Hotel Faubourg 216-224 reviews

Hotel Direct invites all departing guests to rate and review their chosen hotel.

To ensure our guest evaluation is always up to date and to allow for hotel improvements, our Hotel Score is the mean of the most recent 100 guest ratings.

Hotel Score:

76%  based on 149 reviews

More reviews >>

Guest rating:

12/8/2017

"You get what you pay for"

This is a reasonably priced hotel for Paris and therefore is pretty basic and is in a rather unattractive area. The decor is dated and a bit shabby and the rooms are small and again, shabby. However, the sheets were clean and the bed was comfortable. We arrived at 2pm which is check-in time, but were still made to wait nearly half an hour before our room was ready. There are no available plug sockets in the room so the fridge has to be unplugged to use the socket to charge a phone. Of the two members of staff we met, one was rather brusque but the other was polite and friendly.

Guest rating:

24/6/2017

"Hotel review"

The hotel was clean, close to central Paris and had good faculties and service. Can I also please say that one of the people at the reception called Edres, he worked late at night. His service was exceptional and I can genuinely say that his help really improved our stay and made the hotel feel very welcoming. So I would like to thank him for everything.

Guest rating:

12/10/2016

"Wouldn`t rush back"

Guest rating:

3/6/2016

"I travelled with my son, our room was basic but pleasant. "

Nice and near to the Eurostar line, which was the reason it was chosen. felt that the price was fair for the room, the breakfast was fine.The staff were very helpful when asked about anything. If they did not know the answer it was quickly found out.

Guest rating:

28/5/2016

"Good location, no frills hotel"

Clean hotel and very friendly staff. Bed and pillows was too soft for me so my back was abit out.Otherwise a good basic hotel to explore Paris. The area had good cheap oriental food so another plus!

Guest rating:

16/7/2015

"-"

Good location, if you don`t mind the refurbishments. No complaints.

Guest rating:

9/6/2015

"Fine for a short stay in Paris"

Refurbishment in progress. Annexe appears finished. Main building room tiny but quite adequate for my needs. Breakfast in cellar unsophisticated but decent juice, warm croissant and rolls plus ham , cheese and eggs plentiful and choice of drinks provided an excellent start for a busy day. About 5- 10 minute walk from Gard du Nord, bus stop and metro within a few yards makes it easy to access other parts of Paris. Staff welcoming and helpful. I would use this again, but if wanting a room for 2 then suggest that you view a room in the annexe in hope of larger room -- but this is Paris.

Guest rating:

18/3/2015

"-"

everything was good, no problems anywhere. Would stay there again.

Guest rating:

13/3/2015

"Perfect Location, Lovely Hotel!"

I loved this hotel it`s in a great location with the tubes & bus`s & lots of restaurants, cafes, takeaways & supermarkets all within a couple of minutes walk & the hotel has the added bonus of a fridge in the room. The staff are so lovely & will help with any questions you might have. The room was lovely with double doors & a Juliet Balcony. It`s very clean with lovely soft white bed linen & towels which are changed everyday & I loved the dinning area (see photo gallery) Lovely breakfast (continental) everything is so fresh! I don`t know how anyone could say anything bad about this hotel, yes the lift is very small but it`s only temporary & a better solution to taking the stairs with luggage which is a lovely curved staircase, but it`s an old building which is what you want while staying in Paris but the new lift is in progress! I travel a lot & I`m very fussy about the hotels but I`m definitely going back with my son & 8 year old granddaughter!

Guest rating:

19/10/2014

"I made a very bad choice with this Hotel "

This hotel was really quite poor. We were on the first floor with my 84 year old mother. Firstly the lift was out of order and when we got to our rooms we found that these were also poor standard. The bathroom was clean but set out in such a way that required you to be built like a stick insect to use the toilet. The breakfast room was down a spray staircase that my mother could not walk down and when we sat down for breakfast we had to wait for other guests to finish so we could then use their washed cutlery. We would not concider this Hotel when next visiting Paris

Guest rating:

10/10/2014

"Excellent for overnight stay."

Conveniently located near Gard du Nord (and de l`Est).Courteous service. Clean and well appointed room.Good value for price without compromise on basic standards.

Guest rating:

1/4/2014

"Nice."

Situated in an easily accessable part of Paris, near metro stations. Very clean, tidy, good for breakfast and very friendly staff . I will look to stay there again.

Guest rating:

11/3/2014

"The room was clean and bed comfortable scaffolding outside and workmen looking in at 8 am was not so"

Guest rating:

2/11/2013

"-"

Very small room and on suite. Lift was more like a vertical coffin than a lift. On the bright side the staff were helpful.

Guest rating:

13/10/2013

"Rooms refurbished but other areas like lifts common area and stairs "

The rooms were clean comfortable and had new bathroom fittings but not sure how they will last as seem quite cheaply installed. Breakfast was OK but basic and coffee from a machineReception very efficient and friendly but general common areas in the second Hotel were not very clean and very oldArea is probably not the best but overall good value for Central Paris

Guest rating:

2/10/2013

"Really really bad"

We, able bodied folk, were put in a disabled room that had a musty carpet and no windows. Musty carpets an no windows is no way to treat the disabled. When we demanded better rooms we found out there were much more acceptable rooms on the higher floors. Meaning the management`s first instinct was not great service but to rip us off.

Guest rating:

26/8/2013

"Very nice room"

The area is a bit busy, reminded me of Whitechapel but it is to be expected close to a major train station. Transport from the Hotel to central Paris is good, a few connections but you get there soon. Pleasantly surprised by the room.

