Castle Hotel reviews

Hotel Direct invites all departing guests to rate and review their chosen hotel.

To ensure our guest evaluation is always up to date and to allow for hotel improvements, our Hotel Score is the mean of the most recent 100 guest ratings.

Hotel Score:

89%  based on 164 reviews

<<   More reviews >>

Guest rating:

9/2/2015

"Nice central location "

Enjoyed my stay booked a single room, got a double so wasn`t disappointed, room wasn`t very big but as you only need it for sleep very adequate, bathroom was very spacious and clean. Hotel staff very friendly, the only thing I was disappointed in was when I went for breakfast, gave my room number and was told to go to the downstairs breakfast room, no one there to greet me? Only continental breakfast on show with toasters to help yourself, it was only after I`d done some toast and sat down I realised the butter was available on the table, so for future guests, if no one greets you just sit at a table then one of the staff will ask what you would like for your cooked breakfast full Irish or something of your choice ? They`ll also bring you your yea/coffee. Overall enjoyed my stay here and Dublin and would definatly book the Castle Hotel again

Guest rating:

30/1/2015

"Great people"

Nice Hotel Great staff. Breakfast room staff and food wonderful. Dinner Room and Bar downstairs cold uninviting. Rooms ok TV was not working well and noise from others and car park.high also construction going on in the hotel even after hours.. Safe area

Guest rating:

24/1/2015

"enjoyable stay"

We really enjoyed our stay at the castle hotel.rooms were warm and comfortable. Staff were polite and friendly. We would definitely recommend the castle hotel to anyone

Guest rating:

16/1/2015

"Lovely stay - nothing was too much trouble for the staff"

The hotel & Staff were first class all the way - had a lovely stay thank you very much

Guest rating:

11/1/2015

"Welcoming"

Great place, breakfast superb, live music in the bar, all staff very friendly

Guest rating:

1/12/2014

"Fantastic Stay"

Hotel staff were brilliant. Hotel was lovely and clean. Food was great. Fantastic stay in Dublin and will be back. Would stay at Castle Hotel again. Close to everything. Price we paid was excellent. Great breakfast.

Guest rating:

30/11/2014

"Reasonable value"

Reasonable good location, good breakfast and room was clean. Didn`t spead much time in room as we were out and about. Room wasnt very big but it was fine. Bed was very comfortable and our room was quite. Will be back.

Guest rating:

30/11/2014

"Thoroughly enjoyed our two night stay.breakfast and dinner in restaurant very good.Recommend "

Guest rating:

30/11/2014

"enjoyed our stay and will return in the future "

Staff where helpful at all times. Food was good and plenty of it .

Guest rating:

25/11/2014

"+hotel with character"

lovely hotel full of character .our room was a bit cold but the comfy bed was really warm.the staff were very good entertainment good and the breakfasts delicious thanks ...

Guest rating:

24/11/2014

"Great hotel "

Great hotel to stay in staff were lovely and very helpful in helping me and my gf find our way around and the rooms were lovely and tidy and clean and the food was nice aswell, would recommend it to anyone and would stay at it again.

Guest rating:

3/11/2014

"-"

Very comfortable, quiet and friendly with excellent breakfast. Will stay at the Castle again. Thank you.

Guest rating:

30/10/2014

"Good location good breakfast comfortable"

A reasonably priced hotel in the centre of Dublin. The breakfast was plentiful and tasty. The beds fine and the en-suite excellent - the shower was good. Unfortunately the TV didn`t really work except on one channel and was fuzzy

Guest rating:

26/10/2014

"-"

Fabulous hotel, lovely staff, decor, great location, can find no fault with anything there, will be staying there again on next visit to Dublin, thank you for making our short break great, would recommend every time

Guest rating:

20/10/2014

"A good central hotel in Dublin"

Staff are helpful and efficient . Ate both nights in their restaurant as food was very good . Nice to have entertainment at night x

Guest rating:

5/10/2014

"Warming Irish hospitality at The Castle Hotel, Dublin"

Stayed Friday &Saturday night. Could not fault hotel or the staff. They made my 4 friends and I feel very welcome with good accommodation, food and hospitality. Very convenient for central amenities just north of O`Connell Street. Would certainly recommend it .

Guest rating:

3/10/2014

"met all our expectations.value for money and a excellent breakfast."

Guest rating:

1/10/2014

"Just lovely"

A lovely hotel, warm and comfortable and the staff were delightful.

Guest rating:

20/9/2014

"Brilliant stay with helpful staff"

Guest rating:

17/9/2014

"Visited the Castle Hotel in Dublin in September 2014"

Period hotel with friendly staff. Enjoyed the Irish music that was in the bar one evening. Only problem was the noise of traffic at night and the creaking stairs. However, if you are looking for a good hotel and are on a budget this hotel ticks all the boxes. Breakfast service fast and efficient - cooked breakfasts available.

