Amba Hotel Marble Arch reviews

Hotel Direct invites all departing guests to rate and review their chosen hotel.

To ensure our guest evaluation is always up to date and to allow for hotel improvements, our Hotel Score is the mean of the most recent 100 guest ratings.

Hotel Score:

89%  based on 702 reviews

More reviews >>

Guest rating:

29/10/2018

"Very pleased although breakfast was a little chaotic "

Guest rating:

14/5/2018

"Excellent ambassador hotel "

We had a lovely 2 night stay in an executive twin room. The hotel is very high standard. All staff we came into contact with were very helpful and polite. Our room was clean and well appointed. The beds were comfy and the room was huge. Perfect for the 3 of us. The lounge was an added bonus. Lovely breakfast and snacks drinks through the day. The tube was near and it`s right in oxford street. I definitely would stay again.

Guest rating:

11/4/2018

"Staff we very nice very welcoming "

Guest rating:

19/3/2018

"Great hotel"

This hotel is very well situated for accessing the shops and London attractions. The staff are very friendly and accommodating - the breakfast and rooms are great and car parking is just below the hotel so all in all 10/10

Guest rating:

18/12/2017

"-"

Hotel Amba was very good. Would think about staying there again.

Guest rating:

19/3/2017

"Excellent helpful, polite staff. "

Guest rating:

13/3/2017

"First Class all round"

We often stay in London and would never think of staying anywhere other than the Amba Marble Arch (previously Thistle) We have never had cause for complaint at any time.First Class all round.

Guest rating:

27/2/2017

"Fantastic Hotel!!"

Fantastic Hotel, great for location, lovely helpful friendly staff and beautiful rooms. We have been many times to this hotel and wouldn`t stay any where else. They made this stay extra special as when they heard it was my husbands birthday we came back to find a complimentary bottle of wine and a birthday platter of chocolate and cake waiting for us!

Guest rating:

5/2/2017

"Great Hotel, Great Oxford Street location"

Guest rating:

23/1/2017

"Great location "

Been to london many times and the amba ticked most of the boxes - price breakfast location service room - all good - will definitely book there regularly from now on

Guest rating:

6/12/2016

"Overall very good with just a few of niggles"

Room and bed comfort very good. Staff generally attentive. We had a two night stay and requested room to be serviced after first night, however cups and glasses were left unwashed which was a bit disappointing. We had dinner at the hotel on the first night and found the food to be very good however the long wait for the sweet course was tiresome but on complaining about this, the cost of the sweet course was removed from the bill. Decaf coffee at breakfast on the first morning was delivered without any problem but not so on the second, being told they didn`t do decaf coffee. Persistence with another member of the breakfast team resulted in decaf being served. These were minor and avoidable irritations but wouldn`t stop us returning to this hotel for a third time. First visit last year was faultless. Well positioned for Oxford Street and Hyde Park.

Guest rating:

29/11/2016

"-"

Location excellent, very comfortable beds , rooms spotless, breakfast very good, overall very good

Guest rating:

27/11/2016

"-"

Brilliant location for Christmas shopping we had a triple room which was spacious. Beds and bedding really comfortable excellent night sleep. Despite being busy the corridors were quiet. Breakfast good. Although the breakfast room was so busy had to wait to be shown to a table which was a bit of a wait but they were very apologetic and good service

Guest rating:

18/11/2016

"Brilliantly located ... Love the extra little touches ... Staff were very attentive "

Guest rating:

25/9/2016

"-"

Excellent hotel in ideal location for everything. Facilities good and above all the whole staff were friendly and helpful. Nothing appears to much trouble to them. A busy hotel that did not appear busy. A wonderful weekend stay.

Guest rating:

12/9/2016

"8 th visit first one in new refurbishment, excellent new rooms, very good service apart from barman "

Visiting for proms in the park great refurbishment, excellent reception, concierge staff but very rude barman on saturday night beautifully decorated rooms& bathrooms, excellent all around

Guest rating:

27/8/2016

"found that tv when we tried to watch a film wasnot catered for english speaking people"

as always was met with a smile and a very helpful manner by person who checked us in and all staff we met

Guest rating:

31/7/2016

"Excellent levels of customer service! "

Guest rating:

17/7/2016

"Five star"

Hotel staff all make you feel at home rooms clean and well looked after on the down side the food is on the very high price for what it is but that is just us will stay here again

Guest rating:

20/6/2016

"Excellent hotel"

Clean modern good location special mention to Stefano for his kindness feel sure we will be back to stay again .

Guest rating:

3/6/2016

"Great refurb to the tired thistle hotel"

Pleasantly surprised! All new and fresh ... Complementary fillers in the mini bar and nespresso.Would stay again

Guest rating:

1/6/2016

"superb staff and service"

We can`t praise enough, the staff at Amba Marble Arch. No request was too much trouble. We would certainly use the Hotel again.

Guest rating:

23/5/2016

"-"

The executive option room is avertThe executive option room is very good value for money. I would recommend this hotel to everyone . Staff very friendly and extremely helpful. Just don`t have room 595 the noise from th duct outside the window is terrible. Was offered a move but it wasn`t worth it for one more night. Room was a high standard and I loved the walk in shower.

