Clayton Hotel Leeds reviews

Hotel Direct invites all departing guests to rate and review their chosen hotel.

To ensure our guest evaluation is always up to date and to allow for hotel improvements, our Hotel Score is the mean of the most recent 100 guest ratings.

Hotel Score:

90%  based on 112 reviews

<<   

Guest rating:

10/9/2010

"Excellent Location and facilities"

Guest rating:

30/8/2010

"Great hotel to spend the night for a short stay in leeds"

value for money and very surprised at the quality of the room and service provided. friendly staff, easy check in.out procedure and great parking facilities (although would be even better if free). Good location, would definatetly stay there again for a night out in leeds.

Guest rating:

29/8/2010

"comfortable, clean, relaxed atmosphere, near to centre, good value"

Guest rating:

23/8/2010

"-"

Everything was perfect. No complaint whatsoever.

Guest rating:

18/8/2010

"A ten minute walk into the city of Leeds"

We found the Hotel to be very nice indeed, except for a few things that we think that need to be sorted....The pillows don`t give any support to you while sleeping, towels in the bathroom are a bit worse for wear, and we found nail clippings on the bathroom floor, like it hadn`t been cleaned properly for the next occupants.... Going down to breakfast the next morning, we found the fresh fruit juices not of the fresh kind but watererd down varieties, the breakfast itself was good,.... But beware to car users, to park in the hotel car park will cost you 6.00 per night, and overall we would give the hotel 7 out of ten.

Guest rating:

16/8/2010

"Lovely central hotel"

It was a lovely hotel, very clean and comfortable and good value for money. Great location for the city centre but some traffic noise depending on which side of the hotel your room is.

Guest rating:

15/8/2010

"Perfect hotel and Location to enjoy a night out in Leeds"

Guest rating:

24/7/2010

"Soul-less and mean-spirited place"

This is not an hotel, but a `concept`. I suspect that it was designed by an accountant who viewed people as `through-put units` and who sought to `maximize` profitability by ruthlessly minimizing costs. Employees are the biggest cost so automate as many as possible -reduce them to the front desk, give them an unvarying script and have everything else automated. Design rooms around ease of cleaning not customers (incidentally, sitting in the bath viewing the toilet rim showed it to be filthy), make everything funtional and cheap (not even a biscuit with the sachets of tea - the lowest grade of toilet paper etc). I would not book into this `concept` again.

Guest rating:

20/7/2010

"good value"

very clean and comfortable. you really feel as though you have had a break. I have recommended the hotel to several persons as they were not satisfied at a well known hotel nearby

Guest rating:

6/7/2010

"Never on a Saturday"

Reception staff very efficient and helpfu l Hotel room was clean and comfortable although the bed (a double) was on the small size would have appreciated a king size The only complaint I have was not of the hotel but inconsiderate guests coming back in the early hours of the morning drunk and noisy it was impossible to sleep because of the continuous noise which went on until about 5am We were staying in Leeds to take part in the Jane Tomlinson 10k run on the Sunday morning so would have appreciated a good nights sleep also had to go without breakfast as it wasn`t served until 8am which was too late as we had to be in Millenium Square for 8.30am Would possibly stay here again but not on a Saturday night

Guest rating:

7/6/2010

"-"

It was my first visit to leeds and what n excellent base for exploring the delights of what leeds has to offer i would definatelly recommend bewleys to family and friends. and use this hotel myself again. well done to all the friendly and helpfully staff.

Guest rating:

6/6/2010

"Excellent hotel"

Just got home from staying at Bewleys, Leeds and we`re already planning to go back again. The room was lovely, the staff all polite and helpful and the food in the Brasserie Restaurant was sublime. Will be using this hotel in future when we go to Leeds in the future

Guest rating:

2/6/2010

"Excellent quality at the price"

An excellent hotel that offers very reasonably priced accomodation with a good standard of service to match. Lookout for great special offer deals that work out to a little over B&B rates!

Guest rating:

31/5/2010

"-"

this is the 4th time myself and partner have stayed here, close to the city centre, clean rooms, we had another excellent stay, thanks

Guest rating:

10/4/2010

"-"

On arrival produced booking confirmation but Bewleys did not have record of booking on computer system ans was questioned about wether I had paid for the room. They kept booking confirmation to follow up and booked us into a room. Asked a few hours later if sorted but had not been dealt with. I was never told of outcome of problem and booking form was not returned to me. Had breakfast which was a little expensive I felt and a number of the items despite under heat lamps were cold.

Guest rating:

4/4/2010

"clean.tidy.the staff were poilite and helpfull."

Guest rating:

4/4/2010

"Wouldnt stay here again!"

Considering what we paid, this hotel is not worth the money. We checked in and the first `double` room was just 2 single beds put together. The second room they gave us stunk and was considerably smaller than the first. We complained again and got moved for the last time. This room would do for one night but you`d pay the same for a marriott or hilton and get better conditions. The staff need to learn on improving their customer service skills too! As always I read the reviews before booking, and this hotel did have mostly bad. But thought I`d take the risk. And a risk it was!

Guest rating:

17/3/2010

"Very reasonably priced,comfortable & functional hotel with helpful front desk staff."

Delivered exactly what was promised.Very clean,comfortable & attentive.Not so keen on the breakfast buffet-a bit more fruit & more cereal choices wouldn`t go amiss.Didn`t use the restaurant other than breakfast s couldn`t comment.But I`d stay at a Bewleys Hotel again no hesitation.

