Rochester Hotel by Blue Orchid reviews

Hotel Direct invites all departing guests to rate and review their chosen hotel.

To ensure our guest evaluation is always up to date and to allow for hotel improvements, our Hotel Score is the mean of the most recent 100 guest ratings.

Hotel Score:

81%  based on 57 reviews

More reviews >>

Guest rating:

31/7/2022

"-"

Good value for money. Friendly staff. Great location for apollo victoria

Guest rating:

2/7/2022

"Not impressed at all. Four star in London is like 2 star elsewhere."

Booked a superior twin, upon arrival was told there was a maintenance problem and we were being moved to the hotel next door. That was ok, we were then given our key and while checking in ordered breakfast for the next day and paid in advance as we got a discount. The room had one bed and one fold out sofa, not exactly twin beds as I`d booked We were in the basement and the room was very basic, no dressing table mirror to do make up. The bed itself was quite hard too. The next day we went for breakfast and were told the charge, I mentioned we had paid at check in and we were told to check with reception. We decided to leave breakfast as it was clearly too much to organise and we left. Not good service, let alone great.

Guest rating:

13/6/2022

"Perfect location "

This hotel is in the perfect location for visiting theatre, the hotel is clean and the staff all of them was very helpful friendly, I definitely would stay there again if visiting London and would recommend to anyone looking for a place to stay.

Guest rating:

5/6/2022

"-"

Beautiful hotel in quiet location only 15 minute walk to Buckingham Palace would definitely stay there again

Guest rating:

5/6/2022

"Ok"

Dated room dusty .needs a good deep clean ok for one night expensive for what it was breakfast should be included for that price

Guest rating:

2/6/2022

"-"

Very warm welcome all staff were friendly. Rooms even though a little dated were very clean. Struggled a little with a very busy breakfast sitting. Overall would recommend.

Guest rating:

16/5/2022

"-"

Room was very hot. And really close to the bar. Was it really a superior room.

Guest rating:

27/4/2022

"Comfortable"

Room clean and bed comfortable. Unfortunately bathroom very tight which made it clostraphobic for me

Guest rating:

17/4/2022

"Great location "

Great hotel for tube (Victoria). Hotel a little tired but staff very nice and helpful. Plenty of restaurants in the area

Guest rating:

30/3/2022

"Good location, clean, hospitable staff"

Suitable for my needs as a place to stay whilst attending a conference. Clean tidy cosy tea & coffee facilities. Compact. Lovely breakfast. Easy check in & out

Guest rating:

26/3/2022

"Staff friendly and helpful"

Room clean staff helpful

Guest rating:

8/3/2022

"Excellent location"

On arrival we were informed that we had been upgraded to a better room. We had a pleasant view of some sports fields on the second floor which was nice. However if this was one of the better rooms then I`m glad we were upgraded. Main room is pleasant enough but could do with a bit of TLC. Carpets and curtains looking a bit tired and the bath had holes and dents in it. Having said that staff were helpful and couldn`t do enough for you and bottom line is it`s a decent base with a superb location.

Guest rating:

6/3/2022

"-"

Ideal location. Good rooms, reception staff very helpful and pleasant.

Guest rating:

5/3/2022

"Rochester Hotel"

Guest rating:

23/2/2022

"-"

The hotel was lovely, in a fantastic location. Very clean and tidy. Staff were polite, welcoming and helpful. We had to extend our stay due to the weather as we were unable to get home. This was not a problem because the staff booked us in for another night, this also was the same for many other guests too.I would visit again.

Guest rating:

7/2/2022

"-"

Couldn`t fault room or location and staff extremely polite and helpful.

Guest rating:

1/2/2022

"Rochester by Blue orchid avoid terrible place"

First room had window open in room next door and broken latch in my room, took 3 visits to reception through night to sort,no hot water in room,strange noise in bathroom all night.Second room filthy,spoke to reception showed pictures and said bath washed out after last guests would be nice,and thought with covid room would be thoroughly cleaned after guests,was told well your bed is made though, was told room would be cleaned while out,was still dirty when we returned, I cleaned bath myself as still filthy,staff unhelpful, had no sleep first night at all ,will never book again

Guest rating:

30/1/2022

"Disappointing will not stay again"

Communication was a serious let down checked in but had zero information, no restaurant onsite and no information given staff clueless when asked questions. Was a flip down double bed a basic room. Couldnt plug fridge and tv in as only 1 plug lack of plugs within room so charging phone was difficult. Went to sister hotel for a meal and staff there had zero Communication skills aswell all round disappointment. Coming from hospitality industry lack of care and cleanliness throughout will be avoiding in future

Guest rating:

13/1/2022

"-"

Good location clean and tidy good receptionist excellent

Guest rating:

10/1/2022

"Great staff clean "

Nice hotel staff seeing to your every need milk teabags to the room

Guest rating:

18/12/2021

"Highly recommended"

Friendly staff and a lovely room. I would definitely go back again.

