extremely helpful staff."

Both taxi rank and red bus services outside the Hotel door. The best thing for me is the wonderful staff in the resturant and also on reception.

Guest rating:

14/4/2017

"Staff were so welcoming and friendly. Hotel spotlessly clean. Would definitely stay again"

Guest rating:

29/1/2017

"Brilliant hotel"

The staff really make this hotel special. So friendly and they seen genuinely happy in their jobs. The room was perfect for us and the location couldn`t be better for the Lion King.This hotel is right in the centre of London. But still so personal. Will come here again for a theatre break.

Guest rating:

26/1/2017

"Excellent service"

The receptionists were excellent, as were all the staff, We would certainly wish to stay at the hotel again as we felt they wanted your custom.

Guest rating:

11/1/2017

"Beautiful central location "

Guest rating:

4/1/2017

"Brilliant"

Brilliant Hotel

Guest rating:

20/12/2016

"Deserves 4 1/2 stars in fact. STAFF uniformly helpful, and pleasant to deal with. Facilities good "

Guest rating:

20/10/2016

"Poor breakfast"

Plates not heated and tomatoes hardly cooked at breakfast. Only one knife at setting.

Guest rating:

16/10/2016

"Perfect central location. Excellent facilities."

This recently renovated hotel combines modern facilities in a sympathetically restored elegant building. Perfect location for West End and central London. Without exception the staff are helpful and friendly. Rooms are well appointed, have good facilities and although some reviews have commented that some rooms are small, they are no smaller than comparable hotels in central London and are completely ideal for a short visit.

Guest rating:

13/9/2016

"Great location & Super Friendly Staff"

Guest rating:

21/8/2016

"Best hotel in london"

I have have stayed in a few hotels in London , but The Amba hotel tops them all.Great service, friendly and helpful staff, excellent room,

Guest rating:

7/8/2016

"Fantastic Location & Excellent Standards"

I Have just returned from the Charing Cross Hotel, I have stayed at this hotel on several occasions and I can only say that it simply gets better with every stay. The rooms are clean, comfortable, the staff are so pleasant and helpful it`s just a great hotel in such a fantastic location.

Guest rating:

21/7/2016

"very nice "

beautiful full mod cons loved the fridge full of goodies all staff very helpful

Guest rating:

28/5/2016

"If you are seeking perfection ...."

From the moment we were greeted at reception until the moment we left, we had personal attention from all levels of staff which made our stay memorable. An excellent hotel, to be recommended.,

Guest rating:

26/5/2016

"Charing Cross Hotel"

Very pleased with hotel this is about the 5th time we have stopped at this hotel ideal location for sight seeing and London shows the hotel was very clean and the service and staff were excellent would recommend this hotel

Guest rating:

16/5/2016

"Excellent hotel, great location"

Guest rating:

9/5/2016

"-"

Guest rating:

1/5/2016

"Fantastic location for the theatres and Leicester Square "

Guest rating:

24/4/2016

"Mixed quality"

For a 4 star nothing special. We were in Executive double which was OK but nothing special just slightly better than Premier Inn. A couple of beers and water from the mini-bar are not worth the price difference. Three coffee capsules between two people is mean. The Amba lounge service on the second day was dis-attentive at best for us and others. Generally pleasant stay with front of house & general staff helpful and friendly. Only basic toiletries in bathroom. Having stayed in many !00s of hotels across the world this one will not be memorable other than over star`d.

Guest rating:

24/4/2016

"Just perfect"

by Secure Internet

Or tel Reservations on: 0800 633 8000 (+44 1872 261 100)

Mon-Sat: 9am-8pm. Sat: 9am-5.30pm. Sun: 10am-6:30pm.

Our review system

Guest reviews and ratings are submitted to Hotel Direct by our customers immediately after check-out. They are un-edited.

With Hotel Direct you can make your break for LESS money. It's cheaper because when you book a break, we pass on special discounts for packages from hotels and train companies as well as making the total price lower. And you'll make a break in LESS time because in one place you can book your hotel, your train plus 1000s of shows, events and attractions.