Guest rating:

16/9/2014

"Friendly, helpful, comfortable hotel providing good quality meals and entertainment. "

Guest rating:

15/9/2014

"-"

It was a great hotel with fantastic staff nothing was too much trouble

Guest rating:

31/8/2014

"-"

Very good hotel. The staff are all very friendly and happy to help should you need it. The Castle Vaults serves excellent food on a daily basis and it is well worth heading down there to listen to some Irish Folk Songs on the occassional night. Very local to the City Centre and many attractions meaning that everything is well within walking distance. Would highly recommend this hotel.

Guest rating:

25/8/2014

"Nice"

Guest rating:

23/8/2014

"-"

Really enjoyed our stay. The room was very nice and clean and we had a lovely breakfast. Will stay there in future.

Guest rating:

23/8/2014

"-"

Convenient location,friendly staff,decent breakfast and cheap on-site parking make this a good choice business or pleasure.

Guest rating:

5/8/2014

"Enjoyable stay at the Castle Hotel Dublin"

Friendly well situated hotel. Enjoyable short stay Friday to Monday

Guest rating:

5/7/2014

"Nice hotel, good price"

Really helpful friendly staff, clean rooms and a central location. Very pleased with the night we stayed. Would definitely recommend and stay again.

Guest rating:

2/7/2014

"Lovely Hotel"

We really enjoyed our stay. The room was clean and comfortable, breakfast was very good, we liked that you ordered the hot food part of the breakfast. Staff were friendly and helpful. Only negatives were the check in time was later than it said on the booking site we booked our room through so we were left sitting around in the foyer then when we did get in the room we were disturbed by one of the cleaners starting to let herself in our room! These things happen and on the whole it was a very good hotel for the price we paid. We would stay definitely stay again.

Guest rating:

9/6/2014

"Staff were friendly and efficient"

We arrived early in Dublin (10 A.M.) The check in was at 2, the friendly face at the reception took our bags and deposited them for safety in a locked room. We were made very welcome during our stay at the Castle, the room was clean and spacious and all of the staff were both friendly and informative when asked for guidance regarding how to get to certain destinations. The evening meals are recommended and we would have no problems in recommending The Castle to anyone

Guest rating:

28/5/2014

"Noisy, traffic all evening and night. Could hear lady next door shouting and laughing most of night."

Exhausted, good area, nice rooms and sitting area etc, but too noisy, can`t close windows often because of the heat.... Too warm. Thanks

Guest rating:

19/5/2014

"-"

Excellent hotel to stay walking distance all rooms excellent staff very polite and friendly food great cannot find any faults with this hotel would stay here again highly reccomend

Guest rating:

17/5/2014

"Friendly staff good location "

Friendly -Clean - Great breakfast

Guest rating:

2/5/2014

"working in hotel workmen start before 8"

Guest rating:

26/4/2014

"Great city centre hotel situated within a short distance of all the major attractions."

Guest rating:

2/4/2014

"-"

clean rooms and friendly and helpful staff.

Guest rating:

1/3/2014

"Average hotel "

Hotel was ok the staff were good only thing we found fault with was at breakfast it seemed they was trying to get you out as soon as possible I was only on my 2nd spoon of cornflakes when my cooked brekkie arrived I duly sent it back only for it to be returned when I was ready in a very dry condition as it had been put in oven to keep warm alas this happened both days

Guest rating:

18/2/2014

"Friendly professional service from start to end of stay"

When arrived were told that our rooms were ready (9am) and that as we were leaving early on the last day could have our breakfast for that morning now. Very pleasant stay will be back here when in Ireland again thank you. J pipe

Guest rating:

10/2/2014

"Not a bad hotel,not the best either."

Shower curtain over the bath did not fit properly so it stuck to you when you showered,beds not very good and the breakfast was a bit of a let down, the food in the restaurant was good and the Guinness was great,the best thing about the hotel is Mick the barman he was great best barman I`ve seen and very friendly,all in all we had a great weekend.

Guest rating:

4/2/2014

"-"

Hotel was very clean staff friendly & helpful & decent location. Our room 121 was not warm & had a lot of traffic noise.

by Secure Internet

Or tel Reservations on: 0800 633 8000 (+44 1872 261 100)

Mon-Sat: 9am-8pm. Sat: 9am-5.30pm. Sun: 10am-6:30pm.

Our review system

Guest reviews and ratings are submitted to Hotel Direct by our customers immediately after check-out. They are un-edited.

With Hotel Direct you can make your break for LESS money. It's cheaper because when you book a break, we pass on special discounts for packages from hotels and train companies as well as making the total price lower. And you'll make a break in LESS time because in one place you can book your hotel, your train plus 1000s of shows, events and attractions.