Guy Fawkes Inn reviews

Hotel Direct invites all departing guests to rate and review their chosen hotel.

To ensure our guest evaluation is always up to date and to allow for hotel improvements, our Hotel Score is the mean of the most recent 100 guest ratings.

Hotel Score:

83%  based on 11 reviews

Guest rating:

18/4/2022

"Overall stay very comfortable and staff so helpful. "

Hotel in excellent position for visiting all attractions. Rooms very clean and comfortable. The manager Leaonie was so helpful finding us a table when we hadn`t booked in advanced. She also introduced us to David Haw a brilliant guide,so knowledgeable. An Easter egg left for us was also lovely touch.

Guest rating:

20/2/2022

"unfortunate stay due to weather conditions"

We really enjoyed our first night at the guy fawkes inn, but due to weather conditions `we had to travel back early, therefore we were not able to complete our stay, we were quite annoyed that we were not offered a refund, or at least a half price stay in the future through no fault of our own..

Guest rating:

17/12/2021

"-"

Very good staff, good food, the only problems with room 14 1) Don`t be over 5ft tall or you will end up with a very sore head2) Bathroom wash basin hot water tap very little or even no waterOtherwise well situated for everywhere in york and a good place to stay

Guest rating:

21/10/2021

"-"

Room cold, no heating. Breakfast poor, cooked breakfast not made fresh, dried up.Staff were very good. Overall it didn`t spoil our short break.

Guest rating:

2/10/2021

"Ideally situated close to York Minster"

Fascinating building & history. Very atmospheric. Our room overlooked the street and it was noisy in the late evening when revellers were returning. The room was also quite cold. The breakfast was excellent and the staff were friendly and efficient

Guest rating:

16/12/2019

"Great Hotel, Great staff "

Stayed here for a long weekend, on arrival Dan realised my husband had walking difficulties and arranged for us to have our room changed from the fourth floor to ground. The room was great,`plenty of room. The breakfast were great, we ate in the restaurant and the foods was amazing. This hotel has great character and above all great staff. Hope to return one day.

Guest rating:

26/11/2019

"-"

Staff friendly, great location.room excellent.Will definitely book here again.

Guest rating:

21/2/2019

"Staff were welcoming, helpful and efficient. The building retained much of its ancient character."

An extraordinarily well placed hotel for visiting York. The room was quaint, mixing a contemporary shower room with a panelled bedroom with a four-poster bed in a room overlooking the Minster. Meals were well cooked and in generous portions. We enjoyed our stay.

Guest rating:

21/1/2019

"-"

Very well sited. Basically a successful pub, with our room opening off the courtyard - might be noisy in summer. Room good, but could do with bedside reading lights

Guest rating:

1/5/2018

"Great location, ok Hotel"

If you want a central location in York for your stay, you can do little better than the Guy Fawkes Inn as it is just yards from the Abbey. The "hotel" isn`t a hotel, it`s an Inn, so don`t expect 4* hotel standards. There were a number of issues with our room which, whilst they didn`t spoil our stay, were disappointing. The wake-up call (Abbey bells at 9am on Sunday morning) was original ;-) and the in-house breakfast was good. Overall, an average "hotel" at best.

by Secure Internet

Or tel Reservations on: 0800 633 8000 (+44 1872 261 100)

Mon-Sat: 9am-8pm. Sat: 9am-5.30pm. Sun: 10am-6:30pm.

Our review system

Guest reviews and ratings are submitted to Hotel Direct by our customers immediately after check-out. They are un-edited.

With Hotel Direct you can make your break for LESS money. It's cheaper because when you book a break, we pass on special discounts for packages from hotels and train companies as well as making the total price lower. And you'll make a break in LESS time because in one place you can book your hotel, your train plus 1000s of shows, events and attractions.