Guest rating:

15/3/2010

"-"

The receptionist was particularly helpful

Guest rating:

12/3/2010

"Did not get wake up call- I had forgotten my mobile, so was reliant on this. Overslept, had no break"

Normall get very good service- see comments above, this occassion felt quite disgruntled.

Hotel response from General Manager

18/3/2010

Dear Guest Please accept my sincere apologies for this incident, and rest assured that I will be speaking with the Nights Team about the importance of programming the wake-up calls correctly in future. I do hope that it did not put a dampener on your entire day, as sometimes can happen when people oversleep, and I hope that it has not deterred you from staying in the hotel again. Kind regards Nicola Underhill General Manager I

Guest rating:

9/3/2010

"Excellent hotel with high standards just be prepared to be raped on the extra`s during your stay!"

The hotel, staff and hygiene standards were excellent and for this reason we would stay there again. However I do feel once they have you there they then take advantage of your good nature - surely if you have paid to stay in the hotel car parking should be free not 6.00!!!!! we also chose not to take advantage of the full irish breakfast for 9 per person and chose to venture into Leeds to find somewhere reasonably priced. The rooms were to an excellent high standard the only advice would be take your own hair dryer as the ones provided require you hold the button in constantly which requires some force (thank fully i have short hair - god help you if you have long hair!!)

Guest rating:

8/3/2010

"Room was big and spacious and very clean. Breakfast and dining room very nice."

Guest rating:

8/3/2010

"Thank You"

My only issue is that I had to pay 6.00 for the car park when I thought this was included in the price od the room

Guest rating:

3/3/2010

"Would recommend!"

Had a lovely stay! Friendly staff, clean spacious room. No problems at all.

Guest rating:

28/2/2010

"-"

myself and partner had a lovely weekend at the hotel, hotel staff were lovely and very helpfull, the room was very clean and had loads of room, very noisy from other guests could hear everything when they were walking past our room, would use again as excellent value for money and a 5min walk to the city centre

Guest rating:

24/2/2010

"Good value modern hotel"

Very modern hotel with decent facilities. Efficient staff.

Guest rating:

15/2/2010

"Excellent Value Hotel"

We stay here on a regular basis and find it excellent value for money. Have found that it`s cheaper to book in advance, if you leave until the last minute is can sometimes be 10-30 more than standard rate of 59. Great location

Guest rating:

13/2/2010

"Very Pleased"

Great Value, beautiful posh hotel, friendly, helpful staff and reception.....was very surprised in a good way being it my first time in Leeds! thanks again

Guest rating:

20/12/2009

"NICE COMFORTABLE STAY"

A NICE SURPRISE, THE QUALITY OF THIS HOTEL, FOR THE PRICE , IS OUTSTANDING. I STAYED AT A HOTEL ONLY 600YARDS AWAY LAST WEEK AT TWICE THE PRICE AND HALF THE QUALITY. (PARK PLAZA)

Guest rating:

23/11/2009

"Check in time"

On arrival had to wait approx 20-25 minutes to be checked in as only one person on reception at the time, extra staff came as the queue grew quite considerably,after check in headed to our room where we found we had been given a twin instead of a double i rang reception and informed them of this of which had to go back down and again queue for 20 minutes to be seen.Staff were friendly and helpfull,but unfortunately slow at checking people in,room was changed no problem and was very comfortable.I would definately stay again at this hotel,just hope reception are a little quicker next time.

Guest rating:

22/11/2009

"-"

friendly staff and helpful room not bad but had a bad wet stain on the carpet not nice to walk on

Guest rating:

26/10/2009

"very good hotel, great value for money"

our stay in this hotel was very enjoyable. a good location, absolutely spotless in every part. rooms a good size, beds really comfy. i would stay here again. all this for a price much cheaper than travelodge and other city centre hotels. all in all superb value

Guest rating:

19/10/2009

"Very high standard ! Rooms were,clean,well kitted out and breakfast was a joy ! well done "

Guest rating:

18/10/2009

"lovely hotel "

Not disappointed at all with the hotel, very clean and offering good eating places ,had evening meal in bar which was lovely and a buffet breakfast which offered a great variety for 7.95

Guest rating:

4/10/2009

"Very central modern hotel"

Got a very good deal..Including breakfast which was very nice and avalible til 11am. Very nice rooms. Reception area was very nice to sit around. Within walking distance to the city centre..5minutes walk. Very friendly and helpful reception staff. And parking was a bargain...6.00.

Guest rating:

1/10/2009

"Location main problem"

Location is poor for a city centre hotel. Nothing wrong with the facilities. When we needed direction to the nearest bus stop we couldn`t get it from reception, disappointing as it was about 50 yards away as it turns out!

Guest rating:

28/9/2009

"great location for city centre shoppig/ ars/restaurants"

Guest rating:

22/9/2009

"-"

Not impressed by reception service on many counts. The so called Free Wi Fi advertised was 98% down. Not recommended.

Guest rating:

22/9/2009

"Excellent quality at realistic rates"

<<   

by Secure Internet

Or tel Reservations on: 0800 633 8000 (+44 1872 261 100)

Mon-Fri: 9am-5.30pm

Our review system

Guest reviews and ratings are submitted to Hotel Direct by our customers immediately after check-out. They are un-edited.

With Hotel Direct you can make your break for LESS money. It's cheaper because when you book a break, we pass on special discounts for packages from hotels and train companies as well as making the total price lower. And you'll make a break in LESS time because in one place you can book your hotel, your train plus 1000s of shows, events and attractions.