The Grand at Trafalgar Square reviews

Hotel Direct invites all departing guests to rate and review their chosen hotel.

To ensure our guest evaluation is always up to date and to allow for hotel improvements, our Hotel Score is the mean of the most recent 100 guest ratings.

Hotel Score:

89%  based on 566 reviews

<<   More reviews >>

Guest rating:

17/1/2015

"-"

perfectly situated, 50 yds from Trafalgar Square. Fantastic hotel and reception staff. Breakfast way too expensive though.

Guest rating:

21/12/2014

"Location Location Location"

I was worried at first about the noise when staying in this hotel, so near to Charing Cross and Trafalgar Square, I can honestly say i had nothing to worry about i had a great nights sleep, and it was as quiet as a mouse. The staff are all very pleasant and polite. The hotel is in a great location, that we easily reached our show destination quickly.

Guest rating:

21/12/2014

"very comfortable"

Very good looking hotel. Clean n comfortable

Guest rating:

14/12/2014

"Not good value."

Guest rating:

14/12/2014

"-"

Room was a bit cold

Guest rating:

6/12/2014

"-"

Excellent location, within walking distance of charing cross, and most west end theatres, plenty of restaurants within a short walk. Trafalgar square., Covent garden, Leicester square all within easy walking distance, ideal location for this type of break.

Guest rating:

6/12/2014

"Loved my stay here"

An excellent excellent hotel 2 mins from trafalgar, and a very friendly great experience , upgraded for only 25 have a huge suite now , very happy

Guest rating:

1/12/2014

"-"

Good central location, value for money considering location. Room facilities very good, bed really comfortable. Didn`t use any other facilities ie bar, gym etc but all there if needed.

Guest rating:

25/11/2014

"Good location for all sightseeing and thr"

Guest rating:

22/11/2014

"disapointed."

the hotel was ok. nothing bad, just expected more. room was small, materials in the room felt like it been hit by ikea, nothing had a posh feel, all felt cheap. staff were quiet miserable. asked for a parking ticket for a 15% discount which was like pulling teeth and when I tried to use it, it didn`t work. I will not be staying there again.

Guest rating:

16/11/2014

"VERY GRAND YET AFFORDABLE IN TRAFALGER SQUARE!"

WE HAD A FANTASTIC TRIPLE ROOM IN THE 4 STAR GRAND HOTEL, CENTRAL FOR EVERYTHING! CHEAPER THAN WOULD BE EXPECTED! RECOMMENDED!

Guest rating:

16/11/2014

"Good"

Beautiful hotel room small for 3 people

Guest rating:

16/11/2014

"Grand place to stay"

Fabulous location. Fabulous hotel

Guest rating:

10/11/2014

"stay at this hotel perfect location everything you need is thought of for you staff wonderful highly"

fabulous location walking distance to all tourist attractions perfect location for all theatres staff could not be more helpful room wonderful from everything thought of for you even an umbrella, great idea lockers on each floor and water and ice machines all restuarants next to hotel great prices and wonderful food cannot wait to return perfect location for theatre breaks

Guest rating:

2/11/2014

"Disappointing"

Service not as good as expected for a hotel in this price band. Have received better in premier inn. One example. On arrival only one pillow per person . I called reception and requested more and was told there were supply stores in the hallways and to go and look. I did all were empty . Again called reception and then we were given extra pillows. I did not feel I wanted to dine at the hotel Incase I was asked to cook myself.

Guest rating:

1/11/2014

"-"

Special treat for my son,the hotel was wonderful,central and easy to find.The staff were great and provided him with a birthday basket on arrival ,they were more than helpful throughout our stay.Thankyou,

Guest rating:

27/10/2014

"-"

Good location and room is nice! Shame about whoever must have been smoking on our floor not sure that was even allowed anymore now with the new laws? Other than that would stay again!

Guest rating:

10/10/2014

"excellent hotel would recommend to anyone"

Guest rating:

4/10/2014

"Hotel location perfect nice comfortable atmosphere "

Guest rating:

27/9/2014

"-"

Free upgrade to a superior room, would have been disappointed I feel had that not happened. The room was nice, not massive but fine for 2 people, stingy on the tea and coffee supplies but water and ice available in the corridor. Would stay again for over night, not sure about extended stay, definitely taught my husband a lesson about walking around in the nude when house keeping tried to come in at 9am

Guest rating:

26/9/2014

"Well situated, would stay there again."

Handy for west end,shows and reasonable priced eating places

Guest rating:

20/9/2014

"Lovely hotel, clean, great room, throughly enjoyed my trip."

