Thistle London Hyde Park Lancaster Gate reviews

Hotel Direct invites all departing guests to rate and review their chosen hotel.

To ensure our guest evaluation is always up to date and to allow for hotel improvements, our Hotel Score is the mean of the most recent 100 guest ratings.

Hotel Score:

87%  based on 245 reviews

More reviews >>

Guest rating:

6/2/2020

" Was lovely and the rooms were great and the girls on reception were very helpful "

Would stay there again we were upgraded . breakfast was good And we would definitely stay there again

Guest rating:

27/1/2020

"-"

We booked a double room which had a 4 ft bed wedged in the corner so one of us would have had to clamber over the other to get into it! Absolutely unacceptable and am amazed this was considered a double.However, when I asked for another room the staff moved us without any quibbling.All staff friendly and helpful and a nice quiet hotel although some updating wouldn`t be a bad idea, the steel stained bath wasn`t very alluring but the shower was good and powerful.

Guest rating:

7/1/2020

"FREEZING COLD ROOMS"

I HAD A WONDERFUL ROOM BUT WITH NO HEATING APART FROM A DYSON FAN. THE ROOM DID NIT HEAT UP AND THE BATHROOM WAS UNBEARABLE. I WAS MOVED TO ANOTHER SUBSTANDARD ROOM AS THIS TIME THE HEATING DID NOT WORK AGAIN WITH YET ANOTHER SUBSTANDARD FAN. THE STRESS THIS CAUSED ME ON MY 3 DAYS HOLIDAY WAS NOT AT ALL FAIR. I ALSO ENJOY A BATH EACH NIGHT AND THE BATH IN THIS ROOM DID NOT WORK EITHER. I HAD SOMEONE TO COME AND TEACH ME HOW TO USE A BATH WHICH WAS CONDISENDING AS I KNOW HOW TO RUN A BATH. THE ROOM I ENDED UP IN WAS NOT AS NICE AS THE ORIGINAL ROOM AND THEY WANTED TO MOVE ME AGAIN. THIS WAS WAY TO SRTRESSFUL FOR ME AND I ENDED UP STAYING IN A COLD ROOM WHERE I COULDNT EVEN GET WARM IN A DECENT BATH. I BOOKED A PARTY OF 13 PEOPLE FOR THIS STAY AND PAID A GREAT DEAL OF MONEY FOR THE EXPERIENCE. HALF OF US HAD HEATERS TO WARM THE ROOMS.

Guest rating:

16/12/2019

"Disappointing "

This hotel is looking very tired and in need of modernisation. Our room was so small, it should have been described as a single room. The double bed was pushed against a wall and the bathroom was in great need of modernisation.

Guest rating:

13/12/2019

"Good hotel "

A beautiful hotel with friendly staff. Nice room & very clean. Could have done with some glasses in the room & the bathroom was showing signs of wear & tear. I`d happily stay again

Guest rating:

6/12/2019

"-"

The hotel is well placed with good access to tube stations, Oxford Street and other shopping areas. The staff are very helpful and friendly but the hotel is very tired and in need if some refurbishment. It was very cold during our stay in early December and we needed additional heating in our room

Guest rating:

28/11/2019

"Welcoming - thank you"

A comfortable hotel - lovely to have an upgrade. Very quiet the first night, but unfortunately the second night was broken on and off by some noisy residents in the corridor. Great location, easy access for public transport. Value for money.

Guest rating:

24/11/2019

"Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Thistle Hyde Park hotel"

We had a lovely spacious junior suite. The hotel was closely located to the tube station and not far from the centre of Leicester Square. I The hotel staff were very friendly and accommodating and we would certainly recommend the hotel !

