Thistle Holborn reviews

Hotel Direct invites all departing guests to rate and review their chosen hotel.

To ensure our guest evaluation is always up to date and to allow for hotel improvements, our Hotel Score is the mean of the most recent 100 guest ratings.

Hotel Score:

93%  based on 935 reviews

More reviews >>

Guest rating:

16/3/2020

"Comfortable room, clean, good reception people"

Guest rating:

16/3/2020

"-"

Friendly staff ,lovely hotel and appreciated our room upgrade! Would recommend to anyone staying in London

Guest rating:

13/3/2020

"-"

Not as good as it was a year ago

Guest rating:

10/3/2020

"Nice stay"

We were very pleased with our hotel. The location was fantastic. The rooms were clean and spacious. We will definitely stay there again.

Guest rating:

5/3/2020

"-"

Great location, clean with helpful and friendly staff. Great break

Guest rating:

24/2/2020

"-"

Got there at 5.15 and still had to wait until they checked whether the room was ready, and then needed to bring towels Good location though

Guest rating:

22/2/2020

"Unfortunate overlooks"

Hotel staff were welcoming and helpful. A lovely set hotel, my daughter thought it was beautiful. Our twin room was cosy with a nice bathroom, tv, coffee & tea, and seemed thoroughly cleaned. Unfortunately we found some staining on a bedsheet which was sorted out and a marked towel, both appeared to have been laundered but stains had remained. Hotel staff were apologetic and eager to rectify. The breakfast was good.

Guest rating:

19/2/2020

"Welcoming "

The staff were welcoming and accommodating throughout. The rooms were spotless. Bed was so comfortable. Fabulous shower.

Guest rating:

17/2/2020

"Room in need of updating."

On arriving staff very pleasant. Allocated double room on second floor. On first impression it looked adequate with seating area, wardrobe area and a decent size bathroom with an overhead shower. On closer inspection the windows were full of mould and not able to open them. The heating didn`t work so we contacted reception who decided to bring us a portable heater after being reminded again, rather than move us. Also a staff member entered our room whilst we were in, very strange not to knock first...never experienced that happening in any hotel I`ve stayed in!! Wouldn`t be completely put off staying here again but some improvements need to be made. Breakfast was pretty good with a varied choice of hot food, cereal, fruit, salad, fruit juices, hot drinks and toast. (Wasn`t included in the price though)

Guest rating:

17/2/2020

"very nice clean staff excellent "

Guest rating:

2/2/2020

"Being Disturbed "

I could not put excellence because workmen woke us up just after 7am, however you did give us a breakfast as an apology

Guest rating:

27/1/2020

"Great Stay"

Guest rating:

19/1/2020

"-"

Central nice beds. Staff great

Guest rating:

16/1/2020

"Well located and convenient"

The hotel is well located and close to so many attractions in London. The room was well equipped and comfortable. Staff are friendly and made us feel very welcome.

Guest rating:

16/1/2020

"Very impressive performance "

Very impressed with all aspects of our stay.Check-in staff friendly and informative. Room good size and recently modernised to high standard - very comfortable bed and decent shower of note. Espresso machine nice touch. Breakfast service provides good value for 12 with friendly staff and good quality ingredients, although would have preferred slightly better coffee. Overall would recommend and will stay again.

Guest rating:

11/1/2020

"Great service "

Great location, brilliant staff and nice room, especially for the price! 100% recommend

Guest rating:

20/12/2019

"Comfortable and clean "

Guest rating:

7/12/2019

"-"

Room temperature was too hot. Even when thermostat turned down. However the staff were excellent.

Guest rating:

30/11/2019

"Friendly clean hotel"

Was nicely located and the twin room that we stayed in was very comfortable and the bathroom was a nice size!Would definitely recommend and stay again. Thank you

Guest rating:

30/11/2019

"We had a meal in the. "

Guest rating:

21/11/2019

"Great hotel "

Very friendly staff (especially Martina on reception) and I comfortable, quality room.

Guest rating:

18/11/2019

"Perfect position ...very very good "

Guest rating:

10/11/2019

"Not a boutique hotel"

A tired and overrated hotel. The bar smelt of smoke and was cold. The mattress on one of the single beds dipped in the middle causing a very uncomfortable sleep. More a 2-3 star hotel.

Guest rating:

28/10/2019

"Very very helpful"

Bent over backwards to help

Guest rating:

22/10/2019

"-"

had a really good stay and comfterble only slight thing was that we found the bathroom had slight dust everywere but would stay there again x

Guest rating:

20/10/2019

"Excellent value for money."

Clean , helpful staff. Super breakfast well worth the money.Super comfy beds .

Guest rating:

29/9/2019

"staff very helpful, efficient and polite.."

wonderful, please thank all staff for their kindness and help , and helping our g.daughter celebrateher l8th birthday, and first visit to London.

Guest rating:

29/9/2019

" Problem.Cheek out at 12. Went for breakfast at 9.Return to find staff cleaning room early "

Overall good, but felt we were rushed to leave. Not happy about that due to price paid. Expected better from housekeeping

Guest rating:

25/9/2019

"-"

Clean room and good service at check-in desk.

Guest rating:

16/9/2019

"Good Hotel"

Really good hotel with attentive staff.Room was excellent but traffic noise just took the edge off the rating.

Guest rating:

31/8/2019

"Fabulous hotel and amazing staff"

Guest rating:

22/8/2019

"Lovely"

The hotel was clean, the room was spacious and it was only a few minutes walk from Covent Garden, we would definitely recommend

Guest rating:

4/8/2019

"-"

No or poor air conditioning only downside

Guest rating:

31/7/2019

"Fro the money it was pretty average."

Damp/mouldy smell in the room. Dirty marks on the bathroom tiles. I wiped them off myself. No mini fridge in room. Aircon very noisy when switched on. One of the restaurant staff was less than courteous to one of my guests. The location and the building were great. But when you are paying those prices you expect more. I was disappointed to learn that had I book the room and tickets separately it would have beem much cheaper. Lesson learned.

Guest rating:

30/7/2019

"Staff very professional "

On arrival staff was very accommodating to upgrade as it was our celebration break & room was vertical small , however on seeing my disappointment a king size room was given which made our stay even more special.

Guest rating:

30/6/2019

"-"

Friendly staff..beds comfy ..food very tasty, the chef very proud of his work ,kept checking to see if needed replacing very impressed , breakfast was brilliant thank you

Guest rating:

12/5/2019

"Brilliant!"

Excellent facilities and staff, and in a great location for theatres. Exceeded our expectations.

Guest rating:

1/4/2019

"Every aspect of this Hotel is of the highest standsrd."

ALL the staff were very smart, attentive to any request which we made, the food was excellent, the rooms extremely comfortable. The position of the Hotel of ideal for Theatres and Exhibitions.

Guest rating:

23/3/2019

"-"

Very helpful

Guest rating:

23/3/2019

"Clean, central good value for the location"

See above

by Secure Internet

Or tel Reservations on: 0800 633 8000 (+44 1872 261 100)

Mon-Sat: 9am-8pm. Sat: 9am-5.30pm. Sun: 10am-6:30pm.

Our review system

Guest reviews and ratings are submitted to Hotel Direct by our customers immediately after check-out. They are un-edited.

With Hotel Direct you can make your break for LESS money. It's cheaper because when you book a break, we pass on special discounts for packages from hotels and train companies as well as making the total price lower. And you'll make a break in LESS time because in one place you can book your hotel, your train plus 1000s of shows, events and attractions.