Guest rating:

16/12/2021

"When I book I saw a nice picture to the hotel and when we arrive they sended to other different hote"

We was two night, in all hotels we been the staff clean the bedroom and make the bed,put clean cups. the second day we stay there nobody clean the bedroom was the same we leave, nobody take the rubbish or put clean cups, even we ask to clean only gave us clean towels and cups.

Guest rating:

13/12/2021

"-"

Rooms were a little tired, but we`re clean quite adequate for an over night stay. Staff were lovely.

Guest rating:

12/12/2021

"Comforrable. Excellent breakfast"

Friendly staff, rooms adequate size. Clean and breakfast excellent choice. Would definately stay again

Guest rating:

6/12/2021

"-"

we weren`t told when we booked that cooked breakfast was in another hotel around the corner or that it was not included in price

Guest rating:

29/11/2021

"Attention to detail "

Didn`t get the room we paid for, the heating didn`t work properly in the room the bathroom was cold, we got moved to another room which still wasn`t what we expected but was slightly better. Most of the hotel could do with some love.

Guest rating:

25/11/2021

"-"

Very uncomfortable bed and awful pillows, have to go next door for cooked breakfast at the Wellington which was beautiful Very pleasant stay but not amazing nights sleepFriendly staff Clean and tidy good value for money and close to everything Just needs refurb and decent bar

Guest rating:

24/11/2021

"Quiet and clean"

Sadly this hotel is looking a bit tatty with peeling wallpaper on our floor and staining on bathroom ceiling. In need of a spruce up

Guest rating:

23/11/2021

"Not bad. Needs some work!"

Guest rating:

13/11/2021

"-"

Disappointing, room was nice size but had 1 picture on wall missing and 1 picture was not attached to wall (I put it up for them) kettle didn`t work, tap make loud noise when draining water. The corridor to room had torn wall paper and a lamp which was placed in a way where it I had been paying attention I could of banged in to it.(just werid placement )

Guest rating:

7/11/2021

"Great"

Big spacious room. Very clean. Lots of tea and coffee with a kettle as well. You have to include the breakfast. It`s delivered to your room at a time of your choosing and was massive and delicious. Highly recommend. Will book again

Guest rating:

4/11/2021

"-"

Bed in our room was to hard and the full English is not available here

Guest rating:

31/10/2021

"Quite and relaxing"

Lovely hotel with beautiful room and good service from reception and housekeeping.Had to ask for more milk and sugar and coffee but otherwise excellent!

Guest rating:

28/10/2021

"-"

Excellent location

Guest rating:

24/10/2021

"Would not recommend"

Apart from its proximity to the Apollo Victoria Theatre, the hotel was very disappointing. One of the beds wasn`t clean, had to change the sheets at 11pm when we wanted to put our son to bed. Dated interiors and uncomfortable beds, wouldn`t stay there again. Very overpriced and had to pay extra for breakfast!

Guest rating:

8/10/2021

"-"

We had to request a different room than given we were put in a dark damp room which certainly did not match what I would call a superior room 128532; On a positive note they moved us straight away .So got quickly resolved.

Guest rating:

20/9/2021

"-"

Very old and run down, although the bedding was clean the mattress need replacing as they sagged in the middle. The reception staff seemed a little unsure as to what they were doing. Poor facilities for checking in our luggage was left all day unattended. We explained we would be late back as we were going to a show. If we had been 5 minutes later we would not have been able to get into a room as no key was provided. Until we came back. The room itself, bathroom tiles were off and the bathrooms need modernisation. Very poor.

Guest rating:

19/9/2021

"DISGUSTING "

Dated room with dark furniture and mustard carpet, paid for a superior room and got 2 single mattress pushed together, charged on check in for extras just incase we needed anything? 25 card only and then an absolute fiasco on check out trying to get it back, was told 5 to 10 days but if paid by cash would of got it back straight away but was not given the option , the maid also decided to walk in our room at 9.50am while we was in bed after a late night, didn`t bother knocking just came in , definitely not worth the money, have stayed in nicer bed and breakfasts for half the price

Guest rating:

16/9/2021

"Noisy, scruffy and in need of serious renovation "

The hotel looks lovely from the outside but our room was outdated, in a state of disrepair and far too noisy. Tiny bathroom with cracked tiles, dirty surfaces and no way to run a bath. On the plus side, the shower was good and the towels were fluffy. Wouldn`t stay here again.

Guest rating:

13/9/2021

"Staff very helpful. Room was clean and comfortable. "

by Secure Internet

Or tel Reservations on: 0800 633 8000 (+44 1872 261 100)

Mon-Sat: 9am-8pm. Sat: 9am-5.30pm. Sun: 10am-6:30pm.

Our review system

Guest reviews and ratings are submitted to Hotel Direct by our customers immediately after check-out. They are un-edited.

With Hotel Direct you can make your break for LESS money. It's cheaper because when you book a break, we pass on special discounts for packages from hotels and train companies as well as making the total price lower. And you'll make a break in LESS time because in one place you can book your hotel, your train plus 1000s of shows, events and attractions.