Guest rating:

17/9/2014

"location location perfect spot for all shops bars and restaurants "

We had a lovely room our only gripe was the tea an coffee maker what is wrong with a Kettle water was luke warm staff were lovely and very helpful loved the happy hours in Bianco`s we would be more than happy to return

Guest rating:

8/9/2014

"Staff at the hotel were fantastic "

We found that the staff at the Grand Trafalgar Sq could not do enough for us. they were exceptionally helpfull and frendly. Thank you so much for making the stay in London excelent.

Guest rating:

30/8/2014

"-"

Welcoming staff, clean comfortable rooms - excellent facilities and enjoyed eating at Boyds

Guest rating:

30/8/2014

"-"

Very stylish hotel. Beautiful reception and lounge. The service is faultless. Only little wrinkle is some iffy UHT milk sachets.

Guest rating:

28/8/2014

"Grand at Trafalger Square"

Lovely hotel, breakfast very expensive!!

Guest rating:

21/8/2014

"exceeded expectations "

Fantastic hotel, far better than expected. .. will definitely stay again

Guest rating:

18/8/2014

"Expensive for what it is"

Rooms are ok, bathrooms and showers are very small. I appreciate there is only so much room available, but the shower was very very small. Hotel lacks personality in my opinion. Front desk staff were nice enough when you got their attention, until then you might as well be a piece of furniture. I do like staff to at least make eye contact and acknowledge me being there, even if they are too busy right at that second to deal with me.

Guest rating:

15/8/2014

"Great location and nice hotel"

Hotel TV no easily viewable from bed as to left of bed. Remote control well used as all white numbers off the device. Miserly with only two tea bags for two in room and morning and evening tea. When asked for copy of final bill they would not provide such and this needs immediate change. Check in was not easy as the computer for self-service was not easy so reception did it. Water down the hall and very good. Food pricey. Location off the Square great and ease to Theatre great. Room clean and all worked. Sleep was great as linen wonderful.

Guest rating:

14/8/2014

"no maid service"

no maid service, poor communication.

Guest rating:

13/8/2014

"Pleasantly surprised"

For the price we paid for our theatre break we didn`t expect too much from the Hotel. We were very pleased with it - easy to find, within walking distance of the theatre and many other local attractions. The Hotel was spotless and staff very friendly. While the room was small it was modern and comfortable. We particularly liked the idea of the bottled water in the corridor. We will definitely stay here again.

Guest rating:

5/8/2014

"-"

Absolutely great service, we had an issue with a nights stay and they were great at solving this problem and staff were very friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay here again

Guest rating:

1/8/2014

"Great location for theatre breaks and other site seeing"

Guest rating:

25/7/2014

"-"

reception / check was very poor. I had booked and confirmed by phone with yourselves a twin room. they had allocated me a double room. When I complained they said they could convert the double into a twin by splitting the beds. They then charged me 12 per night to do this. I had to ask them to do it five times before the finally did it and even then I had to go to reception and raise my voice before the did it. The manager on the phone to her staff said it needed to be done as I was "pissed off ". Exceptionally poor customer service. I have used yourselves many times and this is the fist time I have had a problem. Hotel location was good. Breakfast was way over priced and of poor quality and limited choice. room as noisy as building work was underway outside my window. Hotel has aspirations way above the customer service on display.

Guest rating:

25/7/2014

"Room great, see comments about breakfast at body`s"

Breakfast menu very unclear, ie what drinks with what menu, didn`t get our ordered drinks, sadly waiter had hardly spoke hardly envy english, although was very nice. Small full english, half a tomato, half a mushroom, greasy eggs, did not state childrens menu cost less

Guest rating:

25/7/2014

"Booked a twin room to find out it was a double. Not good when Gran and Grandson sharing"

Guest rating:

10/7/2014

"Great location, awful rooms"

Hotel direct advertises this hotels rooms at well over the standard hotel rate.....

Guest rating:

13/6/2014

"recommnded"

Very comfortable, quiet room and most helpful staff in both reception and dining room. Perfect location for what we doing in Whitehall. Will certainly book there again should we need to be in that area.

Guest rating:

19/5/2014

"Good functional room"

Very nice, clean convenient hotel - but it is a little "sterile" as planned for the business traveller.

by Secure Internet

Or tel Reservations on: 0800 633 8000 (+44 1872 261 100)

Mon-Sat: 9am-8pm. Sat: 9am-5.30pm. Sun: 10am-6:30pm.

Our review system

Guest reviews and ratings are submitted to Hotel Direct by our customers immediately after check-out. They are un-edited.

With Hotel Direct you can make your break for LESS money. It's cheaper because when you book a break, we pass on special discounts for packages from hotels and train companies as well as making the total price lower. And you'll make a break in LESS time because in one place you can book your hotel, your train plus 1000s of shows, events and attractions.