Guest rating:

29/7/2013

"Great location- very easy to travel from and around. Would only recommend for a short stay 4days max"

Guest rating:

22/6/2013

"Really awful area did not feel safe hotel was very poor no bar no coffee machine no reception in our"

Guest rating:

9/6/2013

"-"

Bad area, bad value for money, small and very dark rooms, noisy. Would not recommend unless money is the only factor you consider with comparison to other hotels

Guest rating:

16/5/2013

"Small bathroom, dark corridors, generally dilapidated."

Although well situated being 5 mins walk from Gard du Nord and 2 mins from Metro and 15 mins walk to Sacre Couer, the hotel generally has a run down appearance. Room was small with even smaller bathroom but bed was comfortable and clean. Breakfast available in very warm cellar and a little pricey at 10 euros for continental style. Not particularly cheap at 80 per night for room only.

Guest rating:

9/4/2013

"Hotel location is okay for Eurostar and five minutes walk when the Magenta exit is used but not the "

Guest rating:

5/4/2013

"Friendly staff. Average hotel."

Guest rating:

30/3/2013

"good base for paris visit"

rooms on the small side, booked a doube but is was more a single with a double bed, however it was kept clean and tidy every day. breakfast was more than adequate and the staff were very helpful and cheerful. very handy location for gare du nord train station and the metro. one word of warning for paris in general ITS VERY EXPENSIVE.

Guest rating:

25/3/2013

"Great if you ONLY want a base close to Metro. V Clean inside. Grotty location, but safe-ish"

We just wanted somewhere to sleep, shower and plot our days and nights. It`s good for that.Room was very small but functional, shower and toilet a bit cramped (with a curtain for a door) but everything was clean. Bed comfortable and all bedding clean and changed regularly. Didn`t do the 10-Euro breakfasts. Much better value elsewhere (though ideally a metro ride away).Staff friendly. Good English spoken at the desk. Narrow nature of the building meant it could suddenly be very crowded. There are about 20-25 rooms, so there are lots of people there. The lift is great - only big enough for two people and a small suitcase. 150 kg limit. Hold your breath in if you`ve had a big meal.Overall, I booked it online because it was the cheapest half-way decent looking one close to the station where we`d arrive. I knew the area itself wasn`t exactly a tourist attraction.

Guest rating:

24/3/2013

"Good value for money!! "

A little room ... Essentially all one needs in this small space brill little shower ;-)

Guest rating:

18/3/2013

"Good Hotel and friendly staff"

A good location for a long weekend close to Metro station which allows good transit to all areas of Paris we bought a 3 day pass for 25 euros. It is also close to Garde de North railway station for direct link to airport. The hotel was clean and modern furnishing ,the area surrounding the hotel is very much an Indian community it may look daunting but we found the people friendly.

Guest rating:

5/3/2013

"Service with a beaming smile :)))"

I stayed there for one night and the hotel staff the lady and the man were nothing short of fantastic . A comedy double act the radiated charm and warmth . They provided a lovely room and even though the bathroom had a small leak that I foolishly forgot to mention the next , that did not make me view this hotel any differently . The location was ideal but the staff were exceptional . One mention to the lovely man who sold us the boat tickets , thank you so much for your wonderful service. All on all lovely people that I met as strangers and ended as friends . See you soon :)

Guest rating:

1/2/2013

"The staff are incompetent"

Not only was my room not ready at 2pm, but when I got back from work at about 10pm, it still had not been cleaned. I had specifically said that I would be happy to stay in the room if they could guarantee that it would be clean on my return. The staff had no idea where anything was and were busy having private conversations or on the phone...

Guest rating:

1/12/2012

"-"

Very clean, comfortable and quiet; breakfast perfectly adequate but small room underground - charming or poky depending on your point of view; very friendly day receptionist; very noisy heating system that probably only affected my room - mentioned this to receptionist; well situated near Gare du Nord; small supermarket close by; excellent for transport network.

Guest rating:

18/11/2012

"Hotel Clean and staff friendly"

Thanks Arkan, was an enjoyable stay would recommend this hotel. Not the greatest area in Paris but is close to Eurostar terminal and transport good in area.

Guest rating:

24/10/2012

"small rooms but clean and friendly"

Guest rating:

29/8/2012

"comfy and great location if taking eurostar"

Guest rating:

23/7/2012

"Good weekend room"

Hotel was very welcoming, location is close to eurostar terminal, but is in indian area of paris, rooms are small but ok for weekend visits, wifi was bit hit and miss some times, but overall excellent hotel

Guest rating:

21/6/2012

"-"

Great room very clean and modern, a bit small but probably normal for European standard. Great location for metro and gare de nor but a little bit shady. Would not recommend young girl traveling alone.

Guest rating:

29/5/2012

"Freshly baked breakfast breads were delicious! "

Guest rating:

30/4/2012

"-"

Excellent value for money, clean with friendly staff

Guest rating:

27/4/2012

"Would Stay Again"

Excellent customer service, clean and a minutes walk from the metro, would stay again.

Guest rating:

17/4/2012

"-"

Great value and well-placed- small rooms - as with all Paris hotels,- but convenient and clean - breakfasts were fine except the coffee was dreadful ! Staff friendly and speak English - beware school parties who may be noisyTerrific shower in room 322 !

Guest rating:

15/4/2012

"Good Value "

Good in all respects. Not a luxury hotel but excellent value.

by Secure Internet

Or tel Reservations on: 0800 633 8000 (+44 1872 261 100)

Mon-Sat: 9am-8pm. Sat: 9am-5.30pm. Sun: 10am-6:30pm.

Our review system

Guest reviews and ratings are submitted to Hotel Direct by our customers immediately after check-out. They are un-edited.

With Hotel Direct you can make your break for LESS money. It's cheaper because when you book a break, we pass on special discounts for packages from hotels and train companies as well as making the total price lower. And you'll make a break in LESS time because in one place you can book your hotel, your train plus 1000s of shows, events and attractions.