Guest rating:

2/11/2019

"-"

We felt that the room was well below standard for a four star mould in in bathroom spider webs on light fittings cracked flaking paint on walls

Guest rating:

16/10/2019

"Just ok"

Checked it & were given a key card. Opened the room door to discover people were in it. Went back to reception & waited & waited 20 minutes later we were told we were in the wrong hotel! Not amused & im sure the people we walked in on weren`t amused either. Trekked to the sister hotel and were greeted by Stacey who was delightful. Hotel very damp smelling & cold. When we asked about heat we were told heat came on mid October

Guest rating:

7/10/2019

"-"

We visited The Thistle Hyde Park for my husband`s 70th birthday and to meet his family in London. The staff were extremely helpful and upgraded our room to a lovely large room overlooking Hyde Park. The hotel was in an excellent location with a really good breakfast. I would recommend this hotel.Thank you to the staff who certainly made my husband`s birthday a few days to remember.

Guest rating:

6/10/2019

"Shabby room"

When we arrived the reception area was very nice, our room however not so. The smell of damp hit us as soon as we opened the door. We were too tired to complain at the time and thought it`s only a room to sleep in. Although the bed was a small double against a wall. In the night it rained, we were in the 2nd floor and the dripping from the ceiling woke us up at 7am! The hotel apologised and gave us free breakfast and offered 50% refund. Judging by the state of the ceiling beforehand this is an ongoing problem. I think Thistle need to spend some money on this hotel. Very disappointed

Guest rating:

15/9/2019

"Very Tired "

Bathroom nothing short of disgusting, black mould, broken tiles and everything very very tired. Useless air conditioning and only a small widow opening for ventilation.Balcony doors triple locked, they say "for customers safety". Even the chandelier in the room looked like something from faulty towers, 2 arms broken off altogether and 2 snapped and hanging down. This hotel may have got its rating many years ago but if you have even moderate standards give it a miss. If that`s what the bathroom is like heaven only knows what the state of the kitchens are in. Needless to say we didn`t eat there.

Guest rating:

11/9/2019

"Lovely and clean but bathroom let`s it down "

Toilet slopped to the left felt very uncomfortable. Bath taps and overflow rusty . Sounded like a road drill when you put the hot tap on and no water at all on are last morning. Bathroom did let the stay down

Guest rating:

30/8/2019

"Not a 4 star hotel"

Room poor. No air conditioning ( fan provided). Light bulb blown in wall light. Bedside table lamps didn`t work. Long dark hair found on bedside table (I`m blond ). In the bathroomAir conditioning not working (fan provided). Light bulb not working in wall light above the bed, bedside table lamps not working. Long black hair found on bedside table (I`m blond!) Bathroom in need of redecorating grouting split between bath and floor. Very poor indeed - extremely disappointed

Guest rating:

26/8/2019

"We had room 133, we had a lot of noise through the night disturbing our sleep, "

Our 4th visit to the hotel and the worst night sleep ever, a lot of noise sounded like a ships horn but probably pipes vibrating,Told the check out staff who only said sorry no reduction in the overnight rate, may not bother next time we visit the capital we will try somewhere else

Guest rating:

20/6/2019

"Very friendly cabs helpful staff"

Guest rating:

10/6/2019

"-"

very helpful staff lovely comfortable clean rooms Fabulous stay thamkyou

Guest rating:

14/4/2019

"Great "

Lovely hotel

Guest rating:

25/11/2018

"Comfortable and clean. Staff friendly, good location with the Park and tube stations so close. "

Guest rating:

26/10/2018

"so so"

Adequate, tired hotel, needs a kick up the proverbials to bring into line with other prestigious hotels. room 125 was large and dull arranged over the slamming of the front door throughout the evening. Thank you for deciding we merited special attention and allocating us this room.

Guest rating:

3/6/2018

"-"

Full of character. Great location opposite entrance to Hyde park and 5 minute walk to tube. Comfy beds, spacious room (junior suite) - views of the park. Lovely breakfast - buffet style - REAL coffee 128077;. Helpful staff, smiley and warm.

