The Z Hotel City reviews

Hotel Direct invites all departing guests to rate and review their chosen hotel.

To ensure our guest evaluation is always up to date and to allow for hotel improvements, our Hotel Score is the mean of the most recent 100 guest ratings.

Hotel Score:

91%  based on 168 reviews

More reviews >>

Guest rating:

25/11/2019

"Compact clean and friendly"

Clean contemporary compact rooms. Tea, coffee, drinking chocolate were very welcome after the sight seeing comfortable beds and big TV with access to films etc. In room shower and WC again compact but good. Close to Chancery Lane and temple underground stations. Walking distance to Tower of London we would use z hotels again.

Guest rating:

29/10/2019

"Great staff who were very helpful and friendly, very clean and fresh rooms."

Great staff who were very helpful and friendly, very clean and fresh rooms. Double room very good but space and privacy in the family was a real issue. I would not book the family room again, far too small.

Guest rating:

13/10/2019

"Family room like a box"

The family room we booked wasn`t cheap and was the smallest room I have ever stayed in. We really struggled to move with 3 adults in there and it was impossible to get ready. Was rather disappointing as booked for a friends special birthday

Guest rating:

13/10/2019

"Clean and comfortable and very convenient location. "

I stayed on the recommendation of my sister-in-law, and as I needed a place to sleep after attending a formal dinner at Greenwich with boat transfer there and back from Temple Pier, Z Hotel City could not have been more convenient, being just a few minutes walk from Temple Pier and Temple Underground Station. I had a compact room with no windows but this didn`t matter as I was only there to sleep, it was clean and comfortable and it did have the benefit of being quiet. Unfortunately time did not permit me to take advantage of the complimentary cheese and wine in the evening - next time! I booked through Hotel Direct and a couple of days before my stay I received an arrival assurance email with directions for getting there by Tube, by Train, and by Car; I would suggest it should include arriving by bus, particularly as there are bus stops nearby, with one right outside the front door from which I was able to catch the No 11 bus to Victoria in the morning. I`ll be back.

Guest rating:

2/10/2019

"Poor! Shocking solution to the problem given by management!!"

On the morning of our departure from this hotel we woke to find there was NO WATER! We were unable to shower, wash ourselves, brush our teeth, even use the TOILET!!! When I contacted reception, I was told by a female member of staff (who told me she was the manager, at the time) the we could take a taxi to the "sister hotel" to use their facilities! At no time did she offer any assistance with a taxi, which I thought should be the duty of the hotel. I was travelling with my sister and my 86 year old mother on a birthday treat for "mum" and had a train to catch later that morning therefore a trip across London was not feasible!! Sadly the whole trip was ruined as we had to travel home to the North of England feeling dirty, unwashed and extremely uncomfortable!! Will definitely NOT be recommending this hotel.

Guest rating:

29/9/2019

"-"

Very clean and tidy and well placed for visiting various london attractions. Must book a queen outside room though as inside one are very small

Guest rating:

12/8/2019

"-"

Very clean ,well equipped, nice staff 100%

Guest rating:

17/7/2019

"-"

Very clean, polite staff who were very helpful and pleasant at all times. Centrally located and a short walk from the Theatre. The Restaurant was disappointing due to 20 minute wait on the first morning and due to their error. Sat waiting while others were served yet no staff noticing. No refund ! I would definitely stay there again.

Guest rating:

29/6/2019

"-"

Nothing too much trouble, The hotel put balloons and some chocolates in our room as it was my daughter`s birthday. The staff were welcoming, professional and friendly. hotel was very clean and in a great location for the tube at Temple and the theatres and restaurants. We were very pleasantly surprised by the complimentary chees and wine on offer which was a bonus, check out at 11.00 was also great. A lovely stay Thanks you - we will be back.

Guest rating:

9/6/2019

"-"

Excellent hotel room. Rather small but well equipped and spotlessly clean. Breakfast facilities excellent. All staff very friendly and helpful.

Guest rating:

2/6/2019

"Perfect place for an overnight stop"

Good clean and tidy with all you need for a night away as long as you don`t want lots of room to do it

Guest rating:

13/5/2019

"Be certain of your requirements"

Ideal for a one or two night stay on business, probably for a single travellor. This is modular and therefore rather too cramped for two people, although there are double bunk beds. The shower is excellent and the towels are plentiful and as fluffy as London hard water will allow. The breakfast cafe is surprisingly good. You can`t complain about the price of the room or the meal.

Guest rating:

8/4/2019

"Great hotel"

Guest rating:

28/1/2019

"Fabulous location "

The hotel offered the best location to not only the theatre but to central London.

Guest rating:

27/1/2019

"Brilliant service, 5 minute walk to theatre."

Excellent hotel, rooms although small were spotlessly clean, new towels, coffee/tea making available in room. Breakfast was delicious and worth paying for the night before to get reduction on price. Will definitely be staying here again on our next theatre break.

Guest rating:

20/12/2018

"-"

Hotel staff were friendly and helpful . The room was clean and modern , but very small for 4 people. The beds were very comfortable! The free wine and cheese from 5-8 pm was a surprise treat!

