Thistle Trafalgar Square The Royal reviews

Hotel Direct invites all departing guests to rate and review their chosen hotel.

To ensure our guest evaluation is always up to date and to allow for hotel improvements, our Hotel Score is the mean of the most recent 100 guest ratings.

Hotel Score:

90%  based on 576 reviews

More reviews >>

Guest rating:

14/7/2017

"Great location "

Excellent location,clean and comfortable rooms and very pleasant staff.

Guest rating:

1/6/2017

"Good, comfy room, great location"

Very good value but just average arrival reception by 2 young ladies who didn`t know much.

Guest rating:

31/5/2017

"Great location"

Convenient location for theatre district.Comfortable room.

Guest rating:

21/4/2017

"excellent hospitality "

Very warm welcome, friendliest staff I have ever experienced in a British hotel. We will be back.

Guest rating:

2/4/2017

"-"

Minimal tea and coffee making faclities in hotel room. Good comfortable bed, cosy and warm atmosphere. We specified when booking that we would like breakfast included, and we were charged. Misleading. Staff at reception had minimal understanding of English which made check in instructions slightly uncomfortable. Little guidance given from dining staff on how to get food items upon entering breakfast. Room was very clean. Good soundproofing from outside noise. Excellent location. Would recommend to others.

Guest rating:

1/4/2017

"A really good experience."

Our first time at this hotel but definitely would revisit. Our room on the 5th floor was delightful and a lovely shower. Really quiet surrounding and a very comfortable bed. Didn`t have breakfast but plenty of good cafes close by. Staff at this hotel are so very welcoming and helpful. No negative points.

Guest rating:

19/3/2017

"-"

Everything was great

Guest rating:

18/3/2017

"-"

Hotel and room were nice and clean but room door let to much light in from lobby and curtain were to small for window so more light let in, glass shower screen leaked water all over bathroom floor, but they were going to change us into another room if wanted and weren`t checking out that day

Guest rating:

18/3/2017

"Great location"

Don`t be put off by the outside faade this is a lovely hotel, The staff were friendly and very helpful our only gripe was the height of the ceiling in the shower, abit low.

Guest rating:

19/2/2017

"Thistle trafalgar"

Good hotel lovely room, good food, only disappointment was there was no bath in room only a shower.

Guest rating:

30/1/2017

"Thistle Trafalgar Square"

The hotel couldn`t be better situated for central London, Hotel staff were all very helpful and friendly. It was my sisters 40th Birthday and they surprised her with a lovely bottle of wine, chocolates and a birthday card waiting for her in our room. Rooms, really good size, very clean and beds very comfortable, the Shower was amazing, the breakfast was lovely too, lots of choice and tasty. Will be staying here again. Thank you to all the staff we met during our stay.

Guest rating:

13/1/2017

"Hotel very clean, excellent location and friendly staff. Breakfast (extra c a little disappointing"

Guest rating:

4/1/2017

"Clan"

Guest rating:

30/10/2016

"Tiny rooms excellent location"

Friendly staff but what a tiny room! Hotel is clean and comfortable and is perfectly situated but doesn`t warrant the star rating.

Guest rating:

9/9/2016

"Perfect luxurious hotel"

Excellent hotel. Friendly, helpful staff, from booking, pre-stay request/arrangements. They upgraded our room, and arranged for champagne and chocs on arrival. Made us feel really special.

Guest rating:

31/7/2016

"Great location"

I really couldn`t fault it in any way. A really amazing weekend.

Guest rating:

23/7/2016

"Basic"

Well placed for The West End. Accommodation small and basic but clean. Friendly staff at reception. Noise from adjacent construction site starts 8am. Just a place to stay.

Guest rating:

16/7/2016

"Bland, Beige, Boring"

Hotel made more lively by construction site next door...not aware of this prior to booking.

Guest rating:

19/6/2016

"Fabulous"

This is such a lovely hotel. Very central, fabulous price for central hotel, fullOf architectural character due to the museum. Unable to rate anything other than fabulous

Guest rating:

31/5/2016

"Great Location"

Nice central location. Check in quick and efficient. Room was a good size with a nice powerful shower. Staff helpful with giving advice/suggestions on what to see and when. Would recommend this hotel.

Guest rating:

23/5/2016

"Thistle Trafalgar square"

The Thistle hotel is clean, impressive and very reasonably priced. It was also perfect location for where our show (Phantom of the Opera) literally just down the road.We were impressed with the politeness, helpfulness of the very smartly dressed staff. Our room was spotlessly clean and the shower was big and another bonus was that it was a walk in shower which made it easier for me to use.We ordered room service because the price was so reasonable, it actually worked out cheaper to do that than eat out. The price may have been cheap but there was plenty of food and it was delicious.Breakfast in the morning was just as good. Again the staff went out of there way to make sure we were satisfied with everything.The management of this hotel should be extremely proud of their staff.We shall be returning there next time we come to London.

Guest rating:

1/5/2016

"Ideal Location"

Guest rating:

25/4/2016

"Basic"

Had to query bkd room as it was a standard and had paid for an upgrade, tv didn`t work in room. Works were happening opposite hotel so couldn`t sit outside. Hotel service poor. Would not choose to stay there again

Guest rating:

25/4/2016

"Excellent place would definitely return"

Right in the thick of things this hotel was fab ! The staff were very helpful and attentive especially Lilly ! The rooms were great and finishes to a good standard.

Guest rating:

24/4/2016

"Expensive for small room"

Good location off trafalgar square but very expensive for the size of room. Staff friendly and helpful .

Guest rating:

20/4/2016

"2nd time of visiting "

The hotel was great upon arrival, we where offered and accepted a free upgrade. GreatWas looking to book again in the near future but at the last minute was disappointed with checkout. There was one couple in front of us and we waited our turn to check out when Lazlio interrupted the 1st couples booking in, leaned over the desk put his hand out and took our room key.. I said we would wait until he had finished as we wanted to order a taxi. Lazlio replied to us " go to the end of the the street and get one, I`m too busy". Not a great end to our lovely stay. A little disappointed

Guest rating:

14/4/2016

"Slightly disappointing"

Having stayed at the Thistle Trafalgar on several occasions over the past few years we were a little disappointed at this visit.Quite apart from the impact of the ongoing building works adjacent to the hotel (over which the hotel obviously has no control) there is something missing from the previous aura of relaxed but professional atmosphere of the hotel. Difficult to pinpoint,but it`s almost as if it`s just marking time until the building site next door is complete.The staff remain cheerful and as helpful as they can be, the the hotel remains busy, even with the disruption.We may well stay here in the future but it`s more likely we will stay elsewhere at the next few visits to London.

Guest rating:

31/3/2016

"A lovely Hotel"

My parents had a great time and enjoyed their stay at the hotel, it was located next to the theatre that they were visiting to see POTO.

Guest rating:

24/3/2016

"Central"

Good hotel, clean adequate room. Central location to get about. One complaint, no real bar to unwind in at the end of a long day.

Guest rating:

18/2/2016

"Central location great service"

Guest rating:

31/1/2016

"Thistle Trafalgar Square "

Lovely quiet hotel and so convenient to the show we were going to (Close to you). We really enjoyed our time in London

Guest rating:

26/1/2016

"Thistle hotel trafalgar was excellent"

The staff were very friendly and helpful and made our stay even more special, thank you for their hard work. the hotel was very clean and comfortable. will stay there every time I am in London now :)

Guest rating:

25/1/2016

"good hotel nothing wrong with the room"

Guest rating:

5/12/2015

"Ideal location, superb accomodation"

Friendly and helpfull staff, comfortable bed and pleasant facilities. Couldn`t want anymore from such a central location.

Guest rating:

9/11/2015

"-"

Excelent location. Grteat staff. Will stay there again..

Guest rating:

6/11/2015

"Wonderful staff, excellent service"

Wonderfully surprised by the size of the rooms. A lot bigger than some London hotels I have stayed in. Nice relaxing lounge and the breakfast as hassle free yumminess. Thank y9u to all staff and truly well done

Guest rating:

29/10/2015

"-"

Comfortable accommodation, staff were all very pleasant and helpful. The hotel is ideally situated for the theatres, eating establishments, National Gallery etc. Would definitely stay there again.

Guest rating:

29/10/2015

"In ideal position for theatre break"

Guest rating:

18/10/2015

"Thistle trafalgar - great central location "

2 mins walk from Leicester Square, ideal for theatres. Parking available next door

Guest rating:

17/10/2015

"Lovely! Staff so friendly!! Brilliant hotel for the theatre! Couldn`t fault it! Would defo use again"

by Secure Internet

Or tel Reservations on: 0800 633 8000 (+44 1872 261 100)

Mon-Fri: 9am-8pm. Sat: 9am-5.30pm. Sun: 10am-6:30pm.

Our review system

Guest reviews and ratings are submitted to Hotel Direct by our customers immediately after check-out. They are un-edited.

With Hotel Direct you can make your break for LESS money. It's cheaper because when you book a break, we pass on special discounts for packages from hotels and train companies as well as making the total price lower. And you'll make a break in LESS time because in one place you can book your hotel, your train plus 1000s of shows, events and attractions.