Hotel response from Hotel Operations Manager

5/6/2018

Dear guest,Thank you so much for this nice feedback.Will make sure this is passed on to the team.Kind RegardsCeline T

Guest rating:

9/2/2018

"very welcomig nice rooms good breakfast"

Guest rating:

16/12/2017

"Really Nice Hotel In A Great Location"

Very good hotel, very friendly staff and great location. Visited London many times and this is the best stay we have had. Will certainly stay again.

Guest rating:

24/11/2017

"-"

Great location, but the hotel itself is worn and tired. Our bathroom had water stains in the bath and worn enamel and the room had paint peeling on the wall. The staff were very friendly and attentive though.

Guest rating:

17/11/2017

"Terrible!"

Bathroom filthy, grouting missing, taps loose and rentokill packets under the bed - not what you expect from a 4 star hotel!

Guest rating:

19/4/2017

"Well located hotel...2 minutes from the tube"

A lovely traditional hotel, overlooking Kensington Gardens. The room was perfect in size for 3 of us, however, the bathrooms need some TLC...some regrouting, loose tap and toilet flush had to be looked at.Good choice for breakfast and staff were lovely and very helpful.

Guest rating:

9/4/2017

"Perfect location "

Very clean hotel in a fab location! 2 mins from the bus stop and tube station. I would definitely book this hotel again as it is in a lovely quiet location, overlooking Hyde park but your not far from the hustle and bustle of oxford street!

Guest rating:

31/3/2017

"Lovely Hotel "

Lovely hotel friendly helpful staff . Ideally situated for central London attractions . We would definitely return

Guest rating:

30/3/2017

"-"

Very comfortable room. Pleasant and helpful staff.

Guest rating:

29/3/2017

"The staff were lovely & very helpful. Hotel was immaculate & well worth a visit, would go again."

Guest rating:

26/3/2017

"Great location, very clean, staff very welcoming "

Guest rating:

21/2/2017

"-"

A very nice hotel

Guest rating:

7/2/2017

"-"

Excellent old fashioned hotel on. Great location next to Hyde Park. Would benefit from an upgrade in the plumbing systeM but that was a small price to pay for otherwise high quality and great service

Guest rating:

20/11/2016

"Dirty bedding"

We thought the hotel very nice until we came to getting into bed, bedding is dirty , I have taken a picture

Guest rating:

31/10/2016

"An old fashioned hotel of good quality. "

We were happy with everything but the plumbing in the bathroom need upgrading.

Guest rating:

11/8/2016

"-"

a lovely hotel and staff.had to ring reception on first night at 1.30am because of noise. it was sorted and the staff apollogised.they cant help inconsiderate guests.will be back.

Guest rating:

4/8/2016

"Handy location"

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, close to the two tubes which takes you on either the Central or District lines, good restaurants in Bayswater just 3 min walk away. Hotel staff excellent especially Barbara on reception she couldn`t have done enough for us.

Guest rating:

12/7/2016

"Standard hotel absolutely fine for an overnight stay."

Although it was a fairly hot day, the bedroom, and the hotel in general, was like an oven. Walking into the downstairs toilets was like entering a sauna. Cold water tap in the bedroom was luke warm... not cold. No alternative drinking water in the room.Whilst i appreciate its London 24.00 for 1 nights parking is extreme.

Guest rating:

27/6/2016

"Lovely hotel, very clean and good service"

Only one problem and that was that our room was very hot, the air conditioning did not appear to be working correctly and the radiator in the bathroom was boiling hot! This made it very difficult sleeping as we were there in June.

by Secure Internet

Or tel Reservations on: 0800 633 8000 (+44 1872 261 100)

Mon-Sat: 9am-8pm. Sat: 9am-5.30pm. Sun: 10am-6:30pm.

Our review system

Guest reviews and ratings are submitted to Hotel Direct by our customers immediately after check-out. They are un-edited.

With Hotel Direct you can make your break for LESS money. It's cheaper because when you book a break, we pass on special discounts for packages from hotels and train companies as well as making the total price lower. And you'll make a break in LESS time because in one place you can book your hotel, your train plus 1000s of shows, events and attractions.