Guest rating:

24/4/2016

"Great value, good place to stay"

We went for a 50th birthday celebration. The check in was flawless, the rooms were spotless, the beds comfy.The breakfast was superb, so much choice and all really well cooked. We thought the concierge was really helpful and nice. The Hotel is a short walk from Oxford street so great for shopping

Guest rating:

19/4/2016

"Great location "

We enjoyed shopping on Oxford street and walking round Hyde park which this hotel is so great for, we also took advantage of the excective lounge which was excellent and will be returning again.

Guest rating:

18/4/2016

"One of the best we`ve stayed in!"

The Amba Narble Arch Hotel exceeded our expectations, the staff were so friendly and they couldn`t do enough for us, the room was lovely, spacious and clean, our kids thoroughly enjoyed it and we had a very comfortable two night stay! the breakfast was absolutely brilliant with so much choice and we had the added bonus of use of the Executive lounge which was the icing on the cake! we will definitely come back and stay here again....soon! thanks for making out stay such an enjoyable one.

Guest rating:

18/4/2016

"Perfect "

Guest rating:

10/4/2016

"wonderfulll hotel great location"

great hotel will be back staff very good

Guest rating:

28/3/2016

"Fabulous, helpful staff !!"

Couldn`t of asked more of the staff, very friendly, helpful and brilliant with the children- little Easter eggs as gifts, talked and joked with them! Executive lounge lovely , enjoyed s very nice relaxed breakfast. Our evening meal in the restaurant was very nice- would only improve if a child`s menu or half portions were available but service was fantastic! Rooms Lovely and comfortable , very pleasant stay.... See you soon !!

Guest rating:

11/2/2016

"-"

Every effort made to make us feel welcome, especially Anastasia reception and Urmila and Biram restaurant. We`ll be back and will recommend.

Guest rating:

2/1/2016

"Old jazz bar better. New one has no atmosphere"

More functional, staff good but preferred the old style. Has lost its heart.

Guest rating:

15/12/2015

"Fantastic hotel in fantastic location!"

Smart,sassy,stylish,clean. Not one fault in this hotel. Personal touches include iPad, snacks/soft drinks, nespresso machine, bathrobes, toiletries, hairdryer, ironing facilities. Everything you need in a hotel. Room service superb. Would highly recommend a visit and will definitely be staying again.

Guest rating:

14/12/2015

"Great hotel, Great location"

We have stayed at this hotel several times when it was The Thistle, We love this hotel, it is so clean. Our room was spotless and nice and roomy, the bed was massive and very comfortable, we slept really well.Free Wifi was a bonus and complementary mini bar even though it was only soft drinks and water with snacks, we could have had 2 of each drinks and snacks as there was two of us staying in the room, so we had to share.The toiletries were lovely and plentiful.The location could not have been better right on Oxford Street, so central. Just a couple of minutes walk to Hyde Park to go to Winter Wonderland. We travelled by bus to get to Covent Garden and the Natural History Museum. The first night in London we want to see the show WarHorse it was brilliant, very moving and wonderfully acted.We shall be returning to this hotel again next year at the same time of year.

Guest rating:

11/12/2015

"A terrific place to stay"

Myself and three friends had the pleasure of staying at the Amba marble Arch, a week ago. We found it to be clean and comfortable, with really helpful, friendly staff and a superb breakfast. Very happy to recommend it.

Guest rating:

22/11/2015

"Brilliant!"

Excellent hotel one of the best I have stayed in for a London short break, rooms superb and spacious, beds v comfy, no noise at all. Central location. Excellent breakfast will def return

Guest rating:

5/11/2015

"always excellent service "

Guest rating:

1/11/2015

"Thistle Marble Arch "

I can`t thank the hotel staff enough at this hotel . I was on my own with my 6 year old daughter and they looked after us so much . Helped with luggage .. Helped when we looked lost and helped with directions around London and lead us to the right direction . Thankyou so much .. Especially to the luggage guy who was outside xxxx

Guest rating:

18/10/2015

"-"

Hotel staff very friendly, lovely room .Breakfast brilliant.Great weekend.

Guest rating:

9/10/2015

"Deeply disappointed"

My husband and I arrived to find the hotel under refurbishment and the lovely reception couldnt be seen for workmen.Dinner in lounge was terrible. Steak was tasteless. Chef agreed when I sent mine back.Executive lounge was a big letdown from the previous year. Not happy with hotel at all

Guest rating:

5/10/2015

"Spacious Rooms and Good Breakfast"

Check in was swift, room was spacious and comfortable. Breakfast was good with plenty of choice. Staff were helpful and efficient. Hotel is in a great central location. Only negative is that a house keeper knocked on our door at 9:30am wanting to clean the room, and started to let herself in before we could answer the door (we were still in bed after a late night). We were only staying one night and were due to check out by 12pm so they really shouldn`t have been coming to clean before we checked out.

by Secure Internet

Or tel Reservations on: 0800 633 8000 (+44 1872 261 100)

Mon-Sat: 9am-8pm. Sat: 9am-5.30pm. Sun: 10am-6:30pm.

Our review system

Guest reviews and ratings are submitted to Hotel Direct by our customers immediately after check-out. They are un-edited.

With Hotel Direct you can make your break for LESS money. It's cheaper because when you book a break, we pass on special discounts for packages from hotels and train companies as well as making the total price lower. And you'll make a break in LESS time because in one place you can book your hotel, your train plus 1000s of shows, events and attractions.