Guest rating:

9/12/2018

"Excellent service clean rooms friendly staff will most certainly recommend and be using again "

Guest rating:

25/11/2018

"Stunning "

Such a lovely hotel, very comfy and clean. Sweet touches included, absolutely loved it.

Guest rating:

18/11/2018

"-"

Clean rooms, on the small side, no where to sit only on the bed.Free wine and cheese helped to make up for it .

Guest rating:

30/10/2018

"It does what it says on the tin."

It was brilliantly clean, staff were superb. Although our Z family Queen room was small it was perfect for our 3 nights. Wasn`t keen on the frosted glass door to the toilet- not enough privacy. The location in Fleet street was brilliant for exploring without spending hours on the tube.. The Z website gave the impression that buffet breakfast was included- it is but only at weekends. The attached Zest caf was good but expensive. We used the near by Tesco Extra to buy snacks for breakfast and the rest of the day.. We would be happy to go back to the Z - Recommended

Guest rating:

20/10/2018

"-"

Lovely little hotel ,great location to the west end. Small but well fitted out rooms. Very pleasant staff. Great for one or two nights.

Guest rating:

16/10/2018

"Very nice hotel"

The room was very clean a nice modern style small but functional for short stays .The cheese and wine was welcome as it was complimentary overall I can thourghly

Guest rating:

10/9/2018

"EXCELLENT Hotel"

This is a great hotel, very very central and although rooms are smaller it`s perfectly good. I will definitely stay here again.

Guest rating:

23/8/2018

"-"

Very good would return and recommend

Guest rating:

12/8/2018

"Lovely hotel. "

The rooms are quite small, but don`t let that stop you from booking! They are spotlessly clean, and have little things you wouldn`t get with a larger company i.e cotton buds, cotton pads, sky tv with all the channels. We have thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would book again!

Guest rating:

10/8/2018

"Very organised and clean "

The staff that I talked to were very helpful i.e. Checking person was very clear and we had a breakfast and the person serving us was very helpful plus the food was excellent.

Guest rating:

5/8/2018

"Good service and location."

Rooms small but clean.Comfortable bed.Excellent for the money.Good location.

Guest rating:

28/7/2018

"-"

All though the hotel was modern and spotless,I would not stay there again the room had no window and was so was so small I felt like I was in a container ,very cloister phobic.

Guest rating:

10/7/2018

"Friendly, helpful staff, clean hotel, ideally situated for most things, free cheese and wine !."

Great all round hotel.... rooms are very small though.

Guest rating:

8/7/2018

"-"

Very small compact room, but was clean and functional

Guest rating:

30/6/2018

"A wonderful stay in the heart of the city"

We were pleasantly surprised by the care and hospitality we received from the staff here yesterday night. Arrived to be served a refreshing glass of iced tea before a very efficient check-in and finding our room. A spotlessly clean room with all we needed, comfy large bed, great shower and air conditioning for this hot weather. We were most impressed of all by the free cheese and wine buffet laid on between 5 and 8pm, perfect after our long journey. That makes it worth staying at any time we need a room in London again! Thank you

Guest rating:

7/6/2018

"Only Drawback The Rooms Are Very Small, Otherwise Very Good."

Guest rating:

3/6/2018

"Small, clean"

Great service. Hoho was truly fabulous

Guest rating:

21/4/2018

"Modern, chic, friendly staff"

Highly recommend ..for one or two nights.. Bus stop straight outside.. We used Citymapper app to get about on nudes.. Highly recommend that too :)

Guest rating:

15/4/2018

"-"

The hotel was immaculate and the staff were very helpful Enjoyed our stay

Guest rating:

28/3/2018

"-"

The staff were great, and the contents of the room were of a very high quality. However, we booked a room with a window and we knew the room was going to be small, but the first room was absolutely ridiculous. We had to pass each other sideways and move our hand luggage around if it wasn`t on the bed. We eventually got another room, because of the noise (like a large engine running in the room next door), and though the room was very similar, and was only marginally bigger, it was an acceptable size.

Guest rating:

27/3/2018

"Stress free trip"

Lovely clean room, nice modern hotel, friendly staff, complimentary cheese & wine 128512;

Guest rating:

25/3/2018

"-"

Yes room small but most importantly it was clean and had everything you need from water and tea making facilities to toiletries and hairdryer. I would recommend this hotel.

Guest rating:

18/3/2018

"-"

Hotel room very small but everything adequate for a short stay. Absolutely spotless and staff were brilliant. Small problem on arrival with aircon in room but it was dealt with immediately without any hesitation.

Guest rating:

18/2/2018

"Z hotel City "

by Secure Internet

Or tel Reservations on: 0800 633 8000 (+44 1872 261 100)

Mon-Sat: 9am-8pm. Sat: 9am-5.30pm. Sun: 10am-6:30pm.

Our review system

Guest reviews and ratings are submitted to Hotel Direct by our customers immediately after check-out. They are un-edited.

With Hotel Direct you can make your break for LESS money. It's cheaper because when you book a break, we pass on special discounts for packages from hotels and train companies as well as making the total price lower. And you'll make a break in LESS time because in one place you can book your hotel, your train plus 1000s of